The Westin San Diego

  • 400 West Broadway
  • San Diego,
  • California
  • 92101
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 334 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent location Love this Westin property. The staff is genuinely friendly and curtious. The facilities are beyond expectation and the location is unbeatable. September 22, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Worst Westin I have ever stayed at!!!!! This hotel was a total disappointment! First of all the staff member who checked us in was very unfriendly. The rooms almost smelled like they had been smoking rooms at one point and also smelled musty. They need to be updated for sure. The only nice thing I can say about the room is the shower was pretty nice and the bed was comfortable. We found SEVERAL hairs throughout our room which was very disturbing! The fresh towels we had delivered came with a large black hair right on top of the towel. The rooms were not cleaned properly at all because we found several hairs from the moment we walked into the room! Never will I stay at this hotel again! September 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Above and beyond First time staying here, and it happened to be my birthday, at check-in it was recognized and followed with a breakfast coupon, then the controller sent a desert up to my room. The dining staff when I went down to dine for dinner all signed a card and sent a desert "salad" (do to a little joking)....truly an above and beyond service and experience! The cordiality and service assistance offered was outstanding. An excellent team that works together. Thank you. September 19, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Staff The staff was extremely helpful. Molly in particular. THank you! September 19, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great stay Nate and Melissa were great at check in. Loved the in-room robe. September 17, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good for the Price The good: -Location is near all the interesting areas of the gaslamp district. The savings of this hotel was worth the extra little walk. -Room was clean and the hotel was quiet. -I was upgraded to a Deluxe Bay View room, which had a good view compared to what I imagine the other side of the hotel looked like. -Front desk people were nice at check-in -Lobby has some pretty cool looking chandeliers and is otherwise quite nice. The bad: -Parking was expensive ($15 for public parking across the street, even more for valet at the hotel) -My room's wifi was extremely slow. Was extremely annoying. -Did not get upgraded to a suite because there are only a handful (either 4 or 6, can't remember) and all were taken. -The continental breakfast spread was basically just cereal. If you're platinum status, take the extra points for your platinum amenity. -My room's mini fridge was unplugged, and it took quite a bit of effort to get it plugged in due to the built-in furniture and plug area. September 17, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good but not Great I was dissappointed with my accommodations at the San Diego location. I have had the pleasure of staying at the Time Square location in New York City. That place was fabulous and I always recommended your hotel but after this recent stay not sure I would recommend this location. My reasons are the following: the bed was uncomfortable, the linens of you can call them linens were below your standard, the pillows were of poor quality to say the least. When we first entered the room it was quiet but later into the night, we could hear every toilet flushing and the shower water pipes on and off:( Would never return to this location but I would try another somewhere else. September 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Customer Service My experience all 5 min of it happened in my car trying to book a 1 nighter downtown san diego and being a SPG member helped tremendously on the price. The customer service on the phone and checking in was Five Star!!!! They actually looked at you and smiled and said something that made me laugh...it was cool. Thanks to team WESTIN i had a great stay! September 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Nice stay.... :) The hotel was very clean and the staff were very friendly. It was near some construction but, not too noisy. The housemaids were very friendly too. Nothing was too much trouble. September 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Great Stay We like all the staff and their enthusiasm on helping and meeting our needs. Special recognition must go to Aimee, Nathan and Stephen (manager) at the front desk for taking good care of us - especially when we wanted to move here from another hotel. Breakfast at "Coast" was also a pleasure. We want to especially thank Alyssa P. for her outstanding and friendly service! The only unfortunate incident was the poor (almost insulting) attitude of the server (Zeluma?) at "Coast" on the morning of 9/1/2012. But, we had a long chat with Manger Scott W. about it and we trust that he has taken care and appropriately corrected this matter. Overall, we had a very pleasant stay and would recommend the Westin San Diego to friends and colleagues. PS I have written our review for Trip Advisor but it didn't show. So, we repeat it here. September 4, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Ugly room As soon as I entered into our room and opened the fridge to check the stuff I was highly annoyed to see that fridge has someone's leftover bottles. What a bad management of the rooms where the room is not properly inspected for leftover stuff by previous guests. This puts a lot of questions on how well the room has been cleaned or if really cleaned well or not. I was quite suspicious for my rest of the stay if the room is cleaned just superficially When i called the front desk personally before leaving the hotel for a tour they said they will take care of the room well and clean it properly. On return the only thing cleaned was just the fridge. They did not even bother to clean the trash. It was big disappointment for me. September 4, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cool hotel Although my reservation was for three people and paid extra for it, I don't believe the Housekeeping was made aware of this. We have to request for extra cups, coffee, cream, sugar, etc. Additionally, there was no info provided on self-parking prior to check-in. Front desk also lack knowledge on local tours and deficit on suggestions. But, the staff are courteous, helpful, and accommodating when we brought our needs to their attention. They are very guest oriented pleasantly courteous. September 4, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unhappy guests Usually westins are very dog friendly, this one wasn't at all. Our front desk line on our room phone kept calling a random dentist office. We were charged 3 different times of $5.00 for these calls we were trying to make to the front desk of the hotel. Our white sofa was stained with black marks. We had a 3 night stay but left after the first night because we were very unhappy with this hotel. September 2, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Run of the mill Westin in SD Just completed a one night stay at this property and was reasonably satisfied. The hotel is showing its age and could use a renovation of guest rooms and common areas. Staff was friendly and professional. The airport shuttle is a great feature but be prepared to wait 15-20 minutes when being picked up at the airport. Fitness center was definitely lacking compared to other Westin locations, several of the Life Fitness elliptical had rust and were falling apart from years of heavy usage, probably time for a replacement. September 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by A week in San Diego I was looking for a nice place to stay with the family one week in August and I did find it. Nice hotel great location. August 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by never disappointed in the service and quality at this hotel. August 28, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great service but quirky building Excellent service. The front desk staff was pleasant, friendly and helpful. However, I was very annoyed that the elevators weren't working properly. I had to go to the 23rd floor get off and then take another elevator to the 24th, which seemed very odd. Also the nearest ice machine was three floors down, which proved to be a bit inconvenient. Finally, they needed to change the air filter in our room. Upon glancing at it, it was extremely dirty. The location was also not as safe looking/nice as I had hoped for. August 22, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location I was very pleased with this hotel. The only thing that was not good were the beds. They were too soft so I did not get a good nights sleep. I am used to a king size more firm bed so I had a difficult time in the very soft double bed. I would suggest having queen size beds. August 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good facilities and staff COmfortable. Good meetings facilities. Staff most helpful August 13, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Service, Staff and Rooms I have not experienced the problems previous reviews have had with this Westin. The rooms were at the level one would expect from Westin. They were clean and comfortable. Everything was within a walking distance - great location. The staff attention was impecable. Emily S. and Mark D. took care of our every need. I had my staff here and they were very pleased with the overall experience. People make a difference. The staff was great. Concierge staff was very informative. August 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location! Fantast location, great rate and superior bedding! Wish I had stayed longer in this hotel instead of having to switch during my conference. I would definitely stay at this Westin again when visiting San Diego. August 7, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Never Again I have stayed in this hotel twice, first stay was average and my last stay was poor. Toilte did not work so spoke with manager on duty at 5 PM (Luke) and asked that it be fixed and cleaned before I return for dinner. When I got back later in evening toilet would not flush again, late so just shut BR door, call and told desk and went to bed...Never again. Also, no concierge lounge for a quick breakfast or drink - guess what, some busy professionals do not have time for breakfast in a restaurant or room service...also minibar in room...easy for juice or a drink, but no and room was still $400+ pernight...never again. August 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has a great location and concierge services Enjoyed our stay with our family. Holly at concierge was especially helpful and friendly. Our plans changed and she gave us wonderful recommendations for restaurants and beach location for me and my 3 young kids to enjoy. Thank you! August 5, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Maintance PLEASE! Let me first begin my saying my first option of hotels is always a Westin or Starwood Property. But I was so disappointed in the Westin San Diego. We arrived at the Westin later in the evening for check-in (8pm) and they apparently gave us the last standard room however the bathroom was completely inappropriate! The tub would not drain so we were taking a bath in chin deep dirty bath water, the bathroom door would not lock and was easily opened, and it took 1 hour for extra towels and bed linens. The front desk night shift was not very accomadating at all. They offered us a "handicapped room" but 5 minutes later said it was no longer available. Let's face it the Heavenly beds are what keep us loyal customers but a little maintance and better customer service would have been nice. August 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Aim to please their guests! When my wife and I first checked into our room we were very disappointed and not at all pleased, it reeked of cigarette smoke. We called the front desk but were politely told that being a very busy Saturday in July that they were completely filled up however they were sorry. We asked to speak to a manager, he quickly and very nicely switched us to another room. He also had a staff member from housekeeping come and check to see if we were pleased, which we were. August 2, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by not the best experience I recently chose to stay at the Westin San Diego on Broadway for a couple nights, since I really enjoyed my stay there months ago. To start on the positive note, the customer service was great. The valet attendants had my car ready and waiting whenever I needed it; and the concierge and luggage attendants were very friendly and accommodating. During my first night, the shower spigot got stuck on hot water and would not turn off. I was burned before successfully getting out of the shower, but someone was sent up to fix it immediately. I also found several bites on my skin, which was upsetting since I have no pets and requested a pet-free floor. The next day, I informed the concierge who changed my room. The stay over the next night went better. I was enjoying the wonderfully, comfortable bed since I did not sleep well the first night. Then a man began knocking at the door at 8am claiming he was room service. I let him know that I was still in the room and that his service was not needed. He returned several more times, even after I put the "Do Not Disturb" sign on the door. The first time I came to this hotel, months ago, I was a super satisfied customer. After this visit, having experienced being bitten and interrupted sleep, I do not think I will return. July 7, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is conveniently located This hotel is conveniently located in downtown San Diego. There is a short walk to both the Bayfront and Gaslamp areas. July 5, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Offers nothing for the price Had I stayed in Arizona, at the price I paid, I would have had free parking, free internet, ability to move my own luggage on a cart, and probably a pretty decent breakfast. Parking is a scam, that wasn't anywhere in the reservation or website, $32 a day, with another $14 a day for internet, my son left a $20 bill on the nightstand it was gone after house keeping went through. That was the last straw. I know there is little anyone can do about that and did not complain because these thing deterioate into a he said/she said argument. But that hasn't happened to be anywhere else. For $300 a night, it was a bad joke July 4, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Overpriced and Unconcerned I stayed at this hotel last weekend. I made the reservation the same day as our arrival so I paid a huge amount. I was NOT told the swimming pool was closed, had I been advised of that, I would have definitely have chosen another hotel. This was a last minute trip to meet friends and having a pool for the kids was a priority. It never occurred to me that a Westin this pricey would not have an operational pool. In addition, the beds were unbelievably bad, completely caved in at the center. One was worse than the other, but with three in our party, we needed them both. I spoke to the front dest about these problems upon check out and was offered free parking for my troubles. I feel that was completely inadequate. I paid over three hundred dollars for a completely disappointing stay and was merely given parking. I will never stay at this hotel again, with all the fine hotels in San Diego, I will have many other options. Short-sighted management decision, I travel often, but never back here. June 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great conference site I stayed at the Westin San Diego for the Rare Book and Manuscript conference June 18-22 and found the facilities to be impeccable. The conference was definitely enhanced by the hotel. In addition, the pool was under repair, so a hotel van shuttled us to another lovely pool in the area and then picked us up. Does not get better than that! June 25, 2012
  • 2015-07-30T21:29:13.926Z
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-11, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_334, tr_334
  • loc_en_US, sid_1762, prod, sort_default
<<prev 8 9 10 11 12 next>>