The Westin Melbourne

  • 205 Collins Street
  • Melbourne,
  • Victoria
  • 3000
  • Australia
  • Map
Error 500: javax.el.ELException: Error reading 'RADConversionInProgress' on type com.starwood.model.content.PropertyContentObj
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 461 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Westin Melbourne Australia No Club for guests. The room was in poor condition - the shower and toilet both required repairs and these should have been rectified before letting the room. The pleasing thing was the very prompt rectification of the defects after they were reported.. June 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by great stay in Melbourne Accommodation is excellent. Dinner and lunch are brilliant, especially dinner. Breakfast buffet is below par and needs work. Otherwise great. June 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by My 5 days at Westin Melbourne Good location, nice hotel lobby and nice wellness centre. However, there is no free wi-fi in the room, the room is not being cleaned thoroughly, and the free tv channel is lack of entertaining shows. when we noticed that our room was not cleaned properly and asked customer service staff for change of room, we were told that our room had been cleaned and there was no room available. Luckily, we had evidence and managed to speak to their customer relation manager, Fiona, and she was very friendly and helpfull to find other cleaned room for us. Oh yeah, remember to bring your tooth brush and tooth paste, because they are not provided in the room. Also, if you stay with your partner and kids for many days, you may want to bring your own body wash and shampoo because they only provide 1 small set of body wash and shampoo. This will save you trouble from keep calling room service to ask for extra sets everyday. June 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Let down in room service dinner very poor main course. Stay frequently . Ordered room service dinner. Food was not warm - boring soup ok main course was served cold. Main course snapper fillet was tired dry overcooked and chewy. Almost inedible. Asked for fresh milk for morning tea not provided. Sunday night. June 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Welcoming and friendly staff. Great hotel in a fantastic location. Rooms were very comfortable and clean. The most amazing bed. Valet parking attendant was a scream. June 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional service From check in to check out we were made to feel valued and welcome. Staff are to be commended for their professional level of service. June 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Business Stay Good location, good polite staff, lack of eating choices and poor internet speed. June 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location Loved the quiet rooms in a convenient downtown CBD location, however service was hit and miss and housekeeping definitely needs attention as the bathtub and showers were not clean and the service was incomplete one time also. The restaurant is way over-priced. The bathrooms and showers are amazing. June 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pleasant stay Have stayed at this lovely hotel several times and enjoyed it very much. Fantastic central city location. HOWEVER, Main light in bathroom was not working and tv was unwatchable as pixelating and noisy. Maintenance looked but it was a problem throughout hotel. Difficult procedure for altering booking through website as it was a voucher. Frustrating! May 27, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Room smelt of cigarette smoke The room I was given smelt of cigarette smoke. Although the staff came up and sprayed something around, I find it disastify that in a hotel that is meant to be Non-smoking that it smelt of cigarettes. Also when I walked in to the room (413) the man hole cover in the room had been broken and replaced with a couple of sheets of ply. For a hotel that is 5 star I wouldn't expect to see that kind of thing. It looked shabby and took away from the luxury feel of the room. May 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by This Hotel needs to Improve 1) The power point next to the toilet/basin was faulty. 2) The newspaper was not delivered for 2 out of 3 days. 3) Allegro said not necessary to show SPG card, as would be adjusted at checkout. At checkout they claim it must be done by facility at time of dining. No adjustment was made at checkout. 4) Quality of food at breakfast was below standard one would expect from the hotel. 5) Room not made up on return at 3.30pm. May 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Class! I've traveled quite a lot over the years, both domestically and internationally, but I've never stayed at a Westin Hotel before. I was a guest in Melbourne (Collins st) this time around. I must say, I think I've found my preferred chain. The level of service from the doorman, to the staff in the dining room, and front desk was absolutely first class. I would have no hesitation in referring my colleagues to the Westin. Well done!! May 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Quality Hotel Check in staff were excellent. Room upgraded for my Platinum status. Given a 4pm check out. Room was a good size. Ian's service was excellent & worth a mention. Breakfast was really good. May 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic hotel Very welcoming. Very comfortable rooms. May 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff are the stars We were overwhelmed by how lovely the staff were, not only courteous but very friendly. The rooms were beautifully clean and room service was quick. This hotel is in a fabulous location. No complaints here. May 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Smiling service that makes you feel special First contact - the smiling valet parking people - yes folks, country bumpkin is overwhelmed and enjoyed the experience immensely May 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Refinement needed The position of this hotel makes it a winner. However, having stayed there a few times now, the standards are slipping. Constant prompting to service room, (told by reception that Sundays are a late service day!) , lack of replenishment of all amenities, from soap to tea. Also, absent recognition for Platinum status. Having paid for breakfast in the room rate, the complimentary breakfast for Platinum was irrelevant. May 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel in a Great Location I was greeted by friendly staff at the door, friendly staff at check-in and when I needed some assistance with something in the room, the service was prompt and friendly. Staff seemed to genuinely focus on customer service and to be in a pleasant mood. I sat in the lobby for a while waiting for a friend. I was politely asked if I wanted to order any beverage, but when I said I didn't and was just waiting for a friend, I was politely welcomed to do so and not repeatedly asked the same question. The room was lovely, clean, warm and well appointed. The bed was comfortable and linens were crisp. The bathrobes and towels were soft. I had breakfast at the hotel and have to say that the staff were trying really hard, but seemed a little under-staffed for the crowd and needed one or two people more. Having said that, they were also friendly and pleasant. The coffee took ten minutes, which for a business day was probably a bit too long, but when I explained my time constraint, they made an effort to get me my breakfast (I ordered al la cart) quickly. This is my favourite hotel I Melbourne and a genuinely nice place to spend time if you have a few hours to kill on site. May 8, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Service Service in restaurant for breakfast and dinner totally unacceptable. May 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by a great hotel in Mel the one and only Starwood property in Mel CBD, with the uprising of other competitors in Mel. Westin offers refurnished rooms. However, they need to pay more attention to cleaning like the windows are dirty and the coasters in the bathroom I wonder how long they haven't been changed with all the water marks and stain on it. as a Platinum member def. not as much recognition as the other Starwood hotels, may b it's due to high occupant rate. The late night supper- Pumpkin soup that I ordered came in cool not even warm very disappointed. May 2, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Inconsistent quality Stayed here a couple of months ago and it was excellent, but unfortunately my most recent stay a few days ago was a different experience. At check in, the room I wanted took 3 hours to be available (since I requested a specific room type I was happy to wait), but when I got to the room it was the wrong one. The staff over the phone were pretty uninterested and when I mentioned the specifics of the room I asked for they seemed not to care / know what I was talking about. After waiting another 45 minutes I got the correct room. Some issues with the room: -The roller blind stopped working twice (so could not open onto the balcony at all). They did fix it the first time, the second time I was leaving that day so just left it closed. -The first night, I noticed the bed smelled odd (a bit like stale b.o), I assume the linen would have been changed before my stay but it didn't smell like it, so the next day I put the 'request for fresh linen' card on the bed. The smell was still there the next night. I also noticed that there were makeup stains all over a pillow case - gross! I ended up just sleeping on top of the cover on the bed instead to block out the stale b.o smell. -The shower dripped the whole time. Not a huge deal, but sort of added to the disappointment of the stay this time around. Finally, at check-out the staff member was quite surly and unhelpful. I was surprised when she mentioned there was a breakfast charge for one day as I never had breakfast during the stay. I queried whether it was room service or at their restaurant (hoping if she checked into it she would see it was a mistake) and she just sullenly said 'it just says Breakfast Charge'. I kept asking more and she just repeated: 'it just says Breakfast Charge' in an annoyed voice. Eventually they took that charge off but she did not apologise or explain what happened and was increasingly hostile. Even from the start she did not make eye contact and was disinterested and rude. I have stayed here a few times and this staff member is by far the worst in terms of attitude and service, I felt so uncomfortable. This is almost enough to make me not want to visit this hotel again by the off chance I will have to check in or check out with her. She also rolled her eyes when I elected not to donate the $1 to charity (an optional part of your bill when you check out. Well, seemingly optional, but if you don't, some staff may roll their eyes at you). I do understand the overwhelmingly good reviews as I have stayed here before and had been very impressed, it just seems you may be unlucky sometimes. May 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location and Excellent staff From the moment we checked in we were happy with the way both the reception desk and concierge treated us. Our room was nice and overlooked the street and the Anzac Day parade which was a plus for us. I would definitely recommend this hotel. April 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovely stay at The Westin Melbourne We stayed at The Westin Melbourne this weekend for a special occasion and were extremely impressed with everything. Our rate included a Westin Room which was very spacious and well-appointed. The bathroom was enormous and luxurious (rain shower, large bath). The rate also included 2 martinis from either the Martini Bar or the hotel lobby (we chose Martini Bar), buffet breakfast and a late check out. Such a beautiful hotel right in the middle of the city with everything you could need and want right at your fingertips. All staff were lovely and referred to us by name- a wonderful touch. We will definitely be back! April 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Westin Melbourne This is a beautiful hotel, and I organised a Collins Street view. Despite waiting an extra 20 minutes for the room to be ready after check in time, it was lovely! Deluxe King with Juliette balcony. The bathroom, shower, bed and wardrobe were all amazing. The only let down was the food. Ordered a Thai beef salad for $28. it came with 5 tiny pieces of terribly cooked meat, and lettuce leaves with a few spring onions thrown in for good measure. Overpriced, tasteless and disappointing. Apart from the dismal room service dinner, the buffet breakfast was fantastic! The hotel is a lovely stay and staff are attentive and friendly. They even sent up a box of chocolates due to me being a Starwood Member. April 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Boutique Perfectly located near all name brand stores from Gucci to Bulgari. Spent 2 nights in an upgrade suite and made us feel like royalty. Very convenient to central Melbourne, theatres and shopping. Every girls dream hotel. April 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Crazy nice hotel After having amassed Starpoints for several years I finally redeemed for a 5-night stay and I was not disappointed. Granted this category of hotel is not one I usually stay at; I felt so underdressed to virtually all other clientele that were there - but that didn't seem to bother any worker there. The staff were excellent, the room and location were both amazing, and my bill was settled with 100% accuracy upon check-out. My only minor complaint is that the in-room internet signal strength was not particularly good. We were busy in Melbourne so did not really check out any of the facilities, but I would bet they'd be on par with other Westin properties in this category. Definitely 2 thumbs up. It was a great part of my experience in this first class city. April 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff is very friendly and helpful Right from front desk, concierge, bell man, taxi guys and reservations - all were very customer service oriented. April 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location From the moment you arrive you feel welcome,nothing is a problem who can not be solve.Great staff ,listen to your requirements ,amazing Gym and Pool,great dining and breakfast experience.Certainly will be staying many more times to come. April 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel in an excellent location. This hotel has it all. Excellent service, location and amenities.Staff were always friendly, polite and extremely helpful.Will definitely revisit. April 21, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Wrongly charged for power adaptor Enjoyed a very nice night's stay, but all the feeling of well-being and relaxation passed when we received the invoice on return home. There was a $20 'refreshment centre' charge without any identification of what the specific charge was for. The invoice said to contact them if we had a query, but no phone number or email address present on the receipt and the return email bounced! After some effort got through to Accounts who confirmed the charge was for an international adaptor. Never saw it much less used it. Hotel did say they would reimburse the charge. But the episode detracted from the stay! April 17, 2013
  • 2015-06-02T19:35:55.294-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-10, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_461, tr_461
  • loc_en_US, sid_1185, prod, sort_default
<<prev 8 9 10 11 12 ... 17 next>>