The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

  • 909 North Michigan Avenue
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60611
  • USA
  • Landkarte

Zimmer & Preise

Schließen
  • Falls der Aufenthalt mehr als 90 Übernachtungen umfasst, rufen Sie bitte unter +(1) 866 539 3446 an.
  • Sie können nur bis zu 550 Tage im Voraus buchen.
  • Bitte überprüfen Sie Ihre Daten.
1 Zimmer 1 Zimmer , 1 Erwachsener 1 Erwachsene , 1 Kind 0 Kinder
Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 705 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel in a great location Nice clean rooms. Staff nice/friendly. Yvonne at front desk made sure to accomodate my family one one floor as requested. Seemed hard to regulate room temperature, felt either too hot or too cool. I will say, you can hear everything from those people in the room next to you, expecially if there is an adjoining door in your room. Around midnight the people in the next room would come in, make sure they slammed door, talk, and then shower and blow dry their hair for about 30 minutes, it was horrible!! I could hear the people in the opposit room, with out the adjoining door, it wasnt as bad as those with the adjoing door. Noise from hall echoed into room. Not a bad stay, but if you want quiet make sure no one is in the room next to you. This hotel is in a great location!!! December 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Extraordinary Service & Accomodations! I am a very frequent traveler and prefer the Starwood program because of its benefits over competitive programs. On this trip, I used points and was entertaining some very important guests for a charity function. When accomodations at another hotel fell through at the last moment, I contacted the Westin on Michigan Avenue and worked with Stephen Kaczmarek and Kristin Kulasik, They provided well above-and-beyond service and set my group up in a tremendous room. The whole experience left a very positive impression on the executives that I was with and cemented my loyalty to Starwood. December 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by FANTASTIC STAY!!! There is nothing better than having a room ready when you check in that over exceeds your expectations. We were downtown for my husbands surprise birthday weekend and the room was wonderful! Very cozy! Thank you for a easy and comfortable stay! We will return! December 9, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by meh Tired hotel - 3 star quality at price points similar enough to proper luxury hotels... to much competition and choice in chicago to take this option seriously! December 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Noisy room 2742 Judy at front desk was wonderful! Lupe, the room attendant was very thoughtful and brought me soup Monday because I was sick. December 6, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Below SPG and Westing standards This is a below SPG/ Westin standard hotel Besides that, I am not sure if I was upgraded to a better room (as told to me by the staff) If what I got was an upgraded room, not sure what the level below would be like 1st time I have been disappointed by an SPG hotel December 6, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Staff insulted me multiple times, hotel lacks basic features, horrible experience Where do I Start? Booked the hotel months in advance. I am an spg gold member and entitled to their benefits. Day 1, I approach the reception to check in. there is a dedicated counter for spg gold guests but it seems staff is accepting everyone so I have to wait. I talk to the lady who tells me since I am spg gold my room is upgraded (which is the norm with spg gold guests). So I am happy, I go along with my wife to the room and to our disbelief it is as basic room as it can get. What more they have not even give a room in the spg preferred guest floor. Neverthless I go back to the reception and tell them to double check as this is definitely not an upgrade. The staff tells me, that upgrade means that I have a nicer view. The room I have is on 18th floor, all I could see from my room was a terrace and yes a glimpse of lake. I told the staff that this was most definitely not satisfactory and if they could check any other option. The staff (Shannon) is helpful and tells me that I have 2 options either they will upgrade me to a suite on the 12th floor. But for this to happen I need to check out of my room leave the luggage downstairs wait till the evening and then check in. Considering we were staying here for a week. I decided to make the switch to a suite. I check out immediately after checking in and leave outside to just roam around and suddenly I get a call from the same lady at the reception. She informs me that there was a mistake and that I cannot be upgraded and I have to pay $50 a night if I want to. This was pure ransom. I had already checked out, they failed to inform me then and now while I am on the road they are asking for additional costs. I asked them if they could just give me a normal room as I don't want to pay anything more on top of $300 I was already paying. So I go back. I check in for the 2nd time, same issue, dedicated line for spg gold is taking everyone. I ask the guy for a welcome gift which spg gold members are entitled to and he gives me an option between points and continental breakfast for 2 for the duration of stay. I choose the latter. I go into my new room, and it turns out to be smaller. tough has a better view. Too tired to go and complain again we settle in. next morning I go to the only restaurant in the hotel to have my breakfast. Sit down and show them my continental breakfast card ahead of ordering and I am told that I am at a wrong place and this is only applicable at a small take away coffee shop in the lobby. Again I feel insulted, and to save the embarrassment of getting up again, I decide to order an pay. Evening that day, I call the service desk asking for help as I needed to see a doctor, she asks me to go to a hospital. I ask for an in house doctor and she puts me on hold. Forever. Tired I hung up and search on the internet and got and find it out myself. Next morning I go to the coffee shop to collect my breakfast. Apparently this is a complimentary service for the highest tier guests of spg, but at this coffee shop I am made to wait in a line to order at the counter. there are restrictions to what you can order and the cashier was not happy that I was getting away without paying them. They ask us to sign and fill some form. By no means is this a pleasureable experience. It feels I am on a line to get free food. and that's how they make you feel. the "continental" breakfast is a "small" cup of coffee, 1 pastry(from 2 options), a fruit and some cereal but all of it is self service in the lobby of a hotel. and yes if you want to sit, you have the cheapest possible seats which are hardly available at your disposal. anyway, I just took a coffee and left disgusted. Next day, I go down to get the coffee and say a medium size without realizing Im only entitled for a small coffee. the staff after giving me the coffee notices I am using the card and immediately tells me that its not valid to have a medium coffee in front of other guests. She gives me a stare and is frustrated that I ordered something which I was not entitled and makes me feel like a thief who stole a medium size coffee. She holds on to my complimentary card and tells me that she needs it and I should get a new one from the front desk. Today morning I go to the front desk and tell them that I need the same card as the coffee shop girl took it. He tells me that this card is only for platinum guests and I am not entitled to it. by this time I am frustrated and tell him I do not know that and his colleague gave that to me. Again he makes me feel like a theif who stole their card. the guy tells me repeatedly that I am not entitled to it and I was enjoying free breakfast for the past two days. I am shocked, thankfully there is no one around as it is early morning and I don't get to feel embarrassed again. I tell the guy that I got it as a welcome gift entitled for spg guests and he keeps on saying its only for platinum. Without any conclusion the guy just shifts back to his normal work leaving me standstill. I ask him about what I should do, and he tells me in his words "i have no qualms in giving this to you again" there is no hotel in the world that has made me feel so low and so pathetic. and he tells me its only going to be for a day as if he is lending me his ferrari. I walk away and tell him that he can keep it and I don't need it. This is the worst experience I have ever had in my life. I have seem poor quality rooms before, service orders getting messed up, and other issues with hotels. But never before I have seen in my life a staff who is tasked to show the customer that they don't belong here. Maybe I am not American and maybe that is the real issue. I hate you Westin and I am going to make sure my voice spreads. December 4, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Pleasant Staff, Old & Dated facility Staff was friendly & helpful. Good location, older facility that showes it's age. I don't feel that facility is up to Starwood standards or Starwood guest expectations. I have stayed at several Starwood and Westin locations worldwide, but find this facility to be at the bottom of the list compaired to all other stays. December 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location exquisite bed Always reserve a premier room, wonderful views, spacious and comfortable bed, great service. Hotel is quiet, and has a wonderful very welcoming feel. December 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing Westin is our preferred hotel when we travel and typically we are exceedingly satisfied, but this particular Westin is an unfortunate exception. Despite negative experiences in the past, we have never written a bad review, but could not hold back this time. Our situation is too long to explain, and in the end the hotel management very begrudgingly agreed to some restitution, but when the check in clerk realized their mistake, not only did she imply it was our error and their was nothing they could do - but when she brought out the manager on duty - Anna Sears - she not only greeted us with a cold, hard "you are bothering me" stare, but she never once apologized, continued to deny and argue with us, and made us feel like anything but a valued customer. And this was all happening while the registration line was about 10 people long (which is also typical for this hotel). I was ready to give up except that the family waiting in line to check out right behind me had just shared their equally frustrating experiences, and said they would never come back - but I knew the hotel would never hear their story - because like most customers, rather than complain - they just don't return - so I was more determined than ever. And the value of being a Starwood Preferred Guest in this hotel is a joke - in fact I think they treated us worse because of it - after all of our problems, the room they gave us looked directly into the neighboring high rise and we had to keep curtains closed the whole time. I want to reiterate - this hotel is NOT TYPICAL - we normally LOVE Westin. December 2, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unpleasant experience. Hotel is very noisy. In the middle of the night a neighbor was being very noisy, when we tried to call the front desk the phone in the room was not functioning. Had to use cell phone to call hotel, over an hour later someone finally came to quiet the neighbors. December 1, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed this trip We have stayed at this hotel numerous times. Upon arrival we were greeted by a friendly staff member to check us in to our room. We were in our room only minutes when we were called by the front desk to let us know our room needed to be moved so the room could get serviced. Our second room had a loud running toilet. We asked for a new room at the front desk. This time the staff member was not so friendly. We did get a new room, but we were obviously a bother. I miss customer service. There was no apology or anything. We ate breakfast at the hotel's restaurant. I would suggest going elsewhere. Our meals were not good. We are SPG members. There really was nothing at this hotel that made being a member worth the price. We will not be back to this hotel. December 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Location Great location. Small room. Poorly maintained bathroom. Decent amenities. November 28, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by more service made reservation for connecting rooms. called back to confirm day before arrival and reservation stated that was correct having connecting rooms. arrived around 11am. room were not ready and confirmed again having connecting rooms. then when we arrived back to hotel and checked in, the rooms were not connected. When you have small children you need connecting rooms. This is completely unexceptionable. November 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor "Service Express" We enjoyed the deluxe package with a view of the magnificent mile. The view was great - the service was terrible. We ordered champagne and it never came. We ordered a key to the mini-fridge. It never arrived. We asked for bell service and waited 30mins only to learn they were never called. I ended up going to the lobby and getting my own luggage cart. We had late check-out and were called by the porter - asking us why we were still in the hotel. When we explained our late check-out status she said she would let it go "this time". If it wasn't for the view and the location we could not stay here again. November 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing experiences I stayed at the Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago on two consecutive week-ends, the first with my husband (found a cigarette carton in a non smoking room?) and the second with my sisters and their children. In both instances, check-in was needlessly long (waited in line for over 25 minutes and there were only two parties ahead of me). I checked on our room requests on the first week-end in the hope that we would receive the type of accommodation requested on the second week-end. This didn't occur and the front desk staff member was confused and flustered on both check-ins. It took one hour and 25 minutes to finally resolve our getting enough beds to accommodate our party. I was told that we would get a roll away to provide sufficient beds since we wound up with king beds and not the two queen beds requested. When I requested the roll away, I was told it would cost me $40 extra. I finally slept on the floor using the couch cushions. I know this was a busy week-end on Michigan Avenue, but what a disappointment. We are gold members of the Starwood franchise and are questioning our investment. So much for earning and cashing in Starwood points! November 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Weekend Stay I booked a weekend stay with my family to enjoy 'festival lights parade'. Hotel lobby is bland and unimpressive. I got a deluxe room, it seemed a regular hotel room you find anywhere else in Americas. The bathroom was more like a motel, it seemed very old. The hotel staff are very friendly. I would recommend contacting Kristin Kulasik if you are planning future stay. She is genuinely helpful and does everything possibly to make your stay comfortable. November 25, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by diss this when i checked in it was down hill from there. they placed 2 adults and 2children ina king bed that i was told at the time of making the reservation they had doubles.worst time and sleep of my life to come down for the parade activitesand be ignore by the staff very rude i felt like iwas a nobody there and they just wanted to filled rooms.never come back! November 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by ANOTHER FABULOUS WEEKEND ON MICHIGAN AVENUE The Michigan Avenue property is perfectly situated for a wonderful weekend of family entertainment and the staff is incredibly helpful and friendly. Beena is wonderful and Leonard at the front desk never ceases to amaze me with the TLC he give our reservations. Room Service staff is great as is valet and bell hop service. November 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by A Bit Disappointed I booked this reservation being my first hotel after achieving my Platnium status. Booked two rooms for my family. I guess it was my understanding that you would be guranteed an immediate upgrade from your booked room if available. I called earlier that day and was told there were plenty of rooms available and that people were cancelling. My spg agent called the hotel to try and book to a Michigan avenue view instead of the two lakeview rooms. They said they couldn't change the room because of the cancellation policy but assured there was plenty of rooms to change when I checked in. When we did try to check in, the gentleman stated, well we already have you in a suite. I stated that, yes I knew that, because I booked and paid for that suite, but was requesting the next available suite above that with a michigan avenue view. He stated they couldn't do that, becuase you already were in a suite. And I knew there was rooms available because I called reservations 30 minutes before acting like a new reservation to make sure rooms were available. So I guess my recommendation is for all Platnium members the only time this upgrade is worth while is if you choose to just book a tradition room and then you want a suite over that, if available. I was also told by my spg agent and as it states on the website that you get a choice of a amenities at the time of check-in which was never offered. So was disappointed on this whole process. I will also state that the SPG agents, (Nancy) have been great with everything, and that it was more the hotel itself. I will say the elderly valet/bell gentleman gave a very friendly helpful greeting when we did arrive though. So I will tip my hat off to him, even on such a cold night. November 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel! From the time we checked in to the time we left, wonderful service and a beautiful room! November 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Between Excellent and Good. Hotel is worthy of much better than a Good rating so I rated it Excellent. My only complaints are that I could hear water running that was coming from somewhere other than my room and the wait for an elevator was so long that I took the stairs a few times even though my room was on the 6th floor. Bed was incredibly comfortable and the location is great. November 18, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed with this stay I stayed for 2 nights at the Westin Michigan Ave for a medical conference as an exhibiting vendor. Rest is very important so that I am my very best for my customers or potential customers. I did not sleep well either night. The first night I had an upset stomach from the squash soup at the Daily Grille. The 2nd night was due to very loud, obnoxious, and unruly guests whom security was called for. Undoubtedly security did not take care of the problem because the noise level continued throughout the night. I think the unruly guests were in suite 1000 and I was in room 1003. Just very disappointed that this occurs at such a prestigious hotel, that the rooms are not more sound proof and that security did not resolve or remove the offenders. November 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location; Nice Atmosphere Stayed at this hotel for a conference. Conference rooms were very nice, well lit, good audio visual technology. The hotel rooms were nice but could tell was an older building. My room was near the elevator and I was given the option at check in to relocate. I opted not to and the room was exceptionally quiet for the location. Within the same block to both large shopping areas. November 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Luxurious Bed!!! The Staff was so very Friendly My favorite part was the BED....so comfy...I didn't want to leave it!!! November 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location! My first time to spend time at Oak Street beach after many trips to Chicago. I really enjoyed the hotel location. Excellent meeting spaces with nice views. A small fish bowl in my room was a fun treat. November 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect location While the location, staff, amenities, room were great, the only caveat was our room was outside the elevators and hearing the loud voices from everyone coming out of the elevators late at night and early morning was extremely annoying. It was as if they were getting ready to come into our room. I would definitely recommend a room further down the hall and hotel may consider posting late night courtesy signs reminding hotel guests/staff to keep noise level down as simply guest courtesy. November 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by WEstin Michigan AVenue Room had dirty socks under the bed that we found when we dropped an earring and were looking for it. The telephone did not work and needed to be repaired November 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Wish you would have told me As an SPG member the only gripe I have is that we had no idea that we needed to let the hotel know that we were staying until 3pm because we have never had to say whether or not we planned to stay at any other Sheraton. Long story short we were locked out of our room and had about a 30 minute ordeal just to get into the room. So you have been warned. Everything else was great. November 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel is a Perfect Location The Westin Michigan Ave is in the heart of Chicago, which makes it the perfect place to stay. November 11, 2013
  • 2015-05-28T20:17:48.785-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-11, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_705, tr_705
  • loc_en_US, sid_1030, prod, sort_default
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 ... 25 next>>