The Westin Portland Harborview

  • 157 High Street
  • Portland,
  • Maine
  • 04101
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 170 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Unmade bed It was Independence Day weekend so yes things are busy at holiday destinations but, our room was not presentable or fully made up when we arrived. Also I cancelled an award booking for 10.000 points and they have not been reinstated to my account. It was my 2nd stay at Westin Portland. The staff was very good.. July 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great rooms and great location Loved this hotel! The rooms were very nice and the heavenly beds and bedding live up to their name. The rainfall shower head and large shower stall were also a great treat. Location is awesome! Within walking distance of so many shops and eating places not to mention the water front. I would love to visit Maine again and have another stay at this wonderful Westin. I also took advantage of the spa on my last day which was an great way to end my stay in the Portland area (although they should tell you they automatically include a 20% gratuity). Hotel staff was accommodating, although we did feel the concierge wasn't knowledgeable of the local area. She was nice, but didn't have a lot to offer in response to several of our questions, but we did ok without her. July 7, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by an obvious retrofit that works The rooms hallways and design harken back to whatever this place was before and don't quite live up to the SPG ideal. Beds were comfy and the room view was ok, lots of windows in ours. Needs a bit more though. Not pleased with the hallway walks and getting around downstairs is a bit of a maze. Parking seemed excessive - this isn't or shouldn't be that expensive a city. Really think he food options could be stepped up as well as offering free wifi - a related problem in all these hotels. July 1, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Location We had a great stay here at this property. It was handy to everything and very family friendly June 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by food and front desk The breakfast we ordered the morning we left was mediocre. I ordered eggs over easy and they were not really cooked and the toast was absent, had to call for it. My husbands french toast was good. It was overpriced for that type of breakfast, $68. 42. Some fine hotels and resorts don't charge that and often give it as part of your stay. Why aren't there movies on demand? More importantly one of the front desk people has an attitude. She has had it every time we come there. Shouldn't the front desk staff show enthusiasm for the customer? The valet folks are great. It's a nice hotel other than the above.. Thank you... June 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staff Want to thank the Harborview staff for a great time. Attended a conference a few weeks back and never have seen such outstanding service! Especially Chris ( I believe) from the waitstaff. I was having a rough day and he made great conversation with me in the elevator and brightened my day! Had a much better day after our interaction. So thank you Chris and Harborview staff! June 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel with excellent staff Our stay here was highlited by the very, very friendly staff. The valet staff were the best we have ever encountered. They made us feel welcome and were extreamely helpful. June 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 7th Stay in 2 years Thanks Jen at the front desk for making our stay extra special. Being platinum we received the red carpet for our 7th stay at this property including a few extra bonuses we were not expecting. Great hotel, modern, clean and great staff. Breakfast at the restaurant is very good and the atmosphere is appealing. April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful room and wonderful staff First off I just want to thank everybody at the hotel. I want to send out a huge thank you to the people who made my proposal night perfect. The rose pedals leading to the bedroom was perfect and I was able to capture everything on film! You guys were amazing! I would also like to send a big shout out to the people who were able to work with me on the price of the room to make my proposal happen! The room was absolutely gorgeous and I couldn't have asked for a better set up! So I thank all of you for being so wonderful and I look forward to staying with you the next time! March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Exceeded my Expectations My expectations were exceeded at every turn. The valet service was friendly, professional and efficient, saving me from the shocking cold & deep snow that pervaded the city of Portland in February. Check-in was a breeze. The fact that one has to use one’s room key/card to ascend in the elevator made me feel secure. The room decor was reminiscent of art deco style, which fit with the establishment’s interesting history. The bathroom fixtures were sparkling new. The bed was AWESOME- it felt like I was floating on a cloud. The fitness studio very pleasing- I especially enjoyed the empty space (exercise class/ yoga area) in which to practice my hula hoop exercise routine. All in all, an excellent place to stay in Portland. March 22, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not the "Westin" Standard During a recent stay at the Westin Hotel, I was surprised at the dishonest service I received from the moment we saw the view of our room to the time I checked out. To start it all off, during my check-in the front office declined my SPG number and stated that my stay does not qualify for any points since it was purchased through Expedia. This was extremely disappointing given that I was not notified in any way prior to my arrival. I did not want this to affect my stay and decided to not make a big deal out if it and went straight up to the room. Our room was supposed to be a Harbor view room (Paid extra for that feature) and ended up facing a parking lot and a building that was blocking the whole view. Once again, I decided this was not worth me arguing with the hotel and wanted to enjoy my stay in Portland as it was our one year anniversary and we were staying for one night only. At around 5 PM, room service shows up with a cheese plate (not platter) containing 6 crackers, 2 small pieces of cheese and a few cheese curds, along with honey and 2 beers (I wish I can upload the picture I took of it here). I was quite disappointed as I made the arrangement for a cheese platter and ended up with a plate that is definitely not the standard of a Westin Hotel. The Cheese platter and beer was pre-arranged with the concierge as a "Package" they can provide us with. I did not want to make a big deal out of the situation and went out to our Anniversary dinner. A few hours later, I received a notification from Amex that a new hold was placed on my card with the sum of $50 (There was an initial hold of $50 once we checked in). I immediately called the hotel while at dinner to question the charge, they notified me that the cheese platter was $74.29. At this point, I had to say something and question why was the charge so high for such a small and unappetizing plate. Upon returning to the hotel, I spoke to the front desk and the lady saw the picture I previously took of the cheese platter and agreed that it is not worth $74.29 and the charge was over-priced. She immediately credited a portion of the amount that brought the room service to $40, which I still thought was high for what we received. All in all, it was such an unpleasant stay filled with disappointment. I had the chance to book at other hotels but thought my expectations will definitely be met at the Westin. I wanted this to be a special trip; however, I was extremely disappointed and this was definitely not the Standard of a Westin Hotel. I also believe that at no point should a hotel think it would be a good idea to take advantage of a situation and charge a ridiculous amount for something they couldn't properly deliver on. That is customer service 101 in the hospitality industry..... Will definitely stay somewhere else next time.. January 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel for dogs and the people who love them We stayed 1 Saturday night in January 2015 with our 2 Bernese mountain dogs. I called the hotel before booking to make sure that they would allow bigger dogs (over 40 pounds). The staff- from the valets, the kind and engaging young man who helped with our bags, and the check-in folks at the front desk- were all very welcoming (to us and the dogs) and very helpful. Having to valet park (and not have access to stuff we left in the car) was the only downside from a "dog-owner" perspective. There was a small park close by (Congress Street side) where we could walk the dogs. It looked like not everyone picked up after their pets in the park, so it might be helpful for the hotel to supply pick-up bags to guests who forget them. The rooms were clean, spacious, quiet, comfortable, and well appointed. The elevators were large and well lit and even our younger dog had no fear issues getting in and out. The staff provided gourmet (lobster shaped) treats for our dogs, as well as "heavenly" dog beds. Since our dogs are large the dog beds were more like pillows. We put two of the beds together between our beds and covered them with a sheet that we brought with us. Our younger dog loved lounging on her new cushions. It was great to have a fridge for our dogs' food. The rain shower and "heavenly" beds were very relaxing (hint: if you don't want to get your hair wet bring your own shower cap or ask the hotel to provide one for you). The room design is very modern and somehow I managed to bang by elbow on the edge of the rectangular handle on the closet- so be careful of that. The eat well stay well package was a good deal. The staff at Congress Squared let us use our credit for take out (instead of dining in the restaurant) so we could eat in our room with our dogs. That made it so much easier for us and the food was delicious. We even had the option for late check out on Sunday, but we left early to avoid the freezing rain that was predicted. We would recommend this hotel if you are travelling with dogs and want to stay someplace "cushy" where the staff (and most of the guests) will adore your four-legged friends (and who wouldn't want that?). The hotel is basically across the street from the State Theater, so it's a really convenient place to stay if you're going to see a concert there. As beautiful as the hotel is, it was really the staff that made our stay so enjoyable and memorable. They went above and beyond to help in any way they could (e.g., the valet helped set up the ramp to the car that we use for our older dog). Our stay was a real treat for all of us, and we are very grateful to the staff for being so kind and gracious. January 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by A perfect stay I attended a corporate holiday party/fund raiser event here and the service was top notch. The food was delicious, service was friendly and attentive and the staff was helpful. The room was clean and warm, and the beds were amazingly comfortable. January 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay! Great Food! Hotel was quite busy and cars were lined up for valet's when we arrived. They were very apologetic for the wait. Check-in was smooth and quick. Room was clean and comfortable. Staff in bar were great although drink prices a little high. Staff at breakfast were also exceptional. This will be my new go-to hotel in the Portland area. Ginny P in rooms is awesome! January 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Christmas Dear Bruce, This was the first Christmas that my wife and I had ever been alone (over 27 years). We chose to stay at your hotel as we love to visit Portland and had stayed at that location prior to it becoming a Westin. We read great reviews about the hotel and they were all right on! I would like to recognize one individual who truly helped us arrange our two days and provided us with a pleasant surprise. Her name is Caitlin. Although we never had the opportunity to meet in person, she was extremely helpful through several email exchanges. We arrived on Christmas afternoon. We started out having massages at the spa, a drink at the restaurant bar, dinner later at the restaurant and a final nightcap in the lounge upstairs. The entire experience was one which we’ll never forget and look forward to staying there again. Caitlin knew of the rough year we’d had and was very sincere and helpful beyond our expectations. Thank you both for a wonderful way to spend Christmas! Sincerely, Barry Armstrong December 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place Staff and property were well maintained and attentive. December 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bar on the roof Not very well run bar on the roof. Music was waaaay too loud (8-9pm) and the waitress took forever to come over. We ordered a drink , it also took forever and the waitress took away the drink/food menu... so no try to upsell there. Good thing because the drink was watered down and was the worst sangria i've ever had, and the most expensive. I have no problem paying a lot for a drink if it's fantastic. December 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly Staff The staff was very friendly and efficient. No request was deemed insignificant. My husband has severe allergies and when I called to request non-feather pillows..immediately housekeeping was sent with the allergen free pillows. I have stayed at other hotels where it took hours (I think they had to run out to Walmart) to bring me up the pillows! December 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Guest Services The guest services was outstanding. My requests were sent up quickly; from the showercap to the liquid cream for my morning coffee. December 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel!! The Hotel looks amazing!! People were friendly and helpful November 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by awesome stay!! Great time! will come back November 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay Enjoyed the stay very much! November 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Very attentive valet, great food and clean room. November 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Westin experience ever! Great staff! First, let me say that this was a beautiful hotel. New, clean, ideally located, and very modern while still having a traditional feel. Rooms were very spacious and well appointed. Most importantly however was the staff. Upon check in, the staff was very prompt, courteous and thanked me several times by acknowledging my SPG status (which really isn't even that high!). I felt very appreciated. However, the next morning was when service really shined. Jen (Jennifer) was the most helpful hotel employee I have EVER encountered. It was a slow, rainy morning at the hotel and she took the time to take my wife, myself and our two children to the hotel's very popular top level lounge/restaurant which boasts an incredible view of the harbor. It didn't open until much later in the afternoon, but she asked if we wanted to see the view. We did, and she took us up, and we all enjoyed a great conversation about multiple topics. Her nametag indicated that her "Passion" was "people", and it showed throughout. She is truly the epitome of a full customer service oriented staff member. It finished off our one night stay perfectly, and honestly started off our New England trip in the best possible way. She definitely needs to be commended for her winning personality and love of her job! It's what sets the Westin brand apart in my opinion. We look forward to staying here again next year on our annual Maine trip! November 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin - Portland Have stayed here a few times since it re-opened and it only seems to get better. Amazing staff everywhere along with great rooms and amenities. Would not stay anywhere else whenever in the area! October 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by nice hotel Enjoyed this hotel with the exception of parking. Should warn incoming guests that the entrance is right on street with only a few spots to pull over car. Easy to miss in the traffic. October 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff was very helpful & courteous We totally enjoyed our stay with you in Portland, we have to say that your staff were all polite, courteous and very helpful. The area was beautiful and will come again. The only issue we had was that the sign on your building is not nearly visible enough. There should be a sign out on the corner to let folks know when to turn off High Street. October 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly, helpful staff. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Portland Westin. Staff was very helpful and friendly. The room amenities were outstanding. Thank you for an enjoyable visit to your beautiful city. October 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great stay We brought our two dogs up for a weekend in Portland. The hotel exceeded our expectations. The hotel itself is as comfortable as I expect from Westin. The staff's accommodation of our dogs was top notch. We'll definitely be back. September 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin Portland The newly remodeled hotel made my short trip to Portland a special time. The room was beautiful. I'd like to have that bed at home. The service was excellent. I hope to visit again some time in the future. September 26, 2014
  • 2015-08-31T09:53:28.578-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_170, tr_170
  • loc_en_US, sid_3798, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>