Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria

  • 801 North Saint Asaph Street
  • Alexandria,
  • Virginia
  • 22314
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 387 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lukewarm Service This hotel consistently tries to skimp on costs for silly things. This is the 3rd time in about 4-5 months that there's only been one bar of soap in the room so I have to carry it back and forth from the sink to the shower. They don't give free water in the room unless you are a gold member. The gym has very little equipment. The restaurant consistently in way under-staffed, so it takes forever to get served and after being served, they almost never come back to refill water glasses or check on you. Last week they tried to give me a room on a floor that was under construction (looked like a bomb zone) and smelled of carpet glue in every room. I made them change me to a different floor. The people at the registration desk often have a sour attitude. April 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by It was great. Clean, comfortable and within easy access from the train station. Enjoyed the "go green" option. May 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful! This hotel provided us with close proximity to the metro, via hotel shuttle, as well as pick up on King Street. The hotel staff was very helpful. Thanks, for a lovely stay. Karen and Charles Tate. April 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by AFL-CIO Community Service Liaison Great stay, I enjoyed the Hotel May 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel great location Overall the visit was fine. Had a problem with toilet in one room and TV in other. The staff seemed confused about the shuttle service to King st and we ended up just walking the mile. I also asked for free internet at check in and was charged for internet and given points. Not a big deal but not up to the quality I usually get at Sheraton. I am now retired and am a lifetime gold member which is a downgrade from the platinum status I held previously. I don't think that should have made a difference in any of the above. December 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel isvVery comfortable to stayt The guest room was very clean and well arranged floore space and comfortable to stay. May 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff needs help Upon check in staff was accommodating. Being platinum member, Internet is always complimentary. During my stay I did use the executive lounge the receptionist was on computer playing video games and surfing the internet the whole time. Checkout was a different story, I checked out at 0430 as I walked to the counter I find the front desk man leaning over the back counter sleeping. I finally awake him and he proceeds to check me out, as I expected there is a Internet charge on invoice, had quite a difficult time getting charge removed. I then ask to please call a taxi, again the gentleman has not a clue how to contact one, not sure if it is because he is stil half asleep or just poor quality of staff and training. I believe it to be the latter. Stay somewhere else. May 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Misleading Club Breakfast Woke up in beautiful comfortable clean setting, and began our planning for the day. Hubby went for breakfast. I joined at 10:20am Sunday. Oops - everything picked up, even espresso machine is 'unavailable.' Printed material said open until 11am on Sunday. Ask kitchen staff about it as everything is getting wheeled out - "You can go to the restaurant." Registered concern at desk, told, "Sorry, that must be a misprint." "You can go to the restaurant." No - unacceptable. We were packed and ready to leave by that point. Urg. March 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Stays I have been visiting the Sheraton Suites in Alexandria annually for about 20 years and it has never failed to impress me. the staff always meet my needs and expectations. April 28, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Huge Disappointment We had a huge disappointment on Friday March 2nd. While preparing for bed we noticed a noise coming from abov us -- we were on the top floor of the hotel. The noise was such that we found it impossible to get to sleep. The first call to the front desk was "I'll get back to you." Nothing came of that call for five minutes so I called again. This time they did call back and sent two staff people up to see if they could determine the cause. They were of no help and told us that there were no empty rooms available -- wrong! March 9, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Contradictory information I was given contradictory information and found it very frustrating and disappointing. I made my reservation through the toll free number and was told if available, I would qualify for a free upgrade when I checked in. I questioned the telephone agent several times to make sure I understood correctly. However, when I checked in, I was firmly told I would have to pay $30 for an upgrade. Confusing. We arrived late and there was an indordinate number of people in the lobby and elevators. Probably will not stay here again. July 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room for improvement Convenient to airport and historic Old Town, comfortable, reasonable cost. Would have rated it highly if breakfast in the club room had not been neglected. On a Monday morning at 8 am, there were no plates, spoons, dairy products, bagels -- it took half an hour before the food, plates, etc. were replenished. April 16, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hotel's mistake almost led to them kicking me out In terms of comfort, cleanliness and amenities, the Sheraton was great. In terms of customer service and accomodation, the Sheraton was the worst hotel experience I've ever had. I was in town for a work conference and had a reservation for Sunday-Friday. On Thursday night I come to find out that they had checked me out a day early. When I told them I had a reservation through Friday and even showed them my confirmation notice that the Sheraton had issued me they still did not honor it. Apparently who ever checked me in made the mistake of not reserving my room through Friday like they were supposed to. The other problem was that I only had my company credit card, and since my name was not on it, only my companies, they could not accept it. I checked in on Sunday with that form of payment and was not told about this rule. They had made the mistake of not informing me about this on Sunday. Had they done that, I could have contacted my boss and had him give them authorization for me to use the card at a reasonable hour, instead of calling him at 1:00am that night, like they suggested. I had no other form of payment that I could use. I had done nothing wrong. I was staying there with an organization that had a relationship with the hotel, and proof that I worked with the organization and they basically told me that I had to find some place else to stay--at 1:00am in the morning. I understand the security concerns with making sure the credit card matches the users identity, but they could have avoided this had they done their jobs right in the first place. They should have told me about it when I checked in with that form of payment, they made the mistake of not honoring my original reservation through Friday and they made me feel like I was the one who had messed up, and never took responsibility for their mistakes. It was an extremely stressful and disorienting situation and ruined the week for me. I would not recommend staying at the Sheraton for this reason. May 9, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Front desk evening/night staff needs more training in customer service From the time we arrived the front desk person checking us in seemed to be confused. We got up to our room and it was not the room she told us we were getting. The phone rang and she started to apologize for the room and further asked again for my credit card information saying that it did not go though.........The package we booked came with complimentary continental breakfast....well did we feel belittled when we went to the restaurant and the staff came peeking into our plates to see what we took from the buffet. Apparently we were not supposed to take certain foods that were there but no one told us. There are too many incidents to list.....Overall the staff at this hotel made us feel uncomfortable.....What a disappointment.....SPG needs to take another look at this facility. September 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Clean & Comfy We took a quick 4 day get away to tour Washington DC. While I was told the nearest Metro was "around the corner", it was actually about a 7-10 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel does offer a shuttle service to Ronald Reagan International Airport, where there is a Metro stop, however the shuttle runs on the 1/2 hour. The hotel and our room was clean. There are no safes in the room, the "safety deposit box" is at the main desk. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Bed was comfy, especially after a day of touring DC and being on our feet all day. Aside from construction at a nearby site, the hotel was very quiet. The room was very clean. Be aware that the shuttle runs on the hour after 8 pm and the last pickup from the airport is 11 pm. Overall, we would definitely stay there again. September 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Choice in the Area This was an enjoyable hotel for a weeklong stay. Recently remodeled, clean, comfortable rooms, beds in separate room from living room makes for more comfortable use of space. Very comfortable beds. Very convenient shuttle van that wii take guests to/from King Street or local restaurants. My only complaints this stay were with room service which consistently made small errors consistently in my order every day during breakfast (forgetting beverage, wrong toast, etc). Otherwise, a very positive experience. December 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel Staff was wonderful, friendly and very accomodating from front desk, shuttle drivers to cleaning staff. We did the green program and asked for more towels every day and the cleaning staff would almost beat us to our room. Answered any questions or found out answer if they didn't know. Loved the door dividing livingroom area and bedroom. Felt more like staying in a home. April 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a fabulous staff!!! Everything went above and beyond my expectations. The rooms are beautiful, slept like a baby on those mattresses. Breakfast was great...the staff at the restaurant was fabulous. Special shout out to Daysi.(she should get a raise) She made our stay so special. Elena and Melvin at the front desk were so great giving us directions, etc. The shuttle drivers were outstanding. It almost feels like a family there and they included us. Such a special time. I didn't want to leave. Hope I get to go back someday. June 26, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by One Major Deficiency In the current climate of competition in the hospitality industry, a hotel that caters to business travelers can't afford to not have in-room safes. With so many people traveling with many electronic devices and zealously making time for out-of-the-room exercise, the absence of a safe represents both a hassle and a significantly reduced sense of security of one's valuables. I can't recommend a hotel with no in-room safes to colleagues or friends...even one that scored so well in all other categories. May 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location The hotel is in a great location. Walking distance to King street, river parks. Great neighborhood. They have a shuttle to the Metro to go to DC. Rooms are dated, but clean and spacious. Woud like to see a little updating in the rooms. Wanted to swim in the pool for exercise, but hours very limited and when open, all kids. Fitness room small but open 24 hours. Staff very friendly, although when I checked out, the desk clerk was on the phone with a guest and she was rolling her eyes at their request. July 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Close to DC Hotel staff was friendly, Wifi was not free in the room, but was free in the lobby. Room was clean, and when we requested extra pillows and blankets the request was filled quickly. April 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Workout Room Needs Improvement The hotel is beautiful and located perfectly as to walk to shops, restaurants and easy access to running trails. Only drawback would be when the heat is sweltering and humid and you are there for work trying to get a workout in....the workout room is located next to the swimming pool and retains all the heat and humidity. As far as Sheratons go, it is unfortunately one of the worst exercise rooms I've seen. Even at 8 in the evening, the room did not cool down as there is insufficient ventilation. July 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A few days in February I have stayed at this hotel a few times and it is a good hotel to stay at when having to quickly go to and from DCA. There was a problem picking us up at the airport, rather than come right away, we had to wait 50 minutes until it coincided with the 3:00 pm airport drop off, because the driver did not want to make two trips. Someone over there finally put there foot down and sent the driver. After that snafu, our stay was delightful. Yes the hotel is a little older, but the people make up for it. February 13, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by The bed was like sleeping on cardboard Please let me begin by saying that the hotel was extremely clean and the staff could not be nicer. The issue had nothing to do with anyone who worked at the hotel. Our problem was with the bed. The bed was like sleeping on a table. We did not get much sleep due to how uncomfortable it was. We actually considered sleeping on the floor at one point. So the only reason I would not recommend this hotel is only because the bed was terrible. It was clean and the staff super. But we need our sleep. November 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by One night stay. I am a travel agent...I made the reservation last minute as I have a daughter living in DC and was stopping to see her. Upon checking in the staff was lovely and did their job well. I had room 302...I was surprised to have a view of a roof and building as the description stated a view of the temple. Nah that did not happen. I was traveling with my mom and husband and the room was tight but that was fine...the rugs are worn and actually shredding in areas...the room was cool if you were walking around...I had a horrible night sleep as the air of COURSE did not go on when you were laying down...it was horrible. When you have a suite type room and want privacy and shut the door between the sitting area and bedroom the bedroom became a tomb. Liked the area but honestly not sure if I could return. September 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Two Stays - Two Excellent Experiences This is my hotel of choice when travelling through the DC/VA area, I have stayed here twice, and both times were excellent. There is prompt check-in. easy check-out (via email), and I love that you can go to and from the parking garage via the elevator in the hotel. Also, the meals from room service were outstanding....much better than the usual types of meals served elsewhere. The proximity to Alexandria Old Town is excellent, too! March 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good location in Old Town Alexandria Enjoyed staying in this hotel as it's close to DC and King Streeet. Stayed in club level lounge, but the coffee machine was not working properly. April 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Spot to Stay for DC Trip This hotel was a great spot to stay for our recent trip to DC. The shuttle will take you to and from the Reagan Airport where you can catch the metro. You can also walk about 6 blocks to the closest metro or get dropped off near King Street and take the free trolley to the King Station. The price is great! You are in walking distance to a Starbucks, diner/cafe with great breakfast and banks. Definitely worth the savings of staying in DC itself. Stay is friendly, drivers are great! October 17, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Another stay - a different outcome I have written two good reviews of this hotel but found something different this stay. Thought I would alert others to the difference. Arrived last night (Friday) - No SPG recognition. This morning I attempted to use my free breakfast coupon (purchased as part of a package) and was told that although it was not mentioned on the website while booking, or on the actual coupon - the coupon was only valid for the buffet. I asked the front desk why and was told that “there is no way that we could afford to let you use the a la cart menu” – I was not trying to break the bank, I just wanted fresh cooked eggs. So, be advised that the package you think you buy may not be the one you get - Caveat emptor Also this time there was no hot food in the Lounge.... and the employee in the SPG lounge does not speak english May 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Place This hotel was really outstanding from the check-in process to the check-out process. The desk clerk who check me in was really great. I forgot her name but I checked in on Saturday evening. She was very professional and courteous. Please thank her for me again. This hotel was amazing. Our room was outstanding. Next time we will stay there it will be for a weekend. The bed was so comfortable I slept like a baby. You will not go wrong with this place. The price was great too. October 7, 2013
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 14 next>>