The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

  • 1400 M Street NW
  • Washington,
  • District of Columbia
  • 20005
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest must be 18 years or older with valid identification to register and to check-in.

Rated 3.2 out of 5 by 515 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by first impressions are everything From the moment we arrived. we knew we would enjoy our stay. the hotel was bright friendly and clean. At the reception desk we were greeted by Nazee Alikhanova. She was full of smiles, friendly and very welcoming. After having Nazee assist us with check in, confirming all details because we had 2 separate reservation. We knew we were off to a great start to our fun weekend in DC. All was just what u expect when staying at a westin hotel. We had dinner in your restaurant one night. Our server who's name I can't recall was attentive and friendly. the food was ok, but we orders a few drinks which we thought were a bit pricy but perhaps doing happy hour would of been a better choice since we were a little surprise of the cost. DC is a great city to visit. So easy to navigate thru public transit. I would absolutely suggest everyone to plan to visit the Westin DC City center. You won't be disappointed. October 28, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by HVAC in rooms needs upgrading The HVAC is so noisy that it prevents restful sleep. This is pervasive throughout hotel and staff knows it September 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor Service I had a UPS package sent to the hotel for me. They couldn't locate it at check-in. After calling twice to follow up (once before dinner and once after), I went back to the front desk that evening where it took them about 15 minutes to locate the package (very long time to wait when you're on a time crunch). Apparently it was in the "other" room where they keep deliveries--why they didn't check there each of the previous three times is beyond me. The woman who checked me in was distracted and unfriendly, and she failed to enter my email and my spg account number for my stay. Given the other good options in DC, I don't think I'll be back. November 13, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Total lack of attention I am a Platinum member and was in DC for a conference. I decided to stay at this Westin rather than the conference hotel since I am a big Westin fan. I have to say that the total lack of attention my simple request received was not in keeping with the usual high Westin standard. When I first checked in at Noon I was given a 2 double bed room that had a view of the interior courtyard instead of the King I requested on my profile. I asked the front desk to move me to a outside view King room, reminded them I needed a feather-free room, and left for the conference. I returned at 5pm to get into my new room and change for dinner. I was in an outside King but it was not feather free. I asked the front desk on my way out to please have housekeeping de-feather the room and left. I returned at 10:30pm and went to my room which STILL had not been de-feathered. I returned to the front desk and requested for the 3rd time that day to have the room de-feathered. A half-hour later a gentleman from Westin Corporate came to my room with a cotton blanket. I helped him make the bed and he left. There was no apology or acknowledgement from anyone on staff for this. I occasionally have to ask once to have my room de-feathered but 3 times in one day and to not even be offered an Upgrade as a Platinum member is bad management in my opinion. I will not be staying at this property again! October 5, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Total disregard for Platinum membership The hotel is average, but well located. The suites of the hotel are really nice. I am a Starwood Platinum Member. I booked the hotel through Platinum concierge. As I have suite rewards, and I wanted to give a surprise to my friend, I specifically looked for hotels that had suites available. Well, while indeed in the website they showed availability, the suite award did not work. To add insult to injury, it took 30 minutes to check in, with the platinum booth empty. At reception, the attention was dismal, and the room the worse I ever received as a Platinum member. I am really disappointed with this hotel and management. October 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Adequate Hotel This hotel was not what I would expect from a Westin Hotel. The hotel rooms need renovation to be updated to the level that Westin and the Starwood brands represent. There is also a big disconnect between central reservations and the hotel. I had 7 reservations and each time I needed to make a change, I had to go through central reservations, who told me they could not make the change and they would send a message to the hotel, but it was either never sent, received, or translated correctly, that I was woken by the front manager at 11:45pm that they would like to give away a room for a guest that was checking in late. October 30, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Staying in a Construction Zone I love the Westin hotels...I really do. But my stay at the Westin DC Center was the biggest disappointment and turned me off Starwood properties for awhile. The hotel is undergoing MAJOR rennovations and other than a small sentence on the home page of the website, there is no warning. There is nothing good about staying in a construction zone. It is noisy and dusty. My interior room overlooked the construction. The price of $249 a night did not reflect "construction zone" pricing. The construction was suppose to start at 8 AM but I awoke to banging at 7:30 AM. What's worse: the check-out staff couldn't care. This hotel will be nice when the reno's are done - but stay away until then. December 10, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a good place to stay Well, let's see if they delete this review like the one a did a couple weeks ago that was detailed and took me quite a bit of time. This has neither the feeling, comfort, or service that a Westin does. Old dank atrium in lobby that unfortunately a lot of rooms look into. Rooms with outside views have sliding doors that are sealed shut for your comfort. After 3 phone calls to property and 2 to plat concierge I still have not received the 2000 SPG points owed me for making a "green choice" That stay was a month ago. Perhaps instead of deleting my review someone could contact me and resolve my issues. I wonder how many other poor reviews of this hotel have been deleted. August 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Renovation Needed This hotel has huge potential and when it is renovated it will be terrific. Frustration had to do with requesting a room close to elevators, not realizing that would mean noise at night due to lobby bar being located in the center of the hotel. Also, drilling due to construction early morning, such that I had to go to lobby for morning conference calls and worked there for hours. Staff very nice though. Restaurant staff exceptional customer service. Again, issues with construction noise and lobby bar. As well, email prior to arrival asked what my preferences would be, none followed. Thanks. October 30, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Terrible Westin I was on vacation with family in DC and I thought that staying at the Westin would be comfortable and a little nicer than other hotels in the area. Our room was beat up and not well kept. Light fixtures were all crooked, scratches and markings on the walls, and shower heads not installed correctly made the room look like it was in shambles. House keeping came to the room at 5PM, which seems a bit late and intrusive. I had to have someone in engineering fix a fan and the TV while I was there. Obviously this didn't help me impress my family, and I can't believe that I overpaid for this room. November 18, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Tired Hotel This hotel is in a great location but the interior is tired: Carpets have rips in them; rooms are stuffy; decor in rooms is a little dated; elevator broke got stuck after going one floor and wouldn't move,thankfully the doors were open when it stopped so we could easily get out.. TV only worked part of the time, no one came to repair after multiple requests June 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Totally feel the effect of cost cutting measures 40 minute wait to check in. (Only 1 person on staff checking people in, answering calls, and handing out extra cups and other things.) Toilet leaks/runs - just noise problem at night. Worst check-in experience in a Westin ever! Hope the rest of my stay improves. June 2, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad Cleanliness The location was great for this hotel however the cleanliness of the room for the price was ridiculous. I found used undergarments in a drawer and hairs in the bathroom. I wouldn't return to this hotel if I visited DC again. September 13, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unsatisfactory Starwood Property The first room assigned to us was not clean. It appeared clean until we pulled back the comforter and saw several small/medium sized black hairs lining the sheets making it obvious the sheets had not been changed. The chair had a large brown stain on the seat cushion that appeared to be chocolate or feces. The lamps were all unplugged,and the trash can was placed in the middle of the walk way. Who ever "cleaned" the room was in a hurry. The second room we were assigned was better but still very un-Starwood like quality. Dusty, worn down, old and not up to Starwood standards. The lobby didn't have the signature Westin smell. The staff was slow to reassign us to the second room. We were told a bellman would bring us new keys within 10 min but never showed up. After 30 min of waiting we went down to the lobby and got the keys ourselves. The hotel is not up to Starwood standards and needs a good gutting and renovation. It also needs a housekeeping that takes their time in cleaning the rooms. I am disappointed and would not recommend this hotel to anyone. I also will not be back and makes me question my Starwood loyalty. September 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My "New Home" in D.C. I was so impressed by the EXCELLENT Customer Service on all of the Staff on all shifts. Well, Equally impressive was the Generous Upgrade 1 month or weeks before scheduled arrival with matching email to ensure the whole team knows you're coming. Carrie was so helpful resolving my problem when I needed to postpone my stay.The only downside when you have late check-out on a busy weekend is that you'll deal with the influx of guests checking-in so be prepared to allow 30-45 mins. to wait in line to validate your parking & get your car. I would like to see more HOT DEALS or packages for the rest of the year. March 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff was beyond excellent!!!!!! My husband and I came in on Sunday, June 23, and during that trip we found out his mother had died. I had to change the reservation, the comped the parking, the helped us with getting a train back. My brother was also staying, we changed his reservation and then changed it back. I needed to get to my car to show a friend where all the features were so he could drive it back, your valet was extremely accommodating. The superb, professional and compassionate services during this difficult time went above and beyond, you should be very proud of your staff. June 25, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel needs better customer service. Arrived and given a room and the air conditioning wasn't working properly, couldn't move us hotel was full, next day moved to a small room but better air con., front desk is overloaded and can't get there act together. No doorman on duty when we arrived, no bellboy also, car jockey helped us get a cart, garage staff banged up my driver-side door, finally after much debate I Ace parking will pay for the damages.. This was our second stay and second year in a row we stayed here, seems to me that something always happens at this hotel. We like to stay here for the Blossom festival on our way back to Home in Canada. Sincerely, Raymond Grant May 24, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed! Hi: I just wanted to pass on feedback that my most recent stay/experience at your hotel was less than satisfactory. The entire hotel had a dreary, worn down look and the room furnishings (chairs, sofa) had decidedly seen better days. Dinner at the restaurant was so-so. For the price I was charged I expected a much better experience--came away disappointed. Had to pay for breakfast and internet over and above exorbitant room rate. I just did not perceive value. Thanks. September 23, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by 11 pm construction? I hate to add to the negative reviews, but I will start by saying I knew there was construction that was supposed to take place during business hours. I didn't mind because I did not plan to stay on the property during the day. However, as I sit here and write this 11 o'clock on a Thursday night, construction is still going on. I hear a saw and constant hammering. I called the front desk about a half hour ago and they said they would take care of it, but unfortunately that has not happened. At this point, the property does not have any redeeming qualities. The restaurant and gym are nonexistent. They lobby is practically outside, the rooms are outdated and have thin walls, and there are no other amenities. As much as it pains me to say this, I recommend avoiding this hotel at all costs. I'm a loyal spg guy, but this is unacceptable. February 13, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Good Hotel; Horrible Service I am generally a big fan of the Westin. But this location was a nightmare - the staff are unfriendly, and there was remodeling / construction going on in the room next to mine - which started in the early hours of the morning (possibly middle of the night). When I complained to the front desk, they acknowledged there is some construction going on but did nothing to correct the inconvenience. Highly unprofessional behavior from such a well-regarded brand. September 24, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by A Westin let down Westin in my mind reflects a high standard. This particular property does not honor your reputation. The carpet leading to the restauant is so dirty and worn, one hardly finds comfort in eating if the floor is that dirty. We called for a bellman, waited 20 minutes, finally did the job ourselves. I generally love Westin and stay often, almost Platinum. I would never stay in your Wasington property again. It does not remotely speak to the Starwood brand. June 25, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Uneven service While the hotel was recently renovated, there were several things off with our room: the interior doors didn't fully close, the sliding door of the shower came off the hinges, a picture was hung upside down. While staff was nice, our room was not ready when promised (even when we called ahead, and this was for a regular - NOT early - checkin time) and the crib we had requested was not there. We had to call twice before it was brought upstairs. The facilities in general were nice though and the lady at the front desk went out of her way to make up for our room not being ready, sending snacks up for the kids. September 20, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Under construction This hotel is under construction, and has been for some time. Until now it has been manageable, but I checked in this week to find no lobby, no functioning gym, basically a construction zone. They didn't notify me in advance of checking in - not acceptable when I am Starwood platinum and reserved a room based on certain amenities. I then returned to the hotel after a long day to find my room hadn't been cleaned and no linens. November 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Smelly Room The front desk and customer service in the lobby was outstanding, I was met with a warm, friendly greeting. The staff members there were all super helpful and extremely nice. My only complaint was with my room. Room 705 has a horrible odor. Smelled like a dead rodent was stuck in a vent and later it smelled like rotten eggs just to be polite. I was just too tired to go downstairs or call to complain. So I went to sleep with this lurking odor in room only to wake up to a new bad odor of rotten eggs in the morning. Your engineering department might want to check this out before a new guest occupies this room. Other than that my experience there was very pleasant. March 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by upgrade needed in appearance & staff simple tasks like checking in w/valet upon arrival was taxing and not well coordinated; my room - upgraded to a suite, had worn carpet, a broken shower door, stained furniture and felt like a room that's often been used by bachelor parties; tired w/stains in carpet & furniture ; noise from atrium bar echoes all night through center court ….. I have never stayed at Westin like this - amazingly poor & in need of overhaul November 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A successful meeting, yet again - and the food is spectacular This is our second year hosting our annual conference in D.C. at the Westin City Center, bringing together staff from every state. It was wonderful to see the beautiful rennovation the hotel has undergone. The entire hotel staff up to and includding the General Manager were constantly checking in to be sure everything was running smoothly. all the attendees were extremely impressed with the quality and presentation of the food - Chef Nunez is very talented! Chef helped us tailor the menu and offered alternatives that accommodated all atendees pallets - Presentation of the food was beautiful and mouthwatering! From beginning to end, service was exceptional. We will plan to have more of our meetings at this location. September 26, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing Highly dissatisfied with my stay, especially for the price of the hotel. My television broke, they forgot to leave my cleaning voucher, multiple channels were fuzzy and couldn't be viewed (including ESPN), concierge was unhelpful, have to pay for internet access and have to pay extra to connect more than one device to internet. The biggest disappointment however was the gym - it was a joke. July 5, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by A disappointing exprience The Westin DC completely failed to meet the expectations I am used to with Westin properties. The staff responsiveness was below average, the in-room dining was a total disaster (mixed-up the order, twice, spoiled food) and the hotel itself is old and in dire need an upgrade. I have been a long time Starwood Platinum member and have grown to expect the excellence that a large majority of your hotels provide. The Westin DC Center failed me miserably. August 22, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Close the hotel if you are jackhammering the lobby I have stayed at this hotel many times before and always had a good experience. That changed this past week. I cannot believe that the hotel is remaining open during heavy construction. At a minimum,guests should have been informed that the rooms would not be suitable for occupation during the day due to the jackhammering of the lobby and the dust that made the air almost unbereathable. November 21, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Tired Westin The interior of the hotel needs to be refurbished. Carpets are worn and the interior needs to be painted. The fitness center was dirty and the equipment needs to be updated. Three of us were to get upgrades with king beds. My room was downgraded and the others were given downgrades as well. Very poorly handled reservations for the conference. May 12, 2012
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>