The Westin Jersey City Newport

  • 479 Washington Boulevard
  • Jersey City,
  • New Jersey
  • 07310
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest must be 18 years or older with a valid ID to check in.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 387 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Review This hotel is rated 5 stars in my opinion. No problems, great staff, great food, and great lodging. What more could you ask for? September 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Without a doubt Without a doubt it is a pleasure to stay at this hotel. The rooms are spacious, clean, and affordable. The hotel caters to every need. This is the second time I stayed here and will look to stay there everytime I am in town. OUTSTANDING service and accomidations! November 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by unexpected Went out for a run after work and when I came back and was walking through the lobby, the concierge came out from behind the desk over to where I was walking and handed me a bottle of water - really appreciated and an unexpected very nice touch. June 14, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Extremely Disappointing Experience My husband and I, along with our 5 and 21 month old sons, stayed at the Westin Jersey City for a weekend in mid-June. A fire alarm went off at 6:15 am on Sunday morning, and guests of several floors (including mine, the 14th) had to evacuate their rooms. So my husband and I proceeded to walk down 12 flights of stairs carrying our sons, who had been peacefully sleeping until that time (not always the case with the 5 month old!). We then sat outside on the curb with the babies for the next hour, watching the fire trucks come and the firemen enter and exit the hotel. We realized at some point that the lobby was apparently not closed, but by that time all of the seats in the lounge were taken. Not once did we see a hotel representative come outside to speak with the guests to apologize, give an update on the situation, offer water, a breakfast croissant, or ANY COURTESY WHATSOEVER. My husband at one point did go inside and get 2 clean diapers for the boys from the concierge (we did appreciate that they were available), and we changed them out of their dirty overnight diapers using bar napkins on the sidewalk outside of the hotel. We were given the OK by the firemen to go inside after about an hour, and they informed us as we were in line to go up the elevators that the alarm was cause by an air conditioning unit on the 12th floor which had burned out (a hotel maintenance issue). Once again, no explanation or apology from the hotel staff. I expected a credit on our bill for the inconvenience, but did not receive a copy of the bill under the door the night before checkout to verify whether that would be the case, and when I checked out Monday morning and inquired about a credit with the hotel representative assisting me, she said no credits were being offered. I did not have time to ask to speak with the manager at that point, so I told her I would reach out to hotel management to express my unhappiness with the situation upon my return home. I e-mailed the hotel outlining this experience the next day after returning home, and requested a response. I received none. I called the hotel a week later and spoke to the assistant to the general manager of the hotel. She denied receiving my e-mail (although she pulled up one I sent to the same e-mail address with an inquiry prior to the trip). She acknowledged that the situation was poorly handled, and stated that there is a plan to retrain staff to respond to situations like this one, but that no compensation was being given to the guests for their inconvenience. I travel fairly often both personally and for work, and have stayed at Westin hotels a number of times with good experiences. I am extremely disappointed in this case - I did not expect such a cavalier response from a Westin hotel to a SIGNIFICANT inconvenience to their guests. We will certainly not be staying at this hotel again. June 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by EXCELLENT HOTEL & LOCATION This was our 1st trip to NYC /Jersey City. What an excellent hotel and location. The Path train is only a block away and takes 9 minutes to get to NY. Newport Yatch club and Michael Anthonys bar/restaurant is right across the street. There is also a waterfront walking path that is an EXCELLENT view of the city. The Fire & Oak restaurant in the hotel was delic!!! The only bad thing I have to say about this hotel is that the hot tub was not hot enough, yep thats it, but overall very excellent place, location, staff,. I look forward to staying here again and again October 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by So...impressed! Wish I could have stayed longer. The staff was amazing and so... abliging. I find that rare these days. It was truly appreciated. The room was decorated very nice and the bed was comfortable. I felt safe and secure which allowed me to be at ease while I was there. July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Refreshing! This was our first time staying at a hotel with our baby, and were quite nervous about it. Westin made us feel right at home, with personally bringing up to our room the Westin kids club pack and the crib for our daughter were very thoughtful. The upgrade to a higher floor didn't hurt either. The PATH was so easy to get to from hotel we felt safe enough to venture into NYC. My only complaint would have to be parking, at $31 a night that really puts a dent in your wallet but it still beats NYC parking. Overall we definitely plan on staying here again! May 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by As usual awesome experience. Everything about the Westin is Jersey City is 1st class. The staff are so nice and helpful. Fire and Oak is a great place to eat also. Location is great for whatever you plan on doing. July 8, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by DISHONESTY IN CHECKIN The staff claimed there were no suite available for upgrade, but the computer showed there were Jr. suites to sell. Staff upgraded the room to a Premium room (also called a Newport King) and claimed it was a suite. Contacted manager upon checkout and manager also claims the Newport King is a suite (smaller than their Jr Suite). This type of dishonesty is unacceptable. They need to learn to tell the truth. (The room was freezing, even with the heat turned up to 75 degrees. I don't think the windows hold in the heat) Very disappointed. February 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Staff and Faciliites at this hotel ae top notch. I am a regular visitor to this hotel and the reason I continue to return is because the staff are very very focused on ensuring my stay is very pleasant and all my needs are taken care of. in addition to the high quality of the staff, the facility itself is top notch and is a vry comfortable and pleasant place to stay. August 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Impeccable Staff & Service, Lovely Hotel As a platinum Starwood guest and traveller, I can say with conviction that based on my past stay at the Westin Jersey City, this hotel is simply wonderful. The staff and level of service not only met my expectations but also exceeded them. I transferred to the Westin JC after an upsetting/not-so-pleasant stay at another hotel in Manhattan. The staff, especially Vlera and Pat, were extremely warm, welcoming and friendly, showing genuine sincerity and taking the time, patience and energy in making my stay comfortable and enjoyable. Thank you both very much! Furthermore, the rest of the staff including receptionists, house keeping/maids, and doormen were all very professional and also friendly. Lastly, food and location were great. I would and will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. November 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unforgettable experience I am a business traveler and I stayed in Westin, Newport, Jersey City for 11 months every week from Mon - Thu. I am a frequent traveler and have stayed in different hotels at different locations. I must say this has been the best experience. The people, service, amenities, location everything is remarkable. I loved the gym the most. It's a full service gym with all the required machines and plenty of space. They also have a indoor pool and Jacuzzi. SPG is the best option if you like to gain hotel points and this hotel is one of their best options in NYC area. This hotel is great also for the people who need to commute to NYC. Path station in just a block away and this literally across WTC. Overall, this has been an amazing experience and I would like to thank the management and people here. June 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Expectations This Westin met with all my expectations as Westin's generally do, with one exception - the staff at the hotel restaurant were exceptional. The male and female hosts consistently went out of their way to make me feel welcome and taken care of. Congratulations to you all - more staff should take your examples of pleasant, friendly hospitality. One minor SPG related issue was corrected after calling the hotel after check out. SPG Deluxe room didn't seem to be any different than any other room. October 21, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Staff I've always recommended Westin to all my friends but this trip is very disappointing. Your management should train your staffs properly. My first night, my room key didn't work. I had to come down to the lobby to get a new key. I up went to my floor to try the new key but it still didn't work. I had to come down to the lobby again to get it fixed but your front desk agent didn't even apologize for the inconvenience. She doesn't even say anything. I approached her and said "It still doesn't work" and she just does her thing with the computer. What kind of customer service is that. Maybe she was tired but whatever the circumstance is I decided to not care. But today, I went to the valet associate and asked for a cab. I even told me I'm gonna be using my credit card. He asked where I was going and I told him "Jersey City". He calls for a cab and I hop on and see that he doesn't have a meter. Driver tells me that the round trip to Marin Blvd is $16. Last night I only paid $10 but that was okay too. I come back to the hotel and the driver tells me he doesn't accept credit cards. WOW! I hold him I'm going to be using my credit card. Anyways, the drive told me if I still want to pay using the credit card I can but I have to give him 40% tip. Even though I'm staying at your hotel, I'm not a tourist and I'm not a picky customer either. I'm checking out on the 1st of Sept. I have to stay 3 more days at this hotel and today was only my 2nd day. I don't want to stay here anymore. You should train your staffs properly. August 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Define "Going Green"! While most hotels define "going green" as re-using your towels during your stay, at this place it means no maid service whatsoever! I thought it was odd that I was asked during check-in if I wanted to go green (and what it meant to "go green" wasn't explained with ANY detail), but it wasn't until I came home to my unmade bed and breakfast still sitting there on my desk that I realized I was basically renting a room for a few nights. Seriously, they need to do a better job up front specifically defining what this means. Also, although they adjusted my charges, the internet charges are PER DEVICE. The combination of these two items made me start to feel as though I was dealing with an airline and I wondered if they were going to charge me a fee for my bags. Not the best experience I've had at a Westin bar far! September 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel recognition of special occasion We stayed at the Westin Newport for the close proximity to NYC and the Highline. We were celebrating a special occasion and went to NYC for the day. Upon our return to the room, there was a chilled bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries awaiting. The staff, specifically Service Express Supervisor Kristin Vandeventer, took interest in the reason for our visit and treated us accordingly. We ordered breakfast through room service and it was hearty and delicious. August 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel overall Both my kids and me really enjoyed our stay here at this hotel. The staff at the check-in counter was extremely helpful that really sets a great tone for the whole stay. We loved the pool. The only complaint I have is the disappointing service we experienced at their Breakfast restaurant. I had such a hard time to get someone to refill for my coffee, in the end, I still did not get refill -- and the bill has already charged me for 22% of service, ugh. May 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Awesome Sleep Best beds that I have ever experienced at a hotel - we all slept well! Disappointed that I didn't get the view of NYC that I was hoping for but the hotel dealt with that professionally. Even lowered the room rate that I paid in full when booking without me asking them to! David at the front desk is a gem . Only complaint was the chemical smell in pool/ hot tub. Would definitely stay here again. Good work Westin! August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Too good to be true Admittedly, i was skeptical of staying in Jersey, mainly due to not being sure of how my family and I would commute to the city. Surprisingly it was much easier than I thought and my stay was certainly more comfortable than if I had stayed in cramped, more expensive in the city. This is surely the way I will go from now on! The hotel and its accommodations where amazingly swank and customer service was nothing short of premier!! December 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Hotel This hotel is unbelievable/beautiful. The staff is awesome/remarkable. The minute we step on the grounds of The Westin, we were greeted with smiles. Everyone was so helpful and friendly. Debbie was awesome! She accomodated our special requests which made our stay more special. This hotel goes above and beyond to make sure you feel at home. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone. October 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great city access, really nice hotel!! We stay at a Westin whenever we can, so when planning a long weekend visit to NYC, this was an obvious choice. Excellent location - a short, safe walk to the PATH train that gets you into Chelsea in less than 10 minutes. A great selection of casual restaurants, the Newport Mall, and the NJ rapid transit line are all within five minutes walk. The view of lower Manhattan from our junior suite was stunning, Staff were friendly and helpful whenever we had a question. The value versus a comparable hotel in Manhattan, is fantastic!! Without hesitation we'll be back! July 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service, Very Clean and Comfortable! Although my children and I only stayed one night I cannot say enough great things about the hotel. The hotel staff helped us navigate the subway to get where we needed to go. They helped us find a late night pizza place close to the hotel after 10pm. They also helped us when we arrived early so we could hit the ground running in NYC. I will absolutely come back on my next trip!!! July 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by AWESOME HOTEL, HORRENDOUS EGGS I needed a moms night away badly. I booked an overnight stay in a Newport King room. I arrived at the hotel and the staff was so welcoming, everyone from the door man to the front desk clerk. The room itself was beautiful with a GORGEOUS NYC view. Definitely spend the extra money upgrading your room, the Heavenly bathtub is true to its name. I was only 10 minutes from home and I felt like I was in a million miles away. EXACTLY WHAT I NEEDED. Everything was wonderful....EXCEPT...I that I opted for the breakfast buffet. My guest and I stood at the hostess desk for about 10 minutes, so we sat ourselves. I served myself 2 slices of bacon (good), a sesame bagel (good), and a spoonful of scrambled eggs (God awful). They weren't even real eggs, they were "creamy" & "gritty". YUCK. Our breakfast for 2 came to $47.51!!!! SOOOO not worth it. I was extremely upset. Too bad, the staff there were VERY nice and attentive. August 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel has great location We were looking for a hotel in a location where it would be very easy to get into New York. This hotel fit the bill perfectly. The price was reasonable and the hotel truly top notch. The Newport PATH station is just a block away, so mid-town and downtown quickly accessible for a $2.50 PATH ride. So much better than driving into NYC and finding a hotel there. August 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by 4 Star all the way! The Westin was great. My family came to the area for a weekend getaway. We even had our 6 year old who enjoyed the hotel and amenities. The area is so idea. I love the fact that there are a lot of options regarding restaurants that are walking distance. We even walked over to the mall and used the Path train to get to and from NYC. Great weekend! August 16, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Uncomfortable Beds/Poor Customer Service Stayed one night, May 17th to 18th, 2014. The beds in our room were lumpy and very uncomfortable. Everyone in my party complained in the morning about how poorly they slept. I informed the desk clerk upon check out, my complaint was immediately dismissed by the clerk. She questioned how the Westin's beds could be uncomfortable and rushed through my check out process. It was apparent to me that she did not want the next person in line to hear my issue. As a preferred guest I have never received such poor service and lack of concern about my overall hotel experience. I have stayed a numerous Starwood property's and this was the worst by far. May 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional This was must first time at this hotel and my expectations were met and exceeded. The rooms were spacious and the staff was pleastant. My wife and I had brunch at Fire and Oak and the food was fantastic. I do not not think, I would stay there on every occasion due to price but we were able to get a discounted rate due to a wedding. October 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Went extra mile We had the Holiday Suite special offer which included several extras. The valet went out of his to help us with our complimentary parking. I self parked not knowing but Jose walked with me to the ticket booth and explained the situation and swiped me out with his parking pass. The extra room amenity was thoughtful and fitting. November 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Over expected! A friend at work talk about this hotel a few weeks before i booked mine. I was looking for something not far away from the big apple. surprise...It's not just beside the big A, it's really more than that...Nice place, with a A1 services for many things. I will be back to that place and recommanded to my friends n family. Bravo! December 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stay nearly every week This hotel is fantastic. It's been my home away from home for the last 9 months. They go way out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The staff and amenities are incredible. My only gripe is that the gym TV's do not have ESPN. April 4, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>