The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Past and present blend together at The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice. Our hotel combines the rich history of five 18th and 19th century palaces, the oldest belonging to the illustrious Tiepolo family, which included two Venetian doges as well as the 17th century painter, Giambattista Tiepolo. One of the palaces originally housed the glorious San Moisè Theatre, later called the Minerva Theatre, and was a popular spot for marionette shows and early films at the end of the 1800s.
During the 19th century, Palazzo Tiepolo and the buildings that face the lovely courtyard on the Grand Canal were converted into Hotel Barbesi, which was renamed Hotel Britannia in 1881. Celebrated Impressionist painter Claude Monet spent the autumn of 1908 reinterpreting the magnificent views he enjoyed from Hotel Britannia. In 1900, the beautiful palace built on the property next to the Palazzo Tiepolo—once an ancient gondola workshop or "squero"—was transformed into a hotel by Venice Hotels Limited, which eventually dubbed the building Hotel Regina.
After a 1979 merger and a careful restoration, the Hotel Regina and the Hotel Europa & Britannia became the Hotel Europa & Regina. Starwood Hotels & Resorts welcomed this grand hotel into the family in 1998, aligning it with the Westin brand in March 2000.
The hotel’s Barozzi and Ca' Nova Palaces feature 82 guest rooms that have been restored to their original splendour by designer Irene Pansadoro, who took her inspiration from other ancient Venetian palaces on the Grand Canal and added a modern touch. Irene Pansadoro is also responsible for the restoration of the Unique Grand Canal Rooms in the Regina Palace in 2011.