Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach

  • 2365 Kalakaua Avenue
  • Honolulu,
  • Hawaii
  • 96815
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4 out of 5 by 822 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay and fantastic location on the beach Shameful internet speed!! February 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Tours and Activites Roxanne in Tours and Activities was extremely helpful and professional. February 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel Great Location The room we stayed in, in the tower, met our needs very well. Little extras that many other 4 & 5 star hotels do not provide - plenty of conveniently placed electrical outlets - plenty of drawer and closet space -adequate lighting and perfect air conditioning. The view was great and the breakfast buffet among the best we have experienced. The hospitality rooms for guests whose transportation is later than check out time is a great service. The private beach area, the pool and the, for rent, umbrellas are very nice. Location of the hotel is perfect for swimming, walking, getting transportation, etc. and really right in thick of things. My only criticism is that the restaurants , for meals other that breakfast, are overpriced. February 5, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice hotel, bad front desk SPG status doesn't appear to count for anything in this hotel. February 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Same Great Thoughts as a Prior Reviewer I copy some of a prior reviewer's comments as I have almost the same comments. "This hotel was amazing - upgraded to a fabulous ocean view suite with two balconies. The view was breathtaking! The front desk clerk," Paul, went above and beyond to make [my] stay outstanding." On checkout Erica was also outstanding. Even the doorman helped me get to the airport on time by finding someone to share a ride with. Great Aloha spirit. They went out of their way to get me a late Platinum checkout. February 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Suggestions 1. Bathroom ceiling had mold over entrance door that was growing during our stay. 2. On our first full day we left the room at 7am and it wasn't made up until 2:30-inconvenient. 3. The main reason we go to the Moana Surfrider is for the relaxed island atmosphere. No longer does the back porch offer that relaxation. There are 2 or 3 computers set up at each high top table doing business, while people are talking loudly on cell phones in the lounge chairs. there was even a man pacing back and forth under the Banyan tree while on a business call on his bluetooth. I could not read my book or a newspaper with all the business going on. I felt like I was in New York. I come to Hawaii to relax, not to listen to overwrought techies. It ruined the Banyan Courtyard serenity. Put them in their own room! This is our 8th stay at Surfrider. February 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Pretty exterior, low service The hotel is beautiful on the outside. The room was nice, excellent view!! Nice bed and linens. The bathroom left something to be desired. The tap was coated in calcium and there was not room for toiletries. My parents were celebrating their 40th anniversay, so my husband and I wanted to have something nice in the room as a treat when they checke in. We arrived at 1200 and arranged to have fruit and champagne in the room when they checked in at 3. He paid $100 and when my parents checked in there was nothing. We called and someone who was taking care of it was supposed to call us back, they didn't. When we called again they told us this takes 24hr, not what they told us originally! We went out and retuned at 7 pm and met the guy delivering the items in the hall, not how we planned to "surprise " them. We sat twice out in the beach bar and the service was less than desirable both times. I asked if the aloe juice was sweet to which he responded "I don't know, I have never had it" as he walked away. February 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great hotel, service needs improvement This is our favorite hotel on Oahu. Got married here and come back every year. Rooms are small but comfortable and the house keeping staff are great. Checkin was quick but we were not informed of our SPG Gold benefits on checkin which we were disappointed in when we checked out. Pool and beach staff were generally friendly but there were a couple of employees that were not. This needs improvement. Beach bar staff were generally good although once we waited at the bar for 15 minutes for service while others walked up and got immediate service. Not good. Food is ok although lesser hotels had better food for less or the same price. Needs improvement. Drink quality is good but the price keeps going up and size keeps going down. We love this hotel but we keep feeling like we are getting nickeled and dimed to death. February 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect Location Amazing location and very good service! Worth the extra money to be on the beach! January 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by First stay was amazing! This hotel was amazing - upgraded to a fabulous ocean view suite with two balconies. The view was breathtaking! The front desk clerk, Mr. Amas, went above and beyond to make our stay outstanding. He was attentive and very helpful to all our questions. Great time!! January 31, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room size, pool service The room size was small for 4 people. There was slow service by the pool...asked twice for wait staff and waited an hour. January 31, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel The hotel common areas are stunning. The hotel is called the first dame/lady of the hotels in Waikiki. We stayed in one of the tower rooms with a pretty much full ocean view, on the Diamond Head side. We were told it was a premier ocean view room, but if you look at the interactive diagram of the hotel on the website, the room we were in was considered a deluxe ocean view room, meaning not as nice. The front desk said the diagram was incorrect, that changes had been made, and we were indeed in a premier room. We were only on the third floor, below us was an extended concrete overhang which affected the view to an extent. Nevertheless, we did indeed have a view of the ocean, beach, Diamond Head, and the courtyard, just not from high up. I was told (not from a hotel employee) that anyone staying on the upper floors paid a premium for those rooms. Our package also included the daily breakfast buffet, which was wonderful as we then only needed to figure out what to do for dinner - no need for lunch. The waitstaff at breakfast were friendly, efficient, and a couple of the gentlemen had great senses of humor. Our room was quite large and noise-proof, unlike rooms in the original building, from what I've heard/read. Great decision to stay here. January 31, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not all that We arrived and were told resort full!No upgrades.Went to room 3405 right next to elevator noisy!Complained to front desk!!Said nothing they could do that day would get back to us next day!!!Never called!We would put ac on cold so the noise from neighbors room wouldn't be heard!!Also lots of saving of chairs!!On a good note loved the yoga and aqua size classes,&lei making.Food pricey.Great location.poor Internet January 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A beautiful experience We stayed 2 nights before our cruise & 1 night after. Staff very friendly & helpful at all times. Happy to extend us a few hours on our last day as our plane was not leaving till later. Just a wonderful experience, simply beautiful place to be pampered. January 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by J Great location, great views, small rooms January 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Elegance of Old Hawaii In the midst of noisy and bustling Waikiki, the Moana Surfrider serves guests with time-honored courtesy and elegance. Be sure to visit the history displays and see the video on the second floor. I chose a room on busy Kalakaua Avenue to keep my cost down, and the hotel issued ear plugs, which successfully blocked the noise that continues outside until about 11 pm. I was visiting family so did not have time to enjoy the pool and beach, but the loaction is easy to access by car and the easy beach access allows for early-morning and late evening walks along the shore. January 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Service needs improvement All in all, the facilities are good BUT I had a few problems with service: 1. Check-in: Took FOREVER 2. Housekeeping: We had several issues with housekeeping and that was really disappointing. We had to keep calling back to remind them to address our issues. That is really disappointing for a Westin. 3. In-room bathroom: Sink was clogged and needed attention and the lever on the shower broke off as it was super old and rusty. All in all, because of the location and the lobby we loved our stay but I was and am disappointed about the level of service we received. January 28, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Guest This was our fifth stay at the Moana Surfrider. We were very disappointed this time. Our room showed major wear. The concierge desk, though friendly, were not helpful at all. All of the services were very disappointing, especially for the cost. We will not stay at the Moana again, nor will I recommend it to anyone else. January 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for couples Check in and out was a breeze, all staff members were extremely helpful from the front desk (Noy) to bell services to food and beverage. Herman at the Veranda was so friendly and made our breakfast one of the highlights of our stay-cation. The ambiance of the hotel is so relaxing with the scent of white tea and the historical feel will never be forgotten! January 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Hotel has a relaxing atmosphere. The Moana Surfrider has a very relaxing atmosphere with its Garden Bar. By day a great place to grab a drink and a light meal and keep an eye on the kids by the pool or beach and by night it offers the addition of southing music. January 28, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Worst westin I've stayed at Room 3705 was beyond dated. The room should not have been inhabited. January 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Street Scene on Kalakau Avenue Our room had a City View with the street scene happening. There are rocking chairs out front to read or people watch. The Sheraton owns the Moana Surf Rider & the Westin manages the hotel. The room was spacious, but the bathroom very small. There are no Qtips for the ladies, you need to ask for them at the front desk & then they come in a thick plastic that has to be opened & then another plastic bag for 2 Qtips. It takes a couple of days to find out where everything is and about the activities. It would be nice if they included that in the email. I read the booklet at the kiosk, & went across the street to a lei making activity to find out we had the same activity later that same day. The honey rum butter pancakes were the best! The breakfast was the best as well as the rack of lamb entree at dinner. The vegetables were not included in the dinner. There are no surf lessons at the hotel. You need to go out to the public beach next door. The pool is very small & it was very cold even too cold for Hawaii this time of year and there was no hot tub & no reciprocal privileges as the Royal Hawaiian. The location is the best feature of the hotel as well as the setting, the architecture, the convenience & security and the historical part of the hotel is unique. It was very convenient and beautiful. The room amenities, better stocked bathroom would complete the picture as well as upgraded pool. After the first day, they were jackhammering the pool which was very loud. Lots of noise at this hotel with lot of weddings going on while we were there. It was completely booked, but they treated us well, so we would like to come back if the price is fair. January 27, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Difficult, difficult stay Somehow we ended up with the hardest bed in the world, a door lock that kept us out of our room (3 sets of keys in less than 24 hours--a faulty sensor thinking door was locked from the inside), no TNT channel--we had the others, couldn't work the drapes, and all in a tiny old room that felt like some European hotel. And how I wish the Westin heavenly bed was made with fitted sheets or sheets that stayed tucked in at the bottom. January 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Experience We stayed in the Diamond Tower wing which is abut 60 years old and a bit drab - well below what we expect from Westin. The view was great though. The price around $600 per night when you add in tax, so not at all good value. Add another $60 per night if you want a beach umbrella and chairs. On our ten night holiday that added another $600. The system for booking the umbrellas is downright stupid, necessitating getting down there every morning at 7am to book or risk missing out. Some holiday! But you are very well located.. The poolside food is horrendous. Manager - make the chef sit down and actually eat the marguerita pizza in front of you to prove me wrong. I couldn't even get through a slice. Ditto the nachos.Food in the beachouse restaurant was very good however. January 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel Is Under Renovation I was very dissapointed that when i made my reservation it was not disclosed that there is major renovation occuring around the pool area. The jack hammering started first thing in the morning and went on all day. I would have expected better customer service. January 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Unexpected Surprises Hotel was a quick 20-25 min away from the airport with an approximately $40 cab ride from the airport (including tip). Upon checking in, was told there was a $25/night resort fee. Fee included 2 bottles of water, internet access, parking and a few activities. Since I am Platinum and didn't have a car, I basically paid $100 for a few bottles of water. I chose the continental breakfast for my Platinum check-in amenity. When I went to the restaurant, I found out I needed a certain ticket which I was not given (turns out they had run out of them). The breakfast buffet looked good, but I was not able to eat anything from it. Instead, I was given a plate of fruit, some danishes and a yogurt. I asked the front desk for the breakfast tickets to be delivered to my room, but never received anything. I did eat from the restaurant for lunch and had a good chicken salad, but chose to go to the Halekulani hotel for their breakfast for the remaining days. Overall - the hotel location was good; my room was clean and quiet; and the hotel property was well kept. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Stay The front desk personnel were excellent! Our room was ready upon arrival! It was very nice. Every evening we watched the sunset from the beach and enjoyed cocktails and meals under the banyan tree while watching live Hawaiian music and a Hula dancer. Every morning we had Kona coffee at the Honolulu Coffee Company, located at the hotel. The location was perfect. We will definitely return. January 24, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Overcrowded I have stayed at several Westin locations and have been nothing but happy until now. I found this hotel overcrowded and in need of much updating. The pool and outdoor lounge areas were overcrowed with chairs and there was still nowhere to lay in the sun even if you where o=up and out by 8AM. I did have a few issues that the staff in the lobby were very willing to accomadate. January 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Venerable Old Lady on Waikiki Beach My fourth stay here, nearly a week using points, and still in my top three hotels worldwide. I'm mystified that the Starwood branding people have downgraded it to a Westin given its historic standing - and if you have a wooden frame structure as you do in the original building then do you REALLY want to encourage the footsteps of small children racing around being transmitted though every floor/ceiling? I love the wind wafting off the sea straight through the classic lobby; one step inside and you've left the traffic of Kalakaua Ave a world away. My single gripe was the "Resort Charge" - that was on the booking confirmation, but which I initially overlooked - of USD 25/day. It gave me a whole page of goodies, not a single one of which I wanted, or needed as a non-family, SPG Gold For Life member. This issue was resolved after a genial chat with the VERY helpful Duty Manager. If it's good financial value for families who are not Gold/Platinum etc. then let them do the numbers and opt-IN, not force those who don't want it to opt-OUT (if they take the time to question it). We had a SUPERB dinner at the Verandah, though the breakfast is way over-priced. January 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Moana Surfrider, Waikiki Awesome, from the size of the rooms, to the proximity to the beach, to the look and feel of the hotel itself right down to the quality of the food and the staff. Awesome!!! January 21, 2013
  • 2015-08-01T01:00:52.533Z
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-18, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_822, tr_822
  • loc_en_US, sid_374, prod, sort_default
<<prev 16 17 18 19 20 ... 29 next>>