Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria

  • 801 North Saint Asaph Street
  • Alexandria,
  • Virginia
  • 22314
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 nights, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book up to 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4 out of 5 by 418 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Second time stay This was our second time staying at the Sheraton in Alexandria. After our first stay I had a few small issues, which were virtually non existent during this stay because obviously the management listens and tries very hard to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. We came from NJ with extended family from Washington State. We had two rooms on the same floor. Both of the rooms were comfortable, spacious, and clean. Pool was closed for one day when we went down, which was not the fault of the hotel but someone who allowed their small child to swim in it without a proper swim diaper. They had to thorougly clean and shock the pool for everyone's health safety. Lifeguard was great to have but really should keep a better eye on the pool. One guard had headphones in and was on her computer while parents were allowing their small children in the whirlpool, and others were throwing a ball back and forth between the pool and whirlpool. . During our last stay, the lifeguard was so good, she wouldn't allow my 13 year old in. The sign specifically says ages 16 and up. Not only is it a safety hazard for small children to use a hot tub, but it makes it less enjoyable for the adults to use.Only suggestion I have again is to remove the non gratis water from the rooms because this is the second time we got charged for water that we didn't drink. We brought water from home but I think if the maid sees empty water bottles in the recycling pail or garbage, you get charged. If water is available for sale in the vending machines on the floor, there really is no need to put it in the rooms. August 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A gem of a hotel We loved this hotel! So family friendly and convenient in every way. So close to DC w beautiful drive and jogging paths along the water and situated within blocks of the loveliest shops. We were so pleasantly surprised upon arrival to find out that we were upgraded to the hospitality suite. Excellence in hospitality from The Club Room am breakfast, free access to laundry machine and the fact that they allowed my daughter to bring along her bunny/cage-we will certainly be returning. August 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Alexandria Review The guest room was spacious and nice. However, the bathtub did not drain well and the AC was not super cool. Food from Room Service was not at all fulfilling or flavorful. During my stay, the cable service was not working for all channels and while staff responded quickly, they were not able to fix the problem. August 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel Other than the Lemon flavored Water Jar falling off the table in the lobby during check-in the stay was great! Always is.... August 6, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Access to Amenities not Adequate My stay was a one night stay. The staff were friendly and pleasant and the room was clean and adequate. In fact the bed was exceptionally comfortable. My issue was with the hours of access to the restaurant and bar and to the pool. I stay in Alexandria 5 or 6 nights a month for my job and I usually get to the hotel after 9:00 PM and leave by 9:00 AM. I will not use this facility again due to the lak of access to needed amenities. July 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay!! I had a great stay at this Sheraton in Old Towne. I've stayed at many hotels before this and none compare. The only complaint I really have is that the shuttle didn't go everywhere I expected it to go, so I had to make adjustments to my schedule,etc. But other than that the staff was courteous and helpful!! I will definitely be staying here again!! July 26, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good for the price Decent location; reasonable price; above average hotel July 26, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Customer Service was terrible The shuttle service was unreliable. We waited at the airport for over an hour. I called 3 times and each time was told the driver just left and will be there in 5-7 minutes. When we finally checked in it was 3:00 and no food was available in the hotel until 4:00. Later that evening I called the front desk from my room, no one answered. July 25, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nice Hotel, Sketchy Service Although my stay at this hotel was very comfortable I would never use the word convient to describe my experience. The staff at this sheraton were extremely helpful and friendly but the fact that I was forced to wait for over an hour for the "every half hour" shuttle from the air port over shadowed any positives the staff achieved during my stay, because of this hour and a half delay I was forced to pay for a taxi in order to make it in time for my bus departure leaving D.C. I was also very disappointed in the high charges for internet use and broken elevators that we had to wait for each time we wanted to leave or return to our room. July 25, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty standard, room for improvement This hotel is pretty standard for the Sheraton Suites Hotels. Although they have signs up in the hotel stating that they want to “earn a 10” in satisfaction from their guests, they have a ways to go. My stay was satisfactory, but there are many excellent Starwood properties in the greater DC area. Here is my assessment of the positives and areas for improvement: Positive • Front Desk Staff – Very good service. They seemed genuinely interested in assisting me at check-in. First impressions are important. • The Airport Shuttle – The hotel is close to Washington National Airport. The free shuttle is an attractive reason to stay at this property. • Rooms – Looks like they were re-decorated in the last 5 or 6 years. It is starting to look dated. • Microwaves and refrigerators in the rooms. Areas for Improvement • Beds – The mattresses are not up to the normal Sheraton standards. Time to replace those. • Towels – These are the type of small … thin towels you expect to find in discount hotels. • Club Room – The food in the club room was minimal and not very appealing. I noticed that room was not staffed so there was no one to ask where the hidden flatware was being stashed. Would I stay at this hotel again? Yes, but I have now calibrated my expectations for my stay. July 21, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by very poor experience - beware elevator! Had the pleasure of getting stuck in the elevator for approx. 10 min. Extremely hot. Once I finally heard response to the red button, it was 'SOMEONE IS ON THE WAY!" No apologies. No sorry for the convenience. After being extracted, the front desk had nothing further to offer. The hotel staff appeared completely unprepared to address this situation. I was rewarded by being charged for drinking a 2nd bottle of water on the hotel bill.. July 21, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Washington DC vacation This hotel was nice. The sleeper sofa wasn't great so i wouldn't really count on that as a great option. The mini fridge upon arrival wasn't working in the room and after calling the front desk we had a replacement within 15 minutes. I also asked for an extra towel to be left each day and this was done without ever mentioning it again. We used the hotel shuttle to the airport on a daily basis to get to the metro. This was great as it saved us some walking. The hot tub was great to soak in after a long day touring in DC. We did find some food on the floor from previous guests which was a little gross. Overall though for a party of 2 I would recommend this hotel. July 20, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Contradictory information I was given contradictory information and found it very frustrating and disappointing. I made my reservation through the toll free number and was told if available, I would qualify for a free upgrade when I checked in. I questioned the telephone agent several times to make sure I understood correctly. However, when I checked in, I was firmly told I would have to pay $30 for an upgrade. Confusing. We arrived late and there was an indordinate number of people in the lobby and elevators. Probably will not stay here again. July 10, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Decent, but needs some improvements This hotel was decent but could use some help in the staff department. We asked for two more towels and a bar of soap because we had four people in our room. No one ever showed up and I had to go down and get them myself only to find they didn't have soap on hand or towels. Finally someone showed up and knocked on the door after I told them not to knock because my kids were sleeping and just leave them outside the door. Our keys for the room would not work three different times. When I told them at the desk, each time they never apologized just took the card, swiped it again and handed it back. No explanation, nothing. We also tried to get a shuttle back from the Metro one night and could not get through on the phone to the hotel to request the shuttle and ended up paying a cab $10 for a very short ride. Our first morning we had a very overpriced breakfast buffet in the restaurant with very poor service. They acted like it was an inconvenience to even have us there. No coffee refills, not enough silverwear on the table, food was not replenished on the buffet. The size and layout of the suite was nice, pool was decent, proximity to shops and restaurants was good. July 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Last Minute Stay I reserved the hotel room on a last minute and they were more than accomodating! The staff was friendly and helpful in regards to the area and everything that I needed. The room was fabulous and the bed was comfy! I did eat at the restuarant there onsite, and will say the food was pretty good. It was a little salty for my taste, but otherwise fair. It was reasonably priced for a last minute reservation. I would and will definitely stay here again! July 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a fabulous staff!!! Everything went above and beyond my expectations. The rooms are beautiful, slept like a baby on those mattresses. Breakfast was great...the staff at the restaurant was fabulous. Special shout out to Daysi.(she should get a raise) She made our stay so special. Elena and Melvin at the front desk were so great giving us directions, etc. The shuttle drivers were outstanding. It almost feels like a family there and they included us. Such a special time. I didn't want to leave. Hope I get to go back someday. June 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Going Home I have been staying at this hotel for over 10 years, and as my Title suggests it is like going home. The staff, desk, concierge, and room are consistantly effective and friendly. I left money on my desk mid-stay for the room staff, but as I had not specifically noted it as a tip it remained where I left it-I added some dollars and a note for the next day-nothing assumed. The sleep experience is even better than at home-time to upgrade my bedding to Sheraton standards again. BTW, I was working in Springfield but choose to stay in the hotel. June 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Choice Nice hotel, good value. The staff were friendly and helpful, particularly Zach at the front desk. We had a very nice stay and would absolutely return. June 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by 5 Star Staff Whether its been a week or a couple of months between my stays the staff always remember me and often have everything ready for me as soon as I walk in the door. A special recognition to Elena an Zach. I see them more than anyone else and they exceed all expectations and are by far the best out of all hotels I've stayed at. I always look forward to coming to DC because I know I'll be staying in Alexandria and feel as close to home as I can when in the road. June 17, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Starwood Hotel south of DCA What a nice full service hotel south of the airport. The staff represents the Starwood Brand so well, probably the best ive seen staying in Starwood hotels for years. Unlike other Starwood properties ive been too, I really liked how upon checkin the staff acknowledged my status as a gold member, it makes you feel appreciated for all the hard work it takes just to become gold.They even upgraded me to the Club level was the absolute best! I chose this hotel because of the suites and their seperate living area. Theres even a door in between the room and the living room with a pullout sofa. Even better, the bathroom is connected to both the living room and the bedroom, so you dont have to pass thru the other early in the morning to use the bathroom. Hotel has 10 levels, Club level is on the 9th floor, and restaurant/bar, fitness center pool, and a courtyard. Parking is safe and secure underground. Of all the friendly staff, the two that stood out was Max and the female supervisor at the Front Desk whos first name starts with a D(cant remember the name). I like how they remember little details about your requests and followed up on them. June 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mother's Guest House ~~ !! Went to visit Mother, who lives in Alexandria House, just opposite this Sheraton Suites. On arrival, the front desk was most helpful in providing a room where I could wave 'goodnight' across the way to her, as well as a refrigerator for meds. Have stayed here previously, and though the hotel is older now, it has remained wonderfully updated and always immaculately clean. Kudos to the staff! So close to Reagan National Airport and just minutes from all the action in Old Town. The Hoof Restaurant is an intimate and welcoming venue for drinks or a meal, and the computer services are exceptional, with every amenity. Even the elevators are fast and reliable. In all, probably the best bang for the buck in Old Town Alexandria . . . thanks, Steve W, for keeping Mother's guest house up to standard!! June 8, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice rooms but service dodgy Rooms are nice, facilities are nice and clean but this guest had significant issues with the room service and quality of food. Was at this location for business so was forced to subside on the 'hoof and fin' restaurant. Gag me. I had underdone bacon for breakfast and over-cooked Ahi tuna on my salad for lunch. Other colleagues remarked that the food tasted like cafeterial food (e.g., the hamburgers) Also, this Sheraton contracts with ATT for wireless which is fine except if there are technical issues, good luck and you'll be calling an 800# to get help. However, when the internet went out, the hotel was able to gett ATT to fix it within a few hours. Although a few hours seems like a very long time if one has work to do. May 28, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Really needs work Told that I had been upgraded when I checked in...BS...Had a view of the construction site next door. Called the desk to ask for my bottle of complimentary water...NEVER arrived. Two of the lamps were unplugged and clock was not set...blinking 12. These are not big things, but a real nuisance and lifetime Golds should not have to deal with them...no one should... May 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Shuttle Staff was wonderful We like to stay on the go and found the shuttle staff very cordial and informative. A special thanks to Amir (?) for always guiding us correctly. May 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The service made the stay! I came to Alexandria for some fun and was not disappointed! I enjoyed the area and had a wonderful time, but the staff made all of the difference! Lou at the front desk was a gem and totally saved the evening for us. He helped turned a great weekend into a truly memorable one and I appreciate it so much! (Thank you Lou!) Myself and another in our party were not feeling well on Sunday and a sweet lady from room service came up with some toast and she was so kind. I wish I had got her name. Her caring and kind greeting was truly appreciated. The rooms at this hotel were absolutely beautiful and the area as everything you could need or want, including beautiful streets to stretch your legs, soak in some sun and fresh air. I look forward to returning one day and staying at the Sheraton again! May 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by front desk Excellent "Zack" This trip " Zack " front desk staff , was just superb, went out of his way to assist, finding transportation, eateries etc. Really, customer service oriented and made you feel Welcome. Have stayed before and will stay again. May 16, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average hotel in an average location Stayed here for a weekend sightseeing in DC. Not particularly close to a metro, though a shuttle operates intermittently. Rooms were expected to be larger ("suites"), but were really just normal-sized rooms with french doors between the bed and sofa. No room upgrades or otherwise for gold status. May 9, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Another stay - a different outcome I have written two good reviews of this hotel but found something different this stay. Thought I would alert others to the difference. Arrived last night (Friday) - No SPG recognition. This morning I attempted to use my free breakfast coupon (purchased as part of a package) and was told that although it was not mentioned on the website while booking, or on the actual coupon - the coupon was only valid for the buffet. I asked the front desk why and was told that “there is no way that we could afford to let you use the a la cart menu” – I was not trying to break the bank, I just wanted fresh cooked eggs. So, be advised that the package you think you buy may not be the one you get - Caveat emptor Also this time there was no hot food in the Lounge.... and the employee in the SPG lounge does not speak english May 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another good stay I have stayed at many hotels around the DC area. I booked again at this hotel and was again pleased. This time I was able to spend time in the Lounge ... LATE NIGHT there were no snacks until I called - everything was replenished quickly... BREAKFAST was good, was nice to have hot food (would appreciate hot eggs) - but the ham/cheese croissants were good! April 30, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lukewarm Service This hotel consistently tries to skimp on costs for silly things. This is the 3rd time in about 4-5 months that there's only been one bar of soap in the room so I have to carry it back and forth from the sink to the shower. They don't give free water in the room unless you are a gold member. The gym has very little equipment. The restaurant consistently in way under-staffed, so it takes forever to get served and after being served, they almost never come back to refill water glasses or check on you. Last week they tried to give me a room on a floor that was under construction (looked like a bomb zone) and smelled of carpet glue in every room. I made them change me to a different floor. The people at the registration desk often have a sour attitude. April 15, 2012
  • 2015-05-22T20:18:20.470-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-14, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_418, tr_418
  • loc_en_US, sid_90, prod, sort_default
<<prev 11 12 13 14 15 next>>