The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - Un resort all-inclusive

  • Playa Conchal
  • Cabo Velas,
  • Guanacaste
  • Costa Rica
  • Mappa

Camere e tariffe

Chiudi

Bimbi\camera

Queste informazioni ci consentiranno di individuare le camere più appropriate per il vostro soggiorno, nonché di organizzare al meglio il vostro arrivo.

Fare riferimento ai termini e dettagli della camera per informazioni sui costi per letti a scomparsa e/o ospiti aggiuntivi.

Nota: in questo hotel gli ospiti di 12 anni o meno sono considerati bambini. Si prega di regolare il numero di adulti e bambini in base alla necessità.
Fare riferimento ai termini e dettagli della camera per informazioni sui costi per letti a scomparsa e/o ospiti aggiuntivi.

Family Plan Policy

An additional fee applies for children between 3 and 12 years old sleeping in existing bedding. Guests 13 years of age and older will be charged as an adult. Fees for children ages 3 to 12 years old (per child, per night): January 3 to April 30, 2014: Add 135 USD May 1 to December 22, 2014: Add 90 USD December 23, 2014, to January 2015: Add 255 USD

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years old with a valid, government-issued ID to check in.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 116 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay, beautiful resort, and FUN! We just returned from a weeklong trip with our family and friends (20 of us went) in April 2012. The resort was beautiful. The rooms were great. The food was tasty! There are also exotic birds, monkeys, iguanas, and coatis seen frequently around the resort (very cool). I've seen a few reviews mention that there wasn't much to do!?!?! I simply don't understand what exactly they would like to do? The resort publishes their (fully included) daily activities EVERY DAY which include: walking tours, running trips, beach yoga, beach volleyball, pool volleyball, water aerobics, wine tasting, tequila tasting, food tasting, spanish (intro), decorating. The resort also has a daily golf-cart tour around the Reserva Conchal complex (there is a small cost for this) - but we saw lots of animals on the tour and several views that you wouldn't see on your own which made it worth the nominal fee. Additionally there are MANY other activity options. There are optional tours you can pay for: we went on a "Mega Adventure Tour" which included a full day of activities (zip lining, water slides, horseback riding, and a volcanic mud spa) and we did a private fishing trip one day and caught red snapper . . . THE BEST PART is that the resort arranged to have OUR fish cooked for us that night for FREE (you have to ask for this). You can walk on the beach to the next town (very small) or you can take a 15-min taxi to the town of Tamarindo which has a beautiful beach with dozens of shops and restaurants to explore. You can take surfing lessons there. If you find yourself heading to the Westin Playa Conchal . . . you'll be pleased! April 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay in June! Overall: Great trip! Rooms: We had a suite in the Royal Beach Club and it was very clean, modernly decorated, had a mini fridge stocked daily with soft drinks, beer, liquor, as well as a daily supply of crackers/peanuts and there was fruit upon arrival. We were very happy with our suite as it has 2 full bathrooms, a living room, a patio with a whirpool, and though it was very humid in Costa Rica, our air conditioner kept our room very cold (which we like). The bathrooms were well stocked with not just the standard shampoo/conditioner/soap, but also shaving kits, toothbrush kits, and non standard amenities. None of the rooms really have beach or water views, as they are set up like little villas on a 24 acre property. That didn't bother us as we had a view of all the greenery and birds but just as an FYI. Food: It's true on the reservations - you need to book early. You should be fine as long as you book them as soon as you get there. We tried the Italian restaurant, the Mediterranean, The Thai/Asian (Bamboo), as well as the Latin Restaurant. We never made it to the French restaurant in the lobby. None of the restaurants have any sort of strict dress code (once in Mexico they were really strict on pants for me). They were all good, especially for an all inclusive. The best was the Italian restaurant. We went to Mitra (buffet) only for breakfast and they had a really good assortment. We also ordered room service twice, once for breakfast, and once for lunch. Room service is 24/7 which is nice Pools: There are two massive pools at this resort; one at the Royal Beach Club side (adults only) and one in the main side (note: both are in close walking distance). We stayed at the Royal Beach Club and parked ourselves in a cabanna most of the time. We saw somewhere after a few days of sitting there that they were $20 a day, but we used them for free - maybe because it was the rainy season. At the Royal Beach Club there is a pool bar, with top shelf liquor (all inclusive), towel service, drink service, and they even have a menu to order from if you don't feel like moving off your chair (we did this several days) - chips/guacamole, sandwiches etc. We didn't go to the main pool too much but it looked awesome. Activities: They have a full set of activities each day - we didn't participate in most, but if you have kids, I'd imagine it would be great. They have several workout classes as day (which is great) though I never made it to any of them :). They have a nice gym too open 24/7. We don't golf but heard great feedback on the golf course. They have Swiss tours on property or some guy outside on the beach that people have recommended (not affiliated) but I can't recall his name - we met friends that had a great time on both tour providers but my husband and I were there for pure relaxation this time as we have been to Costa Rica several other times and have done ziplining and the park tours etc. Beach: The beach is public, as are all beaches in Costa Rica, so there are some "sales people" out there, etc. The beach is ok, but the pools are the place to be. Overall Property: Yes, it is pretty big. Everything is however in a 5-10 minute walking distance and we walked most everywhere. And, they have these little truck/shuttles that are around to pick you up if you need a ride. Only wouldn't recommend this resort if you have some sort of difficulties walking but otherwise it is not an issue at all. I liked all the variety this larger resort offers. Staff: Very Very Very good. The staff at the Royal Beach Club went out of their way to make sure we had a great vacation. I mentioned to the concierge at the Royal Beach Club it was my husband's birthday, and they not only had a birthday cake at the restaurant we made reservations at, but also had a bottle of wine, chocolate strawberries, rose petals, and the patio hot tub running for when we got back. At the pool, I mentioned it was my husband's birthday earlier in the day, and he brought a mini chocolate cake for him with a candle to our cabana - so cute. Weather: We have been to Costa Rica several times - in the Central Pacific, however wanted to try out the Northern Pacific side. June is a the front of the raining season (believe it starts in May) so it is still good weather (atleast where we were), and only rained for a short period usually each day, though some days it didn't rain at all. I like traveling at this time since it is much less crowded. My only caveat to the whole trip was I got sick on day 3......I thought it might be food poisioning but my husband didn't get sick... I had a spa treatment earlier that day (spa is very nice by the way) that might have upset me, combined with the sun etc. Not sure.......but I had to spend day 4 and 5 recovering in the cabana. I went to the hotel doctor (who is "ok") and said I was dehydrated with a virus.......or something but wasn't sure. I've never gotten food poisening in Costa Rica in the past (and I drink all the water/food at the resort) unlike Mexico where I always get sick. But there was definitely something that upset me big time (major vomitting) for one night. The conceirge was sick that day also.....That said, I don't think it was something specific to this hotel per se, but just the one tid bit I didnt enjoy....... June 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amazing service and great property The Westin Playa Concha Resort & Spa Upon arrival we were promptly and warmly welcomed curbside. The bellman took responsibility for our bags and walked us to the front desk to check-in. We were immediately welcomed to the hotel by Eder who was very pleasant, helpful and checked us in with efficiency. As we stood at the check-in counter a waiter handed us each a refreshing cold drink, a very nice touch. We asked Eder for recommendations on the restaurants at the property and he gave us both the official response “they’re all wonderful” that you hear everywhere, and when pushed a touch, he also gave us his personal (which he clearly identified as his personal) opinion. This kind of honesty is so welcomed by guests. We’re smart enough to see through the “fake” answers. We came away from the check-in process impressed already with the staff, and Eder in particular. (Note: you can’t make dinner reservations after 4pm, so if you arrive after this time and would like to eat somewhere other than the International Buffet, you need to call before arriving and push them to allow you to make reservations at least for the first night – they’ll tell you that you can’t make reservations in advanced, but pushed they will take them.) Next an opened-air shuttle whisked us to our room. The rooms are call bungalows and appear to be 8 rooms per building. The room was attractively decorated and appeared to be in good condition, at first. I was a bit surprised that the bellman that took us to our room and handled our bags also felt the need to check and make sure everything worked. I’m guessing he does this, as more often than not something is wrong. In our case we’re glad he did check. The refrigerator was not working or stocked, the key slot used to turn the lights on didn’t actually require the key to work, a light bulb was out and the clock was not set to the correct time. The bellman called maintenance and they showed up in less than 5 minutes! Wow, great response time! Unfortunately the repairperson told us the refrigerator was working and that the product inside was warm simply because it was just restocked (funny since the bellman had told us 5 minutes earlier that it was not stocked and he would send someone to stock it). The repairman left and the person assigned to refill the refrigerator showed up a couple minutes later. We expressed concern about the refrigerator not working. He called maintenance for us and although we don’t speak Spanish, we’re pretty sure maintenance told him they had already checked it and that it was working. He could tell we were still concerned and to his credit he took things into his own hands, pulled the unit out and loaded it into his beverage cart and brought us a new one. Restocked it full of beverages and confirmed we were happy. Although you hate to deal with things not working 5 minutes after arriving in our room, thanks to a great restock person all was well and we were moving forward again with our visit. (Note: This property is showing it’s age, a higher quality maintenance program would go along way to improving this property and its appearance. Mismatched concrete patches, bent or chipped lighting, and electrical outlets that were not secured tightly to the exterior walls were common throughout the property) The pools are beautiful, the restaurants have been recently updated and there are lots of activities. The beach is also very nice and large. You do have to navigate the local vendors that are stationed directly outside the gates to the Westin, but they are not pushy and common in this area. If you want a massage for $20 you have lots of options. There are also water-crafts of all types that you can use or in some cases rent. The beach was very clean and well kept. The room design was ok. It was very open and if you and your significant other aren’t on the same except sleep schedule it’s a bit hard to be respectful of the one wishing to go to bed earlier or sleep in. The room design does allow for an easy fix however if the hotel wishes. A simple curtain of some type could easily isolate the bed area a bit from the balance of the room. This would have made a big difference for us. A night-light would also be helpful given there are two steps down from the bed area to the bathroom. Loved the over-sized shampoo and lotions. Finally someone got this right! And the bed was so comfortable, a dream to sleep on for sure. The food at this all-inclusive was excellent. The portion sizes were great and the food was very fresh. With the exception of the bee’s (lots of bee’s) that surrounded the poolside bar, the drinks were very good as well. The staff is the shining diamond at this property. The level of service (minus the one maintenance person) was top notch, world-class at every turn. The hostess, Cinthia was wonderful from the first night at dinner at the Asian Bistro until our final breakfast. I was impressed that she offered us the choice of two tables at dinner, a 2 top and a 4 top. This is a really nice touch that is rare. Another call out goes to Fernando, a waiter we had for dinner one night and then for lunch a couple days later. He remembered our names and even what we like to drink. Amazing considering this is a large resort with lots of guests. There was no question that he cared, took notice and wanted us to feel important. This type of service was common at this property and I wish I had captured more names. One other that comes to mind was Albin who took care of us at the CaraCola (poolside restaurant). Even the young lady working the towel shack was great, taking the time to explain the towel control card in detail with a smile. The staff at this property is top-notch. Some of the best I’ve ever had the opportunity to enjoy, and I rarely find this to be true. In fact I reviewed another 5 star property recently that should send their staff to stay at the Westin to see how it’s really suppose to be done. Opportunities for improvement – 1) Overhaul the maintenance staff and improve the quality of repairs. 2) Create an environment in the rooms that would work better for people that would like to sleep on slightly varied scheduled. This is a simple fix that would be a big upgrade to the rooms. 3) Add a make-up mirror for those of us who wear contacts – or make-up. 4) Offer Wifi for free throughout the property. The days of charging $15 per day are over, long ago over. And even if you do pay, you need to switch back and forth between the room and the few areas were Wifi is provided for free … this is a pain. 5) Add some additional English speaking TV channels. There’s only one and it gets old after a while. 6) Add more lighting in the coffee bar within the room, super dark even once the light bulbs were replaced. Overall I would recommend this property and primarily due to the outstanding service provided by the staff. They anticipated your every need. ~ Reviews by Rich July 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by best 1st time in CR!! I left the Westin resort on 5/9 with fond memories- food, drink ,daily activities are top notch, 7 days is too little time to spend at this resort- once I found out there are personal trainers on the premise I was hooked- from yoga in the beach to spinning to power abs to full body fit- I've enjoyed them all- prop to the 2 instructors Jorge and Kenny- their enthusiasm and energy are contagious- they put in 150% efforts in the class whether there are 10 or 1 participants- they are an asset to the resort- May 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enjoyable Birthday I went with 3 others to celebrate my birthday (end of June 2014). I arrived on my birthday and was automatically upgraded to the Royal Beach Club tower room. I was slightly disappointed with the room because the bathroom hardware was tarnished and it needed a paint job (room 2119). However, Westin's heavenly bed always lives up to its name. Overall the service was excellent. David and Andres took excellent care of our needs and were always available when we called. The pool at the Club is very quiet and clean. Unlike the general pool, we did not have to worry about giving our room number for towels. The only disadvantage was that we were far from the beach and the restaurants. However, the restaurants were great and the staff were very pleasant. We had my birthday dinner at the Italian restaurant and they sang Happy Birthday in Spanish and English! The other nights we ate at the Latin Restaurant and the French Restaurant. I was not impressed with French restaurant - average food; however, the Latin restaurant's menu was delicious! Please remember to get Champagne with your meal and the watermelon mimosas are divine! We took a tour to Vendara (with TAM), which was a fun adventure. It was a 2 hour ride from the hotel, but worth it. There was a horse back ride up the mountain and zipline (10 lines), volcano mud bath, hot springs pool and a delicious 4 course meal. We arrived during rainy season; however, it only sprinkled a couple times during our stay. It was overcast and humid, but the pool and beach were fun. We also went to Tamarindo (bus ride sponsored by the hotel). The cost was $10 roundtrip. It was a 30 minute ride each way and pick up was in 4 hours. That was enough time to visit the shops and eat lunch or dinner. July 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by birthday getaway wonderfull resort, very friendly, staff goes out their way to make you happy, very friendly and happy people, food, drinks, fitness facility and pool were all excellent July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful!!! This was my second trip to The Westin. I think that it was even better second time around, because I knew where everything was and felt so much at home. The staff is what makes this place. The service is five (5) star, genuine service. You feel like a special guest from the moment you check in and thru out your stay. The food is fabulous from the buffet breakfast to each restaurant. We loved Bamboo, but they each have something to offer. For tours, we used Erik on the beach. He is not associated with the hotel but he offers the very best packages and service. I am not a tour bus person, I prefer the personalized service that he offers. Can't wait to return!!!, A great value for your money. July 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great resort Overall the resort was excellent. The staff is absolutely wonderful!!! The facilities are nice ... the only complaint we have was related to the room: (1) the A/C was set for 65 but never got below 74 ... made for some hot days/nights (2) the mini bar is useless ... a mini refrigerator would have been more practical. July 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT STAFF,SERVICES AND FOOD! The service provided by the entire staff, along with the food and the facilities in general, make this an incredible hotel to spend your vacations! July 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Rooms Toilet paper was like cardboard and you should really consider putting benches in the shower. How does a female sit down and shave her legs? Staff was superb!!! Your seafood is very limited being located next to the pacific ocean. Why not serve scallops or lobster? I guess too expensive for a 4 star hotel. July 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Family Vacation We just came back from an amazing stay at the Westin (June 21-28). We were a family of 3 (12 yr old son). And we went with a family of 4 (kids 12 and 10). This trip was booked since Nov. 2013. So I read all the reviews. Arriving into Liberia - our lugguage was waiting for us right away and so was Swiss Travel. So we were at the hotel within 1 hr. Checking in took awhile only because we were trying to get rooms closer together and the welcome mojito went down so fast. We ended up switching after the first night. Beds are soft, if you have a bad back. You have to stay by the pool, get the deluxe junior suite with a balcony. I heard that Royal Beach club also got very wild that most were hanging out at the regular pool. Restaurants - make reservations right away. We were a little puzzled as to how empty the restaurants were and how many families were shut out of reservations. I do know that there were a few large parties, so I'm assuming staff can only handle a certain amount. Our favorite was the Asian (fastest service) and Mediterranean (make sure to request a table overlooking the pool). Sorry to say we were disappointed in the Latin American restaurant. Italian was good. French - horrible and it's in the lobby, no ambiance. And can get very warm. Buffet is fine, lots of choices. Make sure to sit under a fan to get an extra breeze. For Lunch, go to the restaurant right by the pool. Great salad w avocado and hearts of palm and hazelnut ice cream. Wine: it was fine, and chilled. Beer - if your a beer drinker, forget it, Imperial tasted like bud light. But go with all the frozen drinks and mojitos. They have great non alcoholic drinks. Excursions: We went with Swiss Travel, kids were FREE. You can't go wrong with Eric Garcia either, and he's right there on the beach. As for the beach, it's public but not an issue. The beach isn't that nice. We have nicer beaches in Florida. The Westin offers a lot of activities, my favorite was water aerobics. I heard Yoga at 8am on the beach was amazing. They also offer Kayaking, snorkling, biking for FREE. My son had his own snorkling gear, which helped as he didn't have to return it after an hour. WESTIN STAFF - Amazing! They go out of their way to make sure everything is taken care of. Housekeeping - also great, only 2 days we had to call when our room wasn't clean. The bartenders are the pool were great, always try the drink of the day. They also treated the kids very well. One suggestion is bring a flashlight to help you at night find your way back to your room. It gets dark very early and lighting isn't that good. The only complaint that I tried to address was there was a wedding party who drank way to much. This was not the resort for this type of behavior. I spoke to Carlos (manages groups) but he never got back to me and issue continued. We met a great group of people and all the kids were very well-behaved. July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great exprience The staff was outstanding. July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The resort is much better than it looked on the website. I’ve traveled to 18 countries, but this was my first trip to Costa Rica. As we planned our vacation, we researched many resorts in the country. We mainly picked the Westin because we’ve had good experiences at other Westin resorts, and we read mainly positive reviews from other travelers. The resort is represented on several travel sites, and they have a website, but none of these really do the place justice. It was even better than we had expected. THE RESORT The resort is fairly large, but they will pick you up and drive you anywhere you want to go if you don’t want to walk. You need only ask. All the grounds are landscaped and well maintained. Our room was clean and was stocked with amenities and a full mini-fridge. Everything was in working order. THE SERVICE The service from the staff was nothing short of spectacular. Everyone was extraordinarily friendly, and it felt genuine and sincere, not like they were just being nice because it’s their job to be nice. At one point I was standing on a resort walkway looking at a map trying to determine which way to go, and a woman on the housekeeping staff stopped what she was doing to come over to me and ask if she could give me directions. Everyone on the resort greets you with a smile and “hola” or “buenos días” as you pass by. I asked for something slightly odd from the room service and the response I received was “no problem sir, you’re the boss here; we will take care of that.” Everyone that you will interact with speaks both English and Spanish. I tipped many resort employees during the week, but I was never asked for a tip, and never made to feel like it was obligatory. I’ve stayed in about a dozen resorts, many with very good service, and I think this resort had the best service I’ve experienced. THE FOOD There is something that everyone will like. In addition to the buffet for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, they have several nice restaurants for evening dining. At least three options are open at all times during the day. You can also order room service. We tried all the specialty restaurants and loved all of them. The buffet food was average to above average… nothing I tried was bad. The specialty restaurant food was all above average to excellent. A few of the dishes that I had would rival some of the best restaurants I’ve ever visited… and yes, I eat in nice restaurants with some frequency. If you don’t find some food you like at this resort, you’re a food snob on a level I’ve not yet encountered. THE COUNTRY Costa Rica is BEAUTIFUL! It’s a good blend of upscale resorts and modern conveniences, and unspoiled nature. The people are very kind and welcoming. We never felt unsafe in any of the areas we visited. When venturing off the resort, there are several vendors selling items and services, but you will not be attacked with a wave of high pressure selling like some places I’ve visited. When you say no, they will leave you alone. Also, I felt like the locals were not trying to scam me. They will bargain and haggle with you on pricing, but I never felt like I was being taken advantage of. It wasn’t a shell game or three-card hustle buying experience. One of the vendors at the artisan tent on the resort property jumped up from her table and ran after a woman because she had forgotten to take her change from the transaction. It’s rare to see such a display of honesty, and this really impressed me. I can’t say enough about the good nature of the people here. Don’t hesitate! Book your trip now. June 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Resort OK but not great Was somewhat disappointed in our two-week stay. Beach, while beautiful and in a beautiful setting, was dirty and unkept - should have been raked regularly to remove trash, cigarette butts, leaves, etc. Also bothersome beach vendors. Resort had fairly limited daily activities - if you're not interested in golf - and was very hot after 10 am or so making activity difficult other than beach use. Phone service in our room was sketchy and intermittant. Staff friendly and responsive so no complaint there, although service could certainly be improved in the eating facilities. Resort fairly remote - difficult to get out and see the countryside other than in organized tours. All in all - not a great experience. Wouldn't go again or recommend to others. May 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel is beautiful Our family had a wonderful vacation! I really enjoyed it being an all inclusive resort. The beach was beautiful and refreshing and the pool was very relaxing. Everyone was very friendly. The gym was very nice and I liked the daily workouts. July 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Take great pains in trying to please all requests We went to this all inclusive resort for my son's wedding. Our room was beautiful as well as spotless. 24 hour room service is available if you don't want to walk or take shuttle to restaurants. Most are open air but we did not have any problem with bugs/mosquitoes. Never even broke out my bug spray. Pools are also well taken care of & the bar at the pool (in the pool!), opened daily at 10:00am. We were fortunate enough to see many howler monkeys as well as every size of lizard/iguana imaginable. My best memory will be the sounds of the birds & wildlife within the resort. Very restful place to visit if that's what you want but also many tours are available for the adventuresome. Would definitely go back! July 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful hotel for families We loved our stay at the Westin Playa Conchal for my father's 70th birthday. As Platinum SPG members we were treated like royalty with our own concierge, Roger, who took great care of us during our entire stay. From the rooms, to the food and activities, staff and amenities, our expectations were exceeded in every way. Thank you for a wonderful family vacation! July 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 THE BEST THE BEST***** Spent a week enjoying wonderful service and accommodations at the Westin. Started with Maria Cruz who check us in at the reception desk and from there we had wonderful time at the Westin. Our room in Tower 2 Royal Beach was great and Victor and Nelson are “THE BEST CONSEIOUR” they could not have done more for us, they both do their jobs to the highest standards and taught us so much about their country. > The pool at Royal Beach is fantastic and Isaac & Jonathan made each day so pleasant, they are “AWESOME”. They were always there bringing us drinks, towels and the best of all 3pm we always got guacamole & chips. They made each day so much fun and were a big reason of why we had such a relaxing and unbelievable vacation. > The Westin in Costa Rica gets a 5 Star rating from us. We can’t wait to return to where everyone is so proud of their country and their only goal is to share it with you. > Thank you for everything all of you did for us! > Debbie & Laurie from New Jersey April 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Vacation Spot My wife and I just celebrated both of our birthdays and our 8th anniversary at the Westin Playa Conchal. We have done different vacations at Starwood Properties in a few different countries. The Westin was an excellent resort and we had a tremendous time. We highly recommend it and would stay there again. The service was excellent. We stayed at the Private Beach Club and were immediately given premium service through the private check-in and the building concierge. There were two minor issues in our room when we arrived and our concierge had them resolved before we could order room service. That was the end of any issues. The service from every employee (including some of the on-site travel services for tours) was very good. Everyone was personable and more than accommodating. The restaurants and food were a wonderful surprise. We have only stayed at a few all-inclusive hotels in the past few years and we have seen the gambit. One fear is that since you are there, the resort has you cornered and they can get by with the bare minimum. The buffet dispelled that the first morning. Each meal was great. Just make sure to do your dinner reservations the minute you arrive. Times book quickly and our first night we had to go to the buffet (not that we minded at all). Each of the restaurants was tremendous and dinner was such a highlight of the day. The grounds were very well maintained. Even though they have construction and renovations occurring at some of the rooms, they started late, ended early and kept the noise and mess to a minimum. No impact on our experience at all. August 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place to stay! Everything was wonderful. The staff exceeded our expectations, everyone was so friendly and helpful, even if we didn't ask! We will definitely stay here again. July 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Country....Great Resort WOW, WOW, WOW..... My husband and I just returned from 10 days in Costa Rica, and spent every night at this Westin resort.....the staff was tremendous and the Mgr. of Customer Relations has 'schooled' her staff well! This property is a resort, everything you could possibly want is here, and you can be as busy as you want with all the adventure available, or do nothing but enjoy the beach & beautiful surroundings! This property will be fabulous when all renovations are complete. I cannot say enough about the staff…. from the front desk to the shuttle drivers to the maintenance...they are happy people who want you to enjoy their country. I have nothing negative to say about the staff or the resort in general...the food was above average, in particular the breakfast buffet at Fasinella(sp?) was superb and dinner there was excellent. If I am really looking for a negative, it would be not so good food at Bamboo restaurant...a little bland. By far, the best all-inclusive resort we have ever encountered...look forward to a return visit!! And, btw….do not book any tours in advance online, you can do that thru the hotel once you arrive or ck it out yourself with the locals nearby. December 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A relaxing vacation The warmth and desire to please of the Costa Rican employees at this resort added to the beautiful surroundings and well maintained facility, make the Westin worthy of many more visits. The food was excellent and the pools beautiful. March 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This resort is Paradise! My wife and I just returned from a week at this nearly paradise like resort! I cannot overstate what a wonderful stay we experienced. The property is located on the beach about a 50 minute ride from Liberia airport. We arranged a shuttle but a private car rental appears to be a safe and reasonable option. I would be sure if driving yourself of accurate directions for the route. Upon arrival an open air Westin Playa Conchal reception center will take your luggage and transport you to your room after you have checked in. The transport is via a small shuttle with travel time 3-5 minutes along paved pathway to your building. Most buildings are comprised of 8 guest units. The rooms are attractive, comfortable and modern and feature flat screen TV, separate sitting area with couch and desk. Each guest unit has a comfortable open air covered patio right outside the front door to enjoy during your stay. The resort is all-inclusive with no limitation to food or drink. We had never stayed at an all-inclusive and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Multiple restaurant options provide opportunity to find food preferences or sample the different cuisine themed styles. Numerous bar locations are found over the property for alcohol and non-alcoholic beverages for you to enjoy throughout the day. Landscape and grounds are very attractive consistent with Central American Costa Rica. A very large pool is available to all with configuration lending to a sense that the pool is not overcrowded. A second adult pool is also good size and easily accessible from all units. Both pools have swim up bars to enjoy. The property sits on the edge of the ocean with a nice beach with smooth sand and, during our stay, gentle waves. As you enter the beach locals wish to offer massages, 4-wheeler rentals, and souvenirs to purchase but we did not feel this was uncomfortably intrusive. A Robert Trent Jones golf course is on property and is an enjoyable layout with several views of the ocean as well as the surrounding countryside with vistas from various course elevations. The course was well cared for and the pro shop had available abundant new model Callaway golf sets to rent as needed. Green fees seemed reasonable for a Category 7 resort. Three tennis courts are on site, available for play without charge before 6 pm each day and there was always a free court for us to walk onto. A tennis pro will provide lessons as desired and this is easily arranged at the Activities Center. The grounds have numerous iguanas and coatimundis which guests enjoyed watching. Howlers monkeys can be heard and seen in the trees and could be seen close up one morning when they were in the low trees along the beach as well as various times while on the golf course. The staff throughout the resort was always cheerful and helpful, spoke English well, and communication was never a problem. February weather was warm (90s), low humidity and barely a cloud in the sky. My only disappointment this entire week was minimal perceived recognition for our Platinum SPG status regarding room assignment. Nonetheless our accommodations were wonderful. This is a fabulous vacation resort deserving of Category 7 status. We hope to return. March 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding After reading some of the excellent reviews I had my expectations set high, however they were exceeded by this wonderful Resort. If you want excitement, zip lining, canopy walking, ATV trails (albeit a tad expensive, but worth it) this is the place for you. If you want to sit by a relaxing pool, wander manicured grounds and just chill out, this is the place for you. Their six restaurants range from excellent to outstanding, depending on your taste. (My favorite was Bamboo, Asian Fusion) The staff are outstanding at all levels, everyone acknowledges you with a smile and “Olah” Even the tedious four hour ride from San Jose Airport was made entertaining by a wonderful driver. I have nothing but praise for this Resort. I did not play, but understand that the Golf course was pretty good too! The rooms are well appointed, well kept and once again perfect service. We had a wonderful week here in Costa Rica and would love to return another day. November 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by We loved this resort I can't remember the last time I've taken the time to write a review, but felt compelled to in this case. We had a great experience here and hope to visit again in the future. Of particular note ... Great food--especially the Italian, Asian, and pizza restaurants. The staff truly could not have been friendlier or more helpful. The room and grounds were amazing. I have never done the all-inclusive thing before and so wasn't sure what to expect in terms of quality. Thank you for a great stay! June 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Impeccable Service in a great location My husband proposed to me in May on a short trip we made to the hotel. We enjoyed it so much we went back for our honeymoon. If you want to stay directly on the water then this may not be the best hotel but everything else makes up for that one loss. The Royal Beach club is AMAZING. David was our butler and remembered us from our first stay. When he found out we had just got married he arranged for a special surprise with candles and cake in our room. The little touches of personalization the staff makes are what makes the experience so great. The food is really good and unlike other all inclusives I have stayed at there were never any issues with room. The resort has nightly shows that are very entertaining. The spa is very nice. The facility is maintained very well. The location is great. We rented ATVs and drove them into Tamarindo and took a surf lesson. We traveled to the volcano which is beautiful. We went diving and on a canopy tour. The hotel helped arrange each trip. The hotel has a golf cart guided tour of the property which was very nice. We went at sunset and saw many critters. There are iguanas everywhere. Its is so much fun that we cant wait to go back. November 12, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Eco friendly? My husband and I really enjoyed our 4 nights with you. The property is amazing! Beach, landscape, pools, etc. Excellent! I was troubled though by the noise & exhaust fumes from the ATVs that were near the beach and pools. I feel that jet skis also are unnecessary in such a paradise!! We ate and drank so much of your wonderful food. I was alarmed to see that all water on your property was served in small plastic bottles. Why not pour water into reusable cups at the restaurants? Please look into all of the options available to serve water. Thank you for asking for a review. July 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Westin quality Stayed July3-7 2014 in Tower1 of Royal Beach club. If you are traveling with no kids I would highly encourage you to do the Royal Beach club. It is so relaxing and nice over in that pool area and breakfast/lunch restaurant. The other pool is a little more active with kids, music, volleyball, etc....not bad, but not very romantic. Overall we had a great stay. The only frustrating issue was with our butler service. I called Friday morning to make next 3 nights reservatations for dinner and those never got done, we had to make multiple calls, nobody knew what was going on, one night we had to go to buffet, etc. They got it straightened out on the very last evening, and at that point I practically had to handle myself. It is what it is, but I feel like there's some miscommunication going on between Royal Club concierge and butler. Only other suggestion is to have the next days activities paper in your room during turn down service. I am so confused why they put that in our room at 3-4pm when most of the day is already over. July 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by An AMAZING resort My family of 4 just returned from this Westin and can not say enough about how great it is. The resort was 100% full over Christmas - and yet the staff, the food, the service was over the top fantastic. We were fortunate to stay in the Royal Beach Club which is a true oasis in the middle of a huge resort - but we spent time at the main pool and at all the restaurants - and the service was equally amazing throughout. For the price, you cannot find better value. Andreas at the pool, Eric and Ericka at the Royal Beach Club, Tri at reception welcoming everyone. I travel 4 months each year and expect alot from a hotel - and this one delivers. Oh, and Costa Rica is pretty great too ! Vacation at this resort - you won't regret it. December 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Paradise! We visited for our honeymoon and were happy that we chose to stay at this resort. We were greeted with a mojito and although our room wasn't ready (we were several hours early), we went to lunch on-site and when we were done, they had the room ready. The grounds were beautiful and very large. Most of the staff was friendly and animals were everywhere! Food was awesome...much better than I expected! My only issues was with the shuttles. I enjoyed walking the grounds during the day but if I needed to go to the lobby at night when mosquitoes were out, it was difficult to catch a shuttle. One night we had four go by with nobody on them and each driver said they weren't going to the lobby...which was annoying. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and hope to come again one day! July 4, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>