The Westin Arlington Gateway

  • 801 North Glebe Road
  • Arlington,
  • Virginia
  • 22203
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with valid identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 384 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice but not great I arrived early and was allowed to check in before noon, which was great, but the rest of my stay was very average. There were no vending machines and the "gift shop" that was described did not exist. The heavenly shower and bed are nice but nothing special. Personally I don't understand how premium hotels get away charging outrageous prices for every little thing (the food and room service prices were extremely high, daily fee for internet, tips for everything, etc.) on top of the high rates. The meeting facilities were nice, but I would never pay to stay here for a pleasure trip. March 20, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Internet not Free Everything was good; staff are excellent; facilities comfortable and in good order -- except, wireless internet is not free (unless, I think, you are a member of a Westin-related frequent traveler club at a certain level-- and no such offer was extended to me, even though I asked about any such possibility). And, despite having to pay for it, it was not fast or reliable -- I kept having to re-authenticate with the wireless key. Personally I'd give up the free packets of coffee and tea, and the print newspapers, for good wireless internet at no additional cost. March 15, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Be aware of the noise that destroies your whole stay This stay is definitely my worst experience with Starwood properties and I’m totally unsatisfactory about several aspects of the service being provided there. I arrived at the hotel midnight after a long transcontinental flight, and expected a cozy sleep to get refreshed for the next day’s conference. I checked in and was assigned a room at the top floor (15th), as a benefit of SPG gold member. I asked the room service for a sleeper and a representative told me some one would bring one to me soon, who never showed up until the next day when I was about to check out! I managed to take a bath and walk around without a sleeper, and went to bed after a shower. Only then did I notice a nightmare in the room: there was an engine making annoying noise on the top roof, which prevented me from getting asleep. I called the front desk and the agent told me that there was some construction work on the roof, where a machine was left on overnight…Unfortunately there was no other room available for me to switch to at 1AM. What???!!! A hotel like Westin leaves disturbing machines on making guests unable to get asleep overnight???!!! I had no choice but cover my head with quit, trying to get enough rest, which was not quite successful. I spent the whole night half waken half asleep, making me sleepy the next day. When I checked out the agent did not say sorry. Even worse, I also found my case damaged by the hotel’s storage service when picking it up in the afternoon. This sounds totally ridiculous to me. They just need to bring the case for about 100 inches to the storage room at another end of the lobby, and how can this causes cay damage to it???!!! As I SPG gold member, I have trusted Starwood for quite a long time and stayed for tens of times. But I have never experienced such a stay like this one. This is not even comparable to a motel! I really hope the story is just an exception, but from the response of the hotel’s representatives, I’m afraid that they did not handle this at the level that a quality hotel should have, not to mention that it is a up-scale property like Westin. November 24, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by temperature problems The bed was comfortable enough, but the heating/cooling ventilation system did not work, so the room was 78 degrees and higher, no matter what I (and other guests I spoke to) did to change the numbers on the console. In addition, I have to say that the "green choice" is a scam. You get no service (including refill of the hotel coffee, unless you call and ask for it) and in exchange they give you a coupon that you cannot use at Starbucks and is too little to make a difference in the exceedingly overpriced room service ($14 coffee pot plus delivery charge!) May 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great hotel to stay but ... We enjoyed staying at the hotel, however, to make it a truly 4 stars hotel, there are couple things need to be improved: -We had 2 double-beds in a room, and there is only 1 arm chair to sit. -Charge for using internet in the lounge. It is not free and quite expensive. -Valet parking, although nice, but inconvenience for us to get to since we have small kids and they tend to forget things in the car -Charge of $20/day for a microwave??? -Non-working fridge needs to be removed from room, take up the space in cabinet. April 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the best starwood hotels in the country... I've been staying at the Westin Arlington Gateway for about 2 years now and I have to say that this is not only one of the best hotels in the DC Metro area, but could very well be considered for one of the best hotels in the country. The staff is top notch, the business team extremely responsive, and who doesn't love a good heavenly bed?! August 6, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by 4 nights of No sleep! We were in room 1112 near the elevators which they said had a malfunction. There was a loud scrapping noise that kept us up for two nights. We were unable to move to a new room because the hotel was booked. The second night the noise was even louder. The 3rd night we were moved to a new room. As we were moving our luggage the mantainence crew came in to fix the drain, that gurgled for two night straight. Whenever someone from another room would use thier sink or flush, our drain would gurgle for 15 minutes. We told the front desk and they said maintence would be back up to check it..they never showed up! Needless to say, we got NO Sleep for 4 nights. February 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location The hotel was ideally situated for my needs - close to National Airport. The staff in the onsite bar provided excellent service and we were able to find good restaurants within walking distance. I am currently a Gold member; however, no mention was made of my status, nor was I treated differently, except I noticed I was on a preferred floor once I got to my room. I was not sure what difference the preferred floor was over the other floors though. December 24, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay, Great Location This is a great hotel local 5 minutes from the Orange Line (Ballston station). The rooms are large, quiet, and comfy. No street noise past 5-6th floor. (Aim for 10+.) The gym is small, but adequate. Wifi internet is very slow, but hardline works. On the other hand, parking rates are outrageous. Its $8 / day to park across the street in a covered garage. I wish the Westin was more competitive here. March 29, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by friendly staff but other issues best greeting on arrival that I have had at a hotel. Gentleman checking us in was terrific. Rooms were clean and met our needs. Enjoyed the pool. Unfortunately the Club lounge was not stocked with food or drinks. Downstairs the restaurant staff was sparse and left halfway through our breakfast. In addition clearly overcharged us but there was no manager left around to take issue with the overcharge. January 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Business Trip Stay I very much enjoyed my stay here on a one night business trip. The front desk staff "welcomed me back" when I checked in. I checked in 3 hours early and the front desk was happy to get me a room early, with no problems at all. All staff were very friendly and made me feel welcome. Room was clean and comfortable, I will be staying here every time I travel to Arlington. November 11, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for DC Weekends I have stayed here 2 times over the past year and I will keep coming back for a variety of reasons. First, while the hotel is a little outside of the district, there is an Orange Line Metro stop 2 blocks away which makes getting into DC pretty easy. The area surrounding the hotel is great, lots of restaurants and there is a ton more popping up every month (used to go to school in DC). The hotel itself is great, a standard Westin but I love Westin so it's perfect. Room was comfortable and clean. The bed is amazing as always. As Gold, I was upgraded to the Executive Level, not sure it is anything different but free water and robes are nice. The room was on the highest floor I believe. The prices during the week can be a little high, but on the weekends its great. I've managed to find sub $110 nights on many occasions here. The hotels in DC are much more expensive, so this is a cheaper but equally as nice alternative. Overall a great choice if you dont mind the Metro. October 17, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Location good, service substandard Reserved for a two night stay - paid in advance to get Club access and free internet. Was not given Club access, and had to show my reservation to get them to remove internet charges. Hotel is adequate, though fitness is a bit run down. Staff was marginal at best. February 8, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing Disappointing. Although the property is attractive, I found it a bit odd. Staff is friendly, some are helpful, others appear a bit out of their element. The first day, cleaning of the room was not attempted until nearly 5pm. Since I was in the room rather late, I thought that may have been why. The second day, at 5pm they stopped and asked if we "Wanted it cleaned"-- We had been gone ALL DAY and were back to get ready for dinner. It should have been done by then. No one answers the "Service Express" number when you call. 2 attempts-no answer at all. Took 10 rings to order breakfast. Our reservation was split with the first part paid for as a part of a conference and an additional day on our own. We got a check out bill for the first portion and then it was included again on the checkout for the final night. Had to head down to straighten it all out. Do not understand why you even have the fancy showerhead when you post a sign in the bathroom that it is turned off to conserve water. Disappointed that pool was closed during day--would have used it. May 7, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Has management given up here? This hotel has the feeling of "who cares?" From check in to public areas to room amenities. The building is tired, most staff struggle to appear to be interested. November 11, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Weekend Getaway The hotel was not up to my expectations. The floor that I was staying on smelled like a cesspool when I got off the elevator. The advanced shower heads didn't work and I was only able to use the bath as the knob was stuck. Housekeeping rapidly knocked on my door at 8:45am to clean my room when we were all asleep. We had cocktails in Pinzimini at 7pm and when the bill came the signature drinks were full price and I was told that there was no happy hour even though the paper in the stand on the table said that there was from 4:30-7:30 on Signature drinks So I was charrged $25 !! The worst was I woke up in the morning of check out and I saw dried blood on the sheets which was 100% not mine. January 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Adequate Well situated in walking distance to many restaurants and the Metro. Courteous, friendly staff. I did not like that I could not opt for the Starpoints on the front end of the green program, but had to come back at the end. For whatever reason my reservation was split into two, and I had to keep asking about the second. I really, really did not like that the only option for my car was valet parking. This was a first; I like to have ready access to my vehicle. Finally, the TV reception was not good. I don't watch much TV, but I did miss the one show I do like to watch. October 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel No additional comments. Quite a nice stay. Convenient for wedding that I have attended November 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel, but high parking fees I was pleased to find a good rate on this hotel for a visit with my daughter. The agent was pleasant and friendly, but understood that I was trying to find the best price. She never mentioned parking fees. I was shocked to arrive at the hotel and I was offered no alternative but to pay $23/day parking fees. This added $46 to my stay plus tips for valet parking. (You could not park yourself.) I feel it is fair to have parking fees, but I feel that guests should be informed in advance. This extra fee was unexpected and hurt my travel budget after spending so much time trying to find the best rate. The hotel was lovely although the window blind was broken in our room. The pool area had a strong sulpher smell. June 23, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by THIS HOTEL LIES ABOUT YOUR ROOM!!!!!! My husband and I paid for a suite for two night. Was given a tradional room. Would not change us refund us. Called to come in one night early. Charged us $260.00 for us to get the suite. If that is your suite then there is a problem. Your internet pic need to be up dated. Then get charged $23.00 a night just to park car. $2.00 for bottled water!!!!!!!!. Checked out everything paid. Went to get car. Could not get car due to unpaid bill. They walked me back upstairs for the next girl said I needed to pay for two nights for car. I ask to see the first girl, I was told she was not avaible. Never ever again. I will voice my complaint as much as I can. We sould gotten the room we paid for. REALY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! March 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staff Check-in was smooth, desk, bell and valet service professional and efficient. November 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Front Desk Great, Valet Parking Not So Great Stopped in Arlington for a quick overnight stay while driving down from NYC to Charlotte. Arriving at 1am with our small dog, we did not encounter a valet at the front---though valet parking is the only parking option. Once we walked in however, we were promptly welcomed by the front desk, who rang for a valet and also offered late check out for us. We had a great pet-friendly room, clean and spacious. We also ordered room service the next morning, which was unimpressive. Overall, not bad, we did think the parking was a bit of an extravagant charge of $26/nt+tip. September 30, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Location good - services not so great The room was very comfortable. There are three issues I had during my stay. 1. The refreshment bar was not in operation and when I asked for a refrigerator there were none available. We were put on a waiting list for a frig but never received one or were contacted about it. 2. There were two bottles of complimentary water when we arrived which were used for the coffee machine but were not replaced during our three night visit. 3. The parking is overpriced. We were on a club level floor which did not seem to be any different service than the lower levels. April 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Staff and customer care The entire staff was courteous and thoughtful. Daniel - Bellboy: pleasant,friendly and helpful. Remembered our face and always greeted us with a smile, and took time to ask how's your day or how are you doing. Maria (from Bolivia# - Housekeeper on 8th floor: thoughtful, thorough and efficient. Clean room well and anticipated our needs. Cynthia - conceige: warm, kind, thoughtful, friendly and helpful. Great love for dog - always greeted Nicky #our pet) and give him a bone when he came in from his walk. Our pet passed away during our stay. The entire staff displayed particular kindness and caring to me during the bereavement of the loss of our pet. Their kindness went a long way in getting me through this particularly difficult time. August 30, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Housekeeping nightmare There was food left in the room when I arrived and the sheets had stains on them. Also, the housekeeping staff entered my room about 30 minutes after I was in it without identifying themselves or knocking. She just walked right in, looked like a deer in the headlights, stammered, and walked out. There was no shampoo on the first day, so I called the desk to get some and she said she would send some up... No one ever came. I left the card on the bed for them to clean the sheets, but after they cleaned the room and reset everything the stains were still there. When I told the desk they were "very sorry" but did not offer any kind of reconciliation... not even to change the sheets.This was my first and last visit to the Westin - Arlington. May 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location, so-so rooms This hotel looks to have been revamped into this high-end Weston. The rooms are small. I assume that the high prices are due to location. The front-desk staff were very nice. I loved the hot apple cider in the lobby as well as the welcoming beachy smell they had wafting throughout. I was disappointed in the restaurant downstairs, especially by the lack of staff there and rudeness I encountered. The location is great with lots of shopping and restaurants within walking distance. I went for a conference so I didn't chose the locale, but it was overall a nice experience. October 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by mixed review Upon arrival, room wasn't thoroughly vacuumed, the window shade had holes and was ratty looking, the middle drawer in the dresser wouldn't stay closed. Air in room was stuffy feeling. Parking charges are outrageous. The hotel doesn't provide many "extras: such as free use of computers, continental breakfast. etc. With 4 of us reserved for the room we should have been provided extra towels, coffee service, cups, bathroom supplies etc without having to ask for them. On the plus side, beds were cozy and staff was friendly and helpful. May 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Weekend Stay The hotel was excellent. It's location puts it close to so much in the DC area. November 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful stay I loved this Westin. Worthy of the Westin name. Staff were great from the valet to the check in staff. All were friendly and helpful. The hotel is very chic and well maintained. Location was exceptionally convenient to metro and plenty of restaurant options within a few steps of the hotel. Room was great. Recognized for spg members, given executive level room. Westin never disappoints! August 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hotel won't grant bonus points for declining room service I stayed at this property 3 nights, July 23-26. During that stay, i posted the little placards on the door declining to have the room cleaned. When you do this, you are supposed to either receive 500 SPG points, or a $5 voucher. I opted for the SPG points (1,000 total for two nights) and they still have not posted to my account. I have called both SPG customer service, as well as the hotel, and they both said: "We'll look into it, it usually takes a while for these things to post". It's been 6 weeks. I am disappointed. September 6, 2012
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>