Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach

  • 2365 Kalakaua Avenue
  • Honolulu,
  • Hawaii
  • 96815
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 663 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent babymoon location! We just got home from Oahu. We did not want to leave! You cannot beat the location of this hotel! Its ambiance, history, and stature on Kalakaua are second to none. The gym and spa and Beach House/ Verandah restaurant are great! With our schedules, we pretty much tried to stay on our east coast sleep time frame and the staff were bright and welcoming even at 4-5am local time! We are having our first baby in 3 months, so likely we will not be back to the islands anytime soon, but the time we spent there last week will long be remembered. Our room was always promptly cleaned. The valet staff was top notch and even hopped in the car for us when three limos were blocking the portico. I could sit on the verandah all day with a good book, it was that relaxing. Mahalo Moana Surfrider! July 8, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Worst service at Westin ever? By far the worst experience I've had at a westin, and in Hawaii, no less. This place was not catering at all to Platinum members, which does not make sense. Who puts your most frequent guest in the handicap room without mentioning, after forcing them into the general line because no one is attending to the plantinum line? On top of all that, they don't provide housekeeping one day out of 7? Of course it is all blamed on capacity, which is an operational issue, not a customer issue. Not good for the price. February 13, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Honeymoon stay at Moana Surfrider My husband and I stayed at the Moana Surfrider for 9 days while on our honeymoon. We were assigned a room on the older part of the hotel. It was so small that we could barely walk around each other. The front desk was kind enough to give us a room two doors down which was a little bit bigger and had a side view of the beach. Our room was not cleaned until late afternoon, and after talking with the housekeeper supervisor and requesting that our room be cleaned in the morning while my husband and I were gone, we still didn't get our room cleaned until 2 to 3 pm in the afternoon on almost a daily basis. We found the front desk and valle parking personnel to be very friendly and accommodating. Overall, I would not recommend this hotel, especially staying in the older section of the hotel. September 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 Surfs Out The hotel appeared to have seen better days. When we arrived, the first room we were given was reached down a musty smelling hall. It looked out at the wall of the building next door. The next room was so overwhelmingly perfumed with men's colgne that we had to request a third room. It was fine but still down a musty smelling hallway. The banyon tree courtyard is lovely and we enjoyed sunbathing so that we looked out at the beach. Hoping that the hotel is updated to not be swept out with the surf! March 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Location I stay at this hotel every time I come to Waikiki. The service is friendly and excellent. If I am unhappy about anything, they are quick to fix it and they fix it to my ultimate satisfaction. The only place that is not as friendly as other places around this hotel is the pool bar. Fortunately I do not spend too much time at the bar. But I have not found them as friendly as the rest of the hotel. But all else is excellent. They recently made some additions to their food menu and it is always good. April 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Met and exceeded expectations. Fantastic plantation era hotel on the beach at Waikiki. Staff are first class as are the amentities, outdoor bar, spa and tour agent services. The only minor criticism would be of the pool size and battle to get seat spots each morning, but as it turned out, the better options are the direct beachc access or sitting back and sipping on a cocktail. The nearby high class hotel don't compare for location, class and quality. The hotel culture is laid-back but not lazy. Will definitely go back. May 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Same Great Thoughts as a Prior Reviewer I copy some of a prior reviewer's comments as I have almost the same comments. "This hotel was amazing - upgraded to a fabulous ocean view suite with two balconies. The view was breathtaking! The front desk clerk," Paul, went above and beyond to make [my] stay outstanding." On checkout Erica was also outstanding. Even the doorman helped me get to the airport on time by finding someone to share a ride with. Great Aloha spirit. They went out of their way to get me a late Platinum checkout. February 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice and comfy. Amongst the busy streets of Waikiki Beach, where tourists love to eat and shop, is where you'll find the Moana Surfrider. Pictures that I saw online prior to arriving here did not do it justice. The hotel faces the noisy Kalakaua Avenue. But once inside, it's a totally diferent world. The hotel is classy, yet very relaxed. The beach is located in the back of the hotel. We stayed at a partial ocean-view room. The decor of the room was very basic, as most other Westin hotels. The staff at the hotel was friendly. Make sure to eat at the Beachhouse which has an outdoor view overlooking the ocean. The vibe and view here was simply magnificant. If you want to stay in Waikiki Beach, I highly recommend the Moana Surfrider. It's not cheap like some of it's neighboring hotels, but the price is worth it. May 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by If you're going to be in Waikiki... Look, I'm just not a fan of Waikiki. To me, it's not terribly Hawaiian, more like Miami Beach than anything else. But, hey, millions of people come here, and they've got to stay someplace (I had a one-night layover ahead of a vacation on Maui), and they could do a heck of a lot worse than this place. It's an impressive hotel from the front, very grand design, beautiful open-air lobby with a stunning banyan tree courtyard. The valets greeted us with kukui nut leis. The front desk staff was prompt and friendly. Our room (prime oceanfront, platinum upgrade from standard room) was large and well-appointed, definitely at the top end of the Westin standards. Nice lanai overlooking the courtyard and the beach below. Very quiet room, too -- either the floor was empty around us or they use some good sound-deadening materials. Breakfast downstairs was great, the free platinum continental breakfast for 2 was enough to feed 2 adults and 2 kids ($15 would have bought an upgrade to the full buffet), served al fresco with the sounds of the waves. Afterwards, the wife enjoyed a nice (free!) yoga class from the spa while the kids and I played on the sand. Thoroughly enjoyable hotel if you're looking for a Waikiki vacation. Seriously, the only downside is that it's Waikiki. Give me Maui any day! May 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by What's up with Polyester Sheets? Lovely hotel; great service and perfect location. The trademark "Heavenly Bed" was very comfortable, however I found it odd that the hotel dressed it's heavenly bed in sheets made from 40% polyester. The synthetic sheets looked nice and neat but it felt uncomfortable and sweaty to sleep in. The in-room movie system was not working during our stay which disappointed our kids. With that said, the hotel staff was very friendly and the food was delicious. Also worth mentioning that the hotel photographer was very accommodating and allowed us to go to several shooting locations, took extra pictures and made every effort to please us and we ended up with a perfect family photo we plan to use for our Christmas card. Also, worth mentioning -The coffee house in the hotel outside the hotel lobby makes amazing lattes! October 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel has great location & history I was very pleased except for the following: I had to be in line by 7:00am to reserve/pay $50.00 dls for an umbrella on the beach as they refused to book it a day before. Some staff At the bar is not trained to recognize SPG card ( The Beach house & Azure restaurants easily recognized it ) I would like to be able to reserve/pay for the umbrella in advance without having to make line at 7 am while RESTING in Waikiki Beach...:( Overall is a great hotel & enjoyed it very much. :) December 13, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Graceful, stylish and elegant lady On entry to this wonderful establishment, we were immediately impressed by the friendly staff and the very stylish and large airy area with comfortable seating and the out look to the century old Banyan tree in the open court yard and onto the ocean. It was as if we were walking into a large private home, Reception was easy to find but not obtrusive so the ambiance was intact. The rooms are a good size with a balcony with plenty of room. We loved being able to have our door open at night and to hear the soothing surf. The staff were all happy, polite, cheerful, and willing to meet our needs. The usually speedy service in the eating areas was a big plus. We loved Tony's history tour and recommend it to all guests. We hope to return, Maholo to all who made our stay and my 70th birthday an unforgettable holiday. March 2, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Overall not a good experience. The room was so small you only had enough room to get around the bed. This is not comfortable for me and I will not plan to stay at this hotel again. The housekeeping service was inconsistant and needed to call for the things that should have been replenished daily. Valet was slow, they quoted 10 minutes and it was 30 every time. The front desk was slow and unfriendly. The two things we liked were the historical features and the central location but not worth it for comfort. August 16, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Weak On SPG Platinum Member Recognition Great hotel and friendly staff BUT - Even though suites are available to rent upon check in and even with a one night reservation and a second 2 night back to back reservation upgrades were not available. And this is not the first time this has happened for me at this hotel. Can't even use Suite Night Upgrades. ANNOYING and the reason this is low on the list of hotels I will come back to. Sheraton Waikiki down the street while much busier all most always offer upgrades. November 1, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great hotel, service needs improvement This is our favorite hotel on Oahu. Got married here and come back every year. Rooms are small but comfortable and the house keeping staff are great. Checkin was quick but we were not informed of our SPG Gold benefits on checkin which we were disappointed in when we checked out. Pool and beach staff were generally friendly but there were a couple of employees that were not. This needs improvement. Beach bar staff were generally good although once we waited at the bar for 15 minutes for service while others walked up and got immediate service. Not good. Food is ok although lesser hotels had better food for less or the same price. Needs improvement. Drink quality is good but the price keeps going up and size keeps going down. We love this hotel but we keep feeling like we are getting nickeled and dimed to death. February 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Place! My wife and I spent almost two weeks at this hotel and generally loved it. The ambiance and decor and the layout of the porch, the banyan tree and the lobby were all great and we spent a lot of time there. The beach is great, and the location is as good as it gets. Prices for drinks and room service were high, so we tended to do our entertainment elsewhere. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this hotel. We found staff to be very helpful and courteous. October 24, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Better hotel in Waikiki...but The hotel was beautifully done, and the rooms, while small, were perfectly comfortable. My only major gripe was the internet, which wasn't fast and was expensive considering I already paid a lot for the room, was painfully hard to get to work, if it worked at all! It seems silly, but it is a luxury hotel, and this would have made my life much easier. Also, the spa was nice, but nothing that blew me away, which I was hoping it would considering the prices are ridiculous. May 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by The good and the bad. We checked in which was a painless 5 minute operation. Made it upstairs and entered the room and it was just as expected being that I have been here a few times. The carpet was wet all around the door which was concerning but I attributed that to Then there were small flying bugs and that was an issue because the wife has "bug issues". This was a 3rd anniversary weekender for us and our stay was great. Would recommend this hotel to all first time visitors to Hawaii. October 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Another Enjoyable Stay Facilities, location, and service excellent. We believe that this is the only place to stay in Waikiki. Love the old world elegance of this property. The gym is a new addition, and very well equipped. Loved watching guests try to reserve pool and beach chairs in their PJ's at 5.30am, but appreciated the gracious efforts of pool staff to find chairs that had not been used for extended periods and make them available to late arriving guests. All the best until next time! January 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Moana Surfrider Made reservations 3 months prior for king bed, was given room on 4th floor with 2 twin beds. Was told we could be put on waiting list but would probably be room with out view. No internet in room and personnel could not or did not care to fix. Bathroom was not clean, found hair on floor and dirt in corners. Check in desk informed me to upgrade SPG account on line, web site informed me that it needed to be done by personnel. Not impressed at over $500.00 per night! October 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by April Anniversary at the Surfrider The hotel is spectacular, a great mix of old school cool and new amenities. The banyan tree, the location and the lobby and beach bar were perfect. The tower room with a balcony and ocean view were truly special..and we caught some fireworks too! Not much recognition for platinum status and inconsistent customer service and levels of service. Overall a great find amidst honolulu! I am excited to return with my family for my husbands birthday ! December 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel and amazing staff! The hotel was amazing, great service, beautiful view, and amazing beach! The hotel feels like an Oasis in the middle of the chaos of Waikiki Beach! The breakfast on the Veranda was incredible! So many options and yummy food! The only draw back is the pool; it's small and the lounge chairs are quickly "held" in the morning by either repeat guests or early birds that claim a chair and don't come back for a few hours. This made watching the kids swim a little difficult. January 2, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by SPG member was treated poorly We are SPG members and we were not accomodated what so ever. It started by them not even acknowledging us a SPG members and them stating they were overbooked and can we stay at another hotel. When we told them we made these reservations months and we shouldn't be inconvenienced, we were told to wait for a room to come available. That was two hours later and no one called or looked for us to tell us our room was availble. When our room was available no one apologized. July 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the grand old Waikiki hotels A lovely old time hotel right in the middle of everything. We were in the historic section and had our own lanai with two chairs overlooking the banyan tree and the beach, so we took our evening cocktails up to our room, sat on the lanai and enjoyed the "easy listening" Hawaiian music coming from the bar area. The room was lovely and clean. The bathroom was small by modern standards, but more than adequate. The closet was an armoire. The beds had enormous pillow top mattresses. The best place to people watch is from one of the rocking chairs on the front lanai. Parking is around the corner at the sister hotel.. Don't forget to get a parking permit from the front desk at the or else use valet parking. Give the valets at least 20 minutes warning before you want your car. Check out the sister hotels for meal opportunities. August 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mixed Opinion The public area is very impressive; however, our room was nothing special. We were told by the desk that we had a "preferred room" with a desireable view of the courtyard. We actually looked at a very ugly rooftop, and beyond it must have been the courtyard. There was one very small sink in the bathroom. Overall, it seemed like a very old room, but clean. The location of the hotel is excellent, central in Waikiki. The staff was friendly. The room was disappointing. March 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Place is a Hawaiian Gem! My son and I recently traveled to Hawaii for his college spring break. He knew his Mom and Dad liked the Moana, but he wasn't sure if the old Hotel would be the right one for him. Well, we enjoyed everything about this special place! People watching from the porch rocking chairs, Hawaiian music under the Banyon tree, history rooms on the second floor, dinner on the veranda, an amazing room w balcony overlooking Diamond Head with the beach at our feet. This Hotel is like no other, harkening back to an elegant and simple time. Hotel guests were from around the world and consisted of couples and families both young and old. My son want's to stay here again, with his whole family, when we return this summer. Thank you to everyone serving the guests at "The Moana". Through you all, Waikiki's First Lady has never looked so good! March 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is simply awesome! Everything about the Moana Surfrider is awesome, the staff, the history & ALOHA Cannot wait for our next visit there! March 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lovely stay Really great hotel, friendly staff and good service. Only one head of seating staff member in the restaurant was a little abrupt, but that was the only minority. Generally a really nice stay and will definitely recommend this to all our friends. The YOGA classes are fantastic! Definitely a plus. and the gym facility is terrific too. One of the best places to stay in waikiki. Thank you for ensuring we enjoyed our stay. Everyone is so nice. We'll be back soon. August 1, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful but flawed The hotel is beautiful but we left somewhat disappointed. Apart from unsatisfactory room size (and the fact we were woken from 5am one day with doors banging and delivery trucks!) we also felt that it was a bit under staffed. Also we had a poor experience at check in and check out with allocation of 2 rooms and inability to provide receipts for credit card. Not the fault of staff, but presumably systems. SPG seemed to have no bearing in this situation. October 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel I missed a working desk in the room. Carpets on the floor in the room, although OK but would benefit from exchange. Limited numbers of lockers or closest. OK for one person but somewhat narrow for two persons. Local lighting for reading not so good. Late housekeeping one day. March 3, 2014
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 ... 23 next>>