The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

  • 909 North Michigan Avenue
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60611
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 693 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin was great! My stay went very well!!! July 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great hotel great hotel. only issue was the a/c could not get the room cold. July 8, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Faded Glory As someone who used to dearly love and look forward to this hotel...this was beyond gutting. This was my little piece of solace in Chicago, and now...well, lets just say I won't be back. Why, might you ask? Well, the room was clean. The housekeeper for my room was meticulous. That being said, the constantly running toilet, the grotesquely hard beds, and the noise problem were terrible - all of which I've never experienced in a lot of visits before to this property. Didn't appreciate that checkin agent referred to my room as an upgrade, when in fact it was what I had paid for. And 30+ rings to attempt to get a hold of 'Service Express'...multiple times? I would've liked to have spent more money at the property, but i can't spend it on room service if no one answers, and having my keys reset twice? Houston, we have a problem - which is why we checked out a day earlier and decamped to a different hotel. Just terrible. Avoid like the plague. July 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location The hotel is located in an excellent area on Magnificent Mile, next to Hancock Tower. Lots of shopping and also high end shops on Oak Street. Hotel has great restaurant The Grill which serves pub style food and has a nice bar for late night drinks. Room service is good, but expensive with a limited late night menu. Spa facilities are lacking and very expensive for limited facilities (no steam, jacuzzi, etc). Had problems with in room air conditioning, but staff was very accommodating and fixed it daily (slightly inconveniencing). Overall, good experience. July 8, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not what you'd expect from a Wesstin As a Platinum, I have high expectations for a Westin. When we arrived, we asked the bellman what the parking rate was for one night. 65 dollars he informed us and recommended a parking garage 2.5 blocks away for 30 dollars. We were off to a good start. Checking in I informed the desk clerk that I was a platinum and if we could be upgraded to a better room. He replied that our room was ready and when we arrived, we realized it was just a standard room. When we checked in we inquired about the complimentary breakfast and the desk attendent informed us that only the continental option was available at the Starbucks inside the property and that the restaurant was not affiliated with the Westin. (I wondered how this hotel could get a 4 star rating without their own restaurant) The next morning we went to the Starbucks for our continental breakfast and the lady at Starbucks informed us that we could only get a piece of fruit, coffee or juice and a pastry. I wanted yogurt and berries and a soda which she stated was not allowed. WOW I thought that they could provide a complimentary breakfast but you couldn't get berries and yogurt. All in all, I think there are much better options in downtown Chicago and for the poor service we received and a 65 dollar daily parking rate, not restaurant on site which is run by Starwood, we are suprised that this hotel can maintain a 4 star rating. July 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best SPG experience so far!!!! Just had a wonderful stay at the Westin. Location is hard to beat and everyone at the hotel was so professional and friendly. This was a surprise for my Mom's birthday and my requests were all fulfilled and more. Ashley at the front desk was so thoughtful and even sent up champagne for us to celebrate, making my mom's bday even more special. Probably the best sleep I've had at a hotel, didn't hear anything through the walls. Love that they are so dog-friendly as well. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!! and will stay here whenever I come to Chicago!! July 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great experience! Everything was good in my opinion, clean, comfortable room and bed, easy access to and from room with 6 elevators. Close to Chicago's shopping and navy pier. Loved the stay and would recommend it. July 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service Awesome location and great service by the maintenance/engineering staff. July 5, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Problems Our list No drawers in bathroom, desk, night tables. Locked refrigerator . Extra pillows delivered without pillow cases. Coffee not replaced after use and pot not cleaned. No luggage rack in room-asked for two after 3 hours got 1. Room showing age. July 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rooms are extremely relaxing Our room was great for relaxing with clean, comfortable beds; a beautiful bathroom and great TV. An on-site pool and free continental breakfast would have made our stay perfect. The only food we had on site was breakfast via room service - delicious but expensive. July 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Hotel We stayed at this hotel to celebrate my daughters Graduation! Everything was perfect we got a lakeview room. Room was clean and the staff was great!!! The location is perfect for shopping and eating. Lots of choices!!! Room was ready at check in at that was awesome!!! You can't go wrong staying here!!! July 2, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very disappointed with my stay We checked in late, there was confusion with my reservation. Checked in June 10, 2013. It was 7:00pm - yes PM - I had to wait 20 minutes for my room. And then received the worst room view for being there on business for 5 days! Front desk gentleman was confused and not helpful. Gave me a credit for my wait - but room number was wrong on certificate. July 1, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Westin North Michigan Ave-Chicago This hotel is need of renovation. For the price level and position the hotel was a disappointment for the first time stay. Room type was not available at check in even though the reservation was guaranteed. Staff did make a change on the room style the next day but disappointing. Also, food quite overpriced is seems. Simple breakfast for two at $60 seems a bit rich. July 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by chicago trip we have not stayed at this westin for a couple of years. once we arrived, we wondered why it has been so long. it is a great location ust steps to water tower or rush street. a great hotel. July 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by The check-in provcess was very unpleasant. Dariel (I belive his name was) helped me, after waiting for along time. I had better experience with check in process in the past, and a much friendly attitude. He was not able to pronounce my name. June 30, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Great Features Great location, great facilities June 30, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location and amenities, but room was not clean My family and I recently stayed at the Westin Michigan Avenue during our vacation in Chicago mid June. While we loved the location of the hotel, its amenities, and accommodations, my check-in experience did not start off on the right foot. Upon arrival at my hotel room, I walked into beds that looked as though they had been slept on (pillows were not in order, bed sheets were not neatly tucked), the recycle can was not emptied. After further inspection, the hand soap in bathroom was not sealed in wrapper, and the hand towel was laying on the bathroom counter as though it had been used and not folded. It was certainly not what I had expected from a top brand hotel, especially being that I work for a hotel myself. It was unacceptable. After notifying a staff member, I received a call shortly from the Housekeeping Manager apologizing for the state of the room. My family and I were immediately assigned to a new room that was in satisfactory condition. I do appreciate the prompt the attention to the matter, but still expected more. Other than that, staff was courteous and professional. Location was great, just steps from John Hancock Building, Water Tower Place, and Magnificent Mile. I took advantage of the New Balance Lending program, and frequented the workout room. June 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by All Around Best Stay I've stayed at this Westin 19 times and I've never been disappointed. I feel at home the minute I walk in. June 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Pretty dissappointing We stay at Westin's for a reason - they are usually very clean and the rooms are nice & up-to-date. We were pretty dissappointed in the Westin Chicago - it could really use a room renovation. The location & staff are great, but the building itself needs improvement. June 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin Michigan Avenue Very clean room and hotel. June 25, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by OMG! No Customer service at all We arrived for a wedding at 2:15 -- was told room not ready until 3:00. Staff asked for a cell # to call for when the room is ready -- no call was ever made (sic). Came back at 4:00 to get ready for the dress rehearsal and again told no room was available. Staff recommended against changing in the downstairs bathroom and originally denied my request for a towel to use!! How hard is it really to get a towel in a hotel -- unbelievable! We used the bathrooms to change the entire family including our 2 young kids (what other choice did we have?). We came back after the rehearsal dinner at 10:00. YEAH! Room is now ready -- awesome. The night manager had absolutely nothing to say about the situation nor did he try to find an amicable resolution. No one apologized to us at all. We are new to the SPG program, are Gold members and have never been treated worse in all our travels. BEWARE and think twice before staying here. June 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is what a Westin should be The staff and hotel met all of my needs and expectations. As a business traveler you see a lot of hotels and this one will not disappoint. June 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff is amazing The staff goes out of its way to anticipate your needs and to exceed your expectations. June 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Location, location, location Leonard was very helpful at check-in. The location is the best in Chicago! June 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mixed Review The hotel was very nice and the staff members were quite helpful. However, my room was dusty and there were several balls of hair on the bathroom floor - not my hair color. I would not expect this in a hotel in this chain and for the price per night. Unfortunately, my room was next to the elevator and the walls were somewhat thin, so I could hear the elevator moving. June 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel, nice location in downtown Chicago This is a nice hotel and has a great location. The staff was extremely helpful and professional. The hotel could use a little updating, but still a very nice hotel. I had a wonderful view of lake Michigan! June 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Highly recommended hotel The location was great, the staff was helpful and the room was incredibly comfortable. June 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Did not meet expectations It just seemed that there were improvements needed in many places. Specifically in my room there was a black-type mold in the shower area at the ceiling. There was also dust in the air vents that looked like it had not been cleaned in quite a while. The edges of the room also had that distgusting 1/2 of dust build up from not being cleaned well. The spa was just services and nothing special. Overall, I think there are better places to stay in the same location. June 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Adequate Chicago has many choice. Great location The rooms are a little tired. Stained carpets. Bathrooms need updates For the money I would stay elsewhere June 17, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not up to standards of other Westin hotels I arrived and was put in a room with a double bed even though I had been booked in a king room. As I walked through the lobby to the elevator it smelled like vomit. I thought this was a one off thing, but it smelled that way all 3 days I was there. I asked a worker about it on day 2 and he just shrugged his shoulders. When I got up to my room there was blood or some sort of pinkish fluid smeared on the wall above the bed. When I picked up the phone to call downstairs and report it, the phone was sticky! I walked downstairs and asked to switch rooms, but was told there was nothing they could do as the hotel was full. June 15, 2013
  • 2015-05-05T21:18:07.968-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-16, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_693, tr_693
  • loc_en_US, sid_1030, prod, sort_default
<<prev 14 15 16 17 18 ... 24 next>>