Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach

  • 2365 Kalakaua Avenue
  • Honolulu,
  • Hawaii
  • 96815
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 648 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful ! This property is a beautiful historic hotel. Staying in the historical wing is exceptional. Sitting in the rocking chairs on the front porch was a very relaxing experience. Also we saw several wedding parties daily. They were all beautiful brides ( and they bring back wonderful memories as we have been married for 42 years! ) I highly recommend this property especially the historical wing. February 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Could have stayed longer Overall, we had a delightful time and our #1 priority, the mattress, exceeded our expectations. Stayed the banyan suite, so two bathrooms, but toilet area in both was very cramped and counter space quote small. Amenities very nice. Towels thick and large. Pool a bit chilly, but service prompt. Beach Bar fabulous, food as well. Veranda restaurant a bit pricey, but ok for vacation splurging. November 29, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by I was dissapointed For a Starwwod property, this one misses the mark. For a SPG gold member I had hoped for an upgrade and was given a room with a view of a balcony full of painting supplies and leaves. The room was extremely small and the bath walls and floor were dirty. The carpet needed vacuuming and actually could have stood to be replaced. Definatley not the quality I have come to expect from Starwood. June 25, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Terrible for honeymoon We have stayed at this hotel several times, as we frequently visit Oahu. Each visit has been just ok, but we decided to give it another shot. For this trip, we got married in Oahu and checked into the Moana to start our honeymoon. What a mistake. Of course there was no upgrade given how busy the hotel always is, which is fine. However, room 1 we were given had a bunch of ants in the bathroom. They tried to spray and clean it up, but the ant problem persisted. After talking to the front desk the next day, we wasted almost the whole day waiting for another room to be ready for us. Room 2 - same problem, a bunch of ants in the bathroom. By now we gave up since we were only staying 2 nights. I think this hotel has gotten so busy and popular that they don't really care about customer service anymore. Especially for a very loyal SPGer, I had expected a bit more. We will not be returning to this hotel. June 2, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Good location We had 2 rooms located in the old building with the beds against the windows along the main street.we could hear all the noise from the street all night.the windows were thin and not at all private.terrible nights of sleep unless you go to bed at 2am. The size of pool in this hotel is smaller than the one I have at home.hundreds of rooms with this pool and few chairs around it,what gives. August 27, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Diamond Wing Rooms Need Updating This hotel looks GREAT from the outside, has a beautiful lobby, right on the beach, and has a fantastic courtyard, yet the room was very disappointing. The room where we stayed in the Diamond Wing seemed old, the bathroom was small, and the tub was dingy. With all of the great features that most people can see, it was disappointing that the rooms were not more like the rest of the hotel. June 13, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by The Pool was Closed to Guests The location on Waikiki is great if you want to wade through throngs of tourists... not very nice if you want a peaceful and relaxing time. There are 20-30 weddings a day according to the staff so they are more profit oriented than the legendary hotel of old, they seem to have strayed from their core mission. During our stay, they closed the pool area from noon to 3pm for a "photoshoot" and did not offer us anything in return for the inconvenience. Do you know what?!?!? The photoshoot never happened!! Amazing lack of service and self awareness on the part of the hotel. On top of this, I asked the concierge to have the manager call me (the manager was busy at the time) and guess what again!?!?! They NEVER called me back. Poor hotel experience. There are better hotels for the price point in Honolulu or, even better, don't stay in Oahu for holiday, go to another island for a true Hawaiian experience. May 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Stay The front desk personnel were excellent! Our room was ready upon arrival! It was very nice. Every evening we watched the sunset from the beach and enjoyed cocktails and meals under the banyan tree while watching live Hawaiian music and a Hula dancer. Every morning we had Kona coffee at the Honolulu Coffee Company, located at the hotel. The location was perfect. We will definitely return. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always a great experience The Moana Surfrider is one of our favorite resort hotels when we want to get away for 5-days form the mainland. As an Elite SPG Gold member we requested an upgrade, but the best they could do is put our two rooms closer to one another. The food is excellent and the staff members are all mostly long-term employees that recognize us each visit. I'd highly recommend this hotel. September 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Our New Favorite Waikiki Hotel Can't beat the beautiful setting. The staff was gracious, especially the front desk staff. Breakfast room service was terrific. Beach House restaurant an exceptional experience. Carpet was badly stained in our room. Guest room looked like it needed sprucing up. What's with all those trash receptacles in public areas? They are a distraction to beautiful architecture and decor. December 26, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Additional Charge for Sun Protection I love Starwood and Westin in particular. What was to be a treat on our last night turned into a big disappointment. It's right on the beach - what a good thing. You have to pay $60 for an umbrella and chairs - what a bad thing. Umbrellas at the pool - good thing. Getting to pool at 7 AM to nab a chair that you have to guard all day - bad thing. Ice water - good. $4 club soda - BAD. Upgrade to tower room - good. One bed on 2 bed reservation - BAD. Why pay a "resort fee" and then charge for things like umbrellas? MANDATORY resort fee is full of stuff nobody needs except parking - seeing that I dont have kids, take my own photos, have a cell phone, and dont call intl. Way overpriced but thats Waikiki - a total rip off in general - felt like I was on Vegas strip. Better idea - get a condo on the north side of the island - you have beaches all to yourself without the hassles, commercialization, and tourist prices. September 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great service The staff here are great, chambermaid knew my husband was ill, brought him oranges and extra water, restaurant staff very attentive, bellman helped weigh my luggage so I didn't have a problem at airport, provided extra help with it because my husband was not able to, waited with us for shuttle,.. warm welcome on arrival, high service quotient makes you feel a valued guest.. December 15, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by room cleaning skipped Overall, the hotel was excellent in location and facilities. However, the room cleaning was not done on one of the days, which is not acceptable nor excusable, putting a big negative impression on the hotel's management. Waiting long (15min+) in the line for checking in was also extremely bothersome with the family after a long flight. Providing Umbrella was very nice. April 1, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor review I was very dissatisfied with the service at the front desk. I waited almost 45 minutes to check in. I requested two beds but instead got a single king. When I called to change it took over an hour for someone to get back with me. The room was very small not at all what I expected. The wait for valet was very long. I do not think I will recommend or return to this hotel. September 4, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Waikiki trip The hotel is beautiful and the staff extremely friendly but our room smelled musty and the shower was clogged. They were able to fix the shower but did not do anything about the smell. It's also loud in the room due to the street noise and the music which is played in the lobby. They provide a noise machine which can help. Also, they do not have a hot tub on premise. June 2, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by 1.12.13 Very bad experience. We requested an early check in. We arrived at the anticipated early check in time of 2pm to find of 20 person deep line in queue. After waiting, I was advised that our room was not ready; my cell phone number was taken but staff did not call. Spa had the wrong reservation. Restaurant had lost my reservation. Every single step was poorly executed. January 14, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by A venerable destination and historical place....but My husband and I celebrated our 34th anniversary here. The in room wi-fi didn't connect using the password and username we were given. Not a big deal, except that the hotel charges a $30/day resort fee which includes the WI-FI, (supposedly free). So, I wasn't happy about paying for the service and not getting it. I'd like to go back to the "unbundled" fee approach. May 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel, rooms in need of refresh We love the Moana and have stayed there a handful of times. This stay we noticed our room was very rundown and in need of new carpeting and modern bathroom amenities. The lobby and back patio are outstanding and keep bringing us back, but please work on the rooms. Also, once we checked out we were unable to use wifi in the lobby which was very inconvenient. August 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Westin Moana Surfrider is an extremely pleasant hotel Again we had a very nice stay at this hotel where we will keep going back as long as we can. We always like to stay in the Ocean front room located in the Diamond Wing. A very spacious room with a beautiful ocean view. The negative point is the bathroom which really need now a full update especially considering the rather high room rate of this type of room. April 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Elegant Charm If you're looking for a hotel with the glamour and charm of the early 2oth century, this is the only place to stay in Honolulu. There's a reason they call this the Grand Old Lady and it is obvious from the moment you drive up and enter this lobby. It has all the sophisticated charm and all the modern amenties to separate it from all the others in it's class. March 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Old Historic Hotel The building has hist and character, but it is smack dab in the middle of bustling Waikiki Beach and the hotel can get quite noisy between the crowds, the beach and on-site entertainment and piped-in music. The rooms are relatively small and the bathroom is well-appointed, but cramped. If you're looking for peace and quiet and R&R this is not the place. August 31, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Small room and noisy The Banyan tower is newly renovated but the room was very small for todays standard. The window were single pain glass which does not filter any noise from the street. The fridge in the room was very noisy that we had to unplug during the night. It was very difficult for my family and I to get a good night sleep when you can hear everything from the street. August 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by 50th Anniversary This is our 4th anniversary stay at the Moana Surfrider. We were here on our original honeymoon, the 25th and 45th anniversaries, and now the 50th. To celebrate our 50th, we held a dinner in the Beachhouse Restuarant for family and friends with rave reviews from all attendees. The room with an ocean view cannot be beat. We'll be back for #55 if not sooner. June 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by First time in Hawaii This is a first class hotel and a most pleasant and convenient place to stay for a visit to Honolulu and Waikiki in particular. However, they will nickle-dime you for stuff, e.g., Internet service unexpected additionnal $25/day charge over and above package price through American Airlines Vacations. This level of hotel should provide free Internet service. October 31, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Nice hotel, but stay away from city view in original building. Hotel itself is great with all amenities. Very close to beach & action. The only down side is that I had a room on 3rd floor city view in original building. Rooms a very small & way too much outside noise so lose to Main Street. Had to sleep every night with pillow over head & 1 night had to use my noise canceling head phones. Other thn TNT hotel is gret! March 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for couples Check in and out was a breeze, all staff members were extremely helpful from the front desk (Noy) to bell services to food and beverage. Herman at the Veranda was so friendly and made our breakfast one of the highlights of our stay-cation. The ambiance of the hotel is so relaxing with the scent of white tea and the historical feel will never be forgotten! January 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Suite - life in paradise The location, the room and the facilities could not be better. At the front is the markets, lots of shopping centres, Cheesecake Factory all you could want. At the rear is the beach, straight on the sand. There were even turtles coming up for air every couple of minutes. I had a small one come about 2 metres from me when I was in the lying on my float. June 5, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a 5 star experience Too many little things made the 9 night stay a disappointment. Lei greeting upon arrival only if you ask, however, upon asking the front desk staff they were not too friendly. continuously no face cloths in the room. bathrobe, only one, was not changed once. I let my wife use the single bathrobe. Air conditioning can only be set to high, which is too noisy to sleep with. Our tub drain was plugged upon arrival, fixed the next morning. How could housekeeping not know it was plugged?? The shower head didn't get fixed upon my request. I received a length lecture on the 1 hour time limit around the pool, however, staff did not enforce their rules. Don't lecture me and then don't enforce. Really. Beach club staff was excellent, but found its existence by accident. The public uses the beach and hotel facilities. There are no chairs to sit in the hotel with as they are used by non guests. The hotel does not cater to its our guests, but to the public. Don't expect any more than a non guest would receive. Our flight was a late departure so we used the hospitality suite. Front desk staff was adamant that we had the room for 45 minutes. Room was not cleaned. Used towels on the floor, hair in the toilet. No soap and no towels. After a call, we received towels and soap (we were told housekeeping was on their break) and quickly had to change and finish up in the 45 minutes. My wife returned the hospitality room key and was told by front desk staff that the room only gets cleaned a couple of times a day and dismissed her concerns. After numerous times staying at this hotel, we spent time looking at other places to stay next time to Hawaii. February 24, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by needs work Stayed on 2nd floor one door off street. Very loud from street noise. Windows need to be changed out for better sound proofing. Maid service needs to be organized. Missing room amenities every day. ex, no wash cloths, no laundry bags, no waters, short on towels. Dining room food was very good for dinner, breakfast over priced. November 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Roomier than most We stayed in this hotel for 3 days. Staff was accommodating and friendly. Since we're Gold Members we were upgraded to a partial ocean view room with a balcony. If you prefer a roomier room, request for the newer wing as the main building has smaller rooms and a bit older. Parking is complimentary across the street at the Sheraton. Not a bad walk, it's literally across the street and we found a space each day we were there. The hotel offers a valet for $25/ day. Location is close to everything and you can walk the strip. Lots of restaurants and shops. The only thing I wish they had were complimentary chairs right on the beach. The property is beach front but you have to rent an umbrella which includes chairs for the day for $50. Otherwise, you'll have to use your towel to lay on the sand if you wish to be on the beach and see the ocean. Pool is a bit small for the size of the hotel and chairs are limited so best to get there early, May 28, 2013
<<prev 11 12 13 14 15 ... 23 next>>