Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

  • 3549 Chestnut Street
  • Philadelphia,
  • Pennsylvania
  • 19104
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve and check-in to a room.

Rated 3.4 out of 5 by 342 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs Improvements Usually have favorable experience at this location, last stay was unforgiveable. Late night and early morning disturbances by group of young guests was NEVER resolved. Issue was allowed to persist until well into the next morning. Dispite numerous calls for security and/or poloce intervention, only a token presence was made. No authority remained on the scene to prevent re-occurence. VERY UNSATISFIED repat guest March 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by nice location Stayed over 2 nights easy walk for us to the Perelman center where my son was getting treatments. Our first room the tv wasn't working right missing channels ,sound problems. they looked at it and after a second call upgraded us to a nicer room. Easy access to the city. July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by staff excellent and room excellent Everyone was so wonderful, my husband was having surgery at u of penn so i got a discount, and it was close enough for me to walk twice a day. But the best part was where i checked in my bags before my room was ready that gentleman was so polite and friendly. the whole staff was the same it made my worries alittle easier, they even asked about him, and the food was great. thank you so much everyone, April 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Experience I loved the Hotel, and evertthing about it. My child is attending a local College, so I will return often. I did feel the rooms should have refrigerators, or not charge . I did not understand the Room Service, I tried to order an Irish Coffee at night and the restaurant had no idea what I was asking for and suggested I pick it up. I threw the drink out after tasting. So that is the only service I would change September 23, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lost reservation At hey had our date mixed up and could only find reservations for one room, and I made it for two rooms. One room for a king bed, and the second room for a double with two beds and a crib, which it took forever to get. The desk personnel was not very accommodating or kind. This was an emergency trip to take our great grandaughter to to Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, and I did not need the aggravation. January 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff could be more helpful When the elevator that went to the coin laundry (6G) broke. Getting information from the staff on the work around to get to that floor was like pulling teeth. I ended up having to figure out for myself that the elevator designated as alternative only went to 5G and that I would have to walk in 12 inches of snow around the parking lot. If you want to get the total "rude" Philly experience come to this hotel. December 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by A disappointment Long wait at front desk; staff not cordial; problem with keys working in elevators and room; groups of unsupervised young people in pool, fitness center, elevators shouting and using foul language -- does the hotel house a summer camp? We chose the hotel for proximity to Penn but I would stay downtown next time instead. June 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by HAS COME A WAYS BUT STILL A ROAD TO TRAVEL This facility has the superb location advantage. Some common areas were recently renovated, but the rooms are still tired , although some new tile has been laid in right in the room's entrance. Cleaning ladies are very nice, but the actual cleaning can improve. We noticed the bathroom floor had not been properly cleaned at least in one of the days in our stay. Staff is very courteous and helpful.. May 15, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by The Worst EVER Lets start off with No Bellman. Hotel is dated as well as the room. The room has black mold in the bathroom, the wall paper is falling off, the shower head is hanging on via clue, and the worst of it all the 1940's thermostat that looks as if everyone who touched it worked as a coal miner. I was coming in for a friends event and the reservation was given to me because no other hotel were available. October 1, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Construction Noise and DIRTY Carpets Stayed just one night because my father was having surgery at HUP. SPECIFICALLY asked prior to booking that we were concerned with having a quiet room because my dad's surgery started at 7am and was scheduled to go last 15 hours so we needed a quiet area to wait and REST in the afternoon. At 2 pm we checked in ... Hall and room carpets were very dirty. Staff was minimally helpful. After we got settled, we were met with constant banging from hotel construction. We were on the 18th floor. Front desk told us there was absolutely no other room in the entire hotel where it would be quiet. I just did not have the heart to move my 80 yr old mom to another hotel and add stress. Front desk told us crew would be done by 4pm. Not true ... They continued until 5:30. Very disappointed. Manager adjusted our rate, but I did feel lied to by both the reservations and the front desk staff. STAY ELSEWHERE. January 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by sheraton University City This facility is a bit long in the tooth but perfectly located for a visit to U Penn. Staff is always very accommodating and helpful. One area of improvement needed - wifi reception is horrendous -- major investment in bandwidth is needed -- virtually no reception in my room or in the Club lounge .. Club lounge staff is exceptional as is front desk; concierge average at best. May 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs Work I only stay here because my son has cancer and this hotel is clos to the cancer center. The wall paper was peeling off in the bathroom and there were long black hairs on the bathroom floor. I was also charged $8 for a bottle of water that had a "Complomentray" tag on it. Booked my next monhtly stay at The Hilton at airport Somewhat inconvenient but I am sure it will be comparable for less money. September 23, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Do not pay extra for the club floors the hotel room was fine, staff was helpful but not overly friendly. I made the mistake of paying extra for the club floor ($23 per night extra) and what a waste of money. The afternoon snacks consisted of sliced fruit and $9 drinks. The TV in the Club Lounge did not get most channels. The Club breakfast was meager at best . My recommendation is to not waste your money on the club floor upgrade. June 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Slept like a baby This is exactly what I needed after a long day at a conference. The bed was very comfortable and I fell asleep within a few minutes of turning in. The wireless internet connection was a bit slow during my stay. I am not sure if it was due to heavy 'traffic' when I was using it or the strength of the connection in my particular room. Other than that, the stay was great. May 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay!! No complaints...everything was great!! I was attending a conference at the hotel which also was handled very well by the hotel staff. The room was cleaned every day with fresh linens as needed. July 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unimpressed I stayed in this hotel for one night during a trip to Philly and I must say it really disappointed me. In the first room I was assigned, the heater didn't work and the toilet clogged and overflowed immediately (no, I didn't use too much toilet paper). I went back to the concierge and asked to move to a different room, and they kindly obliged. However, the sink was clogged in the next room as well. Given that it was getting late and at least the heat worked in this room, I decided I could deal with it as I had an important meeting the next day. I ordered room-service breakfast the next day, but that arrived incorrectly as well - it was missing the sausage links that were included in the meal price. Again, I needed to leave for my meeting and didn't think it was worth complaining. Still, no guest should have to "settle" for a sub-par experience at a hotel. I wouldn't recommend this Sheraton to anyone. November 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay, no complaints This is my second stay at this hotel, and I wouldn't have been able to afford to stay there except that I had a special discount. That being said, the hotel lobby was well decorated and the staff were fantastic. There were computers and a free printer available, and the staff were helpful in mailing a letter and faxing a document for me. There is a restaurant attached to the hotel with great reviews and room delivery (I didn't eat there myself). There is a Wawa across the street and a Starbucks down the block. The room was clean and well kept, with signs of added thought to amenities that I didn't see at other hotels (like a ConAir blow dryer instead of the ones attached to the wall which sometimes don't work so well, and a complimentary bottle of water which really came in handy). Note: the room does not have a refrigerator or safe, so you wouldn't be able to store perishables or valuables there. December 13, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Decent price for location The room did not have fridge or microwave. Parking is expensive in the garage, but most places in Philly are. The bathroom was small and the drain clogged so at the end of the shower you were standing in several inches of water. We stayed here because the price was very reasonable compared to hotels closer to the city. It is accessible to public transportation and several restaurants. May 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Philly Excursion The Sheraton University City is a conveniently located, better-than-average, city hotel that provided us a safe, clean, & comfortable stay while we were on our Philly "medical" excursion! The staff were particularly cordial!!! July 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sheraton hotel review The hotel was nice and conveniently located. The staff are very friendly and helpful. July 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sheraton University City This location is perfect if you are visiting Upenn which we were doing.Sheraton does it right.Other Hotels take note and follow by example.Little things such as amenities like razor,shave cream,Tooth brush,tooth paste,when staying on the club level says your customers stay/comfort is important.The staff is friendly and helpful.I will be returning to this location for sure! February 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Restaurant Surprised to learn that the restaurant in the Hotel did not accept Employee StarHOT - 50% off food. My Brother stayed their the night before he took his Oral Medical Exam for the next step in becoming a Doctor. He was disappointed that he this 50% was not accepted and went outside of the hotel to eat because his budget is very limited. Putting himself through Medical School. May 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Clean comfort and nice staff Nice hotel with great proximity to the University of Penn campus. All the staff was very friendly and accommodating. We staying in a suite with our two sons, and had plenty of room for all of us. We would stay here again. Thank you. July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Starwood hotel in the Philadelphia area This is my favorite hotel in the Philadelphia area. I have been in the city many times over the past year and my time here has been the best by far. The hotel is located in a great area (close to food, Starbucks and public transportation). The service is great. The rooms are SIGNIFICANTLY cleaner than another Starwood in the Philadelphia area and well worth the room rate. July 23, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hotel needs better communication Reception desk not clearly marked. Signage on desk made it look more like a concierge desk. Elevators not clearly identified as to which allow access to parking and which access rooms. Not initially notified to bring entrance parking lot stub to exit parking when using the purchased daily pass. My non-smoking room smelled like it had been a smoking room previously (704). May 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel and staff The staff was the best thing about this hotel - attentive, polite, professional. I would absolutely stay here again. Loved the "green" options for room service, and the location. Wireless internet in the room was S-L-O-W and difficult to connect, even though I was on a "preferred member" floor. Lounge in the lobby should stay open later. Overall, a very good experience. June 18, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very diappointed I was very disappointed in this hotel for numerous reasons. First was value. For the rate I was charged I expected a much nicer room. The lamp shades were unmatching and one was held together with tin-foil. the tray the coffee machine was on was dirty. The carpet was stained and dirty looking. The bedding was nice but the beds were not that comfortable. The staff working the front desk were not friendly and not very helpful. The manager was the only one who seemed to know anything. He was friendly and helpful. I needed to stay in a hotel close to children's hospital in Philadelphia. I was told they were sold out for that special rate yet when the fire alarm went off in the middle of night and we needed to evacuate the hotel it was very clear to see the hotel was not even half full. What do they only have like 2 rooms at this rate? I did tell the hospital they should take this hotel off their list. I will never return June 14, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Issues Room was by the elevator and ice room. Staff would prop open door to ice room which was very loud. 1 night at 4 AM two staff people were talking loudly at the elevators. The wireless was horrible. That was the big discussion with all the people at our conference. TV Remote only partially worked June 13, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Our room was dirty The carpet in our room was filthy and the comforter was dirty. The girl who checked us in gave us the wrong information about the breakfast. I have stayed at your hotel 3 times before and was happy with it. I probably won't stay there again. My son goes to Drexel University and we visit Philly often. Eventhough I am a SPG member, I won't be staying at your hotel. September 21, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sheraton University City Good room size for business travel. Close to many attractions with in walking distance. Large variety of restaurants within walking distance. Hotel restaurant ok nothing special limited menue choice and room service not excetional and pricy. June 28, 2014
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 13 next>>