Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach

  • 2365 Kalakaua Avenue
  • Honolulu,
  • Hawaii
  • 96815
  • USA
  • Karte

Zimmer & Preise

Schließen
  • Falls der Aufenthalt mehr als 90 Tage umfasst, rufen Sie bitte unter +(1) 866 539 3446 an.
  • Sie können nur 550 Tage im Voraus buchen.
  • Bitte überprüfen Sie Ihre Daten.
1 Zimmer 1 Zimmer , 1 Erwachsener 1 Erwachsene , 1 Kind 0 Kinder
Rated 4 out of 5 by 827 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Unexpected Surprises Hotel was a quick 20-25 min away from the airport with an approximately $40 cab ride from the airport (including tip). Upon checking in, was told there was a $25/night resort fee. Fee included 2 bottles of water, internet access, parking and a few activities. Since I am Platinum and didn't have a car, I basically paid $100 for a few bottles of water. I chose the continental breakfast for my Platinum check-in amenity. When I went to the restaurant, I found out I needed a certain ticket which I was not given (turns out they had run out of them). The breakfast buffet looked good, but I was not able to eat anything from it. Instead, I was given a plate of fruit, some danishes and a yogurt. I asked the front desk for the breakfast tickets to be delivered to my room, but never received anything. I did eat from the restaurant for lunch and had a good chicken salad, but chose to go to the Halekulani hotel for their breakfast for the remaining days. Overall - the hotel location was good; my room was clean and quiet; and the hotel property was well kept. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Stay The front desk personnel were excellent! Our room was ready upon arrival! It was very nice. Every evening we watched the sunset from the beach and enjoyed cocktails and meals under the banyan tree while watching live Hawaiian music and a Hula dancer. Every morning we had Kona coffee at the Honolulu Coffee Company, located at the hotel. The location was perfect. We will definitely return. January 24, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Overcrowded I have stayed at several Westin locations and have been nothing but happy until now. I found this hotel overcrowded and in need of much updating. The pool and outdoor lounge areas were overcrowed with chairs and there was still nowhere to lay in the sun even if you where o=up and out by 8AM. I did have a few issues that the staff in the lobby were very willing to accomadate. January 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Venerable Old Lady on Waikiki Beach My fourth stay here, nearly a week using points, and still in my top three hotels worldwide. I'm mystified that the Starwood branding people have downgraded it to a Westin given its historic standing - and if you have a wooden frame structure as you do in the original building then do you REALLY want to encourage the footsteps of small children racing around being transmitted though every floor/ceiling? I love the wind wafting off the sea straight through the classic lobby; one step inside and you've left the traffic of Kalakaua Ave a world away. My single gripe was the "Resort Charge" - that was on the booking confirmation, but which I initially overlooked - of USD 25/day. It gave me a whole page of goodies, not a single one of which I wanted, or needed as a non-family, SPG Gold For Life member. This issue was resolved after a genial chat with the VERY helpful Duty Manager. If it's good financial value for families who are not Gold/Platinum etc. then let them do the numbers and opt-IN, not force those who don't want it to opt-OUT (if they take the time to question it). We had a SUPERB dinner at the Verandah, though the breakfast is way over-priced. January 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Moana Surfrider, Waikiki Awesome, from the size of the rooms, to the proximity to the beach, to the look and feel of the hotel itself right down to the quality of the food and the staff. Awesome!!! January 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel Love the location and amenities of the hotel. Our room was very small but we managed. LOVED the staff at valet, especially Ave, Jan, & Al, who were always there to greet us and give recommendations in the morning. We looked forward to seeing them & they should be recognized. Jilly & Mo by the pool were excellent in making our afternoons relaxing & they were so personable. I do think the front desk and the concierge staff should be addressed as they exhibit poor customer service skills & they are the face of the hotel. I wasn't impressed by anyone. For a Westin, I think standards should be a little higher. Overall we had a blast. January 19, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointing - I've stayed at 20 Starwoods' properties during the past year. For many reasons, this ranks the lowest of all of them - staff not interested in giving the guest the best service - felt like I was punished for voicing my displeasure (given a room on the noisy street); continental breakfast policy (they deliver buns and fruit to your table, if you go into the buffet room, they charge $20) - SPG Platium status not acknowledeged; never received proper check-in briefing; some benefits not delivered until after I aksed (bottled water) - when moved off the street to another small room, waited 3 hours in the lobby for the new room and another 1.5 hours for the luggage to arrive - the most common phase I heard from staff was - "sorry"... - at check-out, was not asked how my stay was; I know why they don't ask! January 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel but Great iconic hotel in the best location. Really happy with the room in the old wing despite the tiny bathroom. My only issue is the hidden charges and especially the $25 resort charge. First, it should be part of the advertised price. Second, I paid this for the wifi which was absolutely woeful - wouldn't connect, had to sign in multiple times - worst I've had in any hotel I've stayed at. Not good enough January 14, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by 1.12.13 Very bad experience. We requested an early check in. We arrived at the anticipated early check in time of 2pm to find of 20 person deep line in queue. After waiting, I was advised that our room was not ready; my cell phone number was taken but staff did not call. Spa had the wrong reservation. Restaurant had lost my reservation. Every single step was poorly executed. January 14, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Extremely Disappointing stay 1/10-1/13 Checked in on Thursday night, was put into a room so small, 2 people couldn't pass by each other. They switched it to a larger room with two bed's, was on my anniversary trip, so we slept in different bed's. The room overlooked the street, no sealed window's, was so loud, we never got to sleep. Upgraded us on the second night to a Handicapped room, with a stained carpet, shower head praying water everywhere, nowhere to store luggage, and no bathroom amenity storage. We are GOLD SPG member's, and spent 36,000 dollars/points, for this stay, very poor hotel. Many other guests at the front desk complaining of loud room's out front, even the staff told us this is a ongoing problem. VERY DISAPPOINTED, will never go back there! January 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Appreciate the upgrade. The Tower Wing was my favorite. Stayed in this Starwood property 4 times last year and twice in the last two months and the Tower Wing is by far my favorite. Couple of times, I was dissatisfied with the internet, speed was extremely slow and trying to do work was frustrated. Had to carry my laptop and work out of Starbucks. But this past stay, in the Tower Wing, internet was better than Starbucks. This four star elite greatly appreciate the upgrade and hopefully will be assigned in the Tower Wing for now on. Only complaint was I paid a 25.00 resort fee and I heard other customers checking in paid 18.00 resort fee. Since I paid using points, I didn't matter to me. Thanks. January 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel Beautiful hotel, great service & great position January 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Experience We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Moana Surfrider & intend to stay again Jan 2014. January 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Another Enjoyable Stay Facilities, location, and service excellent. We believe that this is the only place to stay in Waikiki. Love the old world elegance of this property. The gym is a new addition, and very well equipped. Loved watching guests try to reserve pool and beach chairs in their PJ's at 5.30am, but appreciated the gracious efforts of pool staff to find chairs that had not been used for extended periods and make them available to late arriving guests. All the best until next time! January 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by disappointed very noisy for city veiw, even 10 flrs up. No SPG preferred lounge. JAL tourism hotel lowered prestige rating. SPA/workout facilities just avg. High priced room includes resort fee but charge for beach chairs?! insulting!!Rest. avg,staff mediocre. Concierge weak. HighlightsBell, Housekeeping & F. desk staff January 13, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Service! Many times during our stay staff were unwilling to assist simple things like bringing a cup of tea to the Beach Bar. Husband in wheelchair was given a cup of hot water and told to go to the restaurant himself to get the teabag!! This was not a one off incident! Would not stay there for that price given the poor service! Better to stay somewhere else and then go there for the location to swim as anyone can walk in and use the facilities and bars. January 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Accomodations vs Restaurants / Service Location is great. Hotel and room are great, although my friend indicated his room was in need of an update, and was very small (cramped 2 twin bed room). Why I actually decided to write a review (not like me) is because of my experience at the restaurants. The food was very mediocre (and very pricey) and the service was absolutely horrible. I ordered a $50 filet and it came out cold about 10 minutes before the rest of my parties entrees. I sent it back to be reheated... they gave me a new one, which came back mooing rare (I ordered medium rare). All food was served luke warm... Dinner took 2-3 hours (not because we were enjoying it). Can't say one good thing about the restaurants. (tried them both) January 12, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Old hotel Window was broken which I had to wait over 24hrs to get fixed. Staff refused to move me to another room without paying over $100 more. January 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not Satisfied I want to thank the Frnt Desk team for being good with good reception. People in the breakfast area who takes order was not good. They are mean. Rooms are not big enough for a family of 4. January 11, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel has low standards Room 3213. I'll never forget it. The door looks like it hasn't been painted in 10 years (this was my first impression). The chair had tears in it and was stained and appeared dirty. I put towels on it before sitting on it. The door lock made funny clicking noises during the middle of the night...i found out the next day that the battery was supposedly low when I could not get back into my room. They called the locksmith to repair it. I pointed out all of the above to the desk, but nothing was done to clean up the room. The next day, i could not get in my room again. Again they had to call the locksmith. Finally, i was given a new room. I had a 10 day vacation scheduled and I cancelled the second 5 days. This wasn't relaxing or fun. January 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bliss on Waikiki beach Pool was small but had an oceanfront location which cannot be beat. Beach: great for kids and adults alike, although there was not a lot of shade. Westin had a private beach area where shade could be found in the afternoon Rooms: Huge balcony with tremendous ocean view thanks to SPG gold upgrade! Service: impeccable. True Westin quality Location: best spot to enjoy the lively Waikiki area. January 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location Hotel is on a great spot on Waikiki.Rooms vary on which building you're at so can be tricky. January 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Property but bad continental breakfast Overall a great hotel with great staff, but we had obtained complimentary continental breakfasts as a Starwood Preferred Platinum member, but these were very subpar with unfresh fruit and mediocre service. Would have preferred full breakfast at a reduced rate. January 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Slightly Disappointed My expectations of my stay at the Moana Surfrider were somewhat disappointing for a SPG property. Not sure why there are an exorbitance amount of fees above the daily fees already charged for things like a beach chair. Especially when the resort reserves the "free" ones at the pool so that there are none available. The other issue was noise from street at night. Need to put soundproof windows in. January 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Buyer Beware: Even the Moana Surfrider has its warts After several trips to the Moana Surfrider and excellent stays, we were very surprised and disappointed to have had a quite different experience on our last stay over the holidays. We were given a room in the 'historic' Banyan Wing which, one could believe, was very close to the original condition when the hotel was built in 1901. Sure, there was a Heavenly Bed and the Westin towels (no room for a Heavenly Shower, though), but this room was severely cramped, the shower was very tight and things were in general very worn (the window in the bathroom, an ancient sash window with chain(!) mechanism to make them open and close, would not even close all the way!). The walls were very thin, and on several occasions we clearly heard the person in the neighboring room having a great time talking to his smart phone and hearing it talk back to him – nice at 2:00 am! Each day we inquired at the desk for a room change, but owing to the busy season, shortage of rooms in our ‘category’, and (I believe) the fact that we were using a lot of points for our stay, the staff – who I must say remained very supportive and friendly and helpful throughout – were unable to do anything for us until the last 2 days of our stay. They moved us to a spectacular room in the Tower Wing at no extra charge – what a difference this makes to an overall stay. We went from dreading coming back to our ‘cell’ to sleep each night, to feeling like we were having the experience we had expected all along at this hotel (and the kind of experience we had had on 3 previous stays). Hey – we like the history and the location of the Moana Surfrider, it’s one of the best attractions of this hotel and the charm of ‘old Hawaii’. But, whether you’re shelling out $400+ or 16,000 point per night, you expect more in comfort than the ‘innovations’ Buster Crabbe and Johnny Weismuller experienced in 1927. A hotel of this price category and carrying the Westin name can’t have rooms like this and not expect some disappointed guests when they are unlucky enough to draw these rooms for their stay. Unsurprisingly, as the front desk finally was able to move us into the Tower Wing, the staff member mentioned to me archly “Wow, sir, you are REALLY going to like moving to THIS room…” Yes, they all seem to know a lemon for what it is. (And he was right – we loved the new room!) One last thing: the Resort Charge of $25 was an unwelcome surprise for us checking in. This seems to be a grouping of a number of ‘throw-in’ services for the hotel or things they have had a hard time selling to their guests, that they’ve decided to bundle into 1 mandatory fee for everyone, claiming that guest feedback has indicated that this would be a ‘great value’. Maybe – but for us, we literally did not use anything on the list – after several discussions where I was told firmly that the fee would not be waived, we did use wifi internet in the room for the heck of it, since we were paying for 5 nights of it anyway – but we would not have spent our time overlooking Waikiki Beach playing on the internet otherwise. Seems pretty clearly like a pure profit grab by the hotel with a whole bunch of items that are sunk cost to them – and not much value to the guests. It’s not a deterrent from staying at the hotel – but it’s a bit of an irritant and rubs me the wrong way as a guest. I guess we’ll try – warily, mind you – the Moana Surfrider again – but not if our only option is being consigned to the ‘historic’ Banyan Wing again. It’s a question of two different vacations – really painful versus living the dream – and it’s not worth the flights and expense to be disappointed. So as in many things – buyer beware! – make sure you know where in the hotel you’re staying, and you should be fine! January 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Beachfront location If you are looking for a wonderful hotel in a central location, then look no further than the Moana Surfrider on Waikki Beach. I stayed here over the holidays with my husband and two sons. The staff at this hotel are excellent and the hotel itself is immaculate. Ten out of ten for cleanliness and friendly service. January 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by There are better Waikiki Hotels Hotel Management said their policy does not include the bed type you reserved (even if directly with their website). The rooms are penetrated by noise from the bar, the music, the midnight cleaning so do not expect a relaxing beach resort. January 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Christmas stay Loved the breakfast buffet every morning. I would suggest that everyone do this! Beautiful hotel! January 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our Favorite Waikiki Hotel without question! The Moana Surfrider has the unique charm and architectural intrigue you might expect from the iconic First Lady of Waikiki, but the staff really make this property shine. Maitre D's and Bellman that have worked there for 30+ years truly love their jobs and care about their guests. The restaurant is outstanding, the beach amenities are perfect and the value for the Resort Fee is more than fair. The only two negatives are that the bathroom is a bit small in the heritage building- but that is to be expected. The greatest drawback quite frankly are the other guests who seem to have an incredible sense of entitlement. The complaining I heard about having to wait for a table at breakfast during peak times, or the lack of chairs at the pool during Christmas vacation was outrageous and embarrassing. The staff at this property are sincere, helpful and deserve a medal for dealing with their impatient and rude customers! January 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location, nice hotel Was disappointed that despite booking 6 months in advance our request for a balcony was not accommodated. Also we stayed here on our honeymoon, no rose petals on the bed or wine etc to congratulate us and thank us for choosing to have our honeymoon there. I thought that gesture was standard in most luxury hotels? I guess not. The room was small and very basic but the bed comfort and shower was wonderful. No bottle opener or anything in the room besides 2 glasses. A couple of times our room was not cleaned that well but it was peak period so we overlooked this. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would go back there. The location cannot be beaten. January 1, 2013
  • 2015-08-31T09:55:17.944-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-19, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_827, tr_827
  • loc_en_US, sid_374, prod, sort_default
<<prev 17 18 19 20 21 ... 29 next>>