The Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria

  • 5011 Westheimer at Post Oak
  • Houston,
  • Texas
  • 77056
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 368 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel overcharges your credit card This hotel put numerous holds on my credit card. This was never explained to me at check in, but, I was told that they forgot. I have stayed at this hotel several times and I stay here several times a year. I have never had a hold put on my card. I am not talking about a hold for the room charge here, but several other holds for other than the room accomodations. These holds amounted to over $220. The hotel staff apologized, but it will take 3 to 4 days to remove these holds. Also, the White Oak restaurant of this hotel is very expensive for what you get, small servings and not so good service. As a Starwood Preferred guest, I would hesitate to stay here again. August 2, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by 4th of July weekend..overall poor service Great location: however, customer focus is not present. Old decor, management non responsive to specific concerns. Offered credit, never received. Received a pot of brown colored water when requesting hot water for tea. Complimentary tea bags in room...old, stale and discolored. Maids clean toilets with towels that will be washed and used on ones face...will never stay at this hotel. they really need to step it up...poor quality overall not happy staying here... July 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Spacious rooms and convenient to Galleria We have stayed at this hotel many times and what brings us back are the spacious rooms and the connection to the Galleria. We have previously had good experiences, but this time the customer service was not good. Only after we complained did the customer service get better, and that was unfortunate that it took a complaint for the service to improve. We will not let that spoil our trip. Overall, this hotel is located on the ground floor of the Galleria so it is very convenient for access to the Galleria. In spite of being close to the Galleria, you cannot hear the noise the Galleria which is nice. The hotel lobby is located on the main entrance to the Galleria, but there is also a bottom level entrance as well. There are two parking options – either valet parking or self-parking. The self-parking is free, which is quite unusual in the Galleria area, and space was always available - even on the Thanksgiving holiday (the garage is the regulars shopping garage shared by all shoppers and there is an entrance to the mall and through this entrance there are elevators to take up to the hotel). The rooms were quite spacious and comfortable, and 4 people could easily fit in the room. There are amenities at the hotel and the one I tried was the gym. The gym was nice but the location was odd. I took the elevator to the bottom floor and this is where the mall entrance and the parking garage entrance is – the elevators are on one side of this corridor and the gym on the other side with the doors to the mall and garage in the middle. This means to go to the gym you have to cross the people going from the garage to the mall and vice versa --- an odd location. Once you get to the gym though, it is very nice and updated. I do have to say that all Starwood hotels have had very good and nice gyms. (Update: the gym is still the same, small but decent, but I learned this time that because this gym is small, guest of the Westin Oaks are able to use the bigger gym of the Westin Galleria which is located on the other side of the Galleria Mall) Overall, it was a nice and comfortable stay in a hotel that is very conveniently connected to the Galleria. July 5, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by not happy I booked and paid for a deluxe room with free breakfast and 500 SPG points per night.When I checked in , there was no deluxe room with two queen beds were available. I was given non deluxe room, my reservation changed to reflect only corner room with free breakfast. SPG points were not given to me, even though I paid for that deluxe room package with 500 pints per night. So be careful when you are checking in. Also I was moved to further lower level when AC broke down causing inconvenience. July 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Place I love this hotel. I had a great Time June 27, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Broken air condition Apparently the hotel was having electrical issues, which caused my room to be without air condition. I was on my 2nd day there, so I was unpacked and comfortable! Without any compensation they moved me from my room, which was a big inconvenience. It took 30 minutes to even get the keys! Overall I would not recommend any one stays here June 15, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Overall Poor Experience Even as a Platinum level traveler who booked 2 weeks in advance your request to be located away from elevators will not be honored. Rooms are noisy and need updated doors. Valets will change your radio to hip hop (not my preference) stations. Mentioned noise issues to staff and they failed to follow through with promises. DO NOT stay at this hotel. The only plus is the Galleria. March 28, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by If this hotel could live up to the location! This location is perfect for staying in the Galleria..but unfortunately that is where the praise ends. Tired and outdated rooms. Staff that needs some serious polishing. (They seem to do just enough to get by). When guests visit the Galleria they want style, class, and excellent service. This Hotel is riding on the laurels of the location and demand. This and the other Westin Galleria property could be so fantastic if they would train and polish the staff, and spruce up the rooms. The rooms really are laughable. Tired nonstylish furniture, bathrooms with cheap tile and shower curtains, towels and robes that are torn and tattered. It really is a shame. I would stay here and only here if they could figure it out. We had luke warm water in the shower both mornings and my wife and daughter found nail clippings on the carpet...disgusting!! I spoke to Lilly who answered the phone when i called asking to speak to the manager. Lilly was not the manager but handled my dissapointment very well. She spoke to the manager and returned my call promptly. She said the manager would like to take care of a bar charge we had and give us some starwwod points as compensation. I felt this was somewhat fair and appropriate but if I were a front office or guest service manager i would absolutely call the guest back personally and apologize myself for the unsatisfactory stay. Guests dont always just want compensation but sometimes want to inform you how to better your property and offer suggestions. Hearing, empathizing, and apologizing are what a manager should be trained to do. Perhaps this is where all the problems at this hotel stem from. Please dont take anything away from Lilly, as she was professional, empathetic, and quite friendly...thank you Lilly for being the one bright spot during our stay. One last thing, the railing on our patio was not sturdy at all and is a major safety concern. I hope all the rooms are not like this. If you cant ensure the most important thing at a hotel which is safety, you surely cant provide a welcoming and satisfactory stay. I would love this property to be good..please improve! March 23, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel I don't recommend this Hotel, the parking is horrible! Had to park 10 min and walk, they need to have a parking garage for only guest. The other things I was disappointed was they charge and additional $100 hold on your card for any damages or stolen things. Why would hold an additional fee I've been to 5 star hotels never once mention an additional hold fee for damage/stolen. Overall would not recommend this place only of you have work business and your job is paying you stay at the location.. March 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Service What excellent service from the moment we stepped in the door. The staff was so professional and made our stay wonderful. Only downside is the outside construction, which is out of the hotels control. However, the attentive staff and pleasantness they displayed more than made up for this inconvenience. March 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good but not great! We recently stayed in this hotel for a mother and daughter weekend around a dance convention. We were not advised that there was construction going on outside the hotel and the jackhammer started pretty early both mornings plus on the street side of the hotel traffic was noisy well into the night. The hot water was intermittent as was the light in our bathroom. Other than this the staff were friendly the location was great and the hotel restaurant White Oak Kitchen was marvelous. February 23, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Magnificent Time! We went on a family trip and had a wonderful time, since the kids and grandpas enjoyed walking to the mall and sleeping together in the same room. There is a skate rink at the mall, just outside the Hotel. Thank you for a fantastic Holiday! February 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is blessed by the people that work there When we travel we like to find a great hotel..... great romos, geat meals... etc. But if you find there, besides these features, people that care and are wonderful, the experience is even better. I want to thank you the great kindness and care from Dave and Danny Ruiz, Paola and Enrike from the Front desk, Eillen Santoli, Anabell, Jeniffer Rincón and Shah Veli, and Rebeca that was in charge of the room service in the floor. Indeed all of you were important part of the wonderful time I spent there. Thank you to all of you, have a HAPPY NEW YEAR and may God bless you always!!!!! January 3, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Shower issues Hotel was nice and staff was friendly, rooms were nice and I love that they have the gym shoes delivery. Room service was good too, and consistently within 30 minutes. However, wouldn't stay here again because of the showers. Water pressure wasn't good, but the biggest thing was that the temperature goes from hot to cold multiple times every shower. I told the manager and he said he was aware of this and they were working to get this fixed. This was a month and a half ago. I've stayed at this hotel for three months and will not be coming back because of this. I have stayed at 4 other hotels in the area which do not have this problem. Would come back if they get this resolved, but it has been the same way for months. December 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great convinence to Galleria Very close to shopping hotel very helpful December 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel was very accomodating! We actually were booked at the other Westin hotel in the Galleria but because we were at the Westin Oaks they gladly switched our reservations so we did not have to go any further. The staff was very nice and pleasant. December 1, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Lacking in Expected service We stay here usually a couple of times a year, and it as typically been a good experience. However, I believe the front desk for our last stay was lacking in quality. We should have been warned of the early morning festivities on Thanksgiving morning. It was a rude awakening at 6:30. We should have been offered a room on the other side of the hotel. That morning I was worried we couldn't get out because the Galleria looked locked down, and the front desk said we were until 11:00. Thankfully, , the valet service got us out; the valet service was polite, accommodating in contrast to the front desk.. November 28, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Won't stay here again Oh dear! Day 1: safe does not work, TV does not work, toilet flush is broken, woken at 1am by night staff shouting at each other in the corridor. Day 2: TV still does not work, "make a green choice" not recognised. Day 3: safe fails again and needs maintenance, more shouting by night staff at 2.30am, TV still does not work. Day 4: poor attitude of reception staff on check-out with monosyllabic grunting rather than entering into a polite dialogue with me. At USD 250 a night this a disgrace to the Westin brand. November 20, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not a Westin !! What a shame. This can not be real. This hotel is not at the level expected for a Westin. When i compare this Westin with the one downtown houston, paris, sydney or melbourne there are far better, cleaner, etc... This one is old, very very old... Outside and inside. A SHAME. Thierry B. November 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Below average hotel I frequent this hotel and every stay I have problems. Unless you get a great rate, I suggest you look elsewhere. I believe this must be a training center for front desk agents as they never recognize SPG benefits and I always have to remind them of what I am entitled to. It is a shame that management does not take advantage of the wonderful location and make this a first class hotel. November 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Room condition and cleanliness not up to Westin standards We stayed at the Westin Oaks this past weekend. In our room, we experienced: wet carpet by the desk / tv stand, stained bed linens (including pillow cover, duvet cover and sheets), stained towels in the bathroom, stained and falling apart ceiling towels in the bathrooms, a very strong smoke smell in the room as well as quite a few ants crawling around the desk and tv stand area. We stay at Westins quite frequently when we travel because of the consistency in quality and experience. However, I would not choose to stay at the Westin Oaks again. My comments are specifically about the room condition and cleanliness. We did not use any of the services so I cannot comment on that. I cannot comment on the staff responsiveness either, since we did not contact the front desk about the issues during our stay as we were not in the room much other than to sleep. Also, the room was part of wedding block reservation and we did not want to cause any issues for the bride and groom. October 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by older property This hotel is a little dated but the room was large and the staff honored my request for a room away from front of hotel where it is more noisy. The bathroom has a mildew smell that was very unpleasant and didn't appear as clean as I would expect. October 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always a nice stay! I don't know the circumstances surrounding those who have had bad experiences with this hotel, but my stay is always lovely. I come to Houston about once a month and always stay at this hotel due to its location. The staff is extremely friendly and the service is outstanding. My room is always ready upon my arrival and is very clean. Keep up the great work! October 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thank You I would like thank the whole staff but primarly Mrs Patricia Voss and her assistant Eva Maria ALvarez, for making this exceptional trip, even much better. as their attention to detail, was extraordinary, also the whole staff at front desk who were extraordinarliy nice, room service , very good indeed. will reall go back soon to spend another week end at the galleria. September 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The hotel had excellent service I loved everything about this hotel. The beds and pillows were heavenly and all the staff were so helpful and very friendly. They also had great advice from everything from restaurants to clubs in the area. Everyone was very friendly. September 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by strategic location next to Galleria Very convenient and quiet September 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional!! Everything about my stay was exactly what it needed to be for me. I had a whirlwind trip that had me exhausted. From the courteous valet that greeted me at my car to the humble room service delivering my much needed conditioner, every Westin employee comforted me and helped calm me beyond what I needed them to be. . And of course, even the Heavenly bed lived up to its name. I highly recommend this Westin Oaks location. August 29, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by staff not qualified very bad receptionist, neighbor was with music very loud. called reception 12 am, 1 am, 2 am and didnt control the person with the music. at 6 am started again with the music. this happened august 20,2014 my room was 1712. August 21, 2014
  • 2015-11-26 T18:34:35.882-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_368, tr_368
  • loc_en_US, sid_1054, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>