The Westin Melbourne

  • 205 Collins Street
  • Melbourne,
  • Victoria
  • 3000
  • Australia
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 470 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by revitalising a great location, professional staff, welcoming environment, generous rooms. July 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel in a great location Great hotel in a very good location. It is situated in the heart of the city, with most key attractions close by. The hotel has a very nice and inviting atmosphere, although the price is on the very high side. July 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Westin has wonderfully friendly staff It is the small things that mean the most, Courteous staff, clean bathrooms in lobby, The complimentry bar nuts with your drink in front of the warm fire in downstairs area. My husband and I had the most relaxing lovely time and would not hesitate to stay at the Westin again. July 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has a great location A fantastic hotel situated in the middle of Melbourne CBD, a great place to meet friends, enjoy a champagne and a meal in beautiful surroundings. July 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Avoid breakfast if possible Good hotel, but service needs work - are staffing levels sufficient? Don't eat breakfast there. Green eggs in the bay marie was not a good look and 30 minutes to deliver GF toast on our fourth morning was met with a wide range of creative and dishonest excuses. A further 10 minutes to find a concierge delayed our expected departure by 45 minutes. July 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really Comfortable Westin Hotel This time when staying at the Westin I decided to get a room with a treadmill in it facing Collins Street. The room also had a rather large balcony that could be used to sit outside. I enjoy the Westin Melbourne, as a get away. If you are driving I would recommend a deal that includes parking as it now costs $50 for valet parking each night. This is not the hotels fault but the excessive fees the parking lot provider charges. Back to the hotel and the lobby is a nice little place to sit and watch the world pass by. Nice food is on offer from three different places from the Lobby Lounge, Martini bar and signature restaurant Allegro. Even if there is nothing on the menu you want they usually are happy to cook something from the main kitchen and serve it. Staff are always accommodating and happy to answer any requests. Their suggestions also for dinner are pretty good. Rooms are nice. Ones facing Elizabeth Street have nice little balconies and views of the cathedral next door and the night lights of the city. The rooms are extremely comfortable and represent all that is good about Westin hotels: bed, atmosphere, bathrooms, amenities, comfort. Avoid getting rooms facing the rear of the property on the lower floors as the literally look into a brick wall and would feel rather claustrophobic. My only little gripe would be the poor design of shower screens where water pools on the outside of the shower door in the bathroom area. However the rain shower head makes up for this little issue. The hotel is perfectly located to attend all theatre shows and is a stones throw to the Paris end of town shops and only a short walk to China Town if that takes your fancy. Finally, the breakfast whilst not providing a large variety is still very nice and worth adding to a planned stay July 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel except for staff attitudes Great hotel, with standard Westin or Starwood amenities and room quality as is expected. However there are some peculiarities about this hotel which got me gobsmacked. I was asked for a credit card not ID, although I booked the room on points and I made it very clear to the lady that it was unusual for her to ask for a credit card but she insisted and so I showed her a credit card which had nothing to do with the booking. Next day after having my breakfast, my key failed to work in the lift so I approached the front desk and lo and behold they asked me for a photo ID and when I told them I had one but it was in my room, I was asked for the room number which I provided, then the lady proceeded to as for my residential address and my email etc. I have to say, I was irate by this level of interrogation and as such write this review with alot of civility because if I really was to say how I felt it would be inappropriate for this board. So please management, can you get to the bottom of this type of treatment of a customer just trying to have a short stay in what is really a good hotel. Can you ask staff to stop profiling people based on their looks? I am not so ignorant to tell when someone asks me for a credit card after I’ve handed over my SPG card, saying it is required for confirmation of my booking, when the booking was procured on points, and when I give them a random card, they pretend to look on the screen for the card on file and say it is okay. I would have thought asking for ID to prove it is me, would have sufficed. Secondly why not fix the card access in the lifts, am certain that type of technology is standard and works in most hotels without issues. This will negate the need for me to visit the reception where I have to be interrogated for information to prove who I am or in my mind, to prove that yes I can afford to stay at the Westin although I dress less glamorous or look cheap for your receptionists. I am sure you have answers for each of the issues above, but before you give them, I hope you try and put yourself in my shoes and understand that I have spent the past 30 days except for 1 day in South Africa staying in one of the Starwood properties and it is only this property that I have come across questionable behaviour that has forced me to write this long response. In other words as a frequent traveller I don’t expect a run without a few bumps but this takes the cake. Thanks July 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not at its best We've stayed here frequently in the past -- ever since it opened. This visit was marked, however, by a rather distinct falling off in standards. We had to work pretty work hard to get SPG Platinum privileges. Service was generally too relaxed (half the room service order forgotten). And there were odd -- un-cosmopolitan -- elements: the restaurant closed at 8.45pm on a Thursday evening and we watched other patrons wander away after discovering the Martini Bar closed up for the night before 10.30 pm (hardly the advertised 'late' for those of us who remember it at 1am). We used to rate this hotel the best in Australia but it is far outstripped by the Westin in Sydney now. July 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location and service Nice surprise to walk into the room with a bar of organic chocolate. In general a very centrally located hotel along Swanston and Collins. Very convenient for tourists and also business travelers (my office is just along Collins). Two issues I had was the power sockets along the walls (aside from one next to the TV counter) - they were literally right above the floor and that made it impossible for me to plug my international adaptor in. I also got the room facing Swanston and there was music blasting from the streets Fridays and Saturdays, all the way till midnight. June 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Westin Melbourne Australia No Club for guests. The room was in poor condition - the shower and toilet both required repairs and these should have been rectified before letting the room. The pleasing thing was the very prompt rectification of the defects after they were reported.. June 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by great stay in Melbourne Accommodation is excellent. Dinner and lunch are brilliant, especially dinner. Breakfast buffet is below par and needs work. Otherwise great. June 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by My 5 days at Westin Melbourne Good location, nice hotel lobby and nice wellness centre. However, there is no free wi-fi in the room, the room is not being cleaned thoroughly, and the free tv channel is lack of entertaining shows. when we noticed that our room was not cleaned properly and asked customer service staff for change of room, we were told that our room had been cleaned and there was no room available. Luckily, we had evidence and managed to speak to their customer relation manager, Fiona, and she was very friendly and helpfull to find other cleaned room for us. Oh yeah, remember to bring your tooth brush and tooth paste, because they are not provided in the room. Also, if you stay with your partner and kids for many days, you may want to bring your own body wash and shampoo because they only provide 1 small set of body wash and shampoo. This will save you trouble from keep calling room service to ask for extra sets everyday. June 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Let down in room service dinner very poor main course. Stay frequently . Ordered room service dinner. Food was not warm - boring soup ok main course was served cold. Main course snapper fillet was tired dry overcooked and chewy. Almost inedible. Asked for fresh milk for morning tea not provided. Sunday night. June 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Welcoming and friendly staff. Great hotel in a fantastic location. Rooms were very comfortable and clean. The most amazing bed. Valet parking attendant was a scream. June 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional service From check in to check out we were made to feel valued and welcome. Staff are to be commended for their professional level of service. June 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Business Stay Good location, good polite staff, lack of eating choices and poor internet speed. June 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location Loved the quiet rooms in a convenient downtown CBD location, however service was hit and miss and housekeeping definitely needs attention as the bathtub and showers were not clean and the service was incomplete one time also. The restaurant is way over-priced. The bathrooms and showers are amazing. June 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pleasant stay Have stayed at this lovely hotel several times and enjoyed it very much. Fantastic central city location. HOWEVER, Main light in bathroom was not working and tv was unwatchable as pixelating and noisy. Maintenance looked but it was a problem throughout hotel. Difficult procedure for altering booking through website as it was a voucher. Frustrating! May 27, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Room smelt of cigarette smoke The room I was given smelt of cigarette smoke. Although the staff came up and sprayed something around, I find it disastify that in a hotel that is meant to be Non-smoking that it smelt of cigarettes. Also when I walked in to the room (413) the man hole cover in the room had been broken and replaced with a couple of sheets of ply. For a hotel that is 5 star I wouldn't expect to see that kind of thing. It looked shabby and took away from the luxury feel of the room. May 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by This Hotel needs to Improve 1) The power point next to the toilet/basin was faulty. 2) The newspaper was not delivered for 2 out of 3 days. 3) Allegro said not necessary to show SPG card, as would be adjusted at checkout. At checkout they claim it must be done by facility at time of dining. No adjustment was made at checkout. 4) Quality of food at breakfast was below standard one would expect from the hotel. 5) Room not made up on return at 3.30pm. May 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Class! I've traveled quite a lot over the years, both domestically and internationally, but I've never stayed at a Westin Hotel before. I was a guest in Melbourne (Collins st) this time around. I must say, I think I've found my preferred chain. The level of service from the doorman, to the staff in the dining room, and front desk was absolutely first class. I would have no hesitation in referring my colleagues to the Westin. Well done!! May 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Quality Hotel Check in staff were excellent. Room upgraded for my Platinum status. Given a 4pm check out. Room was a good size. Ian's service was excellent & worth a mention. Breakfast was really good. May 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic hotel Very welcoming. Very comfortable rooms. May 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff are the stars We were overwhelmed by how lovely the staff were, not only courteous but very friendly. The rooms were beautifully clean and room service was quick. This hotel is in a fabulous location. No complaints here. May 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Smiling service that makes you feel special First contact - the smiling valet parking people - yes folks, country bumpkin is overwhelmed and enjoyed the experience immensely May 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Refinement needed The position of this hotel makes it a winner. However, having stayed there a few times now, the standards are slipping. Constant prompting to service room, (told by reception that Sundays are a late service day!) , lack of replenishment of all amenities, from soap to tea. Also, absent recognition for Platinum status. Having paid for breakfast in the room rate, the complimentary breakfast for Platinum was irrelevant. May 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel in a Great Location I was greeted by friendly staff at the door, friendly staff at check-in and when I needed some assistance with something in the room, the service was prompt and friendly. Staff seemed to genuinely focus on customer service and to be in a pleasant mood. I sat in the lobby for a while waiting for a friend. I was politely asked if I wanted to order any beverage, but when I said I didn't and was just waiting for a friend, I was politely welcomed to do so and not repeatedly asked the same question. The room was lovely, clean, warm and well appointed. The bed was comfortable and linens were crisp. The bathrobes and towels were soft. I had breakfast at the hotel and have to say that the staff were trying really hard, but seemed a little under-staffed for the crowd and needed one or two people more. Having said that, they were also friendly and pleasant. The coffee took ten minutes, which for a business day was probably a bit too long, but when I explained my time constraint, they made an effort to get me my breakfast (I ordered al la cart) quickly. This is my favourite hotel I Melbourne and a genuinely nice place to spend time if you have a few hours to kill on site. May 8, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Service Service in restaurant for breakfast and dinner totally unacceptable. May 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by a great hotel in Mel the one and only Starwood property in Mel CBD, with the uprising of other competitors in Mel. Westin offers refurnished rooms. However, they need to pay more attention to cleaning like the windows are dirty and the coasters in the bathroom I wonder how long they haven't been changed with all the water marks and stain on it. as a Platinum member def. not as much recognition as the other Starwood hotels, may b it's due to high occupant rate. The late night supper- Pumpkin soup that I ordered came in cool not even warm very disappointed. May 2, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Inconsistent quality Stayed here a couple of months ago and it was excellent, but unfortunately my most recent stay a few days ago was a different experience. At check in, the room I wanted took 3 hours to be available (since I requested a specific room type I was happy to wait), but when I got to the room it was the wrong one. The staff over the phone were pretty uninterested and when I mentioned the specifics of the room I asked for they seemed not to care / know what I was talking about. After waiting another 45 minutes I got the correct room. Some issues with the room: -The roller blind stopped working twice (so could not open onto the balcony at all). They did fix it the first time, the second time I was leaving that day so just left it closed. -The first night, I noticed the bed smelled odd (a bit like stale b.o), I assume the linen would have been changed before my stay but it didn't smell like it, so the next day I put the 'request for fresh linen' card on the bed. The smell was still there the next night. I also noticed that there were makeup stains all over a pillow case - gross! I ended up just sleeping on top of the cover on the bed instead to block out the stale b.o smell. -The shower dripped the whole time. Not a huge deal, but sort of added to the disappointment of the stay this time around. Finally, at check-out the staff member was quite surly and unhelpful. I was surprised when she mentioned there was a breakfast charge for one day as I never had breakfast during the stay. I queried whether it was room service or at their restaurant (hoping if she checked into it she would see it was a mistake) and she just sullenly said 'it just says Breakfast Charge'. I kept asking more and she just repeated: 'it just says Breakfast Charge' in an annoyed voice. Eventually they took that charge off but she did not apologise or explain what happened and was increasingly hostile. Even from the start she did not make eye contact and was disinterested and rude. I have stayed here a few times and this staff member is by far the worst in terms of attitude and service, I felt so uncomfortable. This is almost enough to make me not want to visit this hotel again by the off chance I will have to check in or check out with her. She also rolled her eyes when I elected not to donate the $1 to charity (an optional part of your bill when you check out. Well, seemingly optional, but if you don't, some staff may roll their eyes at you). I do understand the overwhelmingly good reviews as I have stayed here before and had been very impressed, it just seems you may be unlucky sometimes. May 1, 2013
  • 2015-11-25 T07:01:51.049-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-10, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_470, tr_470
  • loc_en_US, sid_1185, prod, sort_default
<<prev 8 9 10 11 12 ... 17 next>>