The Westin Southfield Detroit

  • 1500 Town Center
  • Southfield,
  • Michigan
  • 48075
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with valid identification to reserve and check into a room.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 167 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has great features. We found the staff to be friendly within each department. The lobby was nicely decorated with tasteful and comfortable furnishings. The room was comfortable but the bed and linen were Wonderful! The workout center was nice and stocked well with towels and a water station. Although I didn't swim, the pool area was nice. Recommendation: More self parking spaces for handicap parking. There were only 3 spaces available which was discouraging for a facility of this size. The other front lot parking was reserved for valet only. Overall, this hotel was an enjoyable experience. November 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Consistent First Class Experience This was my third stay at this hotel. You hear it all the time, but it really is the people that make all the difference in making you feel at home. Every person I encountered, from front desk agent to bellman, to restaurant server, room attendant smiled and greeted me in a genuinely warm manner. Even the public area maintenance guy was friendly and happy to talk about what a great place this hotel is. This is my favorite hotel in Detroit. December 8, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Service is getting to relaxed, not good This was my fiancé and I favorite hotel to stay. We don't live far but quite often (a weekend a month) we would stay to getaway from the every day hustle and bustle. One thing I can always say is the bed is magnificent and front desk staff are very courteous, nice and helpful to the best of their abilities. One stay I cut my foot from left over glass in the room; they made this up to me by me paying half off another room another day, the next time +2, guests in the next room were extremely loud and smoking marijuana. Management got them to quiet down after another call, but the smoking continued, which reeked under the adjourning door to my room. After a hiatus from the Westin, I decided to give them another chance, the first day everything was great, decided to stay the exact next day and remembered the email I received from SPG about a complimentary 3rd night for staying two consecutive nights.. well with more money out my pocket I would've been able to stay, not to mention the toilet broke in the middle of the night. The engineer fixed it, supposedly, until the next time I used it, I noticed it didn't. By this time it was 4am and I didn't bother to call because I was tired of breaking my rest. This Southfield locations needs to get there act together...many people know I stay here often and always ask about my stay...don't want to bad mouth anybody, but I will be staying at the downtown location until this one gets back up to the standards I once knew and was a reason I stayed often! One more thing, I wasn't acknowledged for my spg register so I was suppose to be at the next spg level now, but that hasn't happened. October 21, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good corporate hotel - but needs upgrading I've stayed at this hotel before and it's always been nice. However, this time there were a number of issues that probably won't have me coming back. As a frequent traveler, having easy to access power sources is a must. The room had outlets in the lights on the desk and by the bed - but none of them worked. The rooms also had old food on the floor that I found under the desk while looking for an outlet to plug into on the wall behind the desk and dresser. The bathroom was definitely in need of updating with water stains all over the walls. The television was definitely dated and small in comparison to other Westin hotels - but that didn't matter as almost all of the major networks couldn't receive a signal. The wifi signal was decent though, so that is a plus. Finally, as a frequent traveler, I need a decent workout facility. All of the equipment was at least 10 or more years old. Overall, the hotel is a decent hotel - and I would stay again only because I'm an SPG member and seek out SPG hotels. However, if other options are available that are more recently upgraded, I might choose otherwise. October 26, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Quality at this location has really declined Maintenance of equipment (i.e.-TV in room, keycards and keycard readers) was unacceptable. TV in room wouldn't display local channels even after attended by engineering dept. and keycards frequently did not open hotel room door or operate the elevators. We were not the only guests experiencing this problem. Did not have enough front desk personnel to handle the check in procedure. Two personnel on duty during a Valentine's Day weekend promotion could not efficiently handle the number of guests. No coffee shop open on a promotional/holiday weekend? Really? I have stayed at this hotel frequently in the past but will re-think before returning. Definitely not up to Starwood or Westin standards. Very disappointed. February 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by UNBELIEVEABLY AWESOME!!!! We are from a very rural area of western Mi. We were in the Southfield area visiting a local medical establishment for my wife's health. We had made our reservation at the Westin online based on other reviews so we really weren't sure of what to expect. After a long and very dissapointing day of medical disappointments we were ready to relax and unwind. When we arrived at the Westin we couldn't believe our eyes! Everything about our stay was AWESOME!! THE ROOM, THE SERVICE, THE BED, THE FOOD, EVERYTHING!! It doesn't get any better than this! Highly recommended. November 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Catering Staff I attended the Popp-McNett Wedding on 2-22-14; the reception was held at this hotel. The catering staff was phenomenal. The waiter at our table, Adrian, was friendly and responded promptly to all our requests. The meal was delicious. I felt very cared for. Kathleen is another exceptional catering staff member. Later in the evening she noticed I was hungry and she brought me some snacks. I truly appreciated that act of service and kindness. Also, Bruce the bartender did a great job keeping up with a very demanding crowd. The catering staff was wonderful! February 24, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Mr. Y There were no sheets available in our room for the sofa bed. When we requested them from the housekeeper the next morning, we returned to find our room NOT cleaned. When we went to the front desk at 1:30 am, we were told nothing could be done because we booked through a third party. Just wanted you to know as we were there for a funeral for my father in law. We were exhausted and found very little comfort staying at your hotel. Would we recommend this hotel to anyone, NOT A CHANCE... We frequently come to Michigan and had stayed there not too long ago. The good news there are several new hotels nearby that we will try on our next visit. June 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Stay As always my stay was wonderful. I absolutely Loved my room!!!!! There was only one flaw, but nothing major. The sink and tub did not drain as they should, they flooded as we used them. But the Pure room is the greatest room of my stay and I wish I could always get one of those rooms. I recommend this hotel to others for the staff!!!! December 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best smelling hotel in America First impressions are everything, when you walk through the doors of this particular hotel you are instantly greeted by the most awesome fragrance. I've stayed in many hotels over the years for both business and leisure trips, but this one smelled the best. Research shows that humans perception of smell is connected to many different emotions and can even recall certain experiences. Every time I smell a fragrance similar to the one that the Westin Southfield uses, it recalls back the great times I had while visiting Detroit and staying at this hotel. The free parking and my spacious room always come to mind. I'm posting my comment 6 months after my visit because this hotel is still on the top of my mind. Not only did it smell good, but the room was nice and clean, very roomy, and I had a great view of the expressway and the surround area. They offer free parking, which is very rare these days. Even the gift shop staff was wonderful. Overall, I'd recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Detroit area. Southfield is only a short drive to downtown Detroit via M-10, only a few miles from the Detroit Zoo and the Somerset Mall and you don't have to worry about parking unless you want to valet, which is also reasonable. I definitely plan to visit Detroit again soon and look forward to staying at this hotel once again. If you are a consumer who read reviews like me in order to narrow down hotel choices, I hope that you find my review of this hotel helpful in your selection process. Thanks Westin Southfield for being Awesome! Keith September 4, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Dissapointing Stay The front desk staff was inadequate to completely absent(!) when I tried to check out. Room keys did not work properly (elevator, room). The bed-side telephone did not work when I received my wake-up call. In general, there was a lack of attention to detail. The physical room was nice but that attribute did not offset the rest of the issues. If this were a cheap bare-bones highway-side motel, the lack of service might have been permissible, but I definitely expected an upscale hotel to have better service than Motel 6 and it did not. November 21, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by smoking with no compensation Very disappointing stay. There was someone smoking in the room next to me. i called the front desk and they came up and confronted the person and i was told ultimately fined the person. Good for the hotel. no one followed up with me, asked if i wanted to change rooms since the smoke had come under the door into my room which was the reason i called in the first place. there was no consideration for the inconvenience i had experienced. i spoke with the clerk on my exit and subsequently got a VM from the manager very proud about the fact that the room next to me was fined for smokeing but never inquiring about my experience or follow up. very very disappointing. October 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Less than average Westin The check-in experience was fine. Staff was friendly. The Receptionist working on Sunday was not the friendliest in her service approach. Hallway seemed tired and dirty and I feel the same when I walked in to the room. Missing fridge in the room. Pool area was not clean either. Granted, possibly due to high usage... Entrance from the parking garage to the hotel also feel dirty and dingy. Dirty glass doors etc. Overall, the service/quality accommodation I received was more of a "Sheraton" standard instead of a "Westin" standard. March 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Service disappointed Comng to the North American International Auto Show for years we have sometimes stayed downtown and sometimes here. This hotel offers good value. Our long term experience with this hotel is probably one of the main influences in our family's preference for Starwood brand. The staff in the bar and in the restaurant (both) seemed indifferent this visit. I would really appreciate having the Wall Street Journal available on Saturdays even if I have to pay for it. I was surprised that staff did not try to locate where I could buy one. January 21, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by I experienced poor service When I arrived at the hotel at 5pm Sunday, I waited 20 min before a desk clerk came out to help the line of people building up at the front desk. My door key didn't work the first time. The bed mattress was ancient, very lumpy and uncomfortable. On my checkout morning, I called the front desk to confirm my checkout time was 12 noon. At 10:30 am, I got a call from a member of the staff who didn't identifier herself, but barked "What time you checkin' out?" And, when I replied at noon, she hung up on me. April 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the Westin Southfield Thank you for another great stay! I was welcomed by a very friendly staff member who welcomed me as a preferred member and give me an awesome upgrade. I had breakfast the next morning. The buffet is fantastic and offers a wide variety of choices. My omelet was delicious and was made by a very nice chef. The staff is always customer oriented and I enjoy staying at the Westin Southfield very much. August 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by average hotel stay nice facility. not much emphasis on earning my loyalty as a SPG member versus the other hotel chains which i use December 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Going downhill Stay here each time to the detroit area but no more. No recognition of platinum at check in. Extremely hot room was the main concern. Cannot control room temp this weekend and had zero sleep due to that. Uncalled for an a spg property. Only stay if you like your room a stuffy 75-80 degrees. Told staff and they said "sorry" and we'll send up engineer, waiting an hour for a no show. Terrible staffing coordination. Room had tons of dust as well. Not a good Westin anymore! April 13, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very disapointed I expected a little more from The Westin. My wife and I where definetly excited for our stay. Once we got there they gave us the wrong room, & on top of that placed us next to a "staff only' room where I guess they collect dishes from room service.So most of the time we heard loud dishes banging most of the night/morning not relaxing at all like i thought it would be after a hard week of work. It was like staying the night by a noisy kitchen very sad & very Disapointed. February 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfort Liked how everything thought out . Quality of staff like they have traveled and understand some of the issues . Very friendly staff could tell they wanted to please. September 22, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed........... Let me start by stating that I have stayed at this hotel numerous times and have always had a very enjoyable stay until this last visit. For Thanksgiving I reserved what I thought was a nice suite but upon further inspection this room was everything but nice. The largest offender was the couch that was in the room. It seemed to be covered with some VERY nefarious looking spots (ie; bodily fluids). At that point all I could think about was what may have taken place on this couch and how much I didn't want to sit on it. Then there was the torn wallpaper, dusty lamps and office chair, and human hair on the bathroom counter. Being a repeat guest as well as SPG member, you would think that someone would do something like inspect the room prior to allowing a SPG member to accept it. This room was not worth $50+ dollars! December 10, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Customer Service We have stayed here before and loved it so we decided to come back to celebrate our anniversary.Unfortunately,we didnt have the same experience.My disappointment isnt the bad experience in our room but more the way the staff handled it. I told the front desk about the problems when I checked out and she didnt seem to care. I also sent an email to the hotel regarding my stay and never got a response back. Almost makes you feel like they dont apprecialte their guests. November 6, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed Room A/C was not working. Hot water was not available the day of my departure. Paint peeling from ceilings, mold along ceiling in bathrooms. Panel protecting the Heat and A/C compressor was ripped from the wall and then simply propped over the large hole. For being a 4 start hotel, I have had much nicer and comfortable rooms at other hotel chains. Really disappointed in my stay. I will be seeking alternative hotels next time I'm traveling to Southfield. April 17, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel is sub par for a Westin This Westin is not up to par. Slow response time to requests - room service, calls to front desk regarding issues, etc. I've been staying here 3 nights a week for the past 12 weeks and inevitably ABC (the TV station) does not work in my hotel room - the front desk always seems surprised by this complaint. Internet is extremely slow depending on what room you are in. Typically, only 1 of the 4 elevators is in operation and wait time is excessive. January 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a recomendable Westin The Westin hotel brand is my favourite and I have stayed in many. This Hotel is not worthey to be called Westin. My first room carpets were dirty, the heating was stuck on 88F and couldn't be adjusted. The room phone didn't work so I couldn't reach the reception and worst of all my bedsheets were dirty. The second room was better but not up to Westin standards. The hotel is tired, poorly staffed and needs a major facelift. January 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel, centrally located I stayed here with my son while on vacation. It's probably best described as a business hotel but we enjoyed its location while seeing different things in the Detroit metro area. Nothing was more than a 20 minute drive away. Extremely well kept, courteous staff, and the typical comfortable Westin guest room. August 12, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Jan 21-25 Issues: - Toilet flush mechanism broke to flood the bathroom...maintenance fixed (nice guy), but it broke again 3 days later and I fixed it - Signed up for green program on check in and didn't get my 500 point coupon...front desk (asian woman) couldn't comprehend how a 4 night stay should get 3 coupons (and I only received 2) - Gym was empty of towels and water glasses twice - Heater wasn't working properly January 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Several little things....add up! There were no bed linens for the pull out sofa. Why would these not be in the room already? I had a young child I was trying to put to sleep and it took 2 phone calls to the front desk and 20+ minutes to get sheets - and they didn't bring pillows! Front desk staff at check in wasn't very friendly and the pool was closed for renovation - one of the main reasons I chose this hotel! April 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice hotel Hotel had good amenities and very very nice, with great linens. Staff was very friendly. We had an issue with temperature in room, manager Julie went above and beyond to resolve issue and move our room. Her customer focus was very evident. I would come back because it is clear staff will make every effort to make stay comfortable. Food was very good and room was super quiet April 9, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Service Needs Improving I travel extensively and was excited about checking out the Westin Southfield. Unfortunately poor service diminshed the experience. The service at check-in was very weak, the restaurant was grossly understaffed, and the printer wasnt working in the Business Services room. Nice rooms but service was poor. Not what I'd expect from a Westin property. November 21, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>