Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach

  • 2365 Kalakaua Avenue
  • Honolulu,
  • Hawaii
  • 96815
  • États-Unis
  • Carte

Chambres et tarifs

Fermer
  • Pour des séjours de plus de 90 jours, veuillez appeler le +(1) 866 539 3446.
  • Vous pouvez réserver un séjour uniquement jusqu'à 550 jours à l'avance.
  • Veuillez vérifier les dates.
1 chambre 1 chambres , 1 adulte 1 adultes , 1 enfant 0 enfants
Rated 4 out of 5 by 811 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Accomodations vs Restaurants / Service Location is great. Hotel and room are great, although my friend indicated his room was in need of an update, and was very small (cramped 2 twin bed room). Why I actually decided to write a review (not like me) is because of my experience at the restaurants. The food was very mediocre (and very pricey) and the service was absolutely horrible. I ordered a $50 filet and it came out cold about 10 minutes before the rest of my parties entrees. I sent it back to be reheated... they gave me a new one, which came back mooing rare (I ordered medium rare). All food was served luke warm... Dinner took 2-3 hours (not because we were enjoying it). Can't say one good thing about the restaurants. (tried them both) January 12, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Old hotel Window was broken which I had to wait over 24hrs to get fixed. Staff refused to move me to another room without paying over $100 more. January 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not Satisfied I want to thank the Frnt Desk team for being good with good reception. People in the breakfast area who takes order was not good. They are mean. Rooms are not big enough for a family of 4. January 11, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel has low standards Room 3213. I'll never forget it. The door looks like it hasn't been painted in 10 years (this was my first impression). The chair had tears in it and was stained and appeared dirty. I put towels on it before sitting on it. The door lock made funny clicking noises during the middle of the night...i found out the next day that the battery was supposedly low when I could not get back into my room. They called the locksmith to repair it. I pointed out all of the above to the desk, but nothing was done to clean up the room. The next day, i could not get in my room again. Again they had to call the locksmith. Finally, i was given a new room. I had a 10 day vacation scheduled and I cancelled the second 5 days. This wasn't relaxing or fun. January 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bliss on Waikiki beach Pool was small but had an oceanfront location which cannot be beat. Beach: great for kids and adults alike, although there was not a lot of shade. Westin had a private beach area where shade could be found in the afternoon Rooms: Huge balcony with tremendous ocean view thanks to SPG gold upgrade! Service: impeccable. True Westin quality Location: best spot to enjoy the lively Waikiki area. January 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location Hotel is on a great spot on Waikiki.Rooms vary on which building you're at so can be tricky. January 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Property but bad continental breakfast Overall a great hotel with great staff, but we had obtained complimentary continental breakfasts as a Starwood Preferred Platinum member, but these were very subpar with unfresh fruit and mediocre service. Would have preferred full breakfast at a reduced rate. January 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Slightly Disappointed My expectations of my stay at the Moana Surfrider were somewhat disappointing for a SPG property. Not sure why there are an exorbitance amount of fees above the daily fees already charged for things like a beach chair. Especially when the resort reserves the "free" ones at the pool so that there are none available. The other issue was noise from street at night. Need to put soundproof windows in. January 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Buyer Beware: Even the Moana Surfrider has its warts After several trips to the Moana Surfrider and excellent stays, we were very surprised and disappointed to have had a quite different experience on our last stay over the holidays. We were given a room in the 'historic' Banyan Wing which, one could believe, was very close to the original condition when the hotel was built in 1901. Sure, there was a Heavenly Bed and the Westin towels (no room for a Heavenly Shower, though), but this room was severely cramped, the shower was very tight and things were in general very worn (the window in the bathroom, an ancient sash window with chain(!) mechanism to make them open and close, would not even close all the way!). The walls were very thin, and on several occasions we clearly heard the person in the neighboring room having a great time talking to his smart phone and hearing it talk back to him – nice at 2:00 am! Each day we inquired at the desk for a room change, but owing to the busy season, shortage of rooms in our ‘category’, and (I believe) the fact that we were using a lot of points for our stay, the staff – who I must say remained very supportive and friendly and helpful throughout – were unable to do anything for us until the last 2 days of our stay. They moved us to a spectacular room in the Tower Wing at no extra charge – what a difference this makes to an overall stay. We went from dreading coming back to our ‘cell’ to sleep each night, to feeling like we were having the experience we had expected all along at this hotel (and the kind of experience we had had on 3 previous stays). Hey – we like the history and the location of the Moana Surfrider, it’s one of the best attractions of this hotel and the charm of ‘old Hawaii’. But, whether you’re shelling out $400+ or 16,000 point per night, you expect more in comfort than the ‘innovations’ Buster Crabbe and Johnny Weismuller experienced in 1927. A hotel of this price category and carrying the Westin name can’t have rooms like this and not expect some disappointed guests when they are unlucky enough to draw these rooms for their stay. Unsurprisingly, as the front desk finally was able to move us into the Tower Wing, the staff member mentioned to me archly “Wow, sir, you are REALLY going to like moving to THIS room…” Yes, they all seem to know a lemon for what it is. (And he was right – we loved the new room!) One last thing: the Resort Charge of $25 was an unwelcome surprise for us checking in. This seems to be a grouping of a number of ‘throw-in’ services for the hotel or things they have had a hard time selling to their guests, that they’ve decided to bundle into 1 mandatory fee for everyone, claiming that guest feedback has indicated that this would be a ‘great value’. Maybe – but for us, we literally did not use anything on the list – after several discussions where I was told firmly that the fee would not be waived, we did use wifi internet in the room for the heck of it, since we were paying for 5 nights of it anyway – but we would not have spent our time overlooking Waikiki Beach playing on the internet otherwise. Seems pretty clearly like a pure profit grab by the hotel with a whole bunch of items that are sunk cost to them – and not much value to the guests. It’s not a deterrent from staying at the hotel – but it’s a bit of an irritant and rubs me the wrong way as a guest. I guess we’ll try – warily, mind you – the Moana Surfrider again – but not if our only option is being consigned to the ‘historic’ Banyan Wing again. It’s a question of two different vacations – really painful versus living the dream – and it’s not worth the flights and expense to be disappointed. So as in many things – buyer beware! – make sure you know where in the hotel you’re staying, and you should be fine! January 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Beachfront location If you are looking for a wonderful hotel in a central location, then look no further than the Moana Surfrider on Waikki Beach. I stayed here over the holidays with my husband and two sons. The staff at this hotel are excellent and the hotel itself is immaculate. Ten out of ten for cleanliness and friendly service. January 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by There are better Waikiki Hotels Hotel Management said their policy does not include the bed type you reserved (even if directly with their website). The rooms are penetrated by noise from the bar, the music, the midnight cleaning so do not expect a relaxing beach resort. January 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Christmas stay Loved the breakfast buffet every morning. I would suggest that everyone do this! Beautiful hotel! January 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our Favorite Waikiki Hotel without question! The Moana Surfrider has the unique charm and architectural intrigue you might expect from the iconic First Lady of Waikiki, but the staff really make this property shine. Maitre D's and Bellman that have worked there for 30+ years truly love their jobs and care about their guests. The restaurant is outstanding, the beach amenities are perfect and the value for the Resort Fee is more than fair. The only two negatives are that the bathroom is a bit small in the heritage building- but that is to be expected. The greatest drawback quite frankly are the other guests who seem to have an incredible sense of entitlement. The complaining I heard about having to wait for a table at breakfast during peak times, or the lack of chairs at the pool during Christmas vacation was outrageous and embarrassing. The staff at this property are sincere, helpful and deserve a medal for dealing with their impatient and rude customers! January 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location, nice hotel Was disappointed that despite booking 6 months in advance our request for a balcony was not accommodated. Also we stayed here on our honeymoon, no rose petals on the bed or wine etc to congratulate us and thank us for choosing to have our honeymoon there. I thought that gesture was standard in most luxury hotels? I guess not. The room was small and very basic but the bed comfort and shower was wonderful. No bottle opener or anything in the room besides 2 glasses. A couple of times our room was not cleaned that well but it was peak period so we overlooked this. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would go back there. The location cannot be beaten. January 1, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Overall, Disappointed We have immediate family who reside Oahu and we therefore visit Honolulu regularly. The Moana Surfrider is an iconic hotel that we have been itching to stay at for many years, and so we jumped at the chance to stay at the Moana to "get away" during the tail end of our honeymoon, and checked out fairly disappointed. The majority of our complaints have little to do with the hotel's age, as we do fully appreciate the history and charm associated with the Moana - that's one of it's biggest draws. The room is noisy - we can hear vacuuming in the halls in the morning, kids running through the halls through the night, people on the other side of the wall. These elements are potentially excusable due to the hotel's age and lack of adequate soundproofing. However, noise from inside the room - namely the ancient mini-fridge and it's compressor - was not. We were forced to unplug it to be able to get to sleep. We stayed in a "vibrant Waikiki city view room" - which would have likely been a great view had the windows been washed. We are not picky or overly clean people, but that my camera was able to focus on the grime instead of the view outside indicates that there was a layer dark enough to capture. I have images, if requested. They made the interior of the room feel dirty (which it wasn't - we closed the blinds to remedy this). The valet parking - while convenient when pulling in, there were 2 occasions where we were late for a reservation for family meals because it took so long to retrieve our car. We understood that the parking lot was across the street; we were told 15-20 minutes of advance notice would suffice, and therefore budgeted accordingly. However, on the first late occasion, valet just about half an hour, and on the second, nearly 40 minutes to retrieve. Had we known it would take so long, we would most certainly would have notified the attendants sooner so as to be on time. (For reference, we called at 3:15 to make a reservation near the Aloha Tower at 4pm - the car did not appear until 3:55). The beautiful banyan courtyard - smelled of stale spilled beer and alcohol. We wanted to spend the better part of the late night under the banyan listening to the great live music, but found the smell nauseating, so we left after one round of drinks and didn't return for the remainder of our stay, which is such a pity because the scenery is simply gorgeous. Lastly, we were never asked at the end of our stay, how it was. Upon first walking up to the hotel and walking through the beautiful lobby, we were able to feel the old world opulence. However, much of it was spoiled by the time we checked out for the reasons mentioned above. We had truly been hoping to make staying at the Moana a regular experience, but now hesitate to do so again until we hear that these problems are rectified. Again, some of the problems can be chalked up to the hotel's age - which are fine. But others are inexcusable since they can be so easily remedied (especially considering the Moana's class and expense), and severely impacted our ability to have a restful and satisfying end to our otherwise amazing honeymoon. While we wholeheartedly loved experiences staying at other Westin properties, I think we would not recommend staying at the Moana for the reasons listed above. December 31, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by History and location loved everything about the stay- location is great- plantation style architecture is history in itslef. Staff was attentive and polite- only issue we experienced was with onsited dining. Menu did not live up to expectation- catch of the day was gone for a 6:30 seating- plate preperation on two ocaasions were unfortunate surprises. Staff was excellent in how everyting was handled however. thanks for a great stay! December 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding family vacation This was our first time in Hawaii and I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Our suite surpassed the expectation and there was enough room for everyone to spread out and enjoy. The roll away bed was even heavenly comfortable. December 31, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed The pool area was very small for the number of guest using the facilities. Apparently the hotel has a policy of reserving pool chairs for returning guest who have stayed more than 10 times at this property. This meant that no one else can ever have a chair. If I knew this before, I would not have booked this hotel. Also, guest from the other Starwood properties used the fitness center and other hotel amenities, maybe I should have booked a cheaper Starwood property and still used the facilities of the Moana Surfrider like they did. December 30, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Crowded and Cramped The smallest room I've ever stayed in in the US and the most over subscribed hotel facilities I've ever experienced. Really turned off by: 1) the queen bed I received even if my reservation was for a king bed. 2) noisy room (from pool, band, bar, all-night cleaning of pool/cafe area, business offices in corridor, etc.) 3) hordes of people throughout the public spaces of the hotel. 4) people that throw a towel on pool chairs to "reserve" them early in the morning, then disappear for hours. Overall feeling this hotel is doesn't care about it's customers. December 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by best beach location hotel continues to exceed high expections. best beach front location December 28, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed I had wedding at Moana Surfrider. And on the day of my checked out, I left my wedding cake top in my room. I found that I forgot it on the way to the airport. So called the front desk and asked the lady to look for it. We checked out at 10:45 or so and called there around 12:00. The lady said to call me back but no call back. So i called again but i was on hold for long time and no one pick up my phone. Once I arrived home in LA after 5 hours flight and still no message. So called the hotel to remind. However she was gone for a day and they don't know who took care of the call and No information in my profile. I stayed at their suite room with the price of $800x 3 nights. I should be deserved better service than this. If she could have checked, my wedding cake top which I only have once in my life could be saved. I am soooo sad after my wedding at Moana Surfrider. December 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Our New Favorite Waikiki Hotel Can't beat the beautiful setting. The staff was gracious, especially the front desk staff. Breakfast room service was terrific. Beach House restaurant an exceptional experience. Carpet was badly stained in our room. Guest room looked like it needed sprucing up. What's with all those trash receptacles in public areas? They are a distraction to beautiful architecture and decor. December 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional staff We were impressed by the manner in which every member of the staff treated us with such kindness and professionalism. Mahalo nui loa. December 22, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lovely historic hotel The hotel location is perfect and the lobby itself is fabulous, and the banyan tree lanai picturesque. That having been said the Spg recognition was very poor, but that seems to be the case at most Starwood hotels. I would still heartily recommend it. December 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by very good It was very good. Thank you. December 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A beautiful hotel This hotel is fantastic. It has great facilities, a wonderful restaurant, and is perfectly positioned in Waikiki. The beach is lovely, the pool also very clean and nice to swim in. The staff are all friendly and the service is wonderful. We have stayed here twice and thoroughly enjoyed it both times. We will definitely come back again. December 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great service Everyone here was so nice and accomidating. December 16, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room smaller than expected. Got a small room with very little view from windows and directly across from house-keeping storage closet. Hotel made adjustmens for this issue. December 15, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poor Service We had partial ocean view room, with complimentary breakfast. The breakfast service ranges from good to very poor. It made us feel very uncomfortable at times. This had impact on our vacation over time. December 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great service The staff here are great, chambermaid knew my husband was ill, brought him oranges and extra water, restaurant staff very attentive, bellman helped weigh my luggage so I didn't have a problem at airport, provided extra help with it because my husband was not able to, waited with us for shuttle,.. warm welcome on arrival, high service quotient makes you feel a valued guest.. December 15, 2012
  • 2015-07-01T13:21:05.417-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-19, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_811, tr_811
  • loc_en_US, sid_374, prod, sort_default
<<prev 17 18 19 20 21 ... 28 next>>