Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach

  • 2365 Kalakaua Avenue
  • Honolulu,
  • Hawaii
  • 96815
  • USA
  • Landkarte

Zimmer & Preise

Schließen

Kinder pro Zimmer

Diese Angaben ermöglichen es uns, die besten Zimmer für Sie zu ermitteln und Ihre Ankunft entsprechend vorzubereiten.

Informationen zu Zustellbetten und/oder Aufschlägen für weitere Personen finden Sie in den Zimmerbedingungen und Details.

Rated 3,9 out of 5 by 586 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location Hotel is on a great spot on Waikiki.Rooms vary on which building you're at so can be tricky. 7. Januar 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Buyer Beware: Even the Moana Surfrider has its warts After several trips to the Moana Surfrider and excellent stays, we were very surprised and disappointed to have had a quite different experience on our last stay over the holidays. We were given a room in the 'historic' Banyan Wing which, one could believe, was very close to the original condition when the hotel was built in 1901. Sure, there was a Heavenly Bed and the Westin towels (no room for a Heavenly Shower, though), but this room was severely cramped, the shower was very tight and things were in general very worn (the window in the bathroom, an ancient sash window with chain(!) mechanism to make them open and close, would not even close all the way!). The walls were very thin, and on several occasions we clearly heard the person in the neighboring room having a great time talking to his smart phone and hearing it talk back to him – nice at 2:00 am! Each day we inquired at the desk for a room change, but owing to the busy season, shortage of rooms in our ‘category’, and (I believe) the fact that we were using a lot of points for our stay, the staff – who I must say remained very supportive and friendly and helpful throughout – were unable to do anything for us until the last 2 days of our stay. They moved us to a spectacular room in the Tower Wing at no extra charge – what a difference this makes to an overall stay. We went from dreading coming back to our ‘cell’ to sleep each night, to feeling like we were having the experience we had expected all along at this hotel (and the kind of experience we had had on 3 previous stays). Hey – we like the history and the location of the Moana Surfrider, it’s one of the best attractions of this hotel and the charm of ‘old Hawaii’. But, whether you’re shelling out $400+ or 16,000 point per night, you expect more in comfort than the ‘innovations’ Buster Crabbe and Johnny Weismuller experienced in 1927. A hotel of this price category and carrying the Westin name can’t have rooms like this and not expect some disappointed guests when they are unlucky enough to draw these rooms for their stay. Unsurprisingly, as the front desk finally was able to move us into the Tower Wing, the staff member mentioned to me archly “Wow, sir, you are REALLY going to like moving to THIS room…” Yes, they all seem to know a lemon for what it is. (And he was right – we loved the new room!) One last thing: the Resort Charge of $25 was an unwelcome surprise for us checking in. This seems to be a grouping of a number of ‘throw-in’ services for the hotel or things they have had a hard time selling to their guests, that they’ve decided to bundle into 1 mandatory fee for everyone, claiming that guest feedback has indicated that this would be a ‘great value’. Maybe – but for us, we literally did not use anything on the list – after several discussions where I was told firmly that the fee would not be waived, we did use wifi internet in the room for the heck of it, since we were paying for 5 nights of it anyway – but we would not have spent our time overlooking Waikiki Beach playing on the internet otherwise. Seems pretty clearly like a pure profit grab by the hotel with a whole bunch of items that are sunk cost to them – and not much value to the guests. It’s not a deterrent from staying at the hotel – but it’s a bit of an irritant and rubs me the wrong way as a guest. I guess we’ll try – warily, mind you – the Moana Surfrider again – but not if our only option is being consigned to the ‘historic’ Banyan Wing again. It’s a question of two different vacations – really painful versus living the dream – and it’s not worth the flights and expense to be disappointed. So as in many things – buyer beware! – make sure you know where in the hotel you’re staying, and you should be fine! 3. Januar 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Christmas stay Loved the breakfast buffet every morning. I would suggest that everyone do this! Beautiful hotel! 2. Januar 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location, nice hotel Was disappointed that despite booking 6 months in advance our request for a balcony was not accommodated. Also we stayed here on our honeymoon, no rose petals on the bed or wine etc to congratulate us and thank us for choosing to have our honeymoon there. I thought that gesture was standard in most luxury hotels? I guess not. The room was small and very basic but the bed comfort and shower was wonderful. No bottle opener or anything in the room besides 2 glasses. A couple of times our room was not cleaned that well but it was peak period so we overlooked this. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would go back there. The location cannot be beaten. 1. Januar 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by History and location loved everything about the stay- location is great- plantation style architecture is history in itslef. Staff was attentive and polite- only issue we experienced was with onsited dining. Menu did not live up to expectation- catch of the day was gone for a 6:30 seating- plate preperation on two ocaasions were unfortunate surprises. Staff was excellent in how everyting was handled however. thanks for a great stay! 31. Dezember 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Our New Favorite Waikiki Hotel Can't beat the beautiful setting. The staff was gracious, especially the front desk staff. Breakfast room service was terrific. Beach House restaurant an exceptional experience. Carpet was badly stained in our room. Guest room looked like it needed sprucing up. What's with all those trash receptacles in public areas? They are a distraction to beautiful architecture and decor. 26. Dezember 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lovely historic hotel The hotel location is perfect and the lobby itself is fabulous, and the banyan tree lanai picturesque. That having been said the Spg recognition was very poor, but that seems to be the case at most Starwood hotels. I would still heartily recommend it. 17. Dezember 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room smaller than expected. Got a small room with very little view from windows and directly across from house-keeping storage closet. Hotel made adjustmens for this issue. 15. Dezember 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Westin HI Nice hotel. The staff is very friendly. The rooms are very small if in the original tower. Hotel right on the beach. 12. Dezember 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Experience Enhanced by Staff Member Overall, the experience was wonderful. We finally had a fantastic room with ocean views (definitely recommend) after several tries. I have to say that the individual that assisted us at the front desk, Steve, went above and beyond to accomodate us. His excellent customer service skills without a doubt enhanced my experience during my stay. One of the best Starwood employees I've encountered. 7. Dezember 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great...but... Staff, ambience, shuttle service, all great. OUr only dissatisfaction was with the "noise" from the street performers that went on so loudly, impossible to fall asleep. We were moved to a courtyard room for the remainder of our stay, and while it was better, the music (and patrons) from the bar was too loud too. The staff tried to accommodate our sensitive "ears", we really appreciated that. Guess we are getting grumpier as we get older...no fault of the hotel. It would be nice to have a spa or jacuzzi on property too. 29. November 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pluses and minuses Overall, a great hotel. Location is great, a beautiful property. Still missing the "Aloha" we knew previously. Check-in was slow, took 15 minutes, with only one person at the front desk. Had mixed experiences with the servers at the beach - 2 were outstanding, and one ignored us completely so we had to go get our own drinks. Spa staff is outstanding ! We loved our spa treatments and would definitely recommend to others. They still have a wonderful breakfast buffet in the morning, although we missed the Eggs Benedict. :( We come back year after year, so we always know we can count on this hotel for high quality and and an excellent stay. 29. November 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Could have stayed longer Overall, we had a delightful time and our #1 priority, the mattress, exceeded our expectations. Stayed the banyan suite, so two bathrooms, but toilet area in both was very cramped and counter space quote small. Amenities very nice. Towels thick and large. Pool a bit chilly, but service prompt. Beach Bar fabulous, food as well. Veranda restaurant a bit pricey, but ok for vacation splurging. 29. November 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by perfect I could not fault my stay at the hotel. this is splendor at its best. 28. November 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 moana surfrider We loved the hotel as usual,and would always recommend it.Absolutely, I would stay again.I feel pampered ,comfortable and secure at the Moana Surfrider.I feel it is such a unique experience,not just another hotel ..not just 'a place to stay'. 18. November 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel that needs help The staff is really 1st rate and the location is second to none. If we return to Waikiki, this is where i want to stay, but they will need to spend a few more dollars on the maintainence of the rooms. We stayed in the Towers and the bathtub re-finish was peeling off and looking like a tub in a cheap hotel. Also the wall tiles were stained and not appealing for a 5 star hotel. Grout was missing from the floor tiles and what was there was discolored with ground in dirt. Please attend to these things so we will chose to return. 15. November 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by First time visit from Cali Overall wonderful hotel in a great location with nice outdoor bar area, pool, and beach access. Everything was very close and only thing I can complain about being a Platinum member, is even though they upgraded me to a beach side view, they did not inform me that it was a handicap accessible room. Room was nice and clean but because it was handicap friendly the shower was not set up to the way I'm a little more comfortable with especially at the rate I paid. Overall though like I stated the hotel was great. 14. November 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel Good position... Stayed there on points and I think I was given the smallest room in the place. Despite me being SPG gold this really colored my stay .. Didn't find it a haven at all. Almost had to breath in to get around the bed. 10. November 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Slow Valet Average wait for valet was 20-30 minutes. Although they were friendly & professional, it took entirely too long to get our car each time we requested. 10. November 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Needs some work I love this hotel however this time I didn't get the feeling of being pampered. That great fragrance that I have come to really enjoy about the hotel was not present. The staff was non-existent with the exception of housekeeping (who were very friendly). The $25 resort fee was a bit high for my taste. As for the SPG recognition – ZERO points on this one. There was no mention of being a member nor were there any associated perks. Rooms are starting to show their age so some updating is needed. Still a beautiful hotel with a great location. 8. November 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by First time in Hawaii This is a first class hotel and a most pleasant and convenient place to stay for a visit to Honolulu and Waikiki in particular. However, they will nickle-dime you for stuff, e.g., Internet service unexpected additionnal $25/day charge over and above package price through American Airlines Vacations. This level of hotel should provide free Internet service. 31. Oktober 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comfort and care We enjoyed our stay on Saturday night. The tea service was very special as always. Sitting on the veranda reading and relaxing before sunset allowed us to enjoy the Banyan Court scenery. Ending our afternoon with a perfect drink watching the sunset got us ready for the evening fun. even with the tsunami surprise The Moana staff kept us safe and well fed on an upper floor until the danger passed . Our beds provided the comfort we expect at The Moana to drift into sleep after returning from our safe floor. We did not want to leave after lunch the next day, but knew we were leaving refreshed and eager for our next stay. Thank you again. 31. Oktober 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel I have stayed at this hotel numerous times. The facilities are excellent and the rooms are very well appointed with very comfortable beds 31. Oktober 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Place! My wife and I spent almost two weeks at this hotel and generally loved it. The ambiance and decor and the layout of the porch, the banyan tree and the lobby were all great and we spent a lot of time there. The beach is great, and the location is as good as it gets. Prices for drinks and room service were high, so we tended to do our entertainment elsewhere. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this hotel. We found staff to be very helpful and courteous. 24. Oktober 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful experience! I've traveled all over the world, from Rarotonga to Alaska to China to Poland. We enjoyed this hotel very much. The concierge was gracious and helpful. The doormen were great. The pool a tad small but OK. The beach was good. Don't expect a bunch of shells. This place is beautiful. 19. Oktober 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel needs more smiles! The hotel is fine. I travel quite a bit and the front desk does not seem to really care. Unfortunately, if I was traveling for my vacation I would not choose this hotel. 8. Oktober 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location. Stayed at Moana Surfrider during last week of August 2012. First night was spent in a street view room, which was in a historical part of the hotel. Room was spacious, recently upgraded and over all great first night. Then we moved into our expensive ocean front suite, which turned out to be a regular ocean front room. When we booked the room, we were told to book a larger room (a suite) to accommodate 5 people, which we did. There was suppose to have been 2 double beds and a sofa. Room that we got was in the Diamond wing, which wasnt remodeled and was kinda gross. Bathrooms are outdated, very small balcony where you can only stand, no sitting area. There were two double beds, and by the time roll away bed was put in, there was no room no move. I know you're not suppose to spend your vacation in a room, but it left a bad taste. That was the only bad thing about our vacation. Hotel itself is beautiful, service and location couldnt be better, Diamond Wing could be greatly improved. We stayed on 2nd floor. 20. September 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 Charming I love this hotel but you need to know that the street side noise is intrusive as is the rattle from buses pulling into the drop off area. If you want charm and a great location then this is the place for you. If you want to get to bed early for a good night sleep you will beed to get a room away from the road. I was disapointed that the pool was a fun free zone and the fun police were out in force also the pool closes rediculously early. I think it was 6.00 pm, which is the time that those not wanting to get burnt head for the pool. I noticed that other hotel pool were open until late. 17. September 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is truly one of Honolulu's gems. Overall review is excellent. However, we believe we were misled about room reservation/accomodations throughout the 10 month reservation period. So, upon checkin we were housed in room that was inconsistent with information that had been confirmed in numerous communications which complicated checkin after a long travel day. However, once we expressed our situation with reservation management, our concerns were addressed professionally and with kindness. We appreciated the approachability of the management staff and the urgency in which our concerns were addressed. The hotel is truly beautiful and is a paradise in and of itself. 3. September 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Everything but the pool My stay was great from the moment I arrived, every staff member I met was friendly and helpful. From coffee on the front veranda to popcorn and a glass of wine while waiting for dinner this hotel makes you feel comfortable and welcome. The bartenders at the beach bar were entertaining and you wanted to sit and chat with them all afternoon. My one complaint is the pool area and the lack of turnover in the pool chairs, the one hour limits should be enforced when chairs are empty or the beach chairs should be included. I was surprised by the amount of children at this hotel, that may be the one thing that would have me consider staying elsewhere with an adult pool. Overall this hotel is well maintained with excellent service, everyone should experience it! 2. September 2012
<<Vorher 11 12 13 14 15 ... 21 nächste>>