The Westin Portland Harborview

  • 157 High Street
  • Portland,
  • Maine
  • 04101
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 159 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel for dogs and the people who love them We stayed 1 Saturday night in January 2015 with our 2 Bernese mountain dogs. I called the hotel before booking to make sure that they would allow bigger dogs (over 40 pounds). The staff- from the valets, the kind and engaging young man who helped with our bags, and the check-in folks at the front desk- were all very welcoming (to us and the dogs) and very helpful. Having to valet park (and not have access to stuff we left in the car) was the only downside from a "dog-owner" perspective. There was a small park close by (Congress Street side) where we could walk the dogs. It looked like not everyone picked up after their pets in the park, so it might be helpful for the hotel to supply pick-up bags to guests who forget them. The rooms were clean, spacious, quiet, comfortable, and well appointed. The elevators were large and well lit and even our younger dog had no fear issues getting in and out. The staff provided gourmet (lobster shaped) treats for our dogs, as well as "heavenly" dog beds. Since our dogs are large the dog beds were more like pillows. We put two of the beds together between our beds and covered them with a sheet that we brought with us. Our younger dog loved lounging on her new cushions. It was great to have a fridge for our dogs' food. The rain shower and "heavenly" beds were very relaxing (hint: if you don't want to get your hair wet bring your own shower cap or ask the hotel to provide one for you). The room design is very modern and somehow I managed to bang by elbow on the edge of the rectangular handle on the closet- so be careful of that. The eat well stay well package was a good deal. The staff at Congress Squared let us use our credit for take out (instead of dining in the restaurant) so we could eat in our room with our dogs. That made it so much easier for us and the food was delicious. We even had the option for late check out on Sunday, but we left early to avoid the freezing rain that was predicted. We would recommend this hotel if you are travelling with dogs and want to stay someplace "cushy" where the staff (and most of the guests) will adore your four-legged friends (and who wouldn't want that?). The hotel is basically across the street from the State Theater, so it's a really convenient place to stay if you're going to see a concert there. As beautiful as the hotel is, it was really the staff that made our stay so enjoyable and memorable. They went above and beyond to help in any way they could (e.g., the valet helped set up the ramp to the car that we use for our older dog). Our stay was a real treat for all of us, and we are very grateful to the staff for being so kind and gracious. January 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by A perfect stay I attended a corporate holiday party/fund raiser event here and the service was top notch. The food was delicious, service was friendly and attentive and the staff was helpful. The room was clean and warm, and the beds were amazingly comfortable. January 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay! Great Food! Hotel was quite busy and cars were lined up for valet's when we arrived. They were very apologetic for the wait. Check-in was smooth and quick. Room was clean and comfortable. Staff in bar were great although drink prices a little high. Staff at breakfast were also exceptional. This will be my new go-to hotel in the Portland area. Ginny P in rooms is awesome! January 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Christmas Dear Bruce, This was the first Christmas that my wife and I had ever been alone (over 27 years). We chose to stay at your hotel as we love to visit Portland and had stayed at that location prior to it becoming a Westin. We read great reviews about the hotel and they were all right on! I would like to recognize one individual who truly helped us arrange our two days and provided us with a pleasant surprise. Her name is Caitlin. Although we never had the opportunity to meet in person, she was extremely helpful through several email exchanges. We arrived on Christmas afternoon. We started out having massages at the spa, a drink at the restaurant bar, dinner later at the restaurant and a final nightcap in the lounge upstairs. The entire experience was one which we’ll never forget and look forward to staying there again. Caitlin knew of the rough year we’d had and was very sincere and helpful beyond our expectations. Thank you both for a wonderful way to spend Christmas! Sincerely, Barry Armstrong December 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place Staff and property were well maintained and attentive. December 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bar on the roof Not very well run bar on the roof. Music was waaaay too loud (8-9pm) and the waitress took forever to come over. We ordered a drink , it also took forever and the waitress took away the drink/food menu... so no try to upsell there. Good thing because the drink was watered down and was the worst sangria i've ever had, and the most expensive. I have no problem paying a lot for a drink if it's fantastic. December 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly Staff The staff was very friendly and efficient. No request was deemed insignificant. My husband has severe allergies and when I called to request non-feather pillows..immediately housekeeping was sent with the allergen free pillows. I have stayed at other hotels where it took hours (I think they had to run out to Walmart) to bring me up the pillows! December 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Guest Services The guest services was outstanding. My requests were sent up quickly; from the showercap to the liquid cream for my morning coffee. December 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel!! The Hotel looks amazing!! People were friendly and helpful November 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by awesome stay!! Great time! will come back November 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay Enjoyed the stay very much! November 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Very attentive valet, great food and clean room. November 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Westin experience ever! Great staff! First, let me say that this was a beautiful hotel. New, clean, ideally located, and very modern while still having a traditional feel. Rooms were very spacious and well appointed. Most importantly however was the staff. Upon check in, the staff was very prompt, courteous and thanked me several times by acknowledging my SPG status (which really isn't even that high!). I felt very appreciated. However, the next morning was when service really shined. Jen (Jennifer) was the most helpful hotel employee I have EVER encountered. It was a slow, rainy morning at the hotel and she took the time to take my wife, myself and our two children to the hotel's very popular top level lounge/restaurant which boasts an incredible view of the harbor. It didn't open until much later in the afternoon, but she asked if we wanted to see the view. We did, and she took us up, and we all enjoyed a great conversation about multiple topics. Her nametag indicated that her "Passion" was "people", and it showed throughout. She is truly the epitome of a full customer service oriented staff member. It finished off our one night stay perfectly, and honestly started off our New England trip in the best possible way. She definitely needs to be commended for her winning personality and love of her job! It's what sets the Westin brand apart in my opinion. We look forward to staying here again next year on our annual Maine trip! November 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin - Portland Have stayed here a few times since it re-opened and it only seems to get better. Amazing staff everywhere along with great rooms and amenities. Would not stay anywhere else whenever in the area! October 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by nice hotel Enjoyed this hotel with the exception of parking. Should warn incoming guests that the entrance is right on street with only a few spots to pull over car. Easy to miss in the traffic. October 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff was very helpful & courteous We totally enjoyed our stay with you in Portland, we have to say that your staff were all polite, courteous and very helpful. The area was beautiful and will come again. The only issue we had was that the sign on your building is not nearly visible enough. There should be a sign out on the corner to let folks know when to turn off High Street. October 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly, helpful staff. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Portland Westin. Staff was very helpful and friendly. The room amenities were outstanding. Thank you for an enjoyable visit to your beautiful city. October 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great stay We brought our two dogs up for a weekend in Portland. The hotel exceeded our expectations. The hotel itself is as comfortable as I expect from Westin. The staff's accommodation of our dogs was top notch. We'll definitely be back. September 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin Portland The newly remodeled hotel made my short trip to Portland a special time. The room was beautiful. I'd like to have that bed at home. The service was excellent. I hope to visit again some time in the future. September 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not the best for small children Stayed at the Westin while in town for a conference. This was my first time in Portland and really loved the city. The westin was not my first hotel choice as the conference I was attending was being held in another close by hotel but it was already fully booked. I bring my son (who is currently 2.5 yrs )and my mom with me to all conferences and this was no exception. Upon entering our room we were disappointed to discover it had no bath-tub so no place to bath my little guy for our entire stay. Also no pool to take him to for fun during the day/evening. Had a beautiful dinner on our first night there (very expensive but worth it cause everything was wonderful) but the following morning we went down for breakfast and had to send everything back multiple times (toast burnt to a crisp, sausage not cooked, etc) and were very disappointed. Had to go out to get my son something else later cause he didn't eat anything so was hungry. The hotel seemed very business oriented so might be fine for people travelling alone but the cost per night the value was just not there. That being said all of the staff were excellent, especially the concierge who also had young children. He was great with my son and told my mom all of the great spots to go. He even got us a stroller to use during our stay as I decided not to bring mine then wished I had. September 22, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very Dissatisfied Very Dissatisfied with this Westin Hotel. I've stayed in Westin Hotels before and they have ALWAYS been "Top Notch". Shuttle took 50 min to get to airport. I had to call hotel 2 times before they arrived for pick up. After arriving it was a 12 min drive from airport to hotel. I notified the front desk of horrible odor and gnats around trash can at elevator on my floor. Later in the day when it was still not addressed I told a room service delivery person. My last trip down the elevator for check out the odor and gnats were still at the trash can. This is unacceptable!!!! The hallways had not been vacuumed in awhile. Apparently NO ONE was following up on cleanliness. I expected excellent quality and received low rate. September 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Just Not What Expected Hotel charged more for Harborview. However, this view was so narrow and through another building, that did not think that it was an 'upgrade'. Room not ready until 3:30 p.m. or after, and the staff seemed put off when we inquired at 3 p.m. for our room. Not a great check-in experience. Restaurant C2 was over-priced. September 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pleasant stay Attended a conference facilities were convenient and comfortable, banquet food was good and the hotel room pleasant; staff was extremely helpful! September 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by #1 Starwood Property........ I must say that this past week at your property was amazing. Your staff and service was above and beyond all expectations. This property is #1 in my book, by far. I want to thank the entire Staff for such a great time and the outstanding service you provided my wife and I. I will never forget all that eveyone has done, and I will be back for certain. Thank you again Frank, Jacquelyn, Anya, Taylor, Brian, Michelle, Valet Staff, and the executive office. September 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fine - but beware of some noise Newly renovated hotel close to city center (Arts district). Being platinum members, we were upgraded to a nice city-view suite on the 14th floor. Everything feels new and fresh, and the location did not feel seedy at all (like some other reviews have mentioned). Chose breakfast as my platinum amenity, and it was fantastic: “Eat whatever you like from the menu.” Possibly the best platinum breakfast in the US this year. That is how you should reward loyalty. Nice fitness center, but no pool. A couple of concerns: - Many rooms face High St and/or Commercial St. I am not sure if the renovations included the room windows, but traffic noise was very noticeable for such a small city. - Toilet plumbing was airplane-style, very effective but very loud. We could always hear our neighbor flushing – and it woke us up on the last day. All in all a nice hotel, but the noise issues will make me think twice about booking this hotel again for a holiday. For business (when you have to get up early), it is very nice. September 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has all the right stuff!!! Nice place to stay and newly renovated to a luxury Hotel with all of the amenities. The beds are so comfy too .... best night's sleep ever!!!!! Location, location, location......it's Centrally located to all of the great sights of Downtown Portland. The old Top of the East is now a great gathering place to just relax and take in the gorgeous views with good food, a glass of wine and all of your friends. September 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Recent Stay My boyfriend had won a two-night stay at the hotel through an auction. Upon our arrival, the folks at the front desk did not know how to handle the gift certificate. We reserved a harborview room and were put into a double standard room. We called the front desk to see about getting it changed and were told someone would call back. 20 minutes later - still no call had to call again. We were finally put into a suite which was lovely but no harborview. The 2nd day, I received an email thanking me for my stay. For some reason, my two night stay became two separate reservations. Our room wasn't cleaned until well after 4 p.m. and the overall experience was just frustrating. September 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by New hotel downtown ! This hotel is gorgeos ! The best thing is the roof top lounge bar. The cocktail was fantastic ! September 1, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Late to Wedding - Valet/Parking Nightmare.. Multiple issues - Grandmother of bride in wheelchair- requested/confirmed handicapped room ready for 1:00PM checkin.. Not Ready - requested adjoining room for care/monitoring... Put on separate floors - the worst moment - Valet parking could not find our car - 50 minutes - delayed bride walking down the isle until grandmother arrived 20 minutes late.... Staff was unconcerned - apologized for the inconvenience.. Requested a follow up to prevent the same situation happening to another guest - Still waiting.......... August 29, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Glitches upon glitches Firstly, I was twice denied access to my room. The "key" did not open the door. Secondly, the bartenders in the lovely roof top lounge are distinterested in service. Thirdly, the valet service is just AWFULLY slow. August 25, 2014
  • 2015-06-29T14:27:18.187-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_159, tr_159
  • loc_en_US, sid_3798, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>