The Westin La Paloma Resort & Spa

  • 3800 East Sunrise Drive
  • Tucson,
  • Arizona
  • 85718
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with photo identification to check-in.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 270 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Maintenance needs Generally love Westin, but my room was in serious need of some TLC. Shower did not drain, electrical outlets didn't work and room door was not self closing. August 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay The pool area is really nice. The whole stay was awesome. They provided complementary champagne and chocolate covered strawberries. Can't wait to go back. August 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by home again This is my 5th stay in 2 years. Feels like home. Christmas decorations wonderful November 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by business trip I was very pleased with the entire experience. The complex is beautiful and the staff was very helpful. The food was incredible. October 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved the regulation size lap pool NA Sorry it is too short. Have nothing to say. December 13, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Guest during an event that doesn't include yourself I found the bar staff inattentive. The room was basic. The hotel restraunt lacked in after dinner beverages. Thank goodness there was an event going on the hotel so port could be ordered. Because of the Christmas party initially the staff tried to tell us the valet was closed, which was unacceptable for actual paying guests. Luckily, we were valetted but only after explaining our sitution, that we weren't there just for the party. Room service did a good job but was very late in the day, should have been done earlier. Additionally, room service should not be limited to desserts after certain hours. Lost revenue due to the westin time restrictions. It was also not to standard when we called before checking in for tee time rates but arrived to see printed on the sheet the tee times were $50 cheaper than quoted on the phone. I did enjoy my time at the westin but would just like to be very critical so next time I visit Tucson, going to the westin won't be a question. One last point, we took a driver from the hotel and he charged us 25 to get to el charro on sunrise. Yet when returning home called our own cab and only paid 15. Tsk, tsk, you should be savvy about your drivers you provide westin. We both know the drive to el charro did not warrant 25 one way. December 19, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Four Night Stay at the La Paloma This is a well managed resort/hotel. The the hotel was in the middle of renovations and my room AC intitially did not work, and the patio door latch was inoperative. A fan was requested and was promptly delivered that evening. The next day I mentioned the latch and AC to the front desk and by the afternoon my room was cool and a new latch and security bar was present on the patio door. At all times with my visit the staff was very helptful, courteous and service prompt. The executive chef is excellent I could not find a bad dish on the menu, even late in the evening. I recommnend the pork chops with the chipotle mac&cheese. The humus and pizza dish ordered at the bar is superb as well. However the draft beer selection is limited at the bar, no american micro brews are present. All snack and meals served at catered events where very appealing as well. I did find time to swim in a one of the many pools that are well maintained. However the whirlpool spa temperature is too low. The weight room and exercise area has the latest eliptical trainers, tread mills and was attend by staff even at night. I would stay at the this resort again should I return to Tuscon. September 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by La Paloma Excellent! A total way to relax December 14, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs Improvement The rooms need renovation and it was not clean. When I reported a huge spider, staff comment was "it was a baby". August 20, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Looks great on pictures, but that is already all... Would not stay there again, unless I have to. The only thing I really liked were the pools... September 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place to stay The hotel staff are abundantly friendly and eager to meet every need. No request was too much! June 4, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Csm67 Very nice hotel and facilities Could use a few more ramps for pull along luggage. August 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Two days in Tucson Made the business and travel more than worth the trip October 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good value at a Westin 2 adults and 3 college age children stayed in adjoining rooms in March. The rooms were well-appointed and surprisingly spacious for hotel rooms. Heavenly beds are just that. Excellent heating and cooling. We would advise asking for a unit with no one above. Thin ceilings!! A hyperactive insomniac was above us the entire stay. Every single foot-step rattled wall and desk fixtures in our room. The resort is beautiful and well-kept. Friendly, attentive staff. Pool food and drinks are excellent and half the cost of similar resorts. Same with Azul (bar menu has great prices) and J-Bar. Lowest price food of any Westin we have stayed in and just as good. Janos is romantic, deservedly expensive dining. The food options at La Paloma make it easy to not have to search for variety outside the resort. Superbly maintained Har-Tru courts. $25/hr is very fair price for these. As long as no one is waiting, you can play longer than an hour. La Paloma caters more to relaxation than activities in our opinion. By using one of their Promotions, compared to the cost of Phoenix/Scottsdale for the same week, the value was outstanding for a family. We have yet to experience a Westin hotel that regards SPG membership as anything special. April 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Resort! Accessibility is an issue! This will be the 3rd time I stayed at the Westin La Paloma, all stays where work related. I am atheletic and use a manual wheelchair. Unless one has friends to lift, there is no access to beautiful dining room. Staff redirected me to bar where access is explained as the 'dumb waiter' by staff...truely an embarassingly noisey lift into bar. Once there, the table choices are too high for a wheel chair, and too low to comfortably eat a meal or slide legs under. Staff did not bring us a full menu as dining staff promised until we asked. Service was slow, 3 vegatarians and a beautiful fresh menu, yet not one vegaterian choice. At time I reserved room I checked ahead to make sure pool was open and accessible as I swim for exercise and front desk relayed it was. Upon arrival the ramp was under construction. I had to beg and wait 20 minutes in order to access pool on limited time. Last, I reserved an accessble room ahead, opon arrival the room was very far from lobby, so finally staff moved me closer for easy wheeling access to lobby and parking..but the compromise was a non accessible room..I used bathtub instead of shower. Hello Westin, your facility is beautiful, comfortable modern and green....but the USA has access policy..a few minor fixes and your resort would be accessible to all...as your staff explained, I am not the first wheelchair user to complain. December 17, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Shannon's Slumber Party Love this event! Have been doing it the last 3 years. August 30, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lacking Luster Disappointed with cleanliness. August 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Spectacular Views We found our time at La Paloma to be enjoyable and relaxing. We feel our 4 night stay in this hotel was the primary reason our family has voted this to be our #1 vacation so far. The spectacular views of the Catalina mountains while dining at Azuls Restaurant and hanging by the pool were breathtaking from every angle. Our room was at the end of the complex. Since the property is spread out the walk to the pools, restaurants and lobbies with the kids was cumbersome at times. The kids had a blast on the water slide and loved ordering lunch at (Sabinos) the swim up bar . We dined at Azuls a few times. We found the wait staff, especially Shavon & Cole, to be exceptional. They went way out of their way to accommodate the kids on more than one occasion. The food was very good but a bit pricey. I wish we had packed accordingly so we might have taken advantage of the beautiful Golf Courses and Tennis Courts. The pools were great, but I felt like it would have been nice to have one more thing for the kids to choose from for activities. Maybe something like a small game room or basketball court or volley ball / badminton area or maybe a putting area just for kids. There is still so much left to see and do in the Tucson area that we would definitely consider a return to this hotel. March 1, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed :( I went to college in Tucson, and had always heard spectacular things about La Paloma (although that was many years ago). When we decided to go back for a reunion I was thrilled that La Paloma was chosen as the hotel destination. As a loyal Starwood Gold customer I always love Westin properties. The grounds and location of the resort are still lovely, but WOW the rooms feel like they haven't been updated since the hotel was originally built. I have slept in MANY a Heavenly bed (and love every moment of it)... and I can honestly tell you that was NOT a Heavenly bed. The bedding, yes, but not the mattress. The phone had to have been from 1986, and so was the shower. I have stayed at many resorts - and this was definitely one of my more disappointing experiences... and I was even in the "Preferred Guest" building! The towels by the pool may also have been originals from the '80's as they were stained and had holes in them. One of my friends looked at me as we were putting them on our lounge chairs and remarked "isn't this a resort?". Overall, it was clean. The staff was nice. And the main building was still lovely. But, overall I was genuinely disappointed. I am glad we received a discounted rate, because I would have been very upset had we paid full price. I hope that someone will pay some attention to this hotel and bring back luxury to this property! May 2, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by our very nice very bad visit My family and I booked two rooms for two nights at the end of April. We stayed in rooms 269 and 270. My daughter's room was very nice, except for a sewage smell at the bathroom entrance area. My room smelled so bad of a septic system smell the hotel brought an ozone machine and enzyme spray to try to compensate. If there were't 5 of us to move, we would have requested other accommodations. I "mouth breathed" the entire time i was in my room. The odor was bad enough that my 7 year old granddaughter remarked how much my room smelled. My telephone was defective, and the rooms were probably the two furthest rooms from the lobby, necessitating in a cart ride each direction every time we left or arrived. I realize the Tucson area has a sewer problem, evidenced in several retail areas in the city, but it is a smell I barely am willing to walk through, much less stay in. The front desk and the housekeeping were obviously aware prior to our problem as it existed, but were unable to do much besides look sheepish. such a pretty place, the third time we have stayed, there, but is definitely pin need of a remodel. On a second thought, may I encourage the hotel to add additional service people at the pool and in the restaurant below the lobby? Our wait time between return service calls was very long. Our server obviously was overloaded and had to be intercepted to help at both locations. The buffet was running low and was not replenished. May 6, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not up to standards Here is the note I sent to the Hotel Miranda, Because I have stayed with you in the past and those experiences were great, I am going to take a full minutes and let you know exactly how our stay went. We arrived at about 1 AM (late flight) and received out room. We went to the room and started to get ready for bed and became aware of a party going on next door. The young people were nice and came to our door and told us that they were having a birthday party and would be having it most of the night. We called the office and they moved us to a suite. This was nice and we finally got to be at 3:30 AM. I had a meeting early so I had a wakeup call at 7AM. That night we had a whole lot of people doing, who knows what, above us. At 12:30 I called the front desk and they said they would sent security to do something about it. Eventually they quieted down and I got to sleep about 1:30. Nest day I had to meet real estate person early so I left the hotel about 7AM and returned about 3:00. I thought I would take a nap, but couldn’t because of all the noise in the suite above us. After returning from dinner I met the people who were staying the suite next to us and they were walking their dog. I didn’t know that you allowed dogs. That night we had the noise from above, but were so tired that we did not have the energy to continued the fight. We got up early to catch our flight and the dog next door had used the hallway in front of our room and we had to step around the puddle and made sure our luggage did not get wet. I talked to the front desk and he took one night off the bill even though we had a certificate for one night’s free stay. He claimed that it was not good as we didn’t book through a different website. How can three or four trips be so great and this one a total nightmare. I had to come home to Dallas to get some sleep. Unless someone can give me a reasonable explanation or reason to return, we will not be staying again at you hotel. I thought you should know and maybe help with other customers in their stay, June 27, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not a Westin experience Love the Westin properties, so I was excited to find availability and special rates for our 2-night stay in Tucson. The hotel is beautifully situated, and has a grand portico at the entrance. No fee to park, which is a plus and unheard of at resorts. If you're reading the reviews, you're aware the hotel does need the scheduled renovation. The need was obvious when we stepped into the lobby, as well as our room...the state of the rooms has been reviewed thoroughly, so I won't add additional comments, but confirm those already made. The grounds, as we saw them, are well maintained befitting a southwest locale. The service was what disappointed us the most. It seemed that the La Paloma had cut down on staff. We only saw 5 staff on duty while we were there: the 2 receptionists, the bellman, a maintenance worker painting the steps and a housekeeper. Our bellman spent more time giving us directions to our room (almost at the end of Building E, the farthest from the lobby) than it would have taken him to drive us there in the cart. This had some light shed on it the next night as I believe it was the bellhop who delivered our room service order...he was pulling double-duty. Speaking of room service, we ordered room service at 1:15 am (we had just returned from an event in Tucson) and got it just before 2 am. Not bad for that time of night? We ordered the cookies and milk, chips and salsa and the cheese plate, so I though 45 minutes was a bit long to wait. It was supposed to be cheese and crackers, but the crackers were awol. Normally not a bad deal, but the cheeses were sections of brie, blue cheese and a smoked gouda...not something I could eat by themselves. It did have fresh grapes on the plate, but the above mentioned order came to over $50. The quality and variety of the breakfast buffet was good. In a nutshell, the food was good (although lacking in completeness on the room service order), the resort seemed to be under-staffed, and I'll give it another try after the renovations are completed. Side note: the bar area I hope is up for major reno, it's not appealing or intimate in the least. September 12, 2012
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10