The Westin Arlington Gateway

  • 801 North Glebe Road
  • Arlington,
  • Virginia
  • 22203
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 407 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Would not recommend The rooms are small and the beds were doubles instead of queens. The air conditioner did keep the room cool, which was horrible during the summer visit. Beds were older and not very comfortable. Staff was friendly. A few machines in the workout room were old and didn't work well. The hotel is pretty run down. Not what I would expect from a Westin Hotel June 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Way beyond all expectations! While my daughter was in Washington DC with her 8th grade trip, she ran into some unforeseen issues. I was not with her, so when I called the hotel I had very low expectations that there would be anything that they could do to help. The concierge was absolutely WONDERFUL, as well as professional and courteous, and worked tirelessly to help me. She provided multiple options, and spent hours exchanging phone calls with me until the issue was resolved. The security manager personally assisted, and even exchanged texts to ensure that all was well and that my daughter was taken care of. The following day the front desk manager personally emailed/called me throughout the day, and even went so far as to run to a store for my daughter to make sure that she had everything that she needed. I was blown away at the outstanding service that we were provided, and will go out of my way to make sure that we stay with Westin in any of our travels. The accommodations and service cannot be beat, and are something that is rarely found elsewhere. June 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Westin Stay Your employee who checked us in was very professional. He recognized immediately that I am an SPG member and granted my and I early check-in. This was a very kind gesture since our four month old was with us. We were very disappointed with the breakfast even though it was a buffet. I expected more fruit, waffles, a choice of bacon or pork sausage. May 28, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by The fitness center used to be good ...but during this stay there were serious problems. Over the four days of my stay sanitary wipes, towels, and cups for the water cooler were missing on more than one occasion. I had to call down to the front desk and complain when all three were missing for the second day in a row and the fitness center was full of people. So disappointing. May 23, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Going down hill In 2014, I stayed at this hotel about 100 nights for work. I found the staff pleasant and helpful, but the restaurant a bit lacking in service and quality of breakfast and dinner. As my assignment continued into 2015, I noticed a significant degradation with numerous changes in staff. Some of the things that I have noticed include: - Lack of adequate desk staffing during high check-in times resulting in long lines - No express Platinum line - Breakfast buffet very limited when large groups are staying there. They offered to send me room service to my room but I much prefer a buffet. Large groups tend to be May/June. It makes no sense to inconvenience other guests for large groups. Last year this was not an issue. - Dinner service is incredibly slow even when there is no one in the dining room. - Last year they eliminated SPG Exec lounge and replaced it with coupons for "Small Plates and a drink". This was recently eliminated. In summary, it is a newly refurbished hotel with an extremely inferior restaurant and understaffed front desk. Based on other hotels (Westin and others), this hotel's service is very disappointing. May 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lost item Found I have lost items in other hotels and their responsiveness was very poor. Yet the Westin exceeded my expectations, they found my items and contacted me the same day. They realized my high anxiety and resolved my error. THANK YOU:) May 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good sleep I had a room on the 9th floor. The room was clean and comfy. I liked the shower and the bed. I used the Green Choice, which means no one came in to clean my room during my two-day stay, which works great for me because I don't need to clean up for housekeeping. If I had needed to sleep past 7:30, the road below may have been too noisy, but I'm not sure what the hotel can do about that. May 6, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by underwhelming stay. Long time platinum member, had an extended stay at this property over 2 weeks in December. No upgrade was offered, because my stay was so long I almost expected an upgrade, that is my fault. I did inquire about an upgrade and was told none were available, although the hotel was clearly not very occupied. Room assigned next to busy street, most days were bad, weekends are unbearable. I cannot imagine assigning a long term guest to a room on such a low floor next to the road. That type of service is either negligent or malicious, clearly a real management challenge. The breakfast is likely the worst I've had at a hotel chain. Giant vat of scrambled eggs with cheese, bacon sitting on top of a loaf of bread soaked with grease. I think management controls at this hotel are very lacking. I haven't stayed at a Starwood property since, April 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gorgeous hotel, great room rate, usurious parking fare This was an absolutely gorgeous hotel. The room was comfortable, clean and quiet. The buffet breakfast the next day was delicious. My children loved it. And, when I accidentally left my iPad in the lobby, the staff called to say they had it. They even made sure I knew the access code, to make sure it was mine. Top notch. Too bad we were only passing through. Would have like to see more of the area, including DC. My only complaint was the cost of the parking overnight. It took the overall cost from exceptional (for such a beautiful and centrally-located hotel) to merely decent. April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good location Great location with easy access to the Metro, restaurants and Ballston Mall. Excellent amenities. Drawbacks are noise from Glebe Road, the beds have only very thick (HOT!) comforters and most irritating is that they ONLY HAVE EXPENSIVE VALET PARKING! No self-park available March 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Local Hotel Great location, close to a lot of amenities. Had a great time on a very busy weekend but staff was willing to go the extra mile to make me happy. Great Staff, very helpful with customer needs. It was really busy and all kept smiling. Very professional. Front Office Manager even escorted me to the breakfast restaurant location. Appreciated a lot! March 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff here makes all the difference in the world! As part of a gift, a friend of mine purchased me land in Scotland thereby allowing me to legally use the title "Lady." He called the hotel and told them what he had done and enlisted their help in the surprise. I cannot tell you what an amazing and impeccable suprise it was! I arrived at the hotel late from IAD and the staff was overly friendly and accomodating. They called me Lady Karen and even escorted me up to my room and thanked me for staying. They sent chocolate covered strawberries to go with the champagne my friend brought me to commemorate the occasion. Are we a bit silly? Certainly. But the fact the hotel was willing to go to such lengths to be part of my surprise is absolutely wonderful. The staff called me Lady Karen for the remainder of my stay and I was always greeted with a smile. The room was clean and well decorated. The beds were, of course, heavenly. I was also pleased with the common areas and found the Starbucks in the lobby to be very convenient. The location is in walking distance of many bars and restaurants. I would recommend this hotel. You will certainly enjoy your stay. I would not recommend the restaurant in the hotel. We had consistently bad service there both from the bartender and the waitstaff. It is possible they had just changed management because it seemed very disorganized and nothing like the rest of the hotel. I cannot stress enough that this issue seemed completely limited to the bar/restaurant. Everyone else in the hotel was absolutely delightful. February 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very clean and neat It was quite nice to stay in this hotel, I will give 4- 5 stars for everything but the meeting room temperature. The room that I stayed was okay, but the conference hall was really really cold.. I've had fall sweaters even tho it was summer, but still felt very cold. January 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Recommend Just Excellent for everything January 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent stay Stayed with the family over the christmas eve and had a wonderful experience all throughout. Check-in was quick and very pleasant (thank you Leah!). Rooms and facilities are well appointed and fresh. Would definetely come back when we visit the area again. December 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Naila214 Excellent hotel management and staff December 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by 4th Time Here This is one my favorite Westin's for a leisure stay. This hotel has never let me down. Within a few blocks, you are right by the Metro subway station and within a few minutes, you are right in DC. The restaurant food has been rock solid again and this time I also tried rood service for the 1st time. Very nice menu. As always the pool was right up to standards. If you need to take your car somewhere in VA or in MD, the highway is a few blocks away. The next time I have to be in the DC metro area, this is the place that I am staying for my 5th visit December 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My home away from home. A very comfortable, secure and friendly hotel experience. I always enjoy staying at a Westin. December 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bad Service *stood around in swimsuits 10 mins for lifeguard to let us in to pool area and finally called front desk to track him down *ordered car to be brought out front by valet service; said it was on its way; waited out front for 5 minutes while valet sat there; finally asked him about car and he said, Oh, the alert must have come in while I was getting another car. It was 5:45 in the morning. There were no other cars. And why didn't he notice it regardless? * had to call down to front desk twice and both times it just rang and rang for almost 5 minutes. December 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Be aware of the noise that destroies your whole stay This stay is definitely my worst experience with Starwood properties and I’m totally unsatisfactory about several aspects of the service being provided there. I arrived at the hotel midnight after a long transcontinental flight, and expected a cozy sleep to get refreshed for the next day’s conference. I checked in and was assigned a room at the top floor (15th), as a benefit of SPG gold member. I asked the room service for a sleeper and a representative told me some one would bring one to me soon, who never showed up until the next day when I was about to check out! I managed to take a bath and walk around without a sleeper, and went to bed after a shower. Only then did I notice a nightmare in the room: there was an engine making annoying noise on the top roof, which prevented me from getting asleep. I called the front desk and the agent told me that there was some construction work on the roof, where a machine was left on overnight…Unfortunately there was no other room available for me to switch to at 1AM. What???!!! A hotel like Westin leaves disturbing machines on making guests unable to get asleep overnight???!!! I had no choice but cover my head with quit, trying to get enough rest, which was not quite successful. I spent the whole night half waken half asleep, making me sleepy the next day. When I checked out the agent did not say sorry. Even worse, I also found my case damaged by the hotel’s storage service when picking it up in the afternoon. This sounds totally ridiculous to me. They just need to bring the case for about 100 inches to the storage room at another end of the lobby, and how can this causes cay damage to it???!!! As I SPG gold member, I have trusted Starwood for quite a long time and stayed for tens of times. But I have never experienced such a stay like this one. This is not even comparable to a motel! I really hope the story is just an exception, but from the response of the hotel’s representatives, I’m afraid that they did not handle this at the level that a quality hotel should have, not to mention that it is a up-scale property like Westin. November 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Has management given up here? This hotel has the feeling of "who cares?" From check in to public areas to room amenities. The building is tired, most staff struggle to appear to be interested. November 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel No additional comments. Quite a nice stay. Convenient for wedding that I have attended November 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staff Check-in was smooth, desk, bell and valet service professional and efficient. November 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Weekend Stay The hotel was excellent. It's location puts it close to so much in the DC area. November 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice but expensive Biggest disappointment is that the beautiful pool does not open until 5pm. As most guests stay for business purposes and would want to swim first thing in the morning, this is most surprising -- esp for such an expensive hotel. October 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Adequate Well situated in walking distance to many restaurants and the Metro. Courteous, friendly staff. I did not like that I could not opt for the Starpoints on the front end of the green program, but had to come back at the end. For whatever reason my reservation was split into two, and I had to keep asking about the second. I really, really did not like that the only option for my car was valet parking. This was a first; I like to have ready access to my vehicle. Finally, the TV reception was not good. I don't watch much TV, but I did miss the one show I do like to watch. October 26, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Cold Showers??? No Thanks!!! I've stayed at this hotel many times and have no complaints about the staff or it's location. However, when you pay just south of $300/night for a hotel room, you at least expect to be able to take a warm shower on a cool fall morning. Unfortunately, no gesture was made to make this right, either. October 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great place to stay The property is located near to DC metro area and northern Virginia transportation modes. Service is terrific and staff is very professional and courteous. October 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by An excellent location The hotel is a mere block from the Ballston metro. Impeccable front desk service. The wait staff in the restaurant at breakfast seemed understaffed or overwhelmed, not certain which. October 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ivy Location (not far from Reagan Airport Close to DC, but quiet anough to relax after a day of walking and sightseeing. Very comfortable beds and shower.And very clean. There were few time when the hotel management surprised us with a free iced tea and crisp apples in a hot day and next time it was hot apple cider in a pretty cool night when we returned from a long trip to DC. That was exactly what we needed. Very nice restaurants in the area. I wish we could have a longer stay. If I ever back to that area I will def. stay in the same hotel. October 16, 2014
  • 2015-11-25 T07:01:48.860-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_407, tr_407
  • loc_en_US, sid_1513, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>