Sheraton Universal Hotel

  • 333 Universal Hollywood Drive
  • Universal City,
  • California
  • 91608
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with valid photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 624 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room Review The staff and service was EXCELLENT. The pool area was clean and comfortable. I was disappointed on the comfort of the bed. I stayed at Sheraton Universal a few years ago and did not have an issue with the mattress. Also my family and I ordered the Margarita pizza poolside.... Let me just say we could not finish it due to the taste. August 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Ok but needs improvement Staff at the hotel were courteous, the size of the room is standard but the t&b is a bit tight. One major complaint is their aircon. Especially during the wee hours of the morning, we stayed their for 2 nights, both nights my wife and I woke up because the aircon is simply not enough to cool the room. Maybe that is the reason why they have a small fan in the closet. I have also seen a similar complaint from another site. Hopefully they would address that. The best feature for us is the proximity of the hotel to Universal studio. Also adding a ref to the room would definitely help since these stuff are standard anyways in any hotel. January 4, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unsatisfactory I was very unhappy with my stay, so much so that we checked out early. The room was disturbingly dirty and the bathroom door didn't close. Even though the hotel staff new about this issue for months. We tried to different rooms and I still wasn't satisfied. August 19, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very disappointed I was disappointed when I asked if there was another available room. And Sen didn't look in the computer and told me check tomorrow. I had 2nights without sleep due to noise from the parking lot area and freeway. Being an SPG member and a travel agent I will never recommend your property to my clients. August 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointment This is a review of our stay at the Sheraton Universal. When we were allowed to check in, we requested a complimentary refrigerator be delivered to our room. Upon entering the room, we were presented with a wonderful view of the parking structure rooftop. Additionally, there was a dead bug in the middle of the bathroom. We proceeded to enjoy our day at Universal Studios Hollywood and returned to the room around 7:30pm. The refrigerator was not in the room as promised. When I contacted the guest services, I was transferred 4 times and had to explain the situation as many times before they agreed to bring up the refrigerator… 20 minutes later. One of the items that drew us to stay at the Sheraton was that the pool area was recently remodeled. After a full day in the 90+-degree sun, we went down to the pool deck to cool off. The pool was obviously not heated and only made being in the water bearable for 5 minutes before the shivering became the primary focus of our thoughts. When we returned to the room to shower, the water would not drain from the tub, prompting another call to guest services to unclog the drain. All of this “quality” was available for $310.00… plus an additional $24.00 parking fee. Since when do you need to pay to park at a hotel? We have an annual pass to Universal Studios and we will not be staying at the Sheraton Universal ever again. The ENTIRE experience was unsatisfactory and would be something that I would expect from a Motel 6 and not The Sheraton. August 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel has great customer service We received amazing customer service from Front Lobby staff. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Clean and quiet room. April 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Fasilities close too early Arrived at 1100 pm, bell staff told us we could order room service 24 hours, which was untrue, unable to after 1100,. All restaurants closed also, had to get the car from valet and go driving somewhere in an unknown city gor some food. Also literature in room misleading and staff states they had just changed their times , was very frustrating after long trip January 6, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Room with infant under two weddings for two nights I had booked ahead using Starwood points and spoke with a hotel representative to confirm and guarantee our specific room. I explained we would be a late evening checkin with our 13 month old at 8-9pmish. When we arrived to the hotel our room was given away and we were told the hotel was at capacity. The only room available was under a wedding on the 20th floor. We were told no wedding the next night- which actually had a LOUDER wedding the following evening. We were given the wrong info and lost our mind when the wedding began. We then had to move rooms (with a 13 month old and all his toys, bedding, needs etc.) It was a MAJOR inconvenience. Our son had trouble sleeping and was cranky for two days. He is a great sleeper and this threw everything off schedule. I understand things happen, and usually let things slide. Because I had been so detailed in confirming what we needed and confirming our stay it was a shame the hotel didn't value our confirmed room. Very unhappy we were not treated better and unhappy with the experience. I am a loyal Starwood Gold member and have never had a bad experience up until now. I feel my points were wasted and the trip was soiled because of the stay. The hotel is heavy on tourists and very loud. Wait time for elevators toppled 10 minutes at times. Many, many drunk clients from both weddings on the elevators as well. August 19, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unusual, but disappointed Pool was usuable, TV was broken, bathroom had strange lay out, neighbors were very noisy, and traffic noise in my particular room as very loud. Not what I had come to expect from this Sheraton...I've stayed here numerous times and felt differently...I felt like it had unhappily run its course. April 8, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor At the time of reservation no mention was made that the swimming pool was unavailable and there was an $18 per day parking fee. Even with the $50 club level upgrade, room was very small. Also, one day room was not made up. November 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great! The staff went above and beyond to make me feel welcome! I loved that you had a green option and could choose to have a $5 credit instead of housekeeping services for the duration of your stay. May 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Just OK OK hotel; check-in was a disaster as it took almost 2- minutes. 6:30pm check-in and the room wasn't ready. How does that happen?! Pillows on the bed are uncomfortable; Bartenders nice, but a bit pushy with the drinks: I'll let you know when I need another! Air conditioner was loud and kept going on and off. Annoying. No wine in the lounge, but ample water and cookies were good. Good location if you want to go to the studio. August 11, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by room dirty room in terrible repair. staff unhelpful re change of room. will not return. April 22, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Sheraton Universal such a dissapointment! The shuttle back & forth was terrific! That's the best I can say about our Sheraton Universal experience this past weekend. Here's my list of what went wrong: 1. Bad odor as u enter hotel 2. Only 1 elevator wrking. Lines of guests waiting. 3. Our room not clean! Dust everywhere! 4. Bathroom door lock broken (rm 628) 5. Bathrm door in 626 binding badly & much more that system says no rm for June 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Disappointed with this Sheraton. Maybe I have been spoiled by my stays at the Sheraton Anaheim and Sheraton at the Park in Anaheim but, your hotel came up short. My party and I had just arrived from the Sheraton at the Park and I was so bragging about the club level accommodations and the amenities would be receiving. At Sheraton at the Park in the past we have received free wine and hot and cold appetizers and a fabulous selections for breakfast that includes a hot breakfast meats, eggs and much more. I was just so surprised at the difference in the club level amenities. The hotel and room and service was wonderful as usual. It was my fault for expecting the same experience as we do in Anaheim. I will ask more questions next time before I tell my guest what to expect. July 31, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by i would not recommend this hotel We showed up for our reservation and there was a public hair on the toliet seat. Not cool at all, especially when paying $300 a night June 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice, Friendly and Convenient Hotel As a SPG member, this hotel went out of there way to make us comfortable. They immediately offered us water or wine upon checkin. Then they upgraded us to the top floor with a great view! One of the beds was a little squeeky and the desk chair in the room definitely needed some attention. But other than that it was an excellent stay! August 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quality Hotel Hotel has quality facilities and you get a great nights' sleep. August 13, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs improvement. There is a wide discrepancy of quality across a range of resorts. This sheraton needs a significant amount of basic improvements and was very shabby overall. The doors across the place were badly chipped and marked. Wallpaper was peeling in the bathroom. We were only given two towels despite there being four of us. The safe did not work and the housekeeping allowed old food to be left outside various rooms for the two days we were there. There were no umbrellas by the pool for shade and no simple map to show how to walk from the hotel to universal. July 29, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor guest service We booked for a party of 5 and the reservation stated a rollaway would need to be added which was fine. I confirmed upon check in that a rollaway would be delivered. After going to the pool (pool water too cold and drinks too expensive) we went back to the room, still no rollaway so I called again. Went out to dinner and returned to the room at 8:45 pm and STILL no rollaway. I was told they were very busy and there was only one rollaway available but it would take at least 30mins to get it to us which was not acceptable as I had a child who needed to go to bed. I requested to speak to a manager but none was available so they sent out a page to one to call me back. Finally a half hour later the bed was delivered. Guest services called to confirm and I told them I did not want to pay for the rollaway for the first night and again I was told a manager would return my call. A manager never called me. Very disappointed and won't stay again. Also, elevator wait was ridiculous. We waited for at least 3 elevators each time as they were always full. August 10, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by disappointing We were placed on the 7th floor where contractors were still working on the carpeting. when they finished that night, they left a big mess that was never cleaned up. The night time was the worst, which was no fault of Sheraton, but the other customers came in after 10pm so loud and yelling down the halls like they were the only ones there. They woke up my children (and my husband and I) multiple times. The walls were paper thin. I was very disappointed. August 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The remodeled swimming pool was a disappointment! We have been coming to the Sheraton Universal for the past 20 years and have always enjoyed hanging out at the pool. However, now that the entire pool area has been redesigned, we did not enjoy it at all. It may look slick at first glance, but it is not the least bit inviting. Over our three day stay, we spent a total of 45 minutes at the pool. In the past, we would spend hours and hours!! The old design had trees and greenery surrounding the whole pool area. The hot tub was secluded and felt cozy. Now, the pool area is barren and hot, with very little shade, and the main focal point of the hot tub is now the mechanical lift for disabled people. The cabanas were being used as changing rooms by obnoxiusly loud families, and the poolside bar is gone. The whole pool experience was a major disappointment. August 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is what a Sheraton should be. The Sheraton Universal exemplifies the Sheraton brand attributes in the best way possible. This is an older facility that has obviously benefited from excellent maintenance. The decor will be familiar to Sheraton regulars, but somehow a little nicer. The experience started with friendly competent parking valets when we arrived, and was enhanced by excellent staff member at the front desk. The facility was very clean and everything was in good repair. We appreciated the upgrade to a small suite based on our SPG status. We used Room Service. The service was quick, the server was pleasant, and the food was good. We had a similar experience in the coffee shop. As I previously stated, this hotel sets the standard for the brand. December 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by When in LA visit Universal...Sheraton! Your people made your hotel perfect from the sweet man at the front door, to the great freinds I felt I had at the front desk and service desk to the thoughtful man at the club room who had cocoa for me when I showed up at breakfast.. to the great food and service at the Calfornia room, they make a fantastic hambuger! (good fish too),...and, then the bed...do you sell the mattress? It was the most comfortable bed I have ever had at a hotel...loved the shuttle, but I also loved that the hotel was a great place to have friends or business contacts meet me...Thank you, you all made my trip effortless, I only had to concentrate on why I was there! June 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Location The rooms are older and do not meet what I expected at this level. The pool was supposed to have been renovated, yet work was done while we were there. In addition the water was cloudy, making for a poor pool experience. Staff were friendly and responsive. August 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Features I consider this hotel a 5-star. Very nice decor, clean and friendly staff. Hotel is in a great location. We were greeted by friendly bellman who was very helpful. The reservation clerk was also very friendly. Shuttle service to Universal Studios made the stay even better. The room very nice and comfortable. This was the best place to stay. June 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice place to stay! Very nice hotel and a very convenient location. The valet, bell hops, front desk check-in, room service, and restaurant staff were some of the friendliest, most helpful and enjoyable people we have encountered in our hotel stays. The food was good and the rooms were very nice. We did not care for the quality of the mattresses however, we have slept in more comfortable beds. Perhaps ours was a little older than some of the others. But, we highly recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to come back and stay here again! July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Had an incredible experience From the time we pulled up at the valet service to our check out our experience was amazing. We were welcomed at check in with a glass of wine and fresh cookies for the kids. We met all of the mangement team at the managers reception. The room was amazing the service was outstanding. At the managers reception the hotel manager overheard my 5 year old neice say that she did not like the appetizers and he had a pizza prepared by the kitchen staff just for her. I will recommend this hotel to all my friends. The staff impressed us at every turn. August 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Room under renovation Excellent customer service from the front desk to the twin bar/lounge waitresses! However, did not receive two queen beds in each room as reserved. A bit of a disappointment but family only stayed one night so no big issue. They did give us free breakfast to make up for it which was very nice of them. Highly recommend staying here if you are looking for a place in walking distance of Universal Studios. Friends were staying at the Hilton next door and the bar was of no comparison. Layout was bad and service was horrific! Sheraton all the way! September 13, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst SPG Hotel I've been to The rooms are old and dusty, The toilet was half way under the vanity and we couldn't sit down normally. We called before making the reservation to make sure the pool construction will be done when we arrive and they guaranteed us the pool will be open, however when we arrived they said the opening of the pool was pushed off till March. The TVs weren't working the entire first day we were there. so the next morning we took our stuff and just checked out. There are much nicer hotels in the area. Stay Away from this Sheraton February 26, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 22 next>>