Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach

  • 2365 Kalakaua Avenue
  • Honolulu,
  • Hawaii
  • 96815
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4 out of 5 by 815 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pool chairs The amount of chairs around the pool to sunbathe was very unsatisfactory.It seems apparent to have less chairs available so you would have to rent one for 50$ a day and increase even more revnue despite my over 300$ nightly rate. Having being told by a pool /towel attendant to have to show up at 650 am to get a towel for 7 am to reserve a chair is a bit over the top while on vacation.It took 4 days to actually get a chair by the pool since 9 am was to late to be able to work out and eat breakfast .Further more the method being used to hold chairs is not being enforced although I was refered on my 4 day of actually getting a chair.The Westin policy of reserving a chair.This was a major disapointment for me.On two occasions we went to Dukes for breakfast simply because it was very good and more affordable than the westin.The amount of pool chairs far out numbered the westin chairs by the pool and will be a major consideration next time im in Waikiki.Being a starwood prefered member was not enough to keep me satisfied with 300$a night and waite 4days to sunbathe with out paying 50$extra of lay on the sand with my back after back surgery. February 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location, Great Staff! I stayed at the Moana Surfrider for the first time in January. I arrived early (prior to standard check-in time) and to my surprise, the front desk agent was able to find an available room for me! She was very pleasant and efficient. The room was lovely, location perfect, and overall experience wonderful. The housekeeping ladies on the 2nd floor, restaurant servers, bell staff and Frank with the valet team, were all very welcoming, professional, courteous, and emulated the Aloha spirit. I will definitely come back to this timeless, historical hotel right on Waikiki Beach! February 19, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Save your money I had always wanted to stay at this hotel after living on Oahu and I can't believe how disappointed I am. The front desk staff were not personable at all and seemed irritated that I was checking in. I was so put off that I came back later to ask my questions to a different receptionist who was more approachable. There hasn't been a single mention of what the resort fee even covers and as far as I can tell it just covers parking. The worst part is the lack of soundproofing in the city view rooms. I get that it's an old hotel but it doesn't even seem like they tried to make it less noisy. We haven't slept since we checked in. It's almost like you're sleeping in the middle of kalakaua ave. At the price of this hotel I expected way better. At least the two star hotel I stayed at on Kuhio ave. provided guests ear plugs. Save your money and stay elsewhere. February 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by THe Best Place In Waikiki My wife and I love the Moana, the people treat us great! Nancy at the Snack Bar and Gloria who takes care of us under the umbrellas. But Ma at the Bar is like a Ma to us all we all love her dearly. Jerry and Jennifer Stacy February 3, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst customer service in my life Receptionist wasn't welcoming. Duty manager Josh was rude and unwilling to talk. Specially requested for quite room but get extremely loud room next to Duke's. Couldn't sleep until 4am. My second visit after last year's my 10years wedding anniversary. I visited 4 other hotels during this travel (3weeks period), this is the worst hotel. The hotel crews need to take basic training for customer service. (Never use excuse me or thank you).Only bell desk and house keeping do it right . Contact to general manager is also extremely hard. Unbelievable hotel overall for this level. January 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My wife's favorite hotel - worldwide This is our third time to the Moana - we alway have had a great experience here. We booked our stay and applied to use 7 nights from our Suite Award account. Around 5 days before arrival I received a message from Starwood; they were having trouble finding an available suite. Three days before we were told no suite was available. We received a welcome email from Roxanne at the Moana - a nice personal touch. i decided to email back and was informed Starwood system is in control of the Suite Night reservations, but she would see what they had availabe during the check-in process. Steve was at the desk when we were checking in - he made us feel very welcome. Steve researched the available rooms and went to discuss with his supervisor. He managed to find us an ocean view suite in the tower section. I know from previous experience these suites are classified as specialty suites and not under any Suite Night award program. Steve really treated us like Platinum members, and more. I would like to note the maid service in the hotel is well trained and very observant. Each day as we left to have fun, our maid noticed us leaving and had our room cleaned prior to us returning. sometimes we were only gone for an hour. This showed us they prioritized the room cleaning when people were out so as not to disturb their stay - very thoughtful. Having the Beach Club available for breakfast and evening snacks is wonderful. The staff were always very welcoming and personable. The location is great for people watching and for awesome sunset viewing. Some complain regarding slow service - this is island time - relax and enjoy - that is why we get away from the mainland I am convinced why this is my wife's favorite hotel - great job!! January 25, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by REFUND ME MY MONEY I am completely disappointed in this hotel. When I booked it nobody told me there was a constriuction site right outside my balcony. Every morning of my honeymoon I was awoken at 5 AM from the beeping of the construction trucks. Furthermore the hotel allowed its guests to ride the elevators wet and with no shirts, completely nasty. The towels are so old the cut you when you dry out with them. The concierge only sends you to the tours and ectivities and that lady would give you attitude when you ask her too many questions . The waiters don't know the SPG rules in the bar and they don't apply the discounts offered. I had to go to the front desk and complain. The AC in my room didn't work propoerly and the inroom dining took more then 1 hour to deliver our food. The ondemand on the TV got stuck and I had to spend like 2 hours trying to figure it out. I mean I am paying $700 a night for this terrible service and old hotel. I had the worst honeymoon experience in this hotel, I am asking you to consider refunding a certain portion of it due to the terrible construction and the rest of my observations that I feel are worthy of a refund. Thanks, January 10, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel did not operate honorably Lying to the guest and did not honor the upgrade January 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Moana has great housekeeping staff My hotel housekeeping staff is excellent. I have been here about week and half and housekeeping staff Maria Alienda always has a smile and brightens my day. My room is smaller then most hotels but it is very clean and well kept. Mrs. Maria Alienda and her co workers like Josephine Gasmen makes great impression of how nice this hotel really is during the holidays. Maria, thank you for servicing my room all week. Thank you John December 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very relaxing and the staff most accommodating! We are from the islands and found our weekend very relaxing by just rocking and watching Kalakaua Avenue and it's activities! December 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Moana Lani Spa I had one of the best full body massage sessions I've ever had at the Moana Lani Spa. Patti, my masseuse, was amazing and spent an hour working all the kinks and knots out of my back and neck especially. Using a Reiki technique passed down through generations, all the stress and tension melted away under Patti's expert hands. It was just what I needed and I would recommend the Spa with its incredible location (chillout rooms overlooking Waikiki) and especially Patti to anyone. Extremely relaxing and energising. December 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by The hotel needs improvement with staff dealing with Guests The staff at both Guest Servieces & Restaurant were dreadful. They were rude & very unwelcoming. The room we had was nice but the air condition made so much noise we hardly slept & we had already changed rooms. We were treated so badly for our stay we will certainly be going back to the hotel we stayed at before our cruise. December 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Totally Enjoyable Stay in Paradise Room 1186 (Premium Ocean View with 2 queen rooms) consistent with type of rooms booked directly with Hotel. Requested a King Room at time of booking but not available at check-in. On Arrival, hotel accommodated an early (10 am) check-in. Offered an upgrade, but at an extra $300/night, thought this was a bit an unusual offer. Original booking promised a bottle of champagne to celebrate an anniversary - it never arrived. This was mentioned at check-in the night before departure and was promised it would be addressed - it never happened. Concierge asked about a local attraction (Royal Palace) and given incorrect information. Generally found this service did not have staff with good local knowledge - but still pleasant. Travel Desk very helpful (although sometimes had to wait up to 30 minutes to be seen). Very good breakfast and lunch - very good food and excellent service (recommend the chopped salad and grilled beef salads in particular for lunch). Good historical display on level 2. Hotel overall very well maintained and kept spotlessly clean. In the evening, you hear the Beach Club entertainment in the room (even with the door closed) but not unnecessarily loud to cause disturbance). Fascinated by the almost continual procession of wedding parties in the lobby and grounds. The ginger and pineapple refresher drink available near the check-in was quite enjoyable. Recommend sitting in the rocking chairs and watching the world go by. Also, go to the beachfront to watch sunset. Overall a totally enjoyable 9 night stay in paradise. December 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent service from Moana staff the hotel is quite lovely. these front desk staff were very helpful and provided outstanding assistance: manager Joshua Smith, Sam and Steve. the concierge - Cherie - was of great help. the staff of the beach club who provided excellent service were: the outstanding Johnson, Lorqeul [great job], the manager Daniel Texeira, Anne and Erika. there were 2 other ladies who were very helpful too but i didn't get their names. my room was good. December 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I just love this Hotel. I first stayed at this Hotel 20 years ago and just returned for my birthday. I am pleased to say it is as wonderful at I remembered it.I felt a 'buzz' walking in the front door. I stayed for a few days before and after a cruise. The accommodation was luxurious and the staff were so pleasant and efficient. I was sorry I could not stay longer. I will look forward to returning to the hotel in the future....I will not wait 20 years next time. November 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Got off to a bad start I reserved a room with a balcony & partial ocean view via SPG points. Upon arrival I was checked in by a cold & unhelpful woman at the front desk who put my girlfriend & I in a tiny room the size of my closet with no balcony & no view in the back of the hotel on the street side. After complaining & having to put up a fight they switched me to the proper room so what started off to be a very bad first day got sorted out in the end but should have been avoided in the first place. November 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun in the sun Overall it was a great stay the beds are very comfortable I would definitely return here again. November 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Jewel in Honolulu I always wanted to stay at this hotel ever since my wife and I enjoyed Afternoon Tea here earlier this year. There is so much wonderful history about the Moana Surfrider which was also a draw. I was only here for one night as a layover on my way to Hong Kong, but I wish I could have stayed longer. Arriving at 8 PM, I did not expect that I would receive an upgrade, yet to my surprise, I had a wonderful room overlooking the beach. I also received access to the lounge which offers breakfast and evening snacks. Check-in and check-out experiences were perfect. Thanks for an outstanding stay and for the managements's efforts to recognize platinum guests. November 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by good service Whenever I needed some assistance I received a good customer service from your staff. November 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best hotel I have ever stayed! I have stayed in several 5 star hotels in some countries. But I think this is the best hotel experience I have ever had. Everything was so great: the atmosphere, service and restaurants etc. It was such a loveable hotel! November 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the Moana we have stayed at this hotel annually for the past 10 years and have always had an excellent time. The facility is great and the people better. One of our favorite things about the Moana is that they treat you like family. The same people we met checking in or working the pool or the restaurant 10 years ago are the same great people we saw last week. In a word the Moana is TERRIFIC October 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel The Hotel was all we expected. Greetings when we arrived and received a lei was an unexpected pleasure. Thank you for a great stay October 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Hotel in Honolulu Have been to Hawaii every year for the past 5 years. The moana surf rider van highly recommended. Well......the fact is it was everything and more. What an experience...The best of everything...A great vibe from a very sophisticated establishment from the very classy Hawaiian building to the great service from the entire staff team This is a world class establishment..and the location is nothing short of breathtaking. I can't speak highly enough about our 2 week stay.. I was very sad to leave....but buoyed by the knowledge that i will be back next year Mahalo Surfrider Team October 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A hotel we loved to be in As German it is not so easy to write in English, so we try to say it in a simple way. Even the room was to the city it was calm from 10 pm. Fantastic the cleanness. Near to the beach was great. As jazzmusician we loved the music in the lobby Most amazing was the woman in duty on the frontdesk in the morningtime10/8 to 10/10 (we apologize for forgetting her name) : she met us every morning with a warm smile and helped us so wonderful in a friendly courtesy way that we nearly would say: next time we only shall come to meet her again. We appreciate if you pass this review to her. Not satisfying was the long waitingtime for breakfast. Wonderful architecture outside and inetrior create a comford feeling. Thank you that Your hotel exist October 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is beautiful In classical, I have to cherish the beautiful hotel. October 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by hawaii stay Great views of the Ocean. Can't beat this motel for ocean views, location and great beds. October 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing Romantic Getaway This getaway was in celebration of our 20 year anniversary. I called the concierge to see if they would do anything special for the occasion and she stated that she would take care of it. Upon arrival, after being up for almost 24 hours straight, the staff at check-in recognized our need for sleep and were efficient at getting us checked in. We were pleasantly surprised to see a welcome note, chocolates, and a bottle of sparkling wine waiting for us. The staff is wonderful and the new lounge available to platinum members saved us a ton of money on breakfasts and snacks. All of the staff members were attentive, professional, and very friendly. On the down side, our original room had some sort of bugs/beetles, but we were upgraded before they really became an issue. Our new room did not have any issues. We came to Oahu to relax...and that is what we did. The beach is really not that large and was pretty crowded. Be prepared to pay for covered seating and rental chairs if you prefer that type of beach hangout. We are used to all inclusives so this was a major shocker for us. The local stores have mats available for a reasonable price, so we just decided to go that route. We ate at the hotel restaurant one evening...OMG was it good. I could have made a meal out of my clams/mussels appetizer. The food was out of this world and the service was excellent. I would definitely go back to Moana Surfrider. October 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Memorable Vacation Whether you’re travelling on business or for pleasure, the Moana Surfrider is the “perfect” hotel for you. My family and I returned last Friday after a week-long vacation in Honolulu. We upgraded our room to a Tower Suite and felt it was worth every cent! The ambiance is perfect, the room was clean and the staff was extremely attentive. I must, however, call your attention to two outstanding individuals who made our stay at the Moana Surfrider so much more enjoyable --- Roxanne Hashim (Guest Services) and Karen (Beach Club Lounge - a great addition!). The service Roxanne and Karen provided during our stay was exceptional. They are friendly and dedicated – the consummate professionals. I have stayed at many hotels across the U.S. and found most of them to be quite accommodating and the staff generally friendly. However, both Roxanne and Karen have far outpaced every one of them. Their “can-do” attitude and responsiveness are what set the Moana Surfrider apart. Also, given her extremely busy schedule, Roxanne personally checked in on us to ensure that our needs were met. Simply put, the service at this hotel is First Rate! I would definitely recommend the Moana Surfrider to friends and family, and I am certain I’ll be back on an annual basis and hope to get the same quality of service when we return. I wish everyone at the Moana Surfrider all expanding success as they continue the traditions of serving their community and the traveling public. “The First Lady of Waikiki” deserves to shine and be proud forever. Surely it will do so in Roxanne’s and Karen’s care. Kudos Roxanne! Thank you again for all you've done for us. Undoubtedly, I will be in touch to schedule our return in 2015. And Karen, we still love papayas! October 5, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by No return guest and Starwood points recognition We always stay at the Surfrider but this is the last time. Checked with SPG the week before and told use points at check in for upgrade but confirmed 1250 - 2500 points required per night for an upgrade. At check in they demanded 17000 points for our four night stay or we could receive a $120 credit for 9000 points and pay $450 per night for an upgrade, $450 must be full rack rate. Hotel confirmed upgrades available but not based on SPG schedule. Reservations person showed most unhelpful with a take it or leave it attitude. This hotel has no respect for past guests or SPG members. Our room city side old wing has a tiny window and no view other than hotel windows, is pokey , noisy and depressing. For the money I would be beachfront at Outrigger, so never again at this place and I will drop SPG as my preferred hotel. September 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is perfect Grand features mixed with new luxuries nestled alongside Waikiki beach, with a stroll to the shops and restaurants, parks and transport. Swim, relax enjoy your favourite beverage and be pampered by the great staff. September 29, 2014
  • 2015-07-07T14:06:22.376-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_815, tr_815
  • loc_en_US, sid_374, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 28 next>>