The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

  • 909 North Michigan Avenue
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60611
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 659 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by I wanted for nothing I was happy the moment I walked in. The staff were kind and informative. They listened to questions and answered promptly. The room was spacious and filled with natural light. The bathroom and shower space also allowed for a comforting readying in the morning. The grill offered a nice choice of meal options which proved important to me as the nature of my trip did not allow a great amount of time to venture out for meals. I was thoroughly pleased with my visit to the Michigan Avenue Chicago Westin. Thank you. February 5, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 Dreadful Experience checking in I stayed for NRA...it felt as if the show surprised them...it was chaos. Insufficient staff on reception, line-busting all over the place. Rooms are great, but reception area appears to completely lack system/organization. There was no-one on the SPG desk at all, and only one other receptionist for a very long line. June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel was great We stayed here 4 nights and had a wonderful stay everyone was were friendly. July 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Food & Beverage Prices too high at THE GRILL and food wasn't that great. July 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 Great Staff Exceptional courtesy from the staff at this hotel. The check-in went smoothly including help with getting Starwood points. The restaurant staff really made me, a single female diner, feel totally welcome. Much appreciated June 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Location, average accomondations The hotel location is great, next to Water Tower Plaza, across from the 95th floor, blocks from the lake. The staff was nice, but the room was dirty. The bathroom had a moldy smell, the nightstand next to the bed had a glass top on it and under it was what looked like mold (or just grimy dirt) as well as a red liquid that looked like had spilled. The phone had dirt spots. I stay at Westins all the time and this room was not what I am accustomed to. It could have just been this room, everything else was good. May 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Colleen We were in town for our nieces wedding which was held at another venue. Our adult children and their spouses along with our extended family and all of the out of town guests for the wedding were staying at the hotel. We had 2 problems with our room. The refrigerator was not cleaned out prior to our check in. When we went to put left overs in the refrigerator late Saturday night we found a yogurt and a container of blueberries had been left by the prior guest. The second problem were the pillows. We had a king bed that had awful pillows, they weren't just soft there was no support in them at all, worst pillows I have ever slept on. These problems don't even begin to compare with the fact that the elevator began dropping floors when our adult son (29) tried to take his puppy down for a walk on Saturday morning. He began ringing the alarm over and over again. When the doors finally opened, a couple of floors down, he began to get out and the elevator began to drop again and he was almost cut in half. We asked to speak to a manager on duty and were told she didn't know anything about this, and it was no big deal because she'd been stuck on elevators before and nothing would happen because there are safety stops. Then the manager also told us that the elevator company told her never to get off of a broken elevator because you could be cut in half . At this point she stated she would offer to buy our son a drink but that it was a little to early for that!!!!! My husband and I could not believe the managers attitude, we expected much better when staying at a Westin. July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location, Generous SPG upgrade Just stayed there for one short weekend trip on Sunday. I was pre-upgraded to a corner crown suite (2-bedroom) with the gorgeous Magnificent Mile view as a SPG Platinum member without asking. The location is absolutely perfect and it's only a stone throw to John Hancock and the Water Tower Place. I went to the hotel too early and the suite was not ready. No problem, I had plenty of shopping to do anyway and the staff called me an hour later to tell me my room was ready. All hotel associates I encountered are courteous and very helpful and the only complaint I have was I didn't have time to stay one more night there! Some SPG members may complain there is no club lounge at this property but I don't really mind. I will definitely come back for another weekend trip whenever I can. December 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Conference I was attending a conference & breakfast & lunch were included. From Registration to the fabulous wait staff, we were well cared for. I want to recognize Horace & other wait staff who were attentive, efficient, & worked as a team to assist us at meal times. Wait staff was outstanding! June 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Weekend in Chicago Great location if you like being downtown Chicago and on the Magnificent Mile. Easy walking distance to CTA bus stops, CTA Red line, swanky shopping stores, and local restaurants. The rooms were very clean and the beds very comfortable. We like staying here. June 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by WI-FI I can't imagine at $250 a night to stay at your hotel why you wouldn't offer FREE Wi-Fi! The cost per night should cover your costs to offer FREE Wi-Fi to all of your guests. June 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice hotel but not as lavish as its price For the price of a room, I was expecting a lot more. The rooms weren't nearly as fancy as I had anticipated. The staff was friendly, but didn't go out of their way for the most part. Housekeeping was disappointing. I've never stayed in a hotel where the open bars of soap weren't disposed of/replaced. It also seemed as though the concierge was always in a hurry. Overall, it was a pleasant stay but it felt like your average run of the mill hotel. I thought I was paying for a lot more than what we got. April 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs Some Improvement I am a big fan of Westin and would definitely recommend them to friends and colleagues. Starwood's online registration site is very easy to use and offers guests an opportunity to send a note to hotel management (on specific requests). Although the hotel can't guarantee that they will honor each and every request, most of the properties do make an attempt. I usually ask for a quiet room without a common, adjoining room door (that connects one hotel room with the one next door). I also usually ask for a no-pet floor. While I like cats and dogs, I am allergic to most animals and am also allergic to flea bites. I was greeted by a very nice person at reception and was told that I was upgraded. When I got to my room, it was very close to the elevator and had a common door with the room next door. During the evening, I was disturbed by guests getting on and off the elevator, and by the hotel guest in the room next door. I also heard loud conversations by the hotel's housekeepers right outside my door. To make things worse, I left with three flea bites. When I called the valet to retrieve my car, there was no answer. When I called a second time, the person accidentally hung up on me. When I called the hotel operator and guest services, there was no answer. When I tried again, it went to a voicemail. The positive aspect of this property is its location. It is close to restaurants, offices and shops along the Magnificent Mile. They also have a nice gym. July 11, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by No remorse, no response! Hotel was incredibly busy and staff was unable to handle the crowd. Long check in process and billed two parking charges to my room. I had to call and email repeatedly over a 2 day period to get a person to resolve. No apology, and a week later still no credit on my cc account. I emailed SPG and did not get a response other than the generic "we received your email." I left a message for accounting manager and the General Manager of the property, nothing from either of them. Extremely disappointed! June 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nothing special The hotel was convenient but pretty much a cookie cutter hotel. Only one bar/restaurant for a very large hotel so there was always a wait for breakfast, drinks, etc. The location on Michigan Avenue was the only positive June 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Started off bad and ended up worse! I used my Starwood points for a 2 night stay at the Westin Michigan Avenue. I was disappointed when I first found out that I could not use my points to book higher grade room or a suite, as we typically stay in a bigger room because we have 2 little kids. This has nothing to do with the Hotel itself. So it is not being graded by that fact. The first contact with the hotel was when I drove up to the valet. Attendants were unresponsive and was slow. At first I thought they were perhaps outside contractors, that valets for the building. Definitely didn't seem to be properly trained in hospitality conduct. My experience at this hotel convinced me that being a Starwood member was useless. Valet attendants were unresponsive and rude. And lastly, I could not be accommodated when I requested for a 30 minutes late check out. So much for being a loyal member to Starwood. May 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Customer Satisfaction Your staff was so friendly and welcoming, I hope to have another chance to come to Chicago. With me being from a different time zone, your staff was still friendly and welcoming at 3am. They really treated me like family. I hope to come and see you again. Thanks again for a great stay. June 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by strange leak Overall, I had a good stay. My only rude awakening was as I was getting ready to leave Thursday morning, my pants that had been draped over a chair were wet. There was apparently a leak in the ceiling near the AC/heating unit that had dripped on my pants overnight. So I had to fly home in partly wet pants, which wasn't fun. I told the man who helped with my check out and he didn't seem too concerned. On a brighter note, I thought the lunch that was served as part of our conference was excellent. November 8, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not up to standard Uncomfortable mattresses in the room, furnishings are outdated. Really not up to Westin standards. Feel like I wasted my reward points. Lack of a lounge for SPG members is also a big weakness - its a big place, I am sure they could make one. Staff was very kind at least. June 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice stay in Chicago We had a pleasant stay at the Westin on Michigan Avenue. I was disappointed that I was not given the lake view room I requested at check in and not given an upgraded room because of my Gold status. However, when I called to the front desk after seeing the room, Anna was VERY HELPFUL and found a lovely lake view room for us and she kindly comped the up charge because of the misunderstanding. Please give her one of the gold stars (which I have misplaced). She is an outstanding staff member. February 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Service! The folks at the Westin's are awesome and more than willing to help out. I was a little disappointed on how long it took to get my car from valet. We waited approx. 20 -25 minutes to get our car. Otherwise the hotel was great. Great location.... June 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Michigan Ave Westin Chicago 12/28/2013 We arrived at this hotel around 5:00p.m. expecting to be checked in since check in was at 3:00p.m. The lobby was chaos. People in line waitng to see a reservations employee. All of the lobby seating was taken with some people obviously angry. We waited in line about 15 minutes then get to the desk and found out that a room would not be available for at least another hour. As the gentleman next to us stated, "REALLY, A WESTIN?" These were my thoughts also. We went to dinner and were told we would be emailed when a room was available. We returned 2 1/2 hours later and still no email. Upon inquiring at the front desk found that our room was available but no one emailed us. Never was given a real reason why the delay. When this happens, it gives a traveler an uneasy feeling as if they are "homeless". December 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great time, except The car service from the airport to the hotel was poor. The driver and the car were fine, but the experience to get the car was terrible. First, they made us go to the internet to tell them when we got our bags and tell them what terminal. Second, they took a half an hour to get to us after that download. I've never had such poor service and we would have been better off in a cab. June 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by the westin on michigan ave. the westin Michigan ave. is a comfortable hotel with great food and service. I was very surprised that it lacked and indoor pool and/or hot tub. Also, the door closing mechanisms on the guest rooms are extremely loud and constantly disturbed my sleep. the proximity to shopping was a plus! June 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect location While the location, staff, amenities, room were great, the only caveat was our room was outside the elevators and hearing the loud voices from everyone coming out of the elevators late at night and early morning was extremely annoying. It was as if they were getting ready to come into our room. I would definitely recommend a room further down the hall and hotel may consider posting late night courtesy signs reminding hotel guests/staff to keep noise level down as simply guest courtesy. November 12, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed The only thing good about this hotel was the hotel's location and the bed. My wife and I arrived Friday May 24 and received a room (2654). It was right by the door to the stairwell. I didn't think anything of it, but it was not a big deal because no one really uses it....until the morning and ALL morning long. You can hear people using the door because when it closes it SLAMS closed and can wake up a dead man! Annyoing. We were also told we would have complimentary water since I signed up for SPG. I had to BEG for water! I called cdownstairs twice for my 2 bottles of free water and the WATER NEVER CAME. I also visited a woman at the front desk and when I asked for it, she said ok - still never came. The bed was super comfortable but not enough for me to book again at this hotel. Not worth the money. May 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Friendly Staff, Great Location The location is great if you want to (as we did) shop on the Magnificient Mile and see the sights like Hancock Observatory (across the street), Watertower and the 4th Presbyterian Church, Rush Street restaurants, etc.. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. Room was great too though we did not spend much time there. My only "minus" (and it is minor) is that the lobby is in need of a refresh. It is clean and functional but a little dated. That said, I would defintely stay here again. February 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Girls Weekend 7-27-13 We arrived in Chicago early in the day and were able to check in right away. Of course the location can't be beat but it is the fantastic and attentive staff that really makes this hotel a great place to stay. Tammie was wonderful at making sure we had all our needs met efficiently. The room was beautiful and spacious for my daughters and I to stretch out and enjoy without feeling crowded or cramped. This was the first of hopefully many stays here! Now to plan for an October weekend!! July 29, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by My Stay My stay was for business. The staff was always helpful and the convenience was nice. My conference was in the hotel and there was lots of activity and shopping close by. However, for the money that I spent, the room was nothing to talk about and our room was adjacent to the service elevator. While being a light sleeper is rough at times, being in an unfamiliar bed compounds the issue and the service elevator ran all night which did not allow for a good night of sleep either night. November 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel with wonderful people! I have stayed at this hotel many times and they always take great care of me - going above and beyond! The entire staff is wonderful! Many thanks for making are stay one to remember! June 24, 2014
<<prev 8 9 10 11 12 ... 23 next>>