The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico

  • State Road 187 kilometer 4.2
  • Rio Grande,
  • Puerto Rico
  • 00745
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

All St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort guests must be 18 years old to register. We request that minors be accompanied by an adult.

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 292 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beyond my expectations Excellent on all levels!! The entire team made us feel welcome and special. I was very impressed that the team always called us by name. Jossell is wonderful! Helpful, friendly and the consummate professional. Everything was exceptional, from the gorgeous property to the food and the amenities. We will recommend to all of our friends and family. A special thanks to Deirdre at Molasses. I feel like she is a member of our family! Thank you for a memorable anniversary trip June 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Five Stars Luxury excellent staff, no complaints at all. I definitely recommend this hotel. Planning to stay again. June 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect beach resort for our family. We've stayed all over the world at top top resorts. This is up there with the best. Property is beautiful, rooms are great, staff is excellent. A lot of negativity about the property's beach is unwarranted. It's a beach -it gets seaweed on it. It's still gorgeous. Also, so many people told us they didn't consider this resort/didn't want to stay here because it's too far from San Juan - it's a 30-minute drive from the airport; it took us 2 hours to get from NYC to JFK. ...and the hotels by the airport (e.g., the Ritz) are night and day from the excellence of this property. July 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by spectacular and sophisticated We just returned from our 1st year anniversary at this hotel and it was absolutely wonderful. The only thing I would change is the food choices. I found it a little limited and overpriced, but at the same time with great quality. The pool area opened 24 hours made it very convinient to be able to explore the island and the being able to relax by the pool side was awesome. Again, the only bad thing is that the restaurant closed at 5pm, therefore, we had to go through private dining if we wanted to eat late. other than that, one of the most beautiful hotel rooms I have ever seen, well mainteined and decorated. This is a must do while in Puerto Rico. It was a memorable experience. We will be returning again and again. September 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by best place I've ever stayed over the top. The resort is lush, staff can't do enough for you. lovely property. My only criticism is that I felt spa services were over priced and they charged me $22 per day for parking my rental car. May 31, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by beautiful resort, but with a few problems For the rate charged, I expect to be able to get two pool side chairs at 10 am each day. Also, the service is not great and the hotel simply misses on many areas that a 5 star luxury hotel shouldn't like stacked chairs visible by the morning coffee station, like a mix of very average tables and chairs in the Molasses restaurant, like not being able to get a drink at the bar after midnight when the staff basically stacks up all the chairs and cushions and gets ready for overnight vacuuming. Very unprofessional. March 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by restaurants subpar Very disappointed with the quality and selection of the food especially since there are no other restaurants within close proximity. June 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A wonferful FAMILY vacation! If you are looking to get away from the hustle of everyday life, the St. Regis is definitely the place to go. From NYC you can take a direct 4-hour flight to Puerto Rico, and then after a short 30-minute drive you arrive at the St. Regis Bahia Beach. Even though the St. Regis is a "resort", you feel like you are in a quiet oasis of your own. The plentiful vegetation and the well-kept grounds camouflage the buildings, and the canopy from the large trees offer a sense of serene. After your trip you check-in at the Plantation House where the staff greets you with a smile, helps you with your belongings, offer you a cold drink, and checks you into your room. Your kids can stretch their legs, and visit the Koi fish (on our trip the staff brought out fish food so that my kids could feed them), you can also meet with the concierge to schedule your on- and off-resort experiences. After check-in you are probably hungry, so while you are dining poolside at Sea Grapes, the staff is settling you into your room. After lunch you hover above the ground when you take the boardwalks from Sea Grapes to your room. When you enter your room you are surprised by how large the rooms are. You appreciate the entry area, the veranda, the walk-in closet, the refrigerator, and the bathrooms with rain showers, deep soaking tubs, and in-mirror televisions. You are notice hanging robes and slippers, but then you are pleased to also see miniature-sized robes and slippers, one for each of your children. After you've settled in you decide to explore. You swim in the pool, and appreciate the poolside towels, sunblock and cold water, free-of-charge. Your kids squeal and chase the small brown lizards around the pool, and then stand still looking stunned to see a large green iguana standing motionless in the middle of the pool area. You order yourself a cocktail, and cool drinks for the kids, along with the best chocolate chip cookie ice cream sandwich anyone has ever had. This is your experience throughout your trip. You go to the Boat House for your tour of the resort. The guide shows you the pointy/sharp tree trunks, takes you to go feed the pelican, fish and turtles at the sales center, introduces you to the crabs on the beach, and takes photos for you so that you can be in them. You go to the Boat House and take the kayaks, sailboats, and canoes out on the pond. The kids fish and swim. Your husband and kids try go to the golf course driving range and hit a few balls (even though they left their golf clubs at home). The Fern Restaurant Manager learns that your husband likes to golf, and calls to invite him to join him in a game. The concierges schedule your family for a Bio Bay / Bioluminescent Excursion, a snuba dive, and helped us to navigate a visit and hike to the El Yunque National Forest La Coca Falls . You enjoy breakfast every morning at Fern on the veranda looking at the ocean. Your kids see the lizards running across the lawn and decide to go chase them. You dine at Sea Grapes, or poolside, and also Molasses. You remember to bring proper attire and shoes to have dinner at Fern Restaurant. You think that the food will be good off resort, but is isn't. There are a couple of good restaurants in Old San Juan, but otherwise stay on the resort. Mc Donald's, KFC, Pizza Hut - even though they are franchises, they taste nothing like home. So… the facility is very nice. But, the experience isn't only about the property, the room, the amenities. It's about the PEOPLE. The staff at the St. Regis is wonderful. Valet, concierge, butler, managers, servers, housekeeping, maintenance, entertainment… everyone is amazing. The staff is professional and friendly. They are good with adults and little people. They are not snobby or mean. They go above and beyond to think about your needs before you do and to make your stay memorable. THIS IS what separates my experience at the St. Regis from the Ritz and the Four Seasons. The St. Regis staff at Bahia Beach is personable and helpful. Here are some of the many examples we had on our trip that we've never experiences in all of our travels anyplace else. The Fern Restaurant Manager heard my husband talking about golf, but regretfully we left our clubs at home, and he invited my husband to be his guest which included rentals (same PING clubs my husband has at home). My kids loved the Koi fish, valet brought out fish food (even though it wasn't feeding time) so they could feed the fish. My kids were shocked by the loud sounds in the evening, when we learned they were frogs and started searching for one, two staff members around the pool area stopped what they were doing and helped my son find a frog (it took 1-2 hours). My baby needed milk every morning, the butler brought us a couple of gallons of milk at no charge (we didn't even ask for it). The butler saw that we drank a lot of water, and then a case of bottled water showed up in our rooms (again, without us asking). The list is lengthy. The staff at the St. Regis made our stay an experience. We've never had such attentive care at the Ritz and Four Seasons. Should you stay at the St. Regis when you go to Puerto Rico. ABSOLUTELY! January 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Paradise I am still in awe of this Starwood property, it is the most gorgeous and serene resort to date. The nature trails, lakes, ocean, wildlife and fauna sets the St. Regis apart from the rest. I did not want to leave. The rooms are well appointed, large and comfortable. The small snafus were handled with class. The butler services was stretched at times, but there was always a felling that the staff genuinely cared about you and want your stay to be the best. Kudos to Ramon(manager), Roberto, Ricardo(spectacular butler), Denise, and front desk staff. We will be back many times. In three days, I have spread the word to all my friends, everyone should experience the St.Regis Bahia Beach Resort at least once in their lifetime - this is truly paradise. December 2, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by No better place to vacation We have stayed at the St. Regis several times, and it is by far the best place we've been to. We will be back as often as we can. The setting is luxurious, beautiful, and relaxing all at the same time. The service is second to none. And the food both at Fern and Molasses is simply delicious. If I could go back three times a year, I would. You're making a mistake if you don't book a trip here. There's no place that compares for a great get away in paradise. May 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great honeymoon destination We stayed for 5 nights in August in a beautiful ocean front suite. On the two days that it rained, we hardly noticed because the room was so well appointed that it actually felt like a home where we could spend enjoyable time together. The tasting menu at Fern (with wine pairings) should be done at least once, as well as breakfast on the balcony. Valet parking was generally convenient (i.e. 10 minutes or less to retrieve the car). I would highly recommend renting a car from SJU and parking it at the St. Regis because of the vast array of activities that are available nearby, such as driving and hiking through El Yunque, taking a day trip to Ponce, and going to the Ralph's (no affiliation with the supermarket chain in the states) for snacks and drinks that aren't available easily on property. There is a lake of sorts on the property with sailboats and kayaks freely available. The beach is not the most stunning, but it is very long and not at all crowded. Some service points were negative - it took longer than it should have to get a few things brought to the room, for example. But, as everyone says, it's Puerto Rico. "Tomorrow" is standard. The butlers weren't "butlers" in the traditional sense. Coffee service is provided daily upon phone request, but aside from that the butlers seemed to be responsible primarily for driving folks around the property in golf carts. Nothing is really too far to walk, so we didn't use the carts, but they are free and convenient if you choose not to walk. Finally, the spa is totally worth it. My wife and I both went in for treatments - plan to arrive 3o-45 minutes early to enjoy the facilities. Overall, a great property. There is room for improvement in some of the service areas, but the quality of the rooms, the location, the beauty of the grounds, and the available activities met or exceeded our expectations. November 5, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by exceptional facility with exceptional golf course facility and service was exceptional. the only challenge we had was to many mosquitos around hot tub area. they may want to consider smoke fogging twice a day or not watering so much. the staff were responsive in every way especially raphael. the fern restaurant was pricy but a great on property alternative. about 20 minutes from san juan/isla verde/condado - wife and i did dinner in san juan using first class car service there at the hotel (contractor). we had early morning flight out and spent last day at hotel near airport January 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Almost perfect Absolutely gorgeous property. Two restaurants with great food: the bunuelos (little donuts) at Molasses were worth the trip. Pool is gorgeous and although hotel full, plenty of chairs. Beach looked a little ragged. Three complaints: There is an extra 7% "amenitiy" charge at the spa which is not made clear, housekeeping didn't replenish the soap, etc., consistently, and had to call back sometimes more than once to get a shuttle. But overall, the staff is accommodating, the rooms lovely and the facilities beautiful. December 14, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous property for destination party/wedding I recently hosted a three-day party at the St. Regis Bahia Beach to celebrate my birthday with 50 friends and family. The hotel staff attended to every event with care, professionalism and to the last detail. The catering staff are amazing. The food was exactly as I wanted it. The locations for each night's party were perfect. The activities available at the hotel kept my guests busy all day. The rooms are luxurious. I couldn't have been happier with every aspect of the weekend. December 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place to relax My wife and I were there for almost a week. We really Over how relaxing the place was and the staff was amazing! It's so easy to relax here. Our on,y complaint was that the food didn't live up to the lofty prices that we had to pay. Other than that we would definitely return. June 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good But Lovely suite facing the ocean, outstanding property, very friendly staff. "Butler service" is really just an operator who has to connect you to others. Details are sometimes missed—maid doesn't replenish items, a ride fails to arrive. Mosquito problem when dining outdoors. Fern is hugely overrated, don't spend your money in the resort's top restaurant. Food is indifferent, service cloying, wine vastly overpriced. The resort did not conform to the amenities supposed to be provided by American Express when you book through them. Outstanding pool area and service. Serious beach erosion taking place, however, and date is very shallow. January 16, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Mold and mildew everywhere We checked into this hotel and our room smelled of mold and mildew. We asked to be switched and the other room was the same. the wallpaper in the bathroom was peeling and had black mold behind it and the staff ran a dehumidifier in our room around the clock to try and get the smell out. Not a 5 star hotel... February 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel treats you like royalty. From the moment you are drive up to the main gate you are transformed into a lush tropical paradise. Everything was perfect. Staff were beyond exceptional. Beautiful beach, pool area, restaurants, etc. Would definitely go back again. May 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel is paradise My family and I just returned from a 11 day stay at your hotel (December 20th-december 31st). We had a wonderful time and thought the facility and service were great! Noelle was amazing and helped me unpack when I arrived which was heavenly!!!!!!!! Noelle was always available to make sure that our reservations were confirmed, organize transportation, communicate with the other staff as needed etc. Joselle, the head concierge was also over the top wonderful!!!! He is sooo knowledgeable, helpful and lovely. Kathy and Gabby who work at Fern for breakfast always greeted us by name and tried to make sure that we received everything we needed, Corral was our server at night and she was also fabulous!!!! Nothing was too much! The 2 managers Terry and Sam were always accessible and asking how they could help. Krystal at the spa was sooo accommodating and lovely and Karyn gave me the best pedicure! January 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Beach This hotel property is beautiful. Absolutely every hotel employee we encountered was courteous and capable. The location is perfect if you want something a little out of the way where you won't be constantly seeing cruise ship crowds everywhere. May 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic hotel Great get-away. Phenomenal facilities. Very quite and relaxing place. May 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel, lacking in customer service The resort itself is beautiful, however I was persistently aggravated by the low quality of customer service, especially given the hotel price point. 1)When we arrived at the airport, the hotel car service that we had reserved was not there. We finally saw a gentleman holding the "St Regis" sign, when we gave our name he looked at us and said, "No." We walked away. A moment later he comes to us and tells us our driver is on the way. We stood outside for 30 minutes waiting for our driver who had been "a minute away" the entire time. 2)When we finally arrived at the hotel, we waited for close to an hour before being engaged by the front desk staff. There was only one person working the desk and they were occupied with another family. After waiting this ridiculous amount of time we were told that our room was not ready - - - MORE WAITING. Finally, after another 25 minutes of waiting we were taken to our room and greeted by a group of maintenance workers who were working on our stairwell to the point where it was difficult to pass by. Horrible presentation. 3) We are SPG members. This was our 4th time at St. Regis Bahia Beach. There should be a record of guest patronage somewhere that is monitored regularly so that recurring guests are treated as such. When we arrived, we were asked over and over again "is this your first time with us?," "would you like a tour of the property?" etc., as if we don't come there every single year. Obviously, the exorbitant amount of money we spend at your resort over and over again is of little significance, if you are unable to monitor our patronage and adjust your service accordingly. The food and accommodations were good as usual. Overall, however, I was completely underwhelmed and flat out displeased with the St. Regis hospitality and customer service. Although we have been faithful customers for the past several years, it may be time to check out the Ritz Reserve in Dorado next time. June 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by a paradise getaway An oasis on a beautiful beach. The rooms were immaculate and beautiful with outstanding bathrooms. The service was terrific with a friendly staff. Pool service not as fast but I don't think I've ever seen great pool service anywhere. Restaurants, while pricey, were excellent quality and I played one round on the golf course. If you like golf, It's a winner course, beautiful with some of the best greens I have seen. If I have one knock, it would be the resort fee that got added to my bill for hotel services. For the prices being charged for the rooms, and the cost of drinks (very high), adding a surcharge for things like towels and the like seemed a bit excessive. Also charging for parking in the middle of nowhere was unneeded. The hotel needs to balance profitability with not making the guests feel nickel and dimed. I'd actually recommend raising the room rates but dropping some of the surcharges. May 17, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Would not stay here again. This hotel does not live up to St Regis or even normal Starwood standards. During rainy season, from December through April, the water is brown because it is located between two rivers. Further, the beach had trash on it: think plastic, a hair curler, a ketchup packet, a tampex dispenser, a styrofoam food box and a shotgun shell all right in front of the hotel. The Chaise lounges on the beach were rusted and the beach umbrellas were torn. Recognition of Platinum status was non existent. They did not offer points and were not apologetic when it was pointed out. Also, they said upgrades were for "paying" customers, not award or discounted reservations, contrary to Starwood policy. They used these exact words to another Platinum SPG member also. There were some minor problems with maintenance like light bulbs which were out and a door lock which was missing. Another irritant was that they charge customers $35 to use the spa (steam room, etc.) if they are not engaging spa services. The good news is that the staff was very polite and spoke good english. There were some minor service issues and it was clear that they could use more training, but they make up for a lot of the small errors by being so nice. The beach attendant provided exceptional service. Also, the facility itself is beautiful, set in a rain forest setting. The rooms were all very nice (we moved a couple of times during our stay - see notes about recognizing platinum above). Room service was excellent, The ugly beach ruined it for us. All the other problems would have been ignored if the beach looked like the pictures of the beach. January 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing Family Getaway Grounds are amazing and the Staff is very friendly always acknowleding you and saying hello. My kids loved the Boathouse which has bikes, paddleboards, saliboats amd kayaks all included in the resort fee. Food is a little pricey but the $25 per day fee for kids meal is very helpful. The only real problem we had was the water pressure during high traffic shower hours. June 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Couple's Escape While we were only at the resort for two days it was one of the best resort experiences we have ever had. From the moment we arrived at Plantation House we felt special. Our suite, to which we were upgraded because of our Platinum status, was spectacular. We will definitely return to Bahia Beach when in Puerto Rico and encourage others to stay there as well June 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Incredible experience My family and I stayed at this hotel, and it was amazing. The staff was great especially Carlos, Mike, and Deltza in the pool restaurant and pool area. They were always very pleasant, and went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful. We will definitely be back, and I can't wait. Our rooms were absolutely incredible. Thanks for the best vacation ever. June 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best luxury experience Wonderful stay at St.Regis. It had all the amenities and the activities in the resort- golf, kayak, bike, etc. The staff hospitality and graciousness is unbeatable. The room is the most spacious room I have seen thus far with its own walk in closet. December 31, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful location limited restaurant options Overall a very good stay. Room was not ready upon our arrival. The drinks at the pool were 17 each!!! A complete rip off. Staff was very friendly. Limited dining options if you didn't want to leave the property. A great place for families or couples. No nightlife or activities at the pool. Very very quiet. A quick ride to the airport. April 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Family Celebration in Paradise Thank you to the whole St Regis Team! The concierge staff, Joselle, Christine and Didi were truly inspired. I strongly recommend the beachfront room! And take a day trip to Vieques with Angie as your guide. The resort fee of $60.00 per day is something management should remove. June 8, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>