Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach

  • 2365 Kalakaua Avenue
  • Honolulu,
  • Hawaii
  • 96815
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 685 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good but not quite what we expected... Based on the website and what my husband and I have come to expect from a Starwood category 5 hotel, we were less than impressed. The room, while clean and well setup, did not insulate from any noise whatsoever. Between the people upstairs, in the hall, and cleaning crew in the courtyard/beach bar area, we had a lot noise that competed with our rest (went to bed at 10-11 PM usually). There was no point in having a SPG Gold/Platinum line at check in because no one was there to provide service. The food at the beach bar was unimpressive, which is usually not a problem, however when charging $14.00 for hummus and pita bread I expect it to be delicious. All that being said, we had a great experience with the concierge and an especially great service from our server at breakfast. He was very attentive and clearly cared about ensuring we had a great experience. May 30, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Difficult, difficult stay Somehow we ended up with the hardest bed in the world, a door lock that kept us out of our room (3 sets of keys in less than 24 hours--a faulty sensor thinking door was locked from the inside), no TNT channel--we had the others, couldn't work the drapes, and all in a tiny old room that felt like some European hotel. And how I wish the Westin heavenly bed was made with fitted sheets or sheets that stayed tucked in at the bottom. January 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is awesome I only write reviews only if the experience was really great or really awful, the moana was really great! there were a few slight hiccups but for someone who is hesitant, you should definitely give this place a chance! March 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Stay away from Banyon Wing Rooms We were celebrating our honeymoon and were put in the Banyon Wing. When we entered our room, both of us hardly fit in there. The rooms were extremely small and the bathroom was so tiny that it didn't have a bath tub. We requested for a room in the Tower Wing, but they were fully booked. To make up for the room, they offered us chocolate covered strawberries and red wine, but It never came. I'm sorely disappointed in our room. February 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The ONLY place to stay at Waikiki! Location, room comfort, and staff. It has them all! It was a little crowded, but for good reason. I was a little nervous ahead of our stay because I had ordered flowers in advance to surprise my wife, but I shouldn't have worried at all. The Concierge ordered on my behalf an amazing tropical floral arrangement and had them placed in our room just prior to our arrival. Needless to say my wife was very surprised and pleased! April 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Grand Dame of world Hotels I have dreamed of staying at the Moana Surfrider since I enjoyed a Mai Tai next to the magnificent Banyan Tree in 1990.My dream was realised this week and it was everything we had dreamed o. The level of quality and service was consistent throughout every facet of the hotel. Quality of that standard can only be driven from the management down.Congratulations ! and thank you for a memorable finish tour our Hawaiian Holiday April 28, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed I had wedding at Moana Surfrider. And on the day of my checked out, I left my wedding cake top in my room. I found that I forgot it on the way to the airport. So called the front desk and asked the lady to look for it. We checked out at 10:45 or so and called there around 12:00. The lady said to call me back but no call back. So i called again but i was on hold for long time and no one pick up my phone. Once I arrived home in LA after 5 hours flight and still no message. So called the hotel to remind. However she was gone for a day and they don't know who took care of the call and No information in my profile. I stayed at their suite room with the price of $800x 3 nights. I should be deserved better service than this. If she could have checked, my wedding cake top which I only have once in my life could be saved. I am soooo sad after my wedding at Moana Surfrider. December 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Customer Service There are many great hotels in Waikiki. Some are more modern, some have a great history. What really sets one apart from another is the staff of a hotel. From the moment I walked into this hotel, I felt at home, and felt appreciated by every single member of the staff. I am a GM of a restaurant, and I know how difficult it is to find people who thoroughly enjoy making others feel welcomed. From the front desk check-in (a guy named Steven took extremely good care of us), to the servers at the restaurant and bars, right down to every person pushing a cart in the hallway and giving a nice "Aloha" EVERY time. It was a phenomenal experience. If there was one thing that could have been better (and I mean this- everything else was way beyond expectation), it would be the elevators in the Tower Wing. They took awhile. However, I've had worse. What an amazing time. Thank you. May 24, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Old part of hotel - BE CAREFUL! I stayed in the non tower or the older part of the hotel and the airconditioning in the room was so loud you had to sleep with it off as if on would keep you awake. But sleeping with it off meant you got really hot! I did complain but the hotel did nothing about it nor did they get back to me at all. There is also only one lift for the old part so you can wait a long time to get to your room which is a real pain. August 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Heaven One definition of heaven is "an experience of blissful happiness". I think that this describes our 5 day stay at this hotel. April 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful Stay This hotel had a wonderfully welcoming staff who greeted us like celebrities. Bell service was quick and friendly. The ambiance is amazing with the charming veranda, rocking chairs, and the banyon tree area. The historical background is reflected in the warm beachfront bar and pool area and we took advantage of the knowlegable valet people who gave us great directions to all the local places we wanted to get to. April 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A magnificent hotel I have stayed at the Moana for 6 years in a row. I was married at this hotel and return every year to celebrate our anniversary. The minute I step into the hotel I feel relaxed and at home. The staff is friendly. I dont like the resort fee...I would rather it be included in the room rate. Tacking on extra charges seems tacky. I remember when the beach chairs were free....I can accept paying for the chairs so you dont have to stress out if you can find an umbrella anymore. My only wish is that the menu at the beach bar be expanded. My typical vacation is 7 days long and I dont eat one meal at the Moana b/c I dont care for the menu choices. I have eaten at the Beachhouse three times and was unsatisfied each time..poor service, meal mix ups and forgotten drinks will prevent me from eathing there again. I can look past the poor food choices b/c the hotel is otherwise fabulous. February 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Getaway for 2 Love this place. I took the one I love for a holiday, our first. Everything was perfect. Staff are attentive however not overbearing, the building and the interior are just magnificent. Sitting on the veranda, rocking watching the world cruise by. Enjoying great food over looking the pacific. Great advise on tours/activities and concierge that go that extra mile. This hotel visually represents what it is, grand. November 4, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by History and location loved everything about the stay- location is great- plantation style architecture is history in itslef. Staff was attentive and polite- only issue we experienced was with onsited dining. Menu did not live up to expectation- catch of the day was gone for a 6:30 seating- plate preperation on two ocaasions were unfortunate surprises. Staff was excellent in how everyting was handled however. thanks for a great stay! December 31, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel Problems Poor/weak Wifi. Front desk connected me with India to enter a work ticket....really? he wanted to know the hotel address. Platinum check in understaffed, no system of other check in people taking the Platinum people No receipt under the door as requested No emailed receipt as promised No Newspaper on the floor or at my door Front desk had one person at 6 AM departure time to help everyone-no Platinum coverage. May 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel but… Concierge services need improvement. The first time we asked a question neither of the staff spoke English and sent us off to the trip advisor desk - who wasn't there until the next morning. We thought they were a desk to assist and support non-English speaking Asian guests. We weren't the only ones. Everyday we saw people in the gift shop asking questions of the staff because there wasn't anyone else to ask. September 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Most comfortable beds ever!! Our stay was amazing, from the incredibly comfortable beds, to the highest quality customer service staff, we thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our stay and regretted having to leave. The gentleman who checked us in to our room made us feel part of the Ohana of the hotel and the staff at the spa were great & we loved it. We would give our stay 10 stars. Thank you and Aloha John Lewis and Angela Cropper October 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel but Great iconic hotel in the best location. Really happy with the room in the old wing despite the tiny bathroom. My only issue is the hidden charges and especially the $25 resort charge. First, it should be part of the advertised price. Second, I paid this for the wifi which was absolutely woeful - wouldn't connect, had to sign in multiple times - worst I've had in any hotel I've stayed at. Not good enough January 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel, incredibly comfortable room and bed. This hotel is absolutely perfect if you are looking to stay in Waikiki. It is right in the middle of Waikiki, so a perfect location and right on the main walking area. The rooms are beautiful (we stayed in a deluxe tower city view room). The bed was so comfortable we didn't want to leave the room. We dragged ourselves out of bed to enjoy the complimentary glass of wine you are given at the wine bar in the hotel and enjoyed it while sitting on the rocking chairs in the front of the hotel and people watching the crowds stroll along Waikiki. It was such a magical scene that fit this Plantation-themed hotel perfectly. Would absolutely stay here again! Only downsides: the pool is not huge (no Waikiki hotel has a big pool though) and the late night room service food is terrible. The drinks & breakfast we had at the Veranda by the beach was fantastic though, so likely just a room service thing. November 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by First experience at the First Lady Stunning location, great experience, did not want to leave! This hotel has a lovely ambience and wonderful history. I found the lobby to be very hectic. Customer service (not all) was not to the standard I expected for an establishment of this calibre. Fast elevators! Make sure you do high tea on the Veranda - great way to see the afternoon pass by! Room seemed to lack the usual detailed compendium. June 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Hotel, Disappointing amenities. The Moana Surfrider is a very comfortable hotel. The amenities were disappointing though. There was no free gift for SPG Gold members as promised. The beach charged $50 for a chair which seemed outrageous. Upon checking in the staff demanded we show a state I.D. for our Kamaaina rate. We are military and don't need a state I.D. to be stationed here. They basically assume all military are dishonest and demand a state I.D. to be shown. The SPG Gold and Platinum line seemed useless. The line for everyone else was constantly being pulled from and left 8 people waiting in the SPG line while one desk clerk serviced them. For such as nice hotel, this staff needs to step up there work, and outrageous charges need to be dropped for simple amenities. Stay at the Royal Hawaiian instead. Everything mentioned here was never an issue at the Royal Hawaiian. They actually lived up to there reputation. August 15, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Wonderful history - sub standard service 1 - No assistance whatsoever offered with bags both on arrival or departure from bellboys - quite unbelievable. Check-in extremely slow, and clearly insufficient staff to handle the volume of guest arriving. 2 - No shower cap in bathroom 3 - Every plate in dining room for breakfast was filthy..... dishwasher either needs replacing or staff need to take some care. 4 - Food at dinner was delicious. September 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Staff and Computer System Overall, a good stay. A couple of items, a couple of staff members could have been more helpful. It felt like I was bothering them. And the computer system at the front desk was having problems. Twice I had to come to the front desk to have my credit card scanned, and each time it did not work. And when I checked out the system was down and was unable to see my bill at the time. December 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Slightly Disappointed My expectations of my stay at the Moana Surfrider were somewhat disappointing for a SPG property. Not sure why there are an exorbitance amount of fees above the daily fees already charged for things like a beach chair. Especially when the resort reserves the "free" ones at the pool so that there are none available. The other issue was noise from street at night. Need to put soundproof windows in. January 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not up to SPG standards Did not recognize SPG Platinum membership as they do not waive resort fee (hotel policy) . Didn't deliver newspaper any of our 5 days, where others received their paper on our floor. When we inquired with the front desk, they told us that they do not deliver papers but we could pick one up at the reception desk. On two separate occasions, the concierge employees could not give us the local bus routes we requested. But the Tour Concierge was great when booking local tours and airport connections. No real Happy Hour as all drinks were very expensive, where you could get the same Mai Tai next door for 1/2 the price. There was no option to take points for environmental Green Program on daily room maintenance. There was no Aloha Spirit or feeling of welcome that we experianced on our trip at the Moana, which we received at the Sheraton in Maui, the Westin in Princeville, or the Sheraton in Kona. October 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by First time, and not the last ! We were traveling with 7 people(my wife, myself and 5 adult children). We recieved an SPG upgrade and had 3 rooms next to each other on the 20th floor. Everyone loved the rooms, the beds, the views, the hotel staff, the beach, the bar, the location. What a beautiful, historic hotel. This was our first trip to Hawaii and we will be back. We had a wonderful time. Mahalo, Cathy, Dave and the Pack June 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beauitiful location, We have only just returned from travelling in the USA, we stayed on 4 different occassions, all were wonderful except for night of 25th July, 2012, our room was so small, our cases had to be placed at the entry door, bed was a double we did ask to be changed but nothing could be done, on our last visit 7th August we were given a lovely room on SPG floor which was greatly appreciated. Thankyou August 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Experience Enhanced by Staff Member Overall, the experience was wonderful. We finally had a fantastic room with ocean views (definitely recommend) after several tries. I have to say that the individual that assisted us at the front desk, Steve, went above and beyond to accomodate us. His excellent customer service skills without a doubt enhanced my experience during my stay. One of the best Starwood employees I've encountered. December 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful ! This property is a beautiful historic hotel. Staying in the historical wing is exceptional. Sitting in the rocking chairs on the front porch was a very relaxing experience. Also we saw several wedding parties daily. They were all beautiful brides ( and they bring back wonderful memories as we have been married for 42 years! ) I highly recommend this property especially the historical wing. February 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bliss on Waikiki beach Pool was small but had an oceanfront location which cannot be beat. Beach: great for kids and adults alike, although there was not a lot of shade. Westin had a private beach area where shade could be found in the afternoon Rooms: Huge balcony with tremendous ocean view thanks to SPG gold upgrade! Service: impeccable. True Westin quality Location: best spot to enjoy the lively Waikiki area. January 8, 2013
<<prev 11 12 13 14 15 ... 24 next>>