The Westin New York at Times Square

  • 270 West 43rd Street
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10036
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to check-in. 

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 1111 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great to be in the SPG family This was my first visit to NYC and our trip wouldn't have been as amazing without the help of the Westin NY Times Square front desk Manager, Jonathan. He went out of his way to help make our stay the most memorable and comfortable: complimentary drinks, late check-out at 4pm, great and positive attitude. The Deluxe Corner King room I booked was recently renovated and it was BEAUTIFUL and spacious, providing us with the entire view of Time Square and local area. Many great restaurants and shopping around the area to meet whatever you needs are. Will I stay again? You betcha! Thanks Westin NY Times Square and SPG for this great road trip experience! May 21, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bait and switch on the room, unresponsive management This was my first visit to this property, as I usually stay at other nearby hotels when traveling to New York. I had heard good things about it from colleagues so I thought I would give it a try. Upon checking in, there was almost no line at check-in which was nice and something I am not used to at New York Hotels, especially since it was peak check-in time. The desk agent was nice, thanked me for my loyalty to Starwood, upgraded my room and directed me towards the elevators. Upon entering the room, the room smelled of cigarette smoke. It was not a BAD smell, and seemed to be concentrated around a window. I opened the window to air out the room, and after a few hours, it appeared to have worked. I should not have had to do this, at the very least, Housekeeping should have taken care of this as it was a non-smoking room. I also attempted to connect to the internet in my room. Unfortunately it did not work. It took me about 30 minutes and a long call and hold to reach the "help desk" and get the issue resolved. The worst issue did not occur until I got back to the hotel after working at an event late at night. I attempted to take a hot shower to relax and cleanup before bed, but found there to be no hot water. I went to call downstairs but noticed the message light beeping. It was a message from the hotel saying there was going to be no hot water. This was not a good situation, as I needed a hot shower after working, and was sore and tired. I had not had time to take one before leaving as I needed to spend so much time connecting to the internet so I could prepare for my event. I realized there was nothing I could do and I went to bed. I was able to shower in the morning, but that did not save me from an uncomfortable and smelly nights sleep. There was a very long line at check-out when I left so I bypassed it and decided to contact the hotel later that day to take care of the issue. I emailed the hotel explaining the situation with all 3 issues at the hotel. I received a prompt reply from Joe, the Service Express Manager. He simply said he was sorry as they had placed a letter in the rooms and was sorry mine was missed and offered me a very minimum amount of SPG points. I emailed back saying that what the hotel did was not acceptable as I was not informed of a major hotel deficiency either before or during check-in, and if I had known I would have stayed elsewhere or made other arrangements. I also said that the offer of compensation would not cover 1/4 of the value of a night at that hotel and that it was unacceptable, as I was cheated out of a comfortable room and a good nights sleep, which I had paid for and expected from Westin. I received another reply from Asya, the Guest Services Manager. She simply restated more clearly exactly what Joe had said, and offered the same minimal compensation. I again replied restating my previous email and asking that the Hotel GM respond. The Hotel GM, Sean, did respond via telephone. When we did get in touch with each other via telephone he apologized again. He explained that he had only taken control of the hotel 2 days prior, which would have been after my check-out. Upon further research, the former GM had been demoted to a lesser Starwood hotel nearby. I explained to him exactly what had happened and why I thought I felt cheated and the hotel pulled a bait and switch, and why I thought the initial responses were not only apathetic but inappropriate. He agreed and apologized and explained he would be working to make the hotel better. It appeared to me that Starwood was aware of management faults in the past with this hotel and brought this GM in to fix them. He then offered me an additional 10,000 SPG points which would bring me up closer to a free room, and also asked me to contact him before I came to the hotel again. I agreed and thanked him for his time and told him I was glad that Starwood was bringing someone on to fix up the hotel, and that made me feel more confident in the future. A week went by and no points were added to my account. I also noticed that my bonus points associated with the rate were not added either. I was booked in a rate that included triple base SPG points, I emailed again in regards to the missing compensation points as well as bonus points associated with the rate I had paid. I received no response. I then again called the GM's office and spoke with his assistant who said she would get right back to me. 2 days have passed and I have heard nothing, nor have any points been added. It seems I have been the victim of bait and switch again at this hotel, so I would warn anyone from staying here, especially SPG Platinum or Gold guests, as you will not receive the attention and care that we have come to recognize as standard with Starwood. November 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fourth of July 2014 Excellent service, it was my boyfriend 1st time to NYC. We were upgraded to a fantastic room, we defiantly plan on coming back next year. November 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Great Westin. I've stayed at Westins before, but this is my favorite. It had character and flavor, with interesting decor, location, views and clientele. But mostly, it was the service that stood out. Oscar at the front desk met all my needs and ensured my trip was excellent. Of the Starwood properties in NYC, this one has become one of my favorites. December 29, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good hotel, convenient location We stayed five nights at the Westin Times Square using points. Our room on the first night (late arrival) was not what was booked but we were tired and didn't say anything. The next morning we called Service Express and asked if there was another room. The hotel found us a room, and moved our bags while we toured - all we had to do was pick up the keys when we returned. Our new room was on a high floor with a glorious view. All interactions with staff were great - everyone was friendly, professional and efficient. The hotel isn't right on Times Square, which is a good thing since TS is so crowded. We will stay again when we return. December 24, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Only hotel I stay at in NY I traveled to NY every week for a year and this was my hotel of choice. I stayed here every week. Why? Because they took care of me. They always made sure I was happy with the room and with the services. The lounge is amazing and so is the staff. I recommend everyone stay there as they will make sure you enjoy your stay. January 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Flawless This was the best of many stays I've had at the Westin New York at Times Sq. The corner suite was spacious and offered a spectacular view of Times Sq and the Hudson River. Staff was very helpful. Housekeeping responded quickly to my requests. I was steps away from the Theatre District. I didn't want to leave! January 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best hotel in New York I travel to New York once or twice each month. I always stay at the Westin Times Square. I've stayed at all the other major hotels in New York and none are as good as the Westin. The rooms are great and have wonderful views. The facility has a vibrant energy about it. The staff is excellent. All the front desk staff are top-notch, but I want to do a special "shout-out" to Jane. She knows me (and my family) and is professional and personable. Another special "shout-out" to Sal who tends bar (at both bars). If there is one thing I'd like to see improved ... I'd really like to see additional features in the spa such as hot tub, steam room, etc. I'd like to meet the GM some day and thank them personally for my wonderful experiences at the Westin. Keith January 8, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Thanks for a wonderful stay Checked in on the 30th Oct for a 4 night stay. The location of the hotel was perfect as it was a 2 minute walk to Times Square and right across the street from Port Authority Terminal. Room was really nice with a super comfortable king bed. I slept pretty well each night. Soundproofing was adequate, but there were still occasional sirens which woke me up. My rate included American breakfast and it was always tasty, especially the sausages. I only wished that breakfast service could begin at 0630 instead of 0700 each morning. After checking out, I realized that there was a mistake on my invoice. After calling the hotel, they quickly resolved the problem. Many thanks to Westin for the fast response!!! November 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Well taken care of at this Westin A great overall experience, reception took special care to address my requests. Lobby area very social, Mac in room was a nice touch. January 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Hotel in New York I have stayed at The Westin Time Square the 1st weekend they were open. I stay at least 4-5 times a year. My family almost always bring another family. I recommend the hotel to everyone. The GM Terri is tops in the field. She always makes our visit special. We stay on the club level. The people working in the club, remember us and greet us right away. They always remember what fruit my wife likes and ask her if she would like it. The Health Club is 1st class. The front deak people are great. The room is always great. December 30, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Location Hotel is at perfect location, surrounded with good restaurants. Good space for events and conference. November 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Maybe the best Westin in the US I have stayed at the Westin Times Square at least 10 times and have never had less than a perfect experience. I love the lobby. The front desk staff literally remembers your name amongst thousands of guests when you come downstairs with a question. Housekeeping is superb. The views from the rooms are great. Platinums usually are upgraded to a better floor or view (but not to a suite). I find many NY hotels, including other Starwoods have snobby staffs that are not interested in helping. This is not the case at the Westin Times Square. When the rooms are affordable (which often they are not), I will always choose the Westin at Times Square. The facility, staff, amenities and location can't be beat! December 20, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Platinum Status Meaningless Suite night upgrade confirmed and then not honored without notice; arrived to find family of 3 assigned to a room with one bed; took several phone calls to obtain a room with two beds; reassigned to suite on Day 2, promised a fold-out couch and luggage transfer; returned to hotel at 11 PM to emply room with ONE BED and no luggage; rollaway bed brought to room instead; first two nights of a five night stay were entirely unenjoyable; management offered 3,000 points and some chocolate for the inconvenience; really did not feel cared for or appreciated at this hotel; unlikely to return for business or pleasure. March 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing Welcome at check in Having chosen this for location for our first trip to New York (for 7 nights) and the Westin name we were surprised at how unimpressive the property was. Upon arriving at 7:30 in the evening we received the most uninspired check in - in fact, we were made to feel as though we were bothering Janet as she told us our room was being held (we had booked/paid for two double beds) for us since they were sold out and then she told us the room wasn't ready (at 7:30 pm?). I asked if she could please check with housekeeping since we had left our home at 4am and my two daughters were tired. We wanted to freshen up before heading out to exciting Times Square. She said to hold on a minute, went in to the back, came out after 5 minutes, handed me the keys. I asked her for the room number and she said it was on the packet. I asked her if she could please direct us to the elevator and she pointed (our first time to this property and to New York). We were stunned - my husband could not believe how calm I remained while this woman treated us so nonchalantly (who made us feel as though she was doing us a big favour by giving us our room keys). Wow, never in our many many trips have we ever experienced such a welcome at a Starwood Property. Upon getting to our room we encountered a closet off the track (it wouldn't open) and a phone that didn't work - I contacted housekeeping and they came within 5 minutes and fixed everything. They were kind and asked if they could do anything else and I asked for extra towels and robes which were delivered in minutes. We always leave a daily tip in our room and were not disappointed with the cleanliness of the room (although the decor is quite boring). We were also surprised at how few staff at the door ever smiled or welcomed us when we returned from our outings (being there 8 days you would think they would recognize us) - in fact, little eye contact was ever made! They hovered around their desk and rarely were outside to open a cab or car door. So unusual for us to see that as we have stayed at many Starwood properties (usually Category 5 and up) and always feel so welcome. Our trip to New York was wonderful and we will be returning - but not to this property. August 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location for weekend in New York enjoying Broadway and celebrating an anniversary Wel love staying at this hotel and it never disapoints us. The staff at the front desk always recognize our gold status and we had no problem checking in a little early and getting a late check out along with a room upgrade. We got a wonderful corner room on one of the higher floors with great views. Sal at the bar took great care of us for drinks before and after the show. The hotel had a wonderful cake delivered to our room which was a complete surprise and a nice way to top off our 17 year anniversary weekend. November 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Non responsive As a platinum member, i expect a level up on hotel management onsideration. My daughter was to meet me in NY and i had contacted management for some special assistance or her arrival before I could get to new york. The manager was off for the week and her asst was helping me. She was unreachable most times, did not alert front desk of the situation for my kids arrival, which resulted in her being nervous and crying in lobby after being harshly dealt with and turned away. It just goes on and on. I plan to contact the manager when she is back to discuss the treatment. At ths point, I give it a big FAIL. October 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Made our stay memorable My wife and I were in NY for 3 nights to celebrate my birthday. We had chosen another Starwood property but were very disappointed with the hotel and their lack of response to our concerns. So after the first night I booked into the Westin for the last two nights. The difference at the Westin was like day and night compared to the other hotel. The whole experience was excellent and made our stay in NY very memorable. All of the staff were extremely helpful and especially the front desk manager, who went the extra mile for us. The rooms and location were great. Will definitely stay again ! December 22, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed The Westin at Times Square was the most disappointed service experience I had since joining SPG 8 years ago. The check in was horrible. At 2:45pm, the line for the SPG Gold was at least 8 clients compared to the regular line of 1. And yet, no additional front desk personnel was smart enough to expedite the check in for their loyal clients. Oh, I only wanted to pick up my keys since I already had checked in at 9:30am. No morning paper for 5 straight days. The only good thing was the heavenly beds is truly comfortable. I would still recommend the hotel only because of its location and hopefully improve the check in process especially for the gold/platinum members. Did not feel appreciated for my loyalty to SPG. January 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 Great surrounding attractions & Great rest in comfortable beds Room was clean with great comfortable bed. Few steps away from NY's attractions times square, toys r us, madame tussauds, ripley's museums, theaters along with many options of cafes and restaurants. January 9, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very Bad Experience While I stay at this hotel quite often while I am in New York on business, this was a very bad experience. When I checked into my room, the bed linens were dirty--they apparently had not been changed from the prior guest. In addition, the towels were dirty. This is inexcusable. The faucet in the bathroom sink only had hot water--no cold water. I called the manager on duty to complain about all of these things. I also asked for a couple of bottles of water to be delivered to my room. While the bed linens and towels were changed for the second night of my stay, I never received the bottles of water. Moreover, the manager never offered any type of compensation or consideration for my inconvenience. I will certainly look for other hotels on future stays in NYC. December 12, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Place in New York I wrote a review yesterday, but I'm not sure it was posted. To recap I always stay at the Westin in Time Square. I recommend it to everyone. I'm in New York at least 4-5 times a year. Plus a few more times with my family. The Westin is about people. They treat you like you King. People know who you are and are always friendly. I always stay on the Club Level. The rooms are great and the people working in the club are great. The health club is always clean and the equipment is 1st class. The front desk people are great. The GM Terri is a wonderful person. She found out my daughter finished her 1st semester at college with a 4.0. Terri had a bottle of sparkling apple with chocolate and note waiting for her in our room. Tell me one other hotel that would do that for you. December 31, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Never Should Have Returned! This hotel is old, beat up and has absolutely NO respect for the SPG Gold member with over 200 night stays worldwide. For the rate of the room we paid in NYC over five c notes per night, we could have done much better! This is our 2nd time back in 2 years, as I have business here annually. Promises were made by staff in email before our arrival, NONE were kept upon arrival on a dismal, cold and rainy day. Think hard before ever staying here. Plenty of better deals regardless of the location with staff that care! November 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Family-Friendly We've stayed here several times, and it became our go-to NYC hotel for family trips once the Parker started the crazy/offensive resort fee policy. SPG Plat recognition has always been good -- have gotten the Junior Suite every time, pull-out sofa for the kids, great view to the river. Once, when the folks in the room next door started smoking, filling our room with cigarette smell, the night staff moved us to a corner suite, which was really nice. Suite upgrades are key for travel with kids, and we keep coming back here because the upgrade is reliable. Plenty of street parking west of 8th avenue, by the way. No need to pay the high rates at the not-nearby lot. July 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good base for exploring the city The location of the hotel is great for exploring the city. Close to two subway lines (one is just across the street) and 8th Avenue is relatively fast for driving and to get a cab. Although very close to times square, the rooms were VERY quiet (we were on a high floor). With the nice beds and near silence, we all got lots of sleep. Rooms are pretty standard Westin which is good but don't expect luxury. Nice updated decor and bathrooms. The desk staff is polite but in a hotel of 800 rooms, they are busy and can seem somewhat terse. Great bell staff, efficient storage of bags and doorman will stand in the rain to get a cab. They gave me a SPG upgrade to a better view and higher floor, which was nice. We didn't try any of the restaurants or bars - it's NYC and they are everywhere in the area. December 8, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Hotel and Secure and Comfort We had a fabulous stay with our 9 year old Grandson... The Westin and it's staff were very professional and the security for the middle of NYC was comforting... location is awesome with ease to Broadway shows, dining, and activities. Cab rides were readily available to exhibits in less than 15 minutes. Westin was perfect for a four day holiday and would highly recommend. October 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent location The hotel location is excellent - just a short block to 42nd St and 1 long block to Times Square. The check-in agent was fantastic - he gave us an excellent view room of the River and Cruise Ship Terminal. Plus he gave us a room immediately instead of making us wait until 3pm as most New York Hotels do - - ! The Hotel and Room was very comfortable. I didn't think the room was as clean as it should be - - there was a very visable 'red' swizzle stick on the floor that remained there the entire time of my visit. Really liked the Bar-10 with a great view of 8th Ave below. They make an excellent martini and the 'small-plates' were great. June 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Workout room The new workout room at The Westin New York Times Square is absolutely WONDERFUL! Best equipment I have seen in my travels (I spent 100+ nights a year in hotels), great machines (the TVs always work and have all the best channels available), awesome atmosphere, plenty of cold towels too. Excellent job Westin staff and management team. This is certainly one of the best Westin hotels, the GM certainly sets the right tone with the staff, they are always ready to help with anything and their responsiveness is really great, they jump on things right away and get them done. Fully recommend this hotel both for leisure and business travel. January 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Never missed an upgrade. I stay at this hotel at least once a month and never miss a plat upgrade. Sometimes to an Atrium Club room and sometimes to a corner room on the top floors of the tower. Once I had a suite but really prefer the corner room on the top floor. But I've never missed an upgrade here. If you are the type who likes control over his/her room comfort, this hotel has windows that open and a solid HVAC system. My only complaint is the consistent lack of SPG front desk services. Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't. The regular line people regularly won't help the status people. But the front desk issues aren't worth missing another otherwise great property. January 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location and Wonderful Property From the moment you enter the Westin at Times Square, the staff makes you feel home. The staff were friendly and accommodating. They fulfilled my request for an early check in along with a high floor level. The view was wonderful of the city and the room was nicely appointed. I can't wait to return back to NYC and stay again at this wonderful property. The location is central to everything especially if you are in town for the theater. January 29, 2012
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 38 next>>