Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria

  • 801 North Saint Asaph Street
  • Alexandria,
  • Virginia
  • 22314
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 409 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay My family and I enjoyed our stay at the Sheraton Suites (Club Level) during the 2013 Inauguration festivities. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The room was spacious and very clean. They even provided guests 2 engraved champagne glasses and a bottle of bubbly to commemorate the special event. The only downside is that my kids were staying at the hotel with my dad while my mom and I went to the ceremonies downtown. One of the main reasons we chose this particular hotel was because of the indoor pool. I never thought to ask if there were specific hours when I made the reservation...unfortunately the pool doesn't open until 4pm. The kids were very disappointed. Other than that, we had a fabulous stay. January 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice location close to Penn's Landing Very nice weekend; but staff a little overwhelmed by large wedding party. Only problem was room temp; could not feel heat when thermostat setting was raised but not a real cold night so didn't call for help. Love the rooms / colors. Suites have a little entry with a door to close off between bathroom and main room; which is nice to cut down noise from the atrium (which is noisy on a busy night). Club room food was good but no fresh veggies on a Sat night; may be different during the week. Good location; felt very safe walking around after dark. October 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Location, Location, Location The Sheraton Suites in Alexandria is located in Old Town within easy walking distance to the main drag, King Street. It is also a short Metro ride to Washington D.C. We stayed here many times before moving to Northern Virginia and although we live with a 45 minute drive we decided to spend the night, have dinner at our favorite restaurant, Villa d'Este and spend the next day touring Old Town Alexandria. The hotel couldn't be more comfortable or the staff more welcoming. No change since our first stay more than 15 years ago. August 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by February Stay Nice hotel within walking distance of our daughter's apartment in Alexandria. Only a few criticisms. #1: Why, at this point in time, a top tier hotel chain like Sheraton Hotels CANNOT offer free wireless internet is completely beyond me. If you stay at a low tier or mid tier hotel chain you get free wireless internet. I would think that providing free wireless internet would help attract business related travelers. #2: By declining the housekeeping services I was able to get a $5 discount on food/beverages during my stay. My wife and I used it to get a couple of glasses of wine in the hotel bar. Unfortunately, this $5 "discount" appeared as a charge on my hotel bill. This was resolved (or at least I was told it was being resolved), but how a credit or a coupon turns in to a charge is beyond me. Especially when I paid the bar tab in cash! February 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superlative staff The staff was really fabulous, going out of their way to help in any way they could, and cheerfully, too. (The only exception was the shuttle driver who wasn't Ibrahim.) Diana, Gary, James, Ibrahim, Maia at the pool, ... and numerous others all were so friendly and helpful. Beyond the staff, the compact physical arrangement of the hotel is excellent, the lobby computers (incl. printer) were greatly appreciated, the free laundry was a lovely assist, and the pool, hot tub, & gym were just what we needed. It's a pleasant 10-minute walk to King St.'s restaurants, but there are a couple of eateries right near the hotel that are impressively good and inexpensive. December 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Home away from home Our daughter is working in DC and we discovered the Sheraton when we moved her to the city June 2011. I have been fortunate to find sale prices for most of our visits which has really helped us out. Be sure you check the Sheraton website for specials! I love the view driving into DC. Pet friendly so my Yorkie loves the hotel, too! I prefer Alexandria to staying on Capitol Hill. Really enjoy shopping in Olde Town! Shuttle is convenient. October 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient location I stayed two nights and was able to use the hotel shuttle and the Metro system to easily get from the airport to hotel to meetings. The room was spacious for only one person and meticulously clean (pillows were too soft for me). I really liked the ability of the curtains to block all light. I ordered room service breakfast (which was very good) and exercised the green option of not having maid service on the first night of my stay. This resulted in not having an order form for breakfast the second day. After enjoying the buffet-style breakfast in the hotel restraurant, there was a delay in obtaining change for $20, but they held the 7 am shuttle for me. Thanks! March 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Wedding Weekend We chose the Sheraton for our son's Wedding weekend and held both the rehearsal dinner and the reception there. It was SUPERB!!! The staff consistently went above-and-beyond the call of duty to ensure that everyone had an exceptional time…..especially the Bride and Groom. Mallory (our event planner) was a Godsend and should be everyone's first choice to make their event one to remember. The location was very convenient to all-things DC, the food was delicious, the set up was immaculate, and the Service was top-notch. We'd do it again at the Sheraton in a heartbeat. Thank you everyone for making it such a memorable weekend. November 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My First Time in Alexandria The front desk staff and courtesy drivers were very willing to drop me off at the Metro station and pick me up from various locations including the airport. Other than one of my three nights being interrupted by loud guests in another room on my floor (8th floor), we had a terrific stay. December 14, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Location is excellent Wonderful, quiet location with easy access to Reagan National Airport/Metro (hotel shuttle leaves every 30 minutes). Potomac River is 3 blocks East, some rooms have views; very walkable, lovely Old Alexandria neighborhood. We will definitely stay here in the future. September 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel was a great location for our family gathering during Thanksgiving The hotel is easy walk to Old Towne and the shuttle service is very timely picking up and dropping off. Perfect hotel for our family gathering, adults and children, during the Thanksgiving holiday! Thank you Sheraton Suites staff for taking good care of us! November 29, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by nice stay with a few rough edges My husband and I stayed for a long weekend on the club floor. Jocelyn provided excellent customer service before and during our stay. Unfortunately for us she didn't work on the weekend. The club room was frequently void of snacks and water and the coffee machine was broken. We had to get replacement room keys 6x. Our room was wonderful and our bed was comfortable. Unfortunately for us the pool and hot tub were closed while we visited. The location in Alexandria was so convenient to DC and Reagan Int'l airport. October 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by great place to stay was very happy with this hotel - room was clean, staff friendly, bartender happy. great location with good restaurants within easy walk and King street close April 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved your Location It was easy to get in and out of DC and Northern Virginia via Metro. Your shuttle service from Reagan Airport was excellent. October 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by bed the bed was very comfortable October 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty standard, room for improvement This hotel is pretty standard for the Sheraton Suites Hotels. Although they have signs up in the hotel stating that they want to “earn a 10” in satisfaction from their guests, they have a ways to go. My stay was satisfactory, but there are many excellent Starwood properties in the greater DC area. Here is my assessment of the positives and areas for improvement: Positive • Front Desk Staff – Very good service. They seemed genuinely interested in assisting me at check-in. First impressions are important. • The Airport Shuttle – The hotel is close to Washington National Airport. The free shuttle is an attractive reason to stay at this property. • Rooms – Looks like they were re-decorated in the last 5 or 6 years. It is starting to look dated. • Microwaves and refrigerators in the rooms. Areas for Improvement • Beds – The mattresses are not up to the normal Sheraton standards. Time to replace those. • Towels – These are the type of small … thin towels you expect to find in discount hotels. • Club Room – The food in the club room was minimal and not very appealing. I noticed that room was not staffed so there was no one to ask where the hidden flatware was being stashed. Would I stay at this hotel again? Yes, but I have now calibrated my expectations for my stay. July 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel had everything we were looking for. We wanted a suite that included a full breakfast; the hotel offered a AAA Breakfast package with a full breakfast buffet each morning. The suite was well designed with a door separating the living and bedroom areas, and the furnishings were comfortable and attractive. The staff was also friendly and helpful. The hotel is within walking distance of 2 Metro stations, the heart of Old Town, and 15 minutes from the airport on their free shuttle. Location, amenities, customer service, and cost made this the best pick for our DC vacation. August 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by awesome hotel but need to fix food this hotel is the perfect place to stay to visit both Alexandria and Washington. Front desk staff are extremely polite, friendly and professional. Rooms/beds/pillows are great. The only thing they need to fix is the onsite restaurant - we went for Saturday night dinner as we were exhausted - I ordered chicken greek salad - chicken was incredibly dry. Told waitress who brought a new one out in less than 2 minutes - not cooked to order so dry again..didn't expect that after everything else being so great.Hubby's pizza was not made from a dough but premade shell... October 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Second time stay This was our second time staying at the Sheraton in Alexandria. After our first stay I had a few small issues, which were virtually non existent during this stay because obviously the management listens and tries very hard to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. We came from NJ with extended family from Washington State. We had two rooms on the same floor. Both of the rooms were comfortable, spacious, and clean. Pool was closed for one day when we went down, which was not the fault of the hotel but someone who allowed their small child to swim in it without a proper swim diaper. They had to thorougly clean and shock the pool for everyone's health safety. Lifeguard was great to have but really should keep a better eye on the pool. One guard had headphones in and was on her computer while parents were allowing their small children in the whirlpool, and others were throwing a ball back and forth between the pool and whirlpool. . During our last stay, the lifeguard was so good, she wouldn't allow my 13 year old in. The sign specifically says ages 16 and up. Not only is it a safety hazard for small children to use a hot tub, but it makes it less enjoyable for the adults to use.Only suggestion I have again is to remove the non gratis water from the rooms because this is the second time we got charged for water that we didn't drink. We brought water from home but I think if the maid sees empty water bottles in the recycling pail or garbage, you get charged. If water is available for sale in the vending machines on the floor, there really is no need to put it in the rooms. August 10, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Just too eventful Lets start with the flood that happen! Yes a flood the toilet overflowed why who knows! One flush and it was water everywhere. We move to another room and guess what?! The tv does not work then it eventually started working. But the kicker was the HEAT does not work its WINTER! I got zero sleep that night. They fixed it the next day and offered me breakfast. I said def NOT so they paid for our parking instead. Then it was nearly impossible to leave the hotel because our room key NEVER worked to let us out the garage. All and all just way too many things annoyed me about this hotel. January 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy New Year The purpose of this review is simply to recognize the above and beyond service that we received. We wanted a room that had a view of the river and midnight fireworks. We were told they would try to find us another room even though they were "booked". More than an hour later, they found us another room. We thought they had forgotten... probably because we had forgotten. It wasn't necessary but it was noticed and recognized. Also, despite traffic being heavy after midnight, the shuttle was prompt and it was evident that the shuttle drivers were working hard to accommodate everyone. January 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice rooms but service dodgy Rooms are nice, facilities are nice and clean but this guest had significant issues with the room service and quality of food. Was at this location for business so was forced to subside on the 'hoof and fin' restaurant. Gag me. I had underdone bacon for breakfast and over-cooked Ahi tuna on my salad for lunch. Other colleagues remarked that the food tasted like cafeterial food (e.g., the hamburgers) Also, this Sheraton contracts with ATT for wireless which is fine except if there are technical issues, good luck and you'll be calling an 800# to get help. However, when the internet went out, the hotel was able to gett ATT to fix it within a few hours. Although a few hours seems like a very long time if one has work to do. May 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Accommodating Hotel for Pets in Old Town The Sheraton Old Town Suites was a wonderful experience. We checked in late and the staff accommodated both of our pets with no questions and selected a nice room with a view for us. We dined at the restaurant ;food and service were not the best, but edible. Otherwise, our stay was great. We will definitely stay at this property again. October 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by A little more refinement is needed... We were a little disappointed in the dated appearance of this hotel. Wallpaper peeling off the walls in the bedroom, nightstands scuffed up and out of place along with the stains on the carpet. There appeared to be remnants of dog hair on the couch along with the disgusting odor they leave behind. Yes dogs were in the hotel while we were there and if they are going to allow dogs they should have designated rooms and warn customers if they are going to give them a room previously used by dogs. The bar/restaurant area was a joke since it shut down at 11:00 pm on a Friday. The saving grace of this hotel would be the staff, especially the ladies servicing the Club Floor Lounge area. I am sure with more refinements this hotel could easily polish its Sheraton image. April 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick Stay We were traveling and used this hotel to sleep and move forward. We checked in very, very late- 2 a.m., and were still given excellent service and we slept like logs. August 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Hotel was very nice Hotel was nice. Comfortable bed & nice view. Service was nice & room very clean & had microwave & fridge in the room & plenty of sitting space & great work desk. August 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel for the money The hotel, room, and staff were very nice. We were disappointed with the restaurant. Since it was the week before Thanksgiving, the only time the restaurant was open was for breakfast. It would have been nice to know this before we booked. Even the bar was closed in the evening so if you wanted to just have a nightcap, you had to leave the hotel to do that. The staff was very friendly, and the shuttle would take you anywhere you wanted to go but it would have been nice to have a restaurant and bar that was open in the hotel. November 25, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great, but one little request We enjoyed every component of the hotel. The shuttles to the airport, metro and Old Town were quick, and timely. The staff were outstanding. However, we stayed in Alexandria, as opposed to downtown DC so that we could have a suite as opposed to a single room. Traveling with teen boys, I was hoping for a little privacy. However, the curtains on the doors dividing the rooms were absolutely sheer. I couldn't really make sense of this. Otherwise the stay was wonderful and I have already recommended this to others. April 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Saved us -dogs included from multiple power outages The Olde Towne Sheraton Suites has become our home away from home when the power is out, In DC, it always a long wait before it returns and only happens on the hottest summer days 95+or cold winter nights. We have a geriatric golden retriever who had surgery last year. The power crashed soon after he got out of the vet hospital. What to do? He had a hard time walking. Leave it to these guys to redefine hospitality-- concierge help From out room, the walk was too long for him, Enter the Night Bellman, He grabbed a bell cart and came up to get our friend. Without any fuss, he hopped on a cart-took a seat- and got a ride to the parking lot. Did his outies--and got a return trip--with a treat. You can get better than that, Thanks Olde Towne---wow what friends to our friend in need, February 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A good experience! It was a short stay, but the hotel was very clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and courteous. Parking was very convenient. However I feel that there should be discounted parking, or the ability to use star points for parking, for SPG members. August 12, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>