Sheraton Universal Hotel

  • 333 Universal Hollywood Drive
  • Universal City,
  • California
  • 91608
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with valid photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 601 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very poor Sheraton This hotel needs considerable work, pool is non-functional and is dated from 70s. For a Platinum member and used a Suite award was put into a Junior Suite facing this old pool and it was barely larger then a standard room. Very disappointed. May 10, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Enormous disappointment What an enormous disappointment. I am a big fan of SPG, and, in fact, stayed earlier in the week at the St. Regis Houston property--to rave reviews. Now, while I know that the Sheraton is not on the same level of quality as the St. Regis, I did not know that the brand in general, and this hotel in particular, had sunk to such abyssmal levels. I even used my SPG points to book a suite, #1203. My wife and I had come there with our son because he had surgery at a nearby clinic this morning, and the hotel was conveniently located. But the positives abruptly stop there. We checked into the hotel late on Sunday night, after numerous travel delays. Although we were coming from the St. Regis in Houston, I was still fairly optimistic of a lovely stay because: 1) We were staying in a suite with access to the Club Floor, and 2) The points I used were still considerable, and not at all reflective of an inferior product about to be experienced. The hallway from the elevator to the room was underlit, and the carpet not entirely safe to walk on. Over the course of two days, my wife and I tripped a few times because it is bunched up in places and, due to the pattern, difficult to see where it was bunched up. This same hallway showed the detritus of a couple of rooms' room service meal leftovers, not to mention a few discarded cups and half-consumed Starbucks beverages people had set down in the hallway--presumably for someone to clean up! Entering our room was no less disappointing. The front door was battered, the room ill-lit, and the furniture had seen its heyday a couple of decades earlier. The windows, even on the 12th floor, let in most of the sounds of the 101 Freeway, since they were old and in disrepair like the rest of the room. The headboards were covered in an artificial creme-colored leather that was stained and cracked and spotted. The floor was threadbare, as were the linens on the beds and in the bathroom. How a bathroom barely large enough for one person to fit could even accompany a suite is beyond my ability to comprehend it. The fixtures in the bathroom were slightly cleaner than the bedroom itself, but still tawdry and more akin to what I'd find in a one or two star hotel. We were awakened in the middle of the night by the clock radio, whose alarm hadn't been disarmed by the maid, and when morning finally did bring light into the room, we were shocked at just how beaten up, ugly, and outdated the place was. Trying to put the best face on this grim situation, I took my wife and son down to the 8th floor for the continental breakfast. Yes, the oatmeal was almost warm enough to be called lukewarm, the tables were a mess, barely cleaned unless we requested it. The fruit was melon--out of season and crisp, rather than ripe. The breads were one-dimensionally white and highly glycemic, and the cereal selection poor. Even the yogurts, instead of sitting attractively on a bed of ice, were dumped into a black plastic bin. All-in-all, really unappetizing. The lobby is a mess:filthy, chaotic, and understaffed. And while the personell we did speak to were friendly and helpful, they were fighting a losing battle. Sheraton is undoubtedly making money hand-over-fist on this property. With no investment in it, it is just a cash cow for you to use to part the hordes of Universal City tourists with their money. Shame on Starwood for letting this property sully the Sheraton name in such a depressing manner. I could not be a more displeased Starwood Preferred Gold member. My points were completely wasted on a wasted property, and I have to question why I even accumulate points to use at Starwood if this is the way they're going to treat properties that are not under the St. Regis flag. April 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by PERFECT Our first impression of this hotel was WOW.. We have just entered another era a Hollywood era, we expected movie stars to come walking down the isles... The staff were wonderful so helpful and friendly. The hotel itself was perfectly positioned to universal studios and theme park and to WB studios. We saw another side to LA Hollywood. Much nicer than Hollywood Boulevard itself.. Thank you for making the last few days of our USA trip so wonderful.. We would stay at this hotel again without a second thought and we would recommend others to stay there too. Thank u.... November 2, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Universal Sheraton This is the second time in 3 weeks that I have stayed at this hotel, and both times it was a poor experience. This hotel is not a good idea for a business traveler. The club seems to be open to everyone, because it is always loaded with families and children. Many things don't work! The pool has been closed for awhile now, and elevators make a very load noise, the carpets are in a sad shape. This is the worst kept Sheraton I have ever been to. April 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great time. spend 2 nights after a long flight. the guy in the front desk (i htink it was Jason) was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and very quiet. May 12, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Extremely disappointed While this review may seem negative, I want to stress that the staff from top to bottom was extremely helpful in addressing my rare issues with a Starwood property. As unacceptable as all these issues were for the price point of my stay, I felt the need to share my issues during my four day stay. While I appreciate this hotel is located near the Universal hotel, I would hope that the managers of the property would invest more in sound-proofing these rooms as to avoid hearing kids running up and down the hallways. Additionally, I had to change rooms because the shower would not drain, the tv in the second room wasn't functioning, and worst...there was an 8" long hair in my cottage cheese during my breakfast. That said, the situation was quickly addressed and the brunch was comp'ed for my (unhealthy) inconvenience. April 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Responsive service, great room I have stayed here multiple times over the last ten years. Since they built the Metro it is a fabulous alternative to overpriced downtown hotels during large conventions. You can hop on the Metro and 30 minutes later, with one easy train change, be at the Convention Center. Much better than a bus trip that can take 45-60 minutes in traffic, or a $50.00 cab ride in lieu of $1.50 for the train, or paying $30.00 to park downtown. On my last visit I had to switch my plans around to fit schedule changes, and they were extremely considerate and helpful in doing so. My room was great, which has been the general rule for me staying here. This is my go-to place when in the Valley, and my "secret spot" for Convention Center events. June 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good location near Universal Studios and freeways We stayed here for a weekend visit to our family in the LA area. As a platinum member I used a Suite Upgrade award and we were given a nice Executive Suite on the 14th floor which is reserved for SPG guests. We also had access to the Club lounge which provides continental breakfast and evening hors d'oevres. On the negative side, the pool and jacuzzi were closed for refurbishment which was a shame since the weather was over 80F. Still, the staff are very helpful and friendly and we will stay at this hotel in the future. March 12, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Close Close to the park, good service to and back, very ferquent service! May 13, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by FirstTimers We reserved a single 2 QB room for our family of 5. The front desk kindly upgraded us to a larger King bed room with a futon, which they called the Shrek room. We we're also given 3 free movies. The room was spacious & comfortable and the decor was fun. However, the room was dark. There are no overhead lights, just lamps on the ends of the room. The heater did not work-only cool air flowed. Lastly, we were charged for the 3 "complimentary" movies up front, then again when my kids ordered them. I left a message and haven't gotten a return call or a refund! November 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Hotel Staff I coordinated a business event at the hotel and also stayed there for easy access to the event that I was in charge of. First of all the hotel is beautiful, so elegant and classy, but as beautiful as it is, it doesn't outshine the attentiveness and care that the staff gives you. My event manager was Ernesto and he made everything flow easily. Everyone on the staff always had a smile and so very helpful. Kudos to Hector, Luis, Wilbur, Arnold, Sam, Nancy, Armando, Vu, Jayson, who were always nearby to make sure everything was perfect! Thank you Sheraton!!!! July 1, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Furniture The furnishings were a little shop-worn. Otherwise an excellent stay. May 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Terrific hotel in LA Great hotel. Everyone at concierge desk was terrific. Not only were they helpful, but always enthusiastic. We took the shuttle to CityWalk for dinner several times. Loved having the metro just down the hill - great way to get around the city. It's a steep walk back up to hotel, but the exercise was good. Upgrade to Executive Suite if you can -- large, comfy room and great food in club lounge. Never had an issue with noise. ONLY complaint is overpriced parking fees. April 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comfortable hotel with a few issues While I stay at this hotel fairly frequently, I'm beginning to notice some issues that make me question whether I need to find another property. The gym equipment needs better maintenance and upkeep, including the water cooler which was empty. A more alarming issue is the prices on room service items. The cost of a Caesar Salad with chicken would have been $45! That's outrageous! April 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Returning guest We have stayed at this hotel previously and was satisfied with the service. The hotel is nice and the staff is friendly. The first complaint is the people in the room next to us attempted to get in our room through the connecting door. The room was not cleaned the second day of our stay due to there was only one housekeeper on duty. I had to ask her for clean towels and wash cloths. April 24, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel needs improvement Our room was not accomedating to what they say online nor what the booking agent told us. when trying to trade rooms they said they were sold out of the rroms we needed but my wife called and asked for reservations and they said they could book it for her so then the hotel accomidated us after we told them that wwe knew they had rooms left. April 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by old The hotel is old and very dated. Really could use an upgrade. My room was small and the bathroom was tiny and could really use an upgrade. But it was clean! The hotel staff was brilliant as to guessing my needs. The only run in I had was with the valet. They wanted me to check in before taking my luggage. Then they wanted me to give them my luggage before checking in. Then they came to me while I was in line tying to check in and wanted my car keys. I don't usually valet park... I like having access to my car when I want it. February 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Just meet my expectations, more could be done. It is a reservation as I expected just as I previously stayed in this hotel. Location is a key factor, it is great ! Staffs are all helpful and friendly. A few improvement would be that for 4 people, size of beds is too small. But due to size of rooms, you may want to consider bunk bed for family of 4. Complimentary internet at all time in all rooms is a world standard now. You must not limit it only at the Microsoft sponsored lobby for 45 minutes/day. Amenities are too little, although, additional requests are always met.. It is a well maintained old hotel, but I think the designs and comforts must meet modern standards, it feels really old. Swimming pool renovation is a good start, but eventually rooms are also need major revitalizing. December 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not quite great... The staff at the hotel was great. The room was a little weird in that there was virtually no closet. You could hang maybe 2 things in it. As an SPG member I opted for free Wi-Fi in my room, but he signal was so weak we couldn't use it. The towels are pretty old. Needed more space to put our stuff in the bathroom. April 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel with some minor problems Beautifully located hotel on a hill with close access to Universal Studios. However, there are some problems with the hotel: - elevators are extremely slow and inefficient (a group of guests waited nearly 10 minutes once) - club lounge is supposed to be open until midnight, yet access was closed starting 10pm - phones in the room do not work properly - dim lighting in room It is a pity that such a great property is littered with these small problems but I believe they are easily remedied, March 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Service My SPG membership was acknowledged by the Valet and the Registration desk. I was given a nice room on the club floor, and the bell desk brought me a refrigerator and extra towels and was very helpful. We had a problem with our door key not working, and the security guard came immediately and treated us to a nightcap for our troubles. We stayed one week and the room was clean and all staff so friendly. The valet Curtis noticed a scrape on my car that I hadn't gotten fixed, and got some polish out and buffed it out. Amazing. Great service, the building has interesting history and great location. Nice gym, and we had a business meeting in the lounge with great service. I did not like the cabana rooms, they are tired... the tower was better. Thanks! March 17, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor response to request I had requested a quiet room away from the elevator. Upon arrival I was given room1918 which was 2 doors away from the elevator lobby. When I returned to the desk to ask for a change of room, your clerk gave me 2 choices, either a room on the 3rd floor at the back which he said had freeway noise or room 2014. I of course chose 2014. That however was apparently the wrong choice, because this room is directly underneath a service room for the banquet hall which had a hard floor. 3 out of the 5 mornings I was awakened at 6-6:30 am by footsteps and carts being pushed across a hard floor, not just once but many times. It lasted up to 20-30 minutes. It was impossible to sleepI realize that you will tell me that requests are not guaranteed, but surely with the number of rooms you have it couldn't have been that difficult a task to find a quiet room at or near the end of the hall for me!!! Extremely disappointed!! Worst service at a Sheraton ever. April 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exemplary service I am 3 stays from recovering my Platinum status. This is the hotel where I attended my 10 year high school reunion , my college sorority reunion , and I try to stay here when I come back from Florida for work. The staff, especially Sam, is always so attentive,engaging and professional that I have stayed here whenever possible. I so appreciate Sam's note of greeting and the upgrade even though I haven't recovered mt Platinum status yet! My upgrade to an executive suite was so surprising and so appreciated that I will book here again when I have to come back for work next month. Thank you all for your attention to smiles, service, friendliness and recognition. I am a Starwood fan for many many years, I will continue to be a fan of your property forever. November 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A plesant surprise I had to come to checkin very late. There was a computer glitch when I arrived and had to wait for a long time to checkin. I am handicapped and when I went to my room # 404, the key didn't work. I had to go downstairs and was accompanied to the room which was really 406. Then the key worked. The gentleman who came with me apoligized to me. After I was in bed, i noticed that i had left my iPhone in my car. I called downstairs and asked them to please find it and bring it to my room . They were wonderful and it made me glad. The convention floor was very nice also. From that moment on, It was run so well even our awards showon the 21 floor on Friday. I am going up to Sacramento the end of this month with reservations at the Sacramento Grand Sheraton. February 10, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by SERVICE AND ROOM UNSATISFACTORY THIS WAS MY 3RD TIME AT THIS HOTEL.. FIRST 2 X WERE EXCELLENT... BUT THIS TIME WAS AWFUL. THE VALET WERE RUDE. WHEN I GOT 2 MY ROOM THE SINK HAD ASHES ALL OVER. AND I LAID DOWN THE PILLOW CASE SMELLED LIKE BUTT. WHEN THEY WERE NICE ENOUGH TO CHANGE ROOM THE THE GUY WHO CAME TO HELP US WITH THE LUGGAGE WAS SO PUSHY AND MEAN. I TOLD HIM TO SEE THE ASHES IN THE SINK AND HE SAID NO AND TO HURRY TO GO TO THE OTHER ROOM. USUALLY I ENJOY MY STAY BUT ALMOST EVERYBODY THAT WORK THERE ACT LIKE THEY DON'T LIKE THE JOB OR MAYBE IT WAS JUST US. December 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by A little disappointed The room was a bit disappointing for the money. I don't expect to have to stand with one foot in the toilet in order to use the sink. The first night I found the sheet on the bed was not even long enough to tuck in. It appeared to be a queen sheet on a king bed. I spent the night having to adjust it so as to not sleep on the bare mattress. I realize your charging for location to the park but I'm not sure I'd use this facility should I return to Universal. With the rates you charge I shouldn't be charged $20+ a day to park my vehicle. September 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staff Each time we entered the front door we were greated with a friendly hello. The Front Desk agent (Arturo?) was very helpful and knowledgeable. When he discovered we were traveling with our dog he moved us to a lower floor for easier access in and out of the building. We ordered Room Service - the food came promptly and the server was very polite - however our tray was still outside our door the next morning. The building and grounds are very well maintained. Access in and out of the parking garage is easy as is access to the freeway. March 7, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Sheraton EVER I am a Platinum SPG and this has to be the WORST Sheraton anywhere in the world. The Internet is useless. The valets abuse the parking and fill up all the Handicapped. The rooms are OLD OLD OLD. I was in Room 1226 on the SPG floor. The carpets are stained, furniture worn out. The Club Lounge is USELESS. STAY AWAY from this hotel.... April 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a good experience The hotel is located in Universal City and is targeted at parents with children and for holding large conferences. The hotel pool is under renovation and is closed now. The standard room is small, but equipped with all necessary facilities. If you are Elite member of SPG Loyalty Program, you don't need expect special attitude, the reception staff are extremely unfriendly and some of them rude, as the hotel Is operates on a license of Sheraton, then the Sheraton standards complied here only partially. But the staff in the restaurant are very friendly and accommodating! The hotel has a Club Lounge, where served a continental breakfast and snacks in the evening. Given his always full occupies (its difficult to find a place to sit) is better to eat elsewhere. March 26, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor personal service The front desk staff was unhelpful as well as the valet guy, spg had my reservation canceled by mistake and instead of the front desk girl trying to help me fix the problem she asked me to step a side and returned when I had the issue resolved, and in the other hand I had the Valet guy on top of me asking me to move my car to the parking lot or to use there services, my car was not on their way and it was a really calm night, no one at the lobby but us. I ask for a phone or internet so I could communicate with spy because there was no signal on my cel, but once again the employe was not helpful, I had to leave the hotel to find signal to place the call. I was on a family vacation and after a long trip and a long day, the least you expect is to be stock on a lobby for more than an hour with small children. March 9, 2014
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 21 next>>