Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

  • 3549 Chestnut Street
  • Philadelphia,
  • Pennsylvania
  • 19104
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve and check-in to a room.

Rated 3.4 out of 5 by 342 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff was great, food not so much The staff at this hotel were very friendly and accommodating. I had great service from everyone. However, the food at the restaurant and room service were really pretty awful. I ordered chicken lettuce wraps at the restaurant, and I don't think I have ever had a worse meal at a restaurant in my life. The portion was fairly large, but I only ate about 5 bites of it because it tasted to terrible. The breakfast I ordered through room service was grossly overpriced (even for room service), and was below average and not very warm. The temperature in the conference and meeting rooms was also frigid. There was no reason to have the air conditioning blasting on us when it was only about 40 degrees outside. March 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel went over and above We stayed at this hotel while my grandson was at a baseball camp at the University of Penn. On Sunday the camp ended at 1:00 pm for my grandson. He wanted a shower before our 5 hour plane ride home to Seattle. I had already checked out of our room, but came back and asked if there was any way he could take a shower. Since our room had not been cleaned, the manager on duty made a new key card and let him shower. He did not have to accommodate us which was just one incident of the wonderful staff. September 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel was clean and in a convenient location. Overall cleanliness of room and proximity to attractions was very good. Helpfulness of Desk staff was outstanding. Only downfall was early morning noise of rolling carts which prevented my family from getting a restful sleep. October 20, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by the room has not telephone landline !!! I checked in on 8th and checked out on 9 morning. On Sep 8th afternoon, I was waiting for a phone call from a VIP person but I didn't received call. I checked the phone of my room. Ridiculously, it does not work. Asked for help fro desk. The technician cane and after one hour working in my room on all the plugs, telephone lines, he said that there is something serious and I stay on the room without phone.Because I don't have US phone plan on that day, I missed an important phone call. I am sorry for Sheraton. September 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice hotel but not worth the price Hotel and room was ok. Best part was Axis Pizza across the street! Room did not meet my expectations of a Starwood property. Could tell the maid only did the bare minimum at cleaning the room. Dusty furniture, dusty floor, air vent in bathroom was disgustingly covered in TONS of dust, shower head was coming out of the wall and bath soaps/items didn't get replaced. I'd give it a chance again in hopes the next room was better but would not pay the high prices they advertise. September 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good hotel Overall the hotel was good, the rooms were clean and neat. The only complaints that we have are when we were checking in the person at the lobby was a bit cold and not that welcoming. The inside of the refrigerator was dirty and in the corners of the tub was black. But, the bed was comfortable and the overall room was clean. Our room included the Hors d'oeuvres and breakfast which were both good. the Hors d'oeuvres were fruit, dips/chips, nuts and dessert. the breakfast was eggs/omelets, yogurt, pastries, cereal, bagels, coffee & juice. August 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Best Just Got Better As frequent visitors to Philadelphia we have been staying at this ideally located property for years. We always appreciated the outstanding (truly exceptional) front desk, concierge and housekeeping staff. Until very recently, the property had begun to show signs of wear - but - WOW - a floor by floor renovation is underway and the results are outstanding. The newly decorated rooms are gorgeous and comfortable and everything that this VERY frequent traveller could want. The already reliable in-house dining has also been upgraded! This property is a Philadelphia treasure. November 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Paper thin hotel walls While the room was lovely and the staff was excellent, the walls in the rooms were paper thin. I had to hear the person next to my room's conversations as well as her early morning rant at her boyfriend/husband. I would recommend this hotel because of the proximity to UPenn, but I would not recommend it for a romantic getaway or relaxation. Hearing every word spoken is not very relaxing. October 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very good hotel overall... ...though I found the housekeeping staff a bit pushy on the check-out turnover. I understand the need to turn rooms over quickly, but when someone is obviously still occupying their room before the designated check-out time, the guest shouldn't be bothered. October 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect place for the one night i was in town... I stayed here for one night (a sunday into a monday) because as a medical student, I was required to travel to Philly for a national board exam. I requested early check-in, but ended up arriving late which was no problem. My room was ready upon arrival and extremely clean. The beds were comfortable and i was tempted to steal one of the pillows to bring home with me (but I refrained.) While I didn't have time to enjoy most of the amenities of the hotel, the front desk staff was extremely helpful in terms of pointing me in the right direction for some grub. Overall A+ July 19, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Room 1218 Aircondition Unit I went to bed with the aircondition unit on as it was warm in my room. I woke up at 1:30am with the unit groaning and nothing I did to it stopped this noise. I finally turned it off but the room became hot, so I gave up on sleep! I paid $188.10 for my room, I could have done better at any other hotel. I told the desk clerk when I left but I have had no response from the management! September 30, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by said they spent 6 billion to upgrade But all I had seen was that they didn't spend it at the one in Philadelphia at Penn stat. There was mold in bathroom they said was cleaned, daily. The paint was falling off the celling. The wall paper was coming off the walls.There was mice in the room, and not only mine, but many other guests said the same. The confrence rooms had mice running around during the confrence. The cleaning staff spent more time on there cell phones than cleaning. One of the cleaning staff asked when the business conference was going to be over because they were tired of cleaning. December 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A calm harbor during a difficult time This Sheraton is located within walking distance of major hospitals in Philadephia. Staying here allowed me to be at my loved one's side at all hours of the day. I could roll out of bed and walk over to HUP. (Penn's hospital.) Their hospital rate was a blessing, as was their staff. Great place. Thank you, University City Sheraton. October 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent staff, location The hotel staff was professional, welcoming, and helpful. We stayed in a very well-priced mini-suite with a King bed and large separate seating area with a pull-out sofa. The design of the room was exceptional and ideal for travel with either families or even an unrelated work associate. Only recommendation is to either replace the sleep-sofa mattress or provide a foam or air mattress topper. The location was terrific-- convenient to UPenn books store, an excellent variety of restaurants, medical center, UPenn sports facilities. Look forward to future stays. October 3, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Reservations do not matter We had reservations for adjoining rooms with a refrigerator on a floor with a microwave. When we arrived we were told that there was no way we could have adjoining rooms because they were full. They did not have any more refrigerators available. They claimed the army was staying there and needed all of them. We never saw any military personnel. If we wanted rooms on the same floor we could not be near a microwave. We asked for financial compensation and they declined. I will never stay there again. When I make a reservation I expect it to be honored. April 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Below Expectations I stayed at this hotel as part of a group. When we arrived to check in there was an issue with payment. The front desk staff would not listen to us as we tried to explain the situation and gain clarification. The staff continued to talk over us and was clearly not listening as we tried to learn about the hotel policies. It was not until we revealed our organization's affiliation that we began to be listened to. All guest should be treated with respect regardless of affiliation. I can only describe the guest rooms as "tired". The ceilings had water damage and you could see where the repairs were made, the furniture was worn, and the bathrooms were dingy. This hotel needs a "refresh". Cleaning up a few of these details would go a long way. August 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome customer service I recently stayed at the Sheraton University City Hotel for a conference. The staff is awesome and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. I would highly recommend staying here!! Rooms are comfortable and nice size for 2 people. October 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Power outage We arrived the day after the transformer blew and the hotel lost power, water, and a/c. the staff setup free beverages and appetizers for the guests and did the best to take care of everyone in a bad situation. The engineering dept. did a great job bringing in a 2 ton transformer by crane to get the hotel up and running by 6pm that day.The parking garage is real tight and I scraped a pilar that popped out some wheel well trim so I got maintenance to duct tape it back on. Very friendly people work at this hotel. August 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great hotel - will definitely stay next time we booked 1 night at this Sheraton while on a family vacation through Pennsylvania. it was perfectly situated in the center of Philadelphia and had many wonderful amenities. to start, we were upgraded to the Club Level (I'm a Gold member) and thus had access to their lounge on the 20th floor for breakfast and afternoon treats. The room was clean, comfortable, quiet. The AC was working well so we had no complaints. The garage is only $25 with in and out privileges - very convenient! Overall, we were very pleased and would stay here again. September 19, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Blah The room was outdated and we had a comped room very I happy I didn't have to pay for my stay because I would have stayed some where else They where doing construction the room right above us at 7 am I had two kids with me that where scared out of their mind because of all the noise Then the bathroom up stairs leaked all over our stuff tooth brushes and other things. Your night time staff when we checked in was really nice but your day time staff was a bit cold to us after we complained about the room and I felt like I had every right to. February 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Convenient location We stay here because of the location convenient to activities in University City. It's quiet and we like the Chinese restaurant. However, we always have to check to ensure there are no down products in the room due to my severe allergies. Despite our repeat visits and a request on the reservation every time, they seldom get it right. Also, the rooms could use an update, such as fixing the peeling wallpaper and cracked lampshades. It's not the appearance of a room at these prices. The HVAC is kind of noisy. The staff is very friendly. January 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay The entire staff, from the front desk to the concierge and housekeeping were great. Everybody was very helpful and the stay was very comfortable. The pool was great -- lots of sun, towels, chairs, etc. Loved the location...I was visiting the Children's Hospital a few blocks away, but the hotel is right in the heart of the Penn campus...lots of activity. We got a fridge in the room ($25 fee) but it was worth it .. and the fridge was a nice size. Parking was $25/day in/out privileges but that seemed like the going rate for the area. June 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Won't return I was traveling on buisness and arrived many hours before check-in. I found the staff not very welcoming or friendly. The conceriege was very cold bordering on rude. He appeared to by annoyed by my need to check bags and retrieve one of them at a later point before I could check in. As far as the room, it was clean and the bed was comfortable. My TV however did not work well, it repeatedly lost the satellite signal. And the shower spout was at a very low uncomfortable level for me and I am only 5'5". I can't imagine how difficult that would be for anyone taller. Also I traveled with a co-worker and she was offered the private continental breakfast and I was not. Overall, I don't think they did a very good job catering to guests, especially buisness travelers. March 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful Stay This was a stay that met and exceeded my expectations. I checked in late but the front desk was waiting and ready. When I requested a king size bed, they upgraded me to a concierge floor to be able to accommodate my request...Classy! It was also a very nice touch that the pleasant check-in person recognized that I was an SPG member and gave me extra attention. Breakfast was nice; room was elegant and comfortable. The only complaint was the unusually high cost of self-parking ($25/night). August 1, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by King Bedroom Front desk staff at check in were excellent. Room had an unpleasant smell. Bathroom toilet was running and very loud all evening. The hallway had many food trays at my first arrival to the room at check in around 2.30pm. The hallway had many dirty food trays in the hallway at my return to the room around 9pm. This hotel needs some improved standards. September 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by 43rd Anniversary Get-Away On our way to Stone Harbor NJ we decided to stay over two days in Philadelphia. We booked a suite on the 19th floor. My wife and I were very disappointed with the accommodations. I took photos on my iPhone to share but I'm having problems retrieving them. The couch was worn to the point where you could see white cotton, the plaster in the ceiling had cracks, the bathroom baseboard needed repair September 10, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Work on creating customer delight My first impression of the place was a damp, mildewed smell in the lobby. The elevator took about 10 minutes to arrive at the lobby. Upon reaching the floor my room was on, I discovered that the carpet in the hallway was filthy and stained. Outside my room, there were two dirty wine glasses on the floor of the hall -- they were not picked up for 2 days. I did notice, though, that my room was quite clean and comfortable! But one last thing -- the $4 bottles of water in the room? After I paid $250/night for the room? Really? April 25, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Staff was not helpful and rude When we checked in one of the employees took our bags to be held because the room was not ready. He tried to lift the heavy bag by the pop up handle that you use to wheel a heavy bag and broke it. First he denied breaking it. When we reported it to the manager on duty he told us the porter would be forced to pay for the repair out of his own pocket. He told us that Sheraton was not responsible for our bag but the porter making min. wage would pay. We declined but are surprised that this unfair practice is Sheratons policy. August 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel is conveniently located and safe This hotel is located across from the University of Pennsylvania's campus and a block from Drexel University. Excellent conference facilities and friendly, helpful staff. Very close to train station, shops and restaurants. Visible police presence made me feel safe staying in a large city. September 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff makes all the difference! I stayed here recently through family member discount. The location was nice since it's close to the train station. The room wasn't ready so I checked my baggage and asked the young man behind the counter where I could get an umbrella. He actually provided me one, a service that I thought was excellent. Later they told me that my documents were insufficient but the young lady behind the desk told me that she would walk me through the documentation process step by step. These staff members went above and beyond to help me and I really appreciated it! The room was ok but I could see spills of stuff on the walls and sheets. Not really surprising since that seems to be the norm for hotels these days but I wish it were slightly cleaner since I was traveling with my infant son. February 25, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 13 next>>