The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten

  • 144 Oyster Pond Road
  • St. Maarten,
  • Sint Maarten
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 35 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall an amazing property! We stayed 5 nights at the westin and visited almost all of the beaches on the island. This was by FAR the best beach on St Marteen. The food was excellent and staff went above and beyond. Fran the concierge was wonderful too and had some great recommendations for dinner and activities. We'll definitely be back! April 1, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by CASINO? + hotel POINT 1: The first thing that strikes guests is the misplaced casino dominating the entry to this hotel. It's a fairly nice hotel and in my opinion, the casino is a huge detractor. It seems to me that a lot of prime real estate is wasted on this under-utilized casino endeavor. POINT 2: Be careful making a reservation here if there is any chance your plans may change. We planned to stay 6-nights but had to leave after staying only three nights. The hotel still charged for the FULL reservation; not just a one-night penalty for an early departure (as is customary); again, "billed for the full reservation". POINT 3: Perhaps indigenous to the island and not just this hotel, but don't expect normal 'customer service'. It seems that everyone employed by the hotel seemed to be having a bad day, the only exception was the lady working the concierge desk, she was awesome. If you want any service, be prepared to ask for it; serious! If you don't speak up, the wait staff will just ignore you. POINT 4: This hotel is located as far from the airport as you can possibly get. It's as if someone set a prison on a beach. There is not much nearby, so expect to utilize commercial transportation if you want to escape being a resort hostage. POINT 5: We reserved an "ocean view" but were given a "resort view". A "resort view" evidently involves looking at the air drying laundry in the neighboring slum; no water, no beach, not even a courtyard in view, this is what a "resort view" means. Read "POINT 2". My credit card had already been charged for a 6-night stay, two months in advance. The "ocean view" was substituted for a "resort view" at check-in. The hotel had my money, did not deliver the room reservation I made, and charged me for 6-nights when we only stayed for 3-nights. As a frequent business traveler (240 nights/year), I would NOT stay here again. Therefore, I certainly CANNOT recommend it for others. This experience was very sour, I doubt I'll be inclined to explore any other Starwood branded properties. March 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Stay! We stayed at The Westin Dawn Beach for a week in Feb 2013 & it was beautiful! We have traveled many places and stayed at wonderful hotels (all 4 or 5 star) and this was one of our favorites. The beach was very large with plenty of chairs, cabanas were available for rent, & the pool was beautiful. The rooms were very nice, large bathroom with large glass shower & separate tub. We were upgraded to an Ocean Front room & sat on the patio at night listening to the ocean & looking up at the stars. The Casino was fun. We played Blackjack and I learned to play Craps. Sometimes it was pretty empty, but on 3 of the nights there was a little crowd around those tables. (My husband is animated when he plays Craps & sometimes draws the crowd) :) The food was good, yes the breakfast buffet was pricey - but aren't all at vacation spots? You can order from a menu for a cheaper price but one look at the buffet & it will be hard to pass up. We ate at both restaurants and the pool bar. I was happy that the pool bar had healthy options & not just the standard burgers. The most expensive restaurant (only open at night) was not much better than the one that is open all day. So my advice is, save your money. We rented a car, & after much research, paid for full coverage insurance. That put my mind at ease, but luckily we had no incidents. We were happy to have the car & ventured out 3 days. We shopped on Front Street & rented Segways (fun). But our most favorite outing, Sunset Beach! Watching the planes come in (most planes come in between 2 & 3:30). We had a couples massage, mine was great but husband said his was "ok." Another girl in the locker room said it was the best massage she ever had. So, as with most things, it's kinda luck of the draw on the massage therapist. I worked out in the gym, it had free weights and about 5 or 6 cardio machines, towels, water, yoga mat, etc. I was happy with it - the goal was to work off the extra calories from all the fruity drinks. ;) Our luggage arrived the next day. This is not uncommon - we learned!! So, pack 2 - 3 days worth of clothes in your carry-on. Luckily, I had a swimsuit, a dress, & a few other necessities in my carry on so it did not dampen my mood. Another couple was not so lucky. They had no bags for 2 days & had to spend a lot of money at the hotel gift shop for needed items. I read all the reviews before I booked the trip & am very happy that people who loved the trip took time to write a review. I saw a few lizards outside but no animals inside, & certainly no roaches. Yes, when you drive up you see a concrete building. The beautiful side faces the water, just as most homes along the coast of the U.S. We are already talking about returning! I hope that if you decide to go here, you have a wonderful time too! :) March 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Resort My wife and I recently stayed at the Westin in St. Maarten and we were very pleased with everything. The staff was very helpful with our questions and the service was quick and pleasant. The rooms are very spacious and the resort is very clean throughout.. Everyone was extremely pleasant and the breakfast buffet was great...especially the Sunday Brunch which was voted the best on the island. I would definitely recommend this resort to everyone. It was a fabulous vacation! November 9, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not sure why SPG Gold not prioritized Tried upgrading using SPG points to a suite upon arrival but told property is not owned by Westin and had limited participation with Starwood by Nadine. Had romance package so had ocean front room, use of cabana daily and buffet breakfast for two daily as well as free internet access. Staff throughout property were accomodating and friendly. Sean, front desk manager very helpful and accomodating. Ate dinners out at nearby restaurants. Breakfast buffet did not have skim milk or bananas except for last day there. Restaurant manager very kind and apologetic. December 11, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Big Disappointment When we arrived at the hotel I was not really sure it could possibly be the Westin. It looked like the back of cement building. There are only two colors int the entry. Brown and beige. Dark and gloomy.. Then entire hotel is dark. Nothing special. You are on a beautiful island and the hotel could have been an average hotel in Vegas.. If you want a tropical bright vacation this is not the place to go... Staff is good. July 19, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good and Bad I recently visited this hotel and I enjoyed myself. For the most part the staff was friendly and meet all my needs. Sharon at the front desk is amazing!!! The downside is that upon checking in I was informed that there was a $20 a day mandatory fee which I felt should have been included as part of my payment when I booked the trip through Expedia especially if its mandatory. The other downside is that if you rent a cabana during off season the cost is $58; on season its about $115 - that seems to be a bit overpriced. June 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by November in St. Maarten Exceptionally friendly and professional staff. Good food and quality in the restaurants. Beautifully clean pool areas. Would highly reccomend this resort. Even the taxi drivers were good ! November 9, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overpriced and Falsely Advertised Ive travelled to a number of places and many times I do depend on the reviews online. There are plenty of places to stay in St. Maarten, but I opted to chose this one because the picture of the oceanfront room was what I expected, especially since the room was quite pricey [$450 per night] (and dont forget about others fees per night which amounts to approximately $100 each night). I made my reservations back in November, 2013 to stay in February 2014. For some reason they decided to put us in a suite on the ground floor (in which there were many bugs). I called the manager and said to him I specifically paid for an oceanfront room with a balcony. They put us in a oceanfront patio room, which I did not reserve, but that was all they had. I asked the manager if he would reduce the rate (because that was not the room we reserved for $450, and he said no). My husband and I really needed this vacation and opted not to stress about it, but honestly I would never, ever go back there again. Im telling my friends not to go there, and Im telling you to trust me...dont go there. Also the food at Ocean is horrible. We had breakfast ($43 per couple) there a few times and dinner. Afterwards we decided to rent a car went up the hill and had much better breakfast for $11 per couple. Dinner at Grand Case is excellent French food and definitely worth the trip. If we ever go to St. Maarten again, we would rent a villa which is right on Dawn Beach, a few feet from the Westin called Tropical Paradise and they have weekly rates starting at $1450. Unfortunately we learned about Tropical Paradise after we had already booked Westin Dawn Beach...but you live and learn... February 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Resort I was recently at this property in October 2012. We were a group of eight, and we all thought the resort was beautiful, breathtaking and picturesque. The entire staff (front desk, room attendants, in-room dining, concierge, restaurant staff, pool staff, etc.) was very accommodating, the food was amazing, the chefs at the breakfast buffet were always pleasant and personable. Want to give a shout out to Nadine a bartender at this property, she was always pleasant and went above and beyond to meet our expectations. She truly is an asset to this resort. We went during "off season" and I was a little disappointed that the hotel did not have much of nightlife in the evenings, if you are looking for a dancing and music, you will have to leave the resort. The resort is a little remote from other areas of the island you need to travel to get to places. We were fortunate enough because our group met Nelson (three cheers to Nelson) a taxi driver who was there for us to transport us back and forth to our destinations during our stay on the island. Overall, the trip was excellent and would recommend this resort to family and friends a great place to escape to relax and rejuvenate. October 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The BEST in St. Maarten I'm very delayed in writing this review for my trip last November but it wasn't until I was booking this year's trip that I remembered I neglected to write a review. I've been going to St Maarten for about 12 years and this was the BEST trip I've had yet. Originally, my boyfriend and I were booked to spend only 3 nights at the Westin then moving to a timeshare trade on the other side of the island for the remaining stay. The timeshare unit was not up to my standards so I immediately called Starwood to book our last 5 nights at the Westin as I couldn't spend more than one night in the timeshare. They were very accommodating! If I write about all my great experiences at this property it would take days to read so I'm going to summarize and highlight. I cannot say enough about Max and his food & beverage team. We had superb meals and service no matter which venue we chose - restaurants or room service. Diva and team at Aura took great care of us including my special dietary needs. The couple of times that we ventured out of the hotel to eat at some of my favorite places left me disappointed so we stopped wasting gas and ate almost every dinner at Aura where we knew we would have an awesome tasting meal and great service. Max introduced us to a great wine that I now buy regularly at my local wine store. The spa was amazing. We got a massage on our 1st day there and 2 more before we left - couldn't resist with their November special price. Front desk staff were super friendly and upgraded us to an ocean front which was greatly appreciated. The surprise in the room was a great treat as well :-). I read many poor reviews about the lack of shade so I was really concerned as I'm pasty white. This is not a problem at all. I was on the beach or at the pool all day every day and found plenty of shade to hide in. If you want a good workout while you're there walk up the hill in front of the resort - my legs looked great after 8 days. April 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beware of 'ocean front' room definition We arrived today looking forward to an ocean front room only to find our room (3160) overlooks the pool area and other rooms across the way. I have been loyal to Starwood properties over the years for business travel, but disappointed with this property. When I called the front desk to inquire if an error was made, I simply received the response, "no, your room is considered ocean front." I will go elsewhere next trip. February 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Don't even try it Overall, service was really not up to my expectations as an SPG Platinum member. They made us wait a lot for any inquiry, including check-in and people didn’t really seem to be willing to help you with anything. Once we finally got our room, the room was dirty and outdated. We asked for a room change, but they said they had nothing available, which I cannot believe was true since the hotel was at about a 30% capacity. To sum up to that, they were fixing many rooms near to ours, and they began the day with really loud machinery noises at about 8 am, when we were trying to rest since we were on vacation. November 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Getaway Really nice experience for my wife and I. We very much enjoyed our stay, especially after being upgraded to a presidential suite. The ocean front balcony is awesome, perfect for our own outdoor ocean view dinners ordered through room service. Staff is very helpful and friendly. Recommend a car to explore the fantastic french restaurants on the other side of the island. July 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Location From 09.02.2013 to 12.02.2013 we spent three days in the Westin Dawn Beach. We arrived in the night after an eighteen-hour trip, but the following days were very relaxed and we enjoyed every day. The stuff was very friendly and helpful, there was a great taxi-service, our clean room had a stunning view to the ocean and the pool area was very attractive, no stress with the lounges or towels. The beach directly at the front of the hotel was clean and quiet. Even the shop in the hotel had fashionable clothes. It was a pleasure to have in the morning a delicious breakfast together with our Airline crew and we are looking forward for our next stay in this beautiful hotel. Please don’t change anything! March 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 Awesome Hotel. Front desk staff not very welcoming! This was my third and last time Please do something with the front desk staff. I will not return. Staff rude February 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Too many lizards running all over the place The location is a bit remote. Car is a must. The pool is great. The bar on the beach is great. I have never seen so many lizards running all over the place like at this Westin. The hallway smells like mildew. I like the location and the friendly staffs, but everything else needs a lot of work. October 21, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place to relax Clean hotel, nice beach, great food March 17, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great escape for relaxation! My now husband and I were vacationing on our honeymoon and had a fantastic time at the Westin Dawn Beach. Be prepared, it is not located in a busy part of town and there are no other restaurants walking distance to the hotel. Taxis however are always available by the entrance and Marcel –Taxi 08 - who is stationed there is the best on the island. Keep in mind, you are visiting the Caribbean; do not be surprised to see critters (lizards) or other hints of outdoorsiness. The hotel is very clean and very well maintained; and if anything is not to your liking, the staff are very eager and friendly to please. The views and the pool are its gems, but bring plenty of sun block as the cabanas do cost $58 to rent per day and there are no other forms of shade available by the beach/pool. The spa is fabulous! Treated ourselves to a couple’s massage that was worth every penny. And the steakhouse, although may seem expensive, can give Morton’s a run for its money at a competitive price. Please try the salted caramel molten cake! (cappuccino optional but a great accompaniment) The casual restaurant onsite, Blue, is about what you would expect. The breakfast buffet always had an abundant selection of fresh fruit and the omelets were made to order. The gym was also very well maintained (working equipment) and the hotel allows you to use the spa’s locker room, which is awesome with a steam and sauna! We were there for a week, so we tried just about everything at the hotel! June 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Resort for Relaxation Most of the staff is exceptional at this resort and that really makes the hotel experience. Lianna and Simon in the Ocean Restaurant and Waterston at the Pool should be mentioned because they were especially terrific. Fran at the concierge desk was also wonderful. The beach and pool are well maintained. Wait staff service is great in both areas and the equipment and towels are well maintained. Everything is kept very clean. The resort is located on the Dutch side of the island which is quieter but also more secluded. Taxi service to the french side is very expensive and can cost as much as $40 one way. Beware of the taxi service in general! They are not regulated and it's up to the taxi driver what he/she wants to charge. Renting a car is cheaper but more stressful because of the steep hills, confusing side roads, etc. Really, this is the only down side to the Westin resort. There are a few restaurants close to the restaurant and we loved Daniels by the Sea, Big Fish and L'Oasis. There was no mention of my status as a Gold SPG member when I checked in and I received only a partial ocean front room instead of a full ocean front room which I reserved. Certainly no upgrade so that was a bit disappointing. My status was recognized when I checked out but a little too late in that regard. The room, however, was clean, quiet and very comfortable. I was a bit concerned from other reviews about the time share approach. It appears that the reviews must have made a difference because no one bothered us at all. We met several families who visit this resort every year for the holidays and I can understand their reasons. Overall, a great and relaxing trip. January 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Beach Location, Friendly Staff My wife and I spent 6 nights at the Westin Dawn Beach Resort this month (January) and had a very enjoyable visit. We stayed in an ocean front room and, while pricey, if you can afford it the views of Dawn Beach, the ocean and St. Barts are fantastic. The rooms are huge, well appointed, have large bathrooms with separate tub and shower area and I believe all have either a balcony or patio. Reading some of the reviews before our trip, we had a few concerns about the condition of the hotel, friendliness of the staff, etc. These concerns proved to be unfounded. The hotel is in very good condition and a new carpeting program was ongoing while we were there. The front desk staff, led by Nadine, was very friendly and helpful, as was the housekeeping staff. The ocean front pool area is very nice, not at all crowded and offers a beach front hot tub. The bar tenders and wait staff at the pool are great, the food quality is good and the pricing reasonable by hotel standards. We had drinks and lunch there a number of days. We tried the Ocean restaurant one night, but they seemed to be a bit overwhelmed and after waiting 45 minutes for our wine to arrive we decided to eat elsewhere. There are a few minor areas that could be improved. `The Fitness Center has the usual offerings, but is small with no windows and can be crowded. The wifi in the rooms worked well for the most part (occasional slowness or drops), but the reception at the pool was a problem unless your were close to the building. We were in one of the rooms that are a long way from the elevator and having to go to them as the only was to get to the beach was annoying. Since I recently had a joint replacement, additional access points to the beach (keyed doors?) would have been welcome. As all the Westin Resorts, there is the annoying resort fee and also a service charge. I am hoping that SPG properties start moving away from these fees. We wanted to visit different parts of the island so we rented a car and found the location of the hotel to work out very well. While you have the advantage of being on a beautiful beach away from the towns, you are a relatively short drive from Orient Beach, Philipsburg and Grand Case. Overall we had a great stay and we would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting St. Maarten. January 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel features The Weston is a superb facility nicely located with wonderful views as well as outside facilities such as pools, wet bar, beach. The hotel staff at all levels are professional, very pleasant and willing to answer any questions about the island. The buffet staff is excellent and the buffet itself. Family and I were there last week of July, 2013. July 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Honeymoon Bliss!! This review is past due, but I had to clear some time to make sure i wrote it. My wife and I were married last October and were thrown as to where to spend our honeymoon. We are members of Starwood Preferred Guest Program, but participate in American Express Fine Hotels Program as well. While we started our search for destinations with Amex Fine Hotels, we quickly realized that given our busy schedules, budget, and time available to take a honeymoon, along with a desire to go somewhere that neither of us had been before, Starwood, and specifically Westin, would give us both the level of service and amenities, as well as the value that we were trying to obtain. One thing was for sure. We wanted to be on a white sandy beach with clear blue water, good dining options, and have the ability to disconnect from the real world when desired, while still being able to watch cartoons and news if desired. After much assistance from Starwood's vacation counselors, as well as the blessings of AAA and Amex travel advisers, we set our sites clearly on the Westin Dawn Beach. Although the property is not listed on American Express Fine Hotels list, which has served us well to this day, it did receive good reviews from those counselors and friends that told us they had stayed there. Well, they did not disappoint. The first positive for me was their concierge, Joseph. I am accustomed to calling a property ahead of my stay and pre-arranging dinner and activity reservations. Joseph put so much time and effort into helping us create a itinerary, LISTENING to our preferences, offing suggestions, and proving exemplary, professional customer service. By the time I actually arrived at the property, I thought that we had already known each other for some time! He was awesome and as a business owner, We all wish we had more "Joseph's"! Upon arrival in St. Marteen, we rented a jeep from a local provider, which ended up being surprisingly good. I am a Hertz Gold guy, so i suppose my expectations are high and was expecting a let down, but they were courteous, the vehicle was late model and in pretty good condition, save for a few small scratches and a hole or two in the seat fabric. But for a convertible, it was acceptable. after a educational drive from the airport, we finally happened upon the property. We were a little complacent when we first arrived, since the entrance to the property kind of jumps up on you and is basically just a nice Westin sign, some nice landscaping and a view of the parking garage. but once we pulled up in front of the front doors, we were a little more at ease, as it was much more opulent. We met Joseph immediately upon arrival and he was very cordial and happy to finally meet us. he escorted us to the from desk, where Marla took over. She was equally as friendly, caring and professional. We had informed Joseph prior to our arrival that not only was it our honeymoon, but that we had just lost our main business location to 4' of water in hurricane Sandy, and that this was our one chance to not think about it. They must have spoken to management and pulled some strings in light of our situation, because there was a big surprise in store for us. Marla informed us that our room wasn't ready, but that we could go have a cocktail by the ocean bar and they would let us know when we were ready. Upon my request, they did show us a cute little room on the second floor that could be ready immediately, but we weren't crazy about the particular view and location, so they said "no worries" and we proceeded to the pool for a welcome rum punch (which we were very welcome to have!). Finally, about 45 minutes later, we were informed that our room was ready. Well, our room was not just a room, but a beautiful suite tucked away on the ocean-side right hand corner of the property. When we arrived at the front DOORS (yes, DOORS, not door) of the room, we were both really excited. It was a positively wonderful room with a secluded patio and wonderful views of the ocean from both patios! AND they had a nice cold bottle of French Champagne and chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us! What thoughtfulness this staff exudes! Everyone was wonderful and gracious hosts during our week there. Sabrina was very helpful, as was Virgini at the pool bar, Rodney the black jack dealer, the Italian matre D and chef in the fine dining restaurant (sorry paisanos, i can recall names), the pool attendants, everyone. The Spa was wonderful as well, although facilities really needs to keep up in there, as the same light bulbs were out and toilet out of order on both my visits there. it appears as if the property did get a face lift since some of the earlier reviews that I read prior to my arrival. The carpets were new, and they were redoing the facade while we were there, without interruption to our stay i might add. The GM Daniel Beddor and regional director Dan Szydlowski should be commended for have such a wonderful group of ladies and gentleman working for them. The property is nice, but the staff is what made it special. The island was fun yet relaxing and the food on the french side is way off the hook. Our favorite restaurant was Le Tastevin (just had to mention their name, they were just that good), which Joseph recommended highly. We will most certainly be back to this property!! Job well done guys! February 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Going back yearly There isn't enough space here to write all I can praise about this resort. We landed on the island in August 2011 right before tropical storm Irene. We stayed at another resort for the week and we're pretty down. The day we were going to leave we stopped by the Westin. Fantastic we were in love! We then found out that Irene had become a hurricane and it our town in the USA. Couldn't get off the island we ewe stranded in paradise( I know how lucky can you get). We'll we got asked to go on a tour...we went! While in tour we let the sales team know what happened, and they offered us the use of the hotel free of charge (4 people 2rooms) for the next week that we were stranded. They threw in Internet, 1st days food......prayers we're answered. We had a beautiful week using all the amenities of the hotel. Yes, and before we left we purchased a 3bedroom villa. We also own 2 other weeks with another hotel chain..it was a great price for a wonderful property with lots of trading power! DONT FORGET THE COMPASSION OF THIS GROUP OF PEOPLE..ITS LIKE VISITING FAMILY October 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has some special help! First arriving to St. Maarten the second week in May it was pouring rain. Probably not a good start. We were optimistic, which worked out. It cleared up and was beautiful the whole time. The grounds were kept well and being the end of high season it was perfect. We did not have to worry about where to sit and enjoy the pool or the beach. The help at the pool was friendly and helpful. They happen to be filming for a brochure for SPG so we were moved a few times, but the manager Christian came and sat down and talked to us and explained the situation and made our stay at the pool and beach wonderful. He went out of his way to treat us as if we were VIP's. His recommendations on dining at the hotel restaurant was as good or better than the restaurants in town. Kudos to the Westin for having such a great manager in St. Maarten. This definitely is a place we will recommend to others and to say Hi to Christian for us! We recommend visiting in May also. June 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relax in St. Maarten The hotel and condo units are a wonderful way to relax and enjoy the Caribbean at its best. My family loves the resort and all of the amenities offered. We shall return July 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is the place to be if you want to RELAX!!! My husband & I came in 2009 and exchanged another time share we had to stay in St Maarten. We actually stayed in another timeshare for one day until we saw the Dawn Beach Club. After we saw the place it didn't take long for us to decide to purchase a timeshare at the Dawn Beach Club! They moved us in the following day and we spent the rest of our vacation at the Dawn Beach Club condo :) If you get a chance, this is the place to be!!! It's now 2014 and we still can get enough of this place :) LOVE the people here! They are all so very nice & friendly! January 15, 2014
<<prev2