The St. Regis Monarch Beach

  • One Monarch Beach Resort
  • Dana Point,
  • California
  • 92629
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest registration and check-in is restricted to those 21 years of age or older with valid identification.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 678 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Forbes and AAA want their stars and diamonds back! This hotel does not live up to the St. Regis namesake. We can begin with the rude check in staff who left us hovering over the desk, aimlessly awaiting. Then, there were the hole-ridden mildew towels. Not to mention how we waited in another line to see the only concierge (who knew nothing). We later found out the concierge also served as a complaint station - two ladies were ahead of us because room service failed them as well. Don't waste your money here. Really, just don't. The best way to sum up the property was after complaining to the manager on duty, she said "well, this is California casual." No excuse for poor service. August 23, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by The Astor family would be incredibly disappointed Check-in: I’m here to celebrate our 6-year wedding anniversary with my pregnant wife. The plan is to stay Saturday to Monday. I’ve been to several St. Regis properties around the world and they’re all fantastic. I come in at 330pm on Saturday and find a long line (about 10 people to check in before me). Finally, I make it to the front of the line after 15 minutes, and upon check-in, I’m basically told that while most SPG hotels have one or two platinum guests per night, this hotel has about 50 at any given moment. Do you think you’re special for being a Platinum member? Allow me to confirm that at this hotel, you’re not. And they’ll remind you of that as you’re checking in. Oh, and if that’s not enough, your room is not yet available. Come back at 430pm, maybe. Actually, we’ll call you because I’d like to be honest with you – your room probably isn’t going to be available by 430pm. Not sure when it’ll be ready. And so we’re off to a bad start… Breakfast on Sunday: My pregnant wife wakes up on Sunday morning and is hungry. That’s understandable. It’s Sunday morning – what should we do? They have Sunday Brunch that starts at 11am. But it’s 930am. No worries, we are told that we can wait until 11am, or we can have breakfast outside by the pool and still use our Platinum credit of $20 towards the breakfast buffet. Sounds good – lets go to the pool. Ok. Well, I can tell you that after spending 10 minutes there, ALL of the hotel’s attention is diverted to the brunch beginning at 11am. All the food at the breakfast buffet is either undercooked (yes – undercooked eggs – delish!) or overcooked. Half the items are also missing. Have you ever had breakfast at a St. Regis property? It’s always fantastic. As a matter of fact, they tend to blow me away by how good it is. Well, not here. At least not on Sunday when they’d prefer you wait till 11am and pay $7o per person (and you cannot use your platinum credit there, of course). Lovely. Let’s just go to the pool. The pool: The front desk tells us there are two pools. An adult pool and a kid’s pool. We don’t have kids (yet) and would like to relax, so we opt for the adult pool. Wanna hear something funny? There are more kids at the adult pool than at the kids’ pool. What’s the point of a kid’s pool you ask? I’m not sure. I don’t mind kids. I love kids. So let’s stay. Good luck finding a seat. You know that picture on their website that shows how elegant the pool is? Yea right. Try multiplying the number of chairs in that picture by 20. It’s like a can of sardines. Get seats yet? Great! But don’t go in the pool. Because as soon as you do, the staff will take your umbrella away from you and give it to someone else. Happened 3 times. It’s so noisy, so packed, so UN-relaxing, that we decide to leave the pool and go to the beach. The beach: How do you get to the beach? You take a tram. Cool! So let’s get on the tram. Actually, you’ll need to sign up for the tram. Why is that, sir? Well, because we have about 10 people before you that would like to go to the beach. Oh. Ok. Sign us up. Two trams come by, and we finally get on the third. Only about a 15-minute wait. Ok, I guess? A bit surprised, but let me just suck it up. So we finally get to the beach. Oh. You wanted chairs? You wanted an umbrella so your pregnant wife doesn’t bake your unborn child? What’s that? You’d like towels too? Sorry dude – we’re out of all of those things. At this point we headed back to the hotel (yes, after waiting for the tram, again), and checked out one day early, after less than 24 hours at this hotel. Let me be clear. This hotel has turned into a vacation factory. Do you think that you’re staying at the St Regis hotel with all of its exclusivities and exceptional service? Do you think they’ll go out of their way to make you feel special? How about as a platinum guest? How about as you’re celebrating your 6-year wedding anniversary? Nope. Think again. This place should change the name on the door from St Regis to (insert generic hotel name here). I’ve stayed at over 10 St Regis properties worldwide, and it has without a doubt, become my favorite hotel brand because of the consistency in its exceptional service. Management at this property should be embarrassed. September 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the Best Accomodations of my Life!!! Upon arrival and throughout my stay, I was personally greeted by staff throughout the establishment. Services received from the spa/fitness center, conceirge, valet attendants, butler service, restaurant staff and private beach butler were extraordinarily exceptional. Kudos to Butler Mike who left the property to retrieve Excedrin which is the only over the counter medication that relieves the splitting migraines. The attendant at the private beach went over and above to answer questions and get information about local hospitals . Views from the balconies of the suite were breathtaking. I will most definitely visit the area and stay at this property in the futrue. November 19, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Beautiful Property Deseves Equivalent Staff I had to wait 3 weeks to write this review. To give me time to calm down from one of my worst travel experiences ever. I booked and paid for this vacation more than 3 months in advance, I specifically called the hotel on 2 separate occasions to ensure that my room/reservation would be exactly what I wanted. It was all a waste of time, money and effort. This was not the first time that I had stayed at this property. Previously, my family has stayed with horrible customer service, despite the beautiful property and 6star rating. I decided to give it another chance. Worst mistake ever. I specifically called to ensure the room I paid for would be available since my flight didn't land until after 10pm, but it did not happen. It was pretty much first come, first serve. Not one of my requests was met. After an exhaustive, tiring exchange with mgmt to try to correct my reservation, and numerous apologies later, I finally gave up becuase it was late and I was tired. I asked mgmt for at least a small plate of food to be sent up to my room because of my long travel day, I was tersely met with an answer of no, they would not offer what I would call a good faith gesture, but was told I was free to go to the bar and order food. What nerve!. I spoke with mgmt each day of my stay to try and rectify the situation but to no avail. Mgmt did send a 'peace offering' of a cake in honor of the special occasion I was celebrating, the following night but that in no way made up for the fact that mgmt failed horribly and in my mind irrevocably damaged their already mediocre reputation. It wasn't until the day of my departure was I told that the part of the hotel I specifically requested was under construction. Each night I had packed my bags in preparation to be moved to a room to honor what I had paid for, never happened. I called one night for the hours of the golf restaurant I wanted to eat at only to be given incorrect information, thereby missing dinner altogether. Another night, I went to the bar to order a particular food, only to be told what I wanted was part of a 'tavern' menu only and was not served on Mondays and Tuesdays. Just one thing after another, after another, after another, after another went wrong and mgmt staff failed at every turn to try and correct. Worst trip I ever experienced. My guest was sorely disappointed too. Too bad the weather didn't cooperate either. The only SMALL token the property offered was to waive the parking fee. I have other family members who have stayed at this property with pretty much the same, if not worse, customer experience, and come back to property to try and give them another chance to redeem themselves but it was all in vain. Its a beautiful property but the staff makes it a location that I would never choose to return to on purpose, I really had such high hopes for this vacation, but was utterly let down. I hate writing negative reviews, but such poor service CANNOT and SHOULD NOT go unchecked. April 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel!! This hotel is amazing, it's a beautif place to relax and have a good time. December 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Still a great property but... ...we noticed a lot of small things on this visit: 1) the flashlight in the room was dead, and it wasn't put on the bed tray during turn down; neither were the slippers or floor mats put out 2) the music CD was left looping on only the first track 3) we booked a month ahead, requested a king, ended up with two queens 4) we are gold level and requested late checkout and it was denied even though we called ahead and were assured the hotel was not full 5) didn't receive a morning paper. had to request one in the lobby 6) bathroom lacked the typical bath salts This is still an outstanding property; we just hate to see it slipping. Hopefully these are short term glitches, though we will consider another property for our next trip. December 13, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Far Underwhelming Experience Room service was very very slow, close to 60 minutes on average. Soup was burnt and black. You could smell the burnt food for crying out loud! Hot water for tea was warm, at best. This was the worst room service ever experienced with a Starwood brand hotel. Original assigned room had zero cell phone reception, either for text messages or receiving/making phone calls. Resort services said it was our cell phone provider. Right - when we finally were able to switch rooms, there was no problem with cell phone service. Overall, the property grounds met expectations. But the service was no better than a low budget hotel. So so disappointed at the operations management of this resort and the service, both quality and speed. I'm surprised that Starwood keeps this property in its portfolio. What are they thinking? June 12, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel with subpar service My husband and I celebrated our 1-year wedding anniversary at the St. Regis Monarch Beach this past weekend. It's a beautiful location and Stonehill Tavern is delicious with great service, but the hotel's service leaves much to be desired, especially for a 5-star luxury hotel. I should have realized customer service is not the top priority when I emailed the Butler services twice with the same question a few weeks before our stay and received NO response (the second time was to follow up a week after my initial email). I then reached out to the concierge and received a response quickly (phew!). I pushed my worries aside and figured things would be better when we arrived. We arrived late on a Friday -- everything went smoothly with our check-in, and there was a lovely bottle of champagne waiting for us in the room along with a rose and note for our anniversary. Thank you!! After that, the service went downhill. It was far from the service you'd expect of a regular hotel, much less the top-notch service you'd expect of a luxury hotel -- some examples of the service shortcomings are as follows: 1. They didn't clean our room until we asked them to at 5:30 pm (we had left the room from about 12 pm-5 pm so there was ample opportunity). 2. We asked them to fix a clicking noise we heard repeatedly at night (disrupting my sleep) and, though they said an engineer would stop by as long as our do not disturb was not on (it was not), no one came. And there was no follow up. I mentioned this while checking out, and the front desk woman (who was great -- check in and check out were easy) offered us an apology as well as a minor credit on our account for the inconvenience. 3. The pool staff was not attentive. It took my husband multiple attempts to receive the menus. And then even more attempts so that he could finally place an order. 4. Continuing with #3, the pool staff went out of their way to fulfill a food/drink order for the woman sitting ahead of us and, when my husband made a similar request (after inquiring what it was she had ordered), the staff implied it would be difficult and instead brought over the easier alternative. 5. We were eager to enjoy the sunset champagne saber; the waitress took so long to bring us a menu that we didn't receive them till well after the toast. And she then complained to us that she's too busy. Ultimately, there was never a feeling that we were a priority or that the staff was interested in even meeting the bare minimum for our visit (and we're SPG Gold so definitely loyal to Starwood as leisure travelers). I was hoping we'd love our experience so much that we'd come here for our anniversary annually -- from this stay, I can guarantee we won't be back and will not be recommending the St. Regis Monarch beach to our friends. October 27, 2014
2 3 4 5 ... 24 next>>