The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

  • 909 North Michigan Avenue
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60611
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 691 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Warm oasis in freezing Chicago Had it not been so incredibly cold during my stay, I am sure I would have enjoyed my stay here even more. I tried to walk around the area but due to single-digit temperatures and wind, it was of short duration. I was in Chicago to attend opera so you go when it's onstage despite the calendar. I had a lovely lunch in The Grill on the Alley and appreciated the concierge service that arranged for my ride to O'Hare to return to my home. February 25, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Crowded but Nice We stayed here for one night beacause my wife was having a procedure done at a downtown medical practice. It was Valentines Day weekend and the hotel was extremely busy and crowded. The lobby isn't the best layout, so it was a bit chaotic trying to check in with traffic running through the check-in area. The staff was very helpful and friendly and the room was nice. You can see that the hotel is still updating (I assume that it has not been a Westin for too long). They do not have an SPG members lounge but they said they are working on that, but there appear to be many SPG Member floors. This hotel is in a great location for shopping, dining and seeing downtown. Very convenient for that. Parking is expensive, though, if you are driving. Overall its a nice Westin, just doesn't have all of the amenities. February 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel is tired While the hotel is in a great location, the facilities are a little tired. The Westin rooms need a make over. February 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Attentive Staff I checked in on Sunday, February 1, 2015, the day of the Blizzard Linus. I had driven through it and arrived feeling completely exhausted and shaken. Jasmine at the front desk was very kind, up graded my room and got me free wi-fi. I was there for the Grad School Acting auditions and nervous and the next day found that Jasmine had had Hot Chocolate and Cookies sent to my room. These little touches just made my stay really wonderful. The whole staff was very friendly and helpful, but Jasmine, I felt, was really looking out for me. February 7, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Location was great My family spent the weekend in Chicago and wanted a hotel close to certain stores so we booked this hotel. While the location was great we were not impressed with the hotel. While waiting to check in other guests were helped before us even though we had been waiting first. When we got to our room the blind was pulled down and had something all over it. My husband then noticed blood on the bathroom wall and bloody fingerprints on the back of the door. He addressed this with staff and a cleaning manager was sent up. Said they would do their best with the towel they brought but that they would probably need a brush to scrub it. They did not bother to get one. Room just did not feel clean and expected more from this hotel. To end the experience we went to get our car from valet and gave them our ticket and after 10 minutes of waiting they came over and asked us what kind of car we had. Not sure that I would give this hotel another chance. February 3, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Business Hotel good place and good location for shopping February 1, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by 2 Star Hotel at a 5 star address One would think that having a Westin situated ON Michigan Avenue within the Magnificent Mile area would assure a minimum of a 3 star hotel. No. This Westin was nothing at all as anticipated. The front desk staff does not engage, but merely mans their post. The lackluster entry and sitting area is filled with people who are just there to warm up and then move on to their next destination. The hallway, which is all that is left to see on the way to your room, is old, warn out and disappointing. Enter the room and you are adorned by bright fluorescent ceiling lamps that make you feel most unwelcome and like you are visiting a cheap low class hourly joint in some hole in the city. The room is warn, carpet old and dark, furnishings old and warn and out of date. And our room was a suite. OMG. The only newly renovated area of the entire suite is the bathroom, a place were only 1% of your time in the room is spent. Why bother to update a bath when the remainder of the suite is not? VERY DISAPPOINTED to say the least. This property clearly does not meet the Westin standard, nor does it meet the amount of stars that it is rated with among the SPG system. The only positives: Situated on Michigan Avenue within the Magnificent Mile. An adjacent eatery. Pricy but delicious. January 27, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Going downhill fast... This used to be one of my favorite hotels with great service and beautiful rooms. Now they have put televisions in front of the registration desk because they know it will be a long wait. It has a bit of a train station feel with many transient guest who take advantage of the $99 / night and other discounted rates. The Westin Chicago Michigan Avenue had been one of my favorite hotels but now service, cleanliness and luxury has been replaced with "good enough" and "get in line". Disappointed this hotel is pandering for reservations and has lost touch with its potential. Very disappointed. January 19, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location, average hotel For how much you pay, I really think breakfast should be included.. I've paid less in downtown Chicago for similar hotels and received more amenities. I was grossed out by hair in the tub and on the floor of my bathroom, as well as how filthy the trash can was in the bathroom. I had asked for extra pillows and a fridge in the room, I thought we got the fridge but read it and it was not for anything more than non-dairy beverages. So there was no point in my requests being made prior to our arrival when they weren't addressed. The room wasn't spectacular but the location can't be beat. January 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great proximity Spent the night after an American Girl date with my granddaughter. The accommodations were fine with the exception of the room windows. We were to have a Magnificent Mile view but the windows were so poor there was thick ice and frost on the inside hence no view possible and very cold. January 1, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very average The hotel has a great location which is why I'm considering this stay average. We checked in around 2:30 - and only one of the two rooms were ready- which was no problem and Jasmine at the front desk was very sweet and friendly while checking us in. We explained we were celebrating a belated anniversary and my husbands 30th bday, and asked if an upgrade was available- we were told yes and that our room would be upgraded to a bigger room on a preferred floor. My husband and I got married at a Westin resort so it's become a tradition to travel to a new Westin yearly- we typically feel very special each time we check in. This experience wasn't as special. Our room was standard - nothing special and adjoined to the room next door. At every other starwoods property we've checked into on a special occasion ( honeymoon, anniversary, etc) we've always been greeted by a little surprise in our room- nothing this time. We were also dissapointed that the 9th floor was considered to be a preferred floor with a room that overlooked the wall of the building next door. We usually love celebrating at Westins for sentimental reasons - however aren't typically impressed by the way they treat spg members -overall we've been treated much better at le merieden and spg boutique hotels ... This is just not my favorite hotel if you're looking for a romantic weekend. Next time we will try a different starwoods property January 1, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great Rate But That Is It Worst Starwood experience yet. I have stayed at this hotel before and been very happy with it so on a recent trip decided based on the great rate to stay again. I checked in and I was put on a "preferred floor." Previously I had stayed in the tower and was put in the older part of the hotel. The rooms seemed old and dirty. The room was incredibly stuffy even though I had turned the AC down to 65. The decor in the old rooms is just that...old. As soon as I unpacked I tried to turn my TV on but it did not work. I called and to the staff's credit they did fix the situation quickly. The biggest issue with the room however, is the noise. The walls are paper thin and I could hear EVERY word coming from next door. Also, the doors slam very loud. Worst night of sleep I've ever had at a hotel. I will not be staying at this hotel again for fear of the same experience. December 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excelent I really enjoyed the stay at Westin, the room was clean, It has the basic and more amenities in room, the rooms are spacious, and Michigan St View is great. The best of the hotel it is the price and location, it is located at the end of the Michigan Ave, close to a lot mall and brand stores, where also there is a lot of food to do, also really close to the beach. Exceed my expectation. December 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by No Frills Westin with a Premier Location I haven’t been to the Westin Michigan Avenue in a very long time and I stayed here twice in December and once in each section of the hotel (Main Building and Tower). For a Westin with a Premier location in the city, this hotel really disappoints all around. Let me start by saying this is a perfectly fine, average, run-of-the mill Westin property. The rooms are clean, furniture is dated but nothing that will have you running out the door. It’s just disappointing especially as a Platinum SPG member. It feels more like a budget Westin than a showpiece of the SPG hotels in Chicago. Check in and check out lines are very long and even though there is a dedicated SPG Gold/Platinum check in desk, it’s not enforced and you will have to wait in line with everyone else. It’s a big show with no follow through here. I did try to avoid the line at 9am when checking out and use the video check out, but at 9am my TV responded with “Video check out is not available at this time.” So down to the desk I went and waited in line with 8 people at 9AM and only 1 person at the desk. Insanity! Again, this shows no regard for their guests let alone anyone with status. The hotel has no “wow”. The hallways, décor (in both buildings of the hotel), room are bland and follow the tan/beige scheme and is very boring and uninspiring. Maybe the hotel is relying too much on its fantastic location to give you that WOW factor because this hotel is entirely boring. The carpeting in the tower floor I was on did look new and actually have a pattern but not the carpet in the main building. In the main building I did have a large corner room overlooking Michigan Ave and up Lake Shore Drive. The view was impressive and I did enjoy that. I heard from the front desk staff that this hotel will be undergoing a refresh in 2015 and I can only hope they realize they can be a fantastic premier hotel on Michigan Ave and compete with all the surrounding hotels if they wanted to be. This Westin doesn’t offer robes in rooms (neither room had one), no Club Lounge, no Wow factor or thought for the décor, and no perks for SPG members. Right now the rates are the only thing going for this hotel especially with the prime location. I think the marketplace realizes that there are MANY other options here with much more of everything. Even the other SPG properties down the street offer clubs, robes, etc…just the small details even… that this property ignores. If you need a reasonably priced hotel on Michigan Ave but have no SPG status or will be out exploring the city and don’t care about details, décor or the warm and fuzzy feelings from the hotel you are staying at, this is the hotel for you! December 24, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great Location – Average Rooms You can beat the location of the hotel right on Michigan Ave with all the shopping just steps away from the entrance. However, the hotel rooms are definitely dated and worn. The room also had the absolute smallest closet I have ever seen in a hotel room. The bathroom was large enough and had plenty of counter space which was a bonus, but again, the décor was old. The other issue was the lack of staff at the front desk and lack of SPG designated check in. There was a counter for SPG check in but it was not staffed. The front desk person acknowledged my status but no mention of an upgrade. It doesn’t seem like they value their SPG loyal members. December 22, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Room wasn't ready until 5:30pm/ vacuuming at 10:30pm I am a Gold Member with 3 stays away from being Platinum. I don't normally complain about these things, but this weekend was a special shopping trip I had planned for my wife. 2 Cons -couldn't check in until 5:30 pm -house keeping decided to vacuum the hallway floor at 10:30 pm December 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Experience!!! I am a very frequent traveler (85+ nights/year at Starwood properties around the U.S. and abroad). This is the second time I've stayed at this property. On 12/4/14, I was hosting some very important business clients. Stephen Kacmzarek and the rest of the Westin Michigan Avenue staff went above-and-beyond expectations to provide an outstanding experience including rooms with incredible views and outstanding customer service. The hotel is in a phenomenal location. I can't recommend it enough! December 5, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by this hotel has gone down Very poor service. No bellman present to help with luggage or other needs, newspaper not delivered to room each morning safe in room not functioning upon check in refrigerator filled with previous guest food heat did not work one night December 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good location but rooms seem dated I stayed at this property at a time that was probably the coldest week in Chicago so far this season. I could feel the cold from the window (not sure if there was a draft or if it was just so extremely cold) and kept the curtains shut the entire stay. That's fine, but the thermostat had to be adjusted to stay on at 76 the entire time to keep the room warm enough for me to be very comfortable. I should have called someone about this but didn't want to deal with it. I got the make a green choice food/drink vouchers and planned on using them on my last day, only to find that no one knew where I could even use it. I couldn't use it at the Grill or at the shop near the elevators (where I felt so embarrassed I ended up paying for the overpriced granola bars out of pocket). I even asked the front desk and she seemed surprised that the shop didn't take it. She didn't seem to know who took it. I later overheard someone saying that there was a starbucks somewhere that accepts it -- too late. The front desk was very nice, though. And the property's location is great if you're looking to do some shopping. The property does feel a little bit dated compared to other Westins I've stayed in (new york area) but it could have just been my room. Next time I think I'll try the other Westin or the W as I do think that spg generally runs a good program. November 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Stay I would like to thank you for making our stay at the Westin a most enjoyable one. Our daughters were a part of the Magnificent Mile parade, and the view from our room was perfect for us. Also, our little Maltese, Lily, was well-received, too. She gives her stay to all other pups a five paw review! Again, thanks for your hospitality! Judy and Steve November 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nov 2-5 2014 Michigan Ave Westin Great as always. I've been retruning to the Westin Michigan Avenue for many years to attend th ePACK Expo event. Particularly impressed with quiet room on 14th floor and the help of all staff I dealt with November 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Stay! Whenever I travel to Chicago, I always try to stay at a hotel that is close to phenomenal restaurants, unique stores, and exciting nightlife. The Westin Michigan Avenue perfectly fits the bill! Arriving at the Westin, I was welcomed by a valet attendant in the valet parking lot (located about 500 feet from the main entrance of the hotel). The valet stated that parking is $67 per night (typical charge for downtown Chicago hotels) with unlimited in and out privileges. The valet instructed me to conveniently text the valet ticket number whenever I need my car and they will retrieve my vehicle for me. The valet asked if I required luggage assistance, but I declined because I was travelling light. Upon entering the lobby, I noticed a small gift shop and a Starbucks kiosk to my immediate right. The lobby was nicely appointed with contemporary minimalist style furnishings and had the air infused with the Westin's signature white tea scent, which I find very pleasant. I was warmly greeted by Westin front desk associate Shaun. He acknowledged my Starwood Preferred Guest (SPG) Platinum status and asked what amenity I would like for my SPG Platinum status gift. Shaun stated that the hotel will be undergoing a refresh in 2015, and he inquired if I would like to enjoy their "model" room for my stay. Shaun explained that their model room (#2641) is a mock-up of how all of the rooms will look after their refresh is completed in 2015. I took Shaun up on his generous offer, and let me tell you, the "model" room was spectacular! Entering the room, I noticed that it was well-lit and appointed in modern decor. And yes, the Westin's infamous "Heavenly Bed" remains! If you've never had the opportunity to sleep in a Westin "Heavenly Bed", you are in for a treat and a great night's sleep. The room also had two complimentary bottles of water and complimentary Starbucks coffee. The view from the room #2641 is outstanding! The constant flow of the traffic on Lakeshore Drive was juxtaposed with the calmness of the beach and Lake Michigan. The bathroom was spacious, well-lit, and was appointed with Westin's white tea soaps and toiletries. I did not have a chance to enjoy the Westin's restaurant, but a couple in the elevator were raving about the delicious dinner they had just enjoyed there. That will be on my "to-do" list next time. Checking-out of the hotel was a breeze. I was concerned that there would be a long wait for my car due to the number of people departing the hotel, but the valet attendants really know their job and kept the vehicles moving. Overall, the Westin Michigan Avenue has outstanding, professional employees who made sure that my stay exceeded my expectations! You can tell that the employees love their jobs. They all deserve kudos and a well-done pat on the back! I am looking forward to returning to the Westin Michigan Avenue this December. November 16, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice Hotel but the room left something to be desired The over all hotel was nice and the room was confortable. For the price I paid, I expected more. November 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thank you! Thank you, WMA, for a great stay. Maureen at the desk was extremely accommodating and truly represented the Westin brand. November 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very Disappointed As an SPG Gold Elite member, I expected a better room than the room we were given. We were given an adjoining room that had absolutely no privacy. We could hear everything that was being said and all the goings on in the next room. Needless to say it was impossible to get a good nights rest. You'd think the hotel would assign these rooms to families only, not singles or couples traveling without children. October 13, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by No Plat Love No love aside from the basic platinum amenities. No upgrades and in fact was basically a downgrade. This property had many, many preferred guest floors (8-12) yet I was not on one of them and put in a basic room in need of a remodel on a floor in need of the same. Upon arrival there was not an attendant to valet with or direct me. Second day I was there I waited 20+ minutes for my car from Valet, after 15 mins I asked where it was and the attendant advised me they did not have my car in queue and the ticket number I called them with prior could not be found. No lounge and the continental here was at their coffee kiosk, very basic and limited. Hope you don't want a cocktail after midnight, bar closes early and is not actually owned by the hotel... October 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Helpful Staff I had a very positive experience with the staff. The concierge (I am sorry I do not remember her name!) was very helpful recommending lounges - my friends and I went to three of the six she suggested and they were all great! (Thank you!) I went shopping at Macy's but did not have time to take my bags all the way up to the room, the front desk quickly took care of handling the bags for me. (Thank you!) The next morning I had to leave at 5am, the front door attendant quickly got me a cab and even escorted me out with an umbrella for me so I would not get wet. (Thank you!) I am sorry I do not remember any names - but great staff all around :) October 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Would not stay again I stayed while attending a conference in the hotel in late September. The public areas were quite nice, though nothing special but the bedrooms were poor. I was upgraded to the top floor as a high level SPG member to what was supposedly one of the best rooms in the hotel and it was quite poor. Small, really drab decor, it looked like it had last been refurbished in the 1970s. The door of my room had clearly been forced - I could see the extremely bad paint job where it had been patched up at the bolt. But worst of all was the concierge desk hours - it closed at 6 (or maybe 6.30) the night I was there. That's not much help for someone looking for a restaurant recommendation for dinner! Overall my experience was poor and I would not stay again. October 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Such a lovely room The room was quite lovely, spacious, clean and very well-laid out. I enjoyed coming "home" each day. October 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location Although the location was perfect for our weekend, the room was average at best! The cleanliness of the room needed some improvement. The bed was hard and the pillows were soft. The room was pretty small as well. I realize you can't please everyone. On check out day, I waited 15 minutes for an elevator that wasn't packed. There were a couple of teams staying at the hotel as well, so I believe the staff was catering to their needs. September 28, 2014
  • 2015-04-24T19:12:59.338-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_691, tr_691
  • loc_en_US, sid_1030, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 24 next>>