Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria

  • 801 North Saint Asaph Street
  • Alexandria,
  • Virginia
  • 22314
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 387 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by great place to stay was very happy with this hotel - room was clean, staff friendly, bartender happy. great location with good restaurants within easy walk and King street close April 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mr. Jack Omelak Excellent hotel, I like staying at your hotel. It is close to everything and comfortable. Very clean and very good staff. June 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved your Location It was easy to get in and out of DC and Northern Virginia via Metro. Your shuttle service from Reagan Airport was excellent. October 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by bed the bed was very comfortable October 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Another great stay Sheraton Suites Old Town one again provided a comfortable stay. July 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty standard, room for improvement This hotel is pretty standard for the Sheraton Suites Hotels. Although they have signs up in the hotel stating that they want to “earn a 10” in satisfaction from their guests, they have a ways to go. My stay was satisfactory, but there are many excellent Starwood properties in the greater DC area. Here is my assessment of the positives and areas for improvement: Positive • Front Desk Staff – Very good service. They seemed genuinely interested in assisting me at check-in. First impressions are important. • The Airport Shuttle – The hotel is close to Washington National Airport. The free shuttle is an attractive reason to stay at this property. • Rooms – Looks like they were re-decorated in the last 5 or 6 years. It is starting to look dated. • Microwaves and refrigerators in the rooms. Areas for Improvement • Beds – The mattresses are not up to the normal Sheraton standards. Time to replace those. • Towels – These are the type of small … thin towels you expect to find in discount hotels. • Club Room – The food in the club room was minimal and not very appealing. I noticed that room was not staffed so there was no one to ask where the hidden flatware was being stashed. Would I stay at this hotel again? Yes, but I have now calibrated my expectations for my stay. July 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location Every one of our expectations were met. It was a wonderful vacation enhanced by this hotel and staff. July 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Second time stay This was our second time staying at the Sheraton in Alexandria. After our first stay I had a few small issues, which were virtually non existent during this stay because obviously the management listens and tries very hard to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. We came from NJ with extended family from Washington State. We had two rooms on the same floor. Both of the rooms were comfortable, spacious, and clean. Pool was closed for one day when we went down, which was not the fault of the hotel but someone who allowed their small child to swim in it without a proper swim diaper. They had to thorougly clean and shock the pool for everyone's health safety. Lifeguard was great to have but really should keep a better eye on the pool. One guard had headphones in and was on her computer while parents were allowing their small children in the whirlpool, and others were throwing a ball back and forth between the pool and whirlpool. . During our last stay, the lifeguard was so good, she wouldn't allow my 13 year old in. The sign specifically says ages 16 and up. Not only is it a safety hazard for small children to use a hot tub, but it makes it less enjoyable for the adults to use.Only suggestion I have again is to remove the non gratis water from the rooms because this is the second time we got charged for water that we didn't drink. We brought water from home but I think if the maid sees empty water bottles in the recycling pail or garbage, you get charged. If water is available for sale in the vending machines on the floor, there really is no need to put it in the rooms. August 10, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Just too eventful Lets start with the flood that happen! Yes a flood the toilet overflowed why who knows! One flush and it was water everywhere. We move to another room and guess what?! The tv does not work then it eventually started working. But the kicker was the HEAT does not work its WINTER! I got zero sleep that night. They fixed it the next day and offered me breakfast. I said def NOT so they paid for our parking instead. Then it was nearly impossible to leave the hotel because our room key NEVER worked to let us out the garage. All and all just way too many things annoyed me about this hotel. January 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy New Year The purpose of this review is simply to recognize the above and beyond service that we received. We wanted a room that had a view of the river and midnight fireworks. We were told they would try to find us another room even though they were "booked". More than an hour later, they found us another room. We thought they had forgotten... probably because we had forgotten. It wasn't necessary but it was noticed and recognized. Also, despite traffic being heavy after midnight, the shuttle was prompt and it was evident that the shuttle drivers were working hard to accommodate everyone. January 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by A little more refinement is needed... We were a little disappointed in the dated appearance of this hotel. Wallpaper peeling off the walls in the bedroom, nightstands scuffed up and out of place along with the stains on the carpet. There appeared to be remnants of dog hair on the couch along with the disgusting odor they leave behind. Yes dogs were in the hotel while we were there and if they are going to allow dogs they should have designated rooms and warn customers if they are going to give them a room previously used by dogs. The bar/restaurant area was a joke since it shut down at 11:00 pm on a Friday. The saving grace of this hotel would be the staff, especially the ladies servicing the Club Floor Lounge area. I am sure with more refinements this hotel could easily polish its Sheraton image. April 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A Pass Overall the staff was polite and the room was comfortable. The location was also ideal and convenient. However it was disappointing to learn that the "fridge" in the room was only a cooler (especially given there is a microwave and sink in the "suite"). Also, it would have been a more positive experience if internet was complimentary in the room, as most hotels, including Starwood brands, have this included. July 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This Hotel has a great location The Rooms are comfortable and the Beds well made. The Buffet Breakfasts are good value. July 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice rooms but service dodgy Rooms are nice, facilities are nice and clean but this guest had significant issues with the room service and quality of food. Was at this location for business so was forced to subside on the 'hoof and fin' restaurant. Gag me. I had underdone bacon for breakfast and over-cooked Ahi tuna on my salad for lunch. Other colleagues remarked that the food tasted like cafeterial food (e.g., the hamburgers) Also, this Sheraton contracts with ATT for wireless which is fine except if there are technical issues, good luck and you'll be calling an 800# to get help. However, when the internet went out, the hotel was able to gett ATT to fix it within a few hours. Although a few hours seems like a very long time if one has work to do. May 28, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs some improvement The Suites are OK - they meet the minimum standard in comfort, appearance etc. However, if you know nothing about where exactly the hotel is and are traveling by foot/train be aware that the shuttle may be in the vicinity of King Street but does not stop there and that the previous stop is closest but you need to walk the 7 blocks and if you are faint of hear and it's 90 degrees, call a cab. Maybe it's better than this but you won't know that by reading or calling. June 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Loyalty I've been staying at this hotel since early 1990s . For the most part I have been given access to club level since being a gold member. My recent stay 4/2014 I was rudely told by one of the clerk members that I no longer qualify, I asked since I was a long time return customer if I can get access to club level and again I was rudely told no. She made me feel like a 3rd class customer. I will not return to this facility again April 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel for the money The hotel, room, and staff were very nice. We were disappointed with the restaurant. Since it was the week before Thanksgiving, the only time the restaurant was open was for breakfast. It would have been nice to know this before we booked. Even the bar was closed in the evening so if you wanted to just have a nightcap, you had to leave the hotel to do that. The staff was very friendly, and the shuttle would take you anywhere you wanted to go but it would have been nice to have a restaurant and bar that was open in the hotel. November 25, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy New Year We have a new addition to our family and we were trying to figure out a new tradition. So we booked a room here and this is where we will be next year too probably. The pool was amazing and the kids loved it. It was clean, the water was warm (which receives an additional 5 stars considering it was about 15 degrees outside), and our room was clean and comfortable too. So glad we chose this hotel and I can assure you that we will be back and we will also recommend it to friends and business associates. January 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great, but one little request We enjoyed every component of the hotel. The shuttles to the airport, metro and Old Town were quick, and timely. The staff were outstanding. However, we stayed in Alexandria, as opposed to downtown DC so that we could have a suite as opposed to a single room. Traveling with teen boys, I was hoping for a little privacy. However, the curtains on the doors dividing the rooms were absolutely sheer. I couldn't really make sense of this. Otherwise the stay was wonderful and I have already recommended this to others. April 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Miscellaneous deficiencies It took 5 keys before one would open the Club Lounge. There was no room service menu in my room, so I found an online version in the hotel's website.....only to be told by the room service attendant that the version was outdated. When my food order finally arrived, the television in the conference area of my room was not functioning properly and I therefore ate dinner on my bed. April 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Saved us -dogs included from multiple power outages The Olde Towne Sheraton Suites has become our home away from home when the power is out, In DC, it always a long wait before it returns and only happens on the hottest summer days 95+or cold winter nights. We have a geriatric golden retriever who had surgery last year. The power crashed soon after he got out of the vet hospital. What to do? He had a hard time walking. Leave it to these guys to redefine hospitality-- concierge help From out room, the walk was too long for him, Enter the Night Bellman, He grabbed a bell cart and came up to get our friend. Without any fuss, he hopped on a cart-took a seat- and got a ride to the parking lot. Did his outies--and got a return trip--with a treat. You can get better than that, Thanks Olde Towne---wow what friends to our friend in need, February 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by 1st Sheraton Stay I was disappointed when we arrived because online it said this hotel had both an indoor and an outdoor pool. It only has an indoor pool and the bottom of it is a little rough. I had two girls with me who left with the bottoms of their feet scratched up from the pool. The service was fantastic and the staff was friendly, knowledgable and kind. The rooms were clean. We had to send one coffee maker back because it didn't work after one cup. Parking isn't cheap by any means. June 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good hotel but front staff needs work When we went to check in, Wesley, the front end manager was manning the desk. He had our room ready even though we were early, which was extremely nice, but when we inquired about club level access, he turned on us and stated that it was for platinum members only, even though we had checked the website and it didn't mention that. He stated that the website did and was very combative about the issue. We had to go to the car to retrieve our cell phone and prove to him that it certainly did not before he would allow us access. The room we were given was nice but was oversold on the website. We are a little put out that it was also sold as close to the Metro when it is a full half mile away! To top things off, Wesley never had not even so much as a smile for us the rest of our visit with the hotel and we were there for a couple of days. His attitude needs some serious adjustment. SPG also needs to rethink how they treat gold members. You guys are slowly but surely running us away from Starwood with treating us as second class citizens only because our businesses don't pay for our travel! June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria is a great place to stay. Everything was perfect from the room accommodations to the service of the hotel. The food was very good and has great choices for families. June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The service made the stay! I came to Alexandria for some fun and was not disappointed! I enjoyed the area and had a wonderful time, but the staff made all of the difference! Lou at the front desk was a gem and totally saved the evening for us. He helped turned a great weekend into a truly memorable one and I appreciate it so much! (Thank you Lou!) Myself and another in our party were not feeling well on Sunday and a sweet lady from room service came up with some toast and she was so kind. I wish I had got her name. Her caring and kind greeting was truly appreciated. The rooms at this hotel were absolutely beautiful and the area as everything you could need or want, including beautiful streets to stretch your legs, soak in some sun and fresh air. I look forward to returning one day and staying at the Sheraton again! May 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by exceeded my expectations My husband and I just returned from a 6 night stay in Washington D.C. We stayed at this hotel and our experience at Sheraton Suites in Old Town Alexandria was the frosting on the cake . Everything was wonderful. The staff was more than accommodating. When we had a request it was filled - each one. They weren't major but we requested things for the room such as extra blankets, wine glasses. We asked the shuttle driver to help us out to get to the metro station (not on the scheduled time) No problems. I requested a specific room and got it. The room and hotel were clean, clean, clean. The workout room was good.The location was great. The hotel is two blocks from groceries and our favorite coffee. It was a very pleasant walk to the metro and King St. We didn't use the restaurant so I can't comment. June 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Hotel First I like to say the Front Desk Staff are very professional and courteous. I forget the new of the rep that check me in but she was amazing and outstanding. We checked in on saturday evening around 7:00pm. Please thank her again for me. This hotel is amazing the room was great. The bed was so comfortable that I didn't want to get up. The service was excellent. We will be staying here again in the near future. You can't go wrong with this place. This hotel exceeded our exectations. October 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by elevators really slow last week at sheraton old town alexandria, one elevator was out of order. so, i had to wait for at least 5 minutes each time. this week, the 2 elevators work now. but it is still very slow at dinner hours. again, waited 8 minutes. 3 people waiting with me became impatient and chose to walk downstairs. i know it is expensive to add a 3rd elevator, is there a way you check your elevator to make sure it operate optimally? if still so slow, is it a time for you consaider a 3rd elevator? March 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A gem of a hotel We loved this hotel! So family friendly and convenient in every way. So close to DC w beautiful drive and jogging paths along the water and situated within blocks of the loveliest shops. We were so pleasantly surprised upon arrival to find out that we were upgraded to the hospitality suite. Excellence in hospitality from The Club Room am breakfast, free access to laundry machine and the fact that they allowed my daughter to bring along her bunny/cage-we will certainly be returning. August 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel for a great price! I was very impressed with the quality of this hotel. The room was great and ranked among some of the best hotels for the best values that I've stayed in! The service and hotel staff were also excellent and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone! *Rooms were spacious (we had one with a sitting area), quiet and dark (which was great for sleeping)! Bed were comfortable and firm. Having a free continental breakfast included with the AAA Breakfast Package was an added bonus! October 21, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>