The Westin Excelsior, Rome

  • Via Vittorio Veneto 125
  • Rome,
  • 00187
  • Italy
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Children who are 12 or younger sleep for free in the existing bedding of a room shared with a paying adult. Rollaways, child rollaways and cribs may incur extra charges.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 269 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best In Rome My wife and I have made several trips to Rome and have never found the "right" hotel for us--until now. The Westin Excelsior is the perfect spot for us. We knew it was special from the time our driver pulled up the front door. We were greeted by an extremely friendly and helpful doorman, who held our bags until we could see if we could check-in, as we arrived 5 hours before the "normal" check-in time. When we went to the front desk, we received an extremely friendly greeting and were told it would be no problem to go to the room right then. The desk clerk walked us up to the room and asked if it was acceptable. It was spacious and lovely. He said the bags would be delivered soon--and they were. The location is the best in Rome. It is adjacent to the US Embassy (which might explain why the President stayed here on his trip to Rome) and only a short walk to the Spanish Steps. There is a cash machine just across the street. The Concierge desk was never vacant. The staff there proved to be most helpful with all of our needs. Even at 3:00am when I had a problem with my internet connection, there was someone there at the desk who took care of my needs. The upper lobby was a great place to meet and to relax. The bar next to it is nice but the staff is happy to serve you in the lobby. The staff in the spa are great and extremely helpful. At 2:30pm on Christmas Eve we ventured down there to see if there was a chance for a massage. After a few phone calls our wish was granted and the massages began at 3:30pm. The facility was clean and very user friendly. Housekeeping was a real gem. The room was kept clean and the the evening turn down service was exceptional. They did not merely turn down you your bed linens. They straightened the room, refreshed the bathroom and the towels. placed the slippers by each side of the bed, turned down the linens, and left two chocolates each and every night. The location, the facility, and the service were all outstanding. We will be back here for our next trip to Rome--without a doubt! January 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by OMG.....Perfect from the Start I've stayed at this property on two occasions and I am returning in May to spend my honeymoon at this property. This is my "property of choice" in Rome. The hotel is located in the "high rent district" on Via Veneto. It is a beautiful location for visitors. When you enter the hotel, you are greeted by real bell hops (as opposed to kids in black tee-shirts). When you check in, the front desk staff doesn't just hand you the room key. They walk around the front desk and take you to the room without handing you off to a bell hop (nice touch). The staff is attentive and warm. They are extremely helpful with reservations (I called ahead). This is a terrific property. March 8, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed and shocked I made our reservation using SPG points. Previously I had stayed at the Westin in Florence and Venice several times, both outstanding hotels and SPG experiences. This hotel was a huge disappointment. The first room they took us to in the SPG cluster of rooms was horrible. I could smell something bad in the hallway before we even entered the room. The smell within the room was worse, like fish and mold combined. I requested another room. They were very nice at the front desk in accommodating a change. The second room again within the SPG cluster was just as bad only you could smell the room freshener used to try and masque the horrible smell. Again, I requested a different room, interior room which was my original request at check in. The third room was recently remodeled, interior, and had no bad smells. March 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great surprise The staff and facilities at the Westin Excelsior far exceeded my expectations. It was the last leg of our trip in Italy. I surprised my wife on our 21st anniversary with a great room (balcony, heavenly bed, heavenly shower) it made her increadably happy. I didn't know what to expect, I made the reservations through Starwood in the US, the agent did a great job working within my budget. I enrolled for the Spg Amex when I returned so I can get the most out of the Starwood preferred guest membership in the future. They upgraded us and gave us a comlementary bottle champagne. I'm earning points so I can get back! November 7, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing to Say the Least!!! Good Morning, I attach my review of my recent stay at the Westin Excelsior Rome: It is a disgrace that this establishment is part of your Starwood brand! If you have a look at Trip Advisor, you will note that general reviews of this establishment support my overall findings. As a long time Centurion card member, it is beyond belief to me that American Express would not only recommend, but embrace this establishment as one of their “Fine Hotels.” As one who has been privileged to have stayed in some of the finest hotels throughout the world, I can assure the reader that the Westin Excelsior Rome doesn’t even come close to making the cut and simply rests on its past laurels. This is a three star establishment pretending to be what it’s not! Traveling with three children and my wife with noon arrival at the Excelsior after an international flight, we were notified that our two Grandluxe rooms were not ready for check-in. This is understandable and we were able after a twenty minute delay to obtain one of our rooms with a promise that our second room would be ready by 2pm at the latest. On arrival to our second floor room, it was noted that we were not provided with a SPG designated room and that the temperature was excessively warm with what appeared to be non-functional air conditioning controls. We attributed this to antiquated ventilation mechanics and decided to get on with our day with a stop by the concierge for directions that was greeted with the most uncaring level of service imaginable. Back from lunch at 3pm, we were informed after another twenty minute wait that our children’s room was still not ready and was in the process of being cleaned. We went to our room and noted that our second room located three doors down had not even been started to be prepared for us – I love being lied to by the front desk staff!?! At 4pm, I called the service express line to ask for maintenance to repair our air conditioning. At 4:30pm, we received our second room wherein the air conditioning definitely functioned well. Having not seen maintenance yet to repair the air conditioning in our primary room, I called service one again at 4:35pm and then again at 5:00pm, 5:30pm and yet again at 6:00pm and 6:30pm until maintenance finally arrived. Maintenance informed me without even entering the room that our air conditioning fan was broken and could not be fixed with guests staying in the room. The gentleman then departed. I question why we were given a room with known non-functional air conditioning to begin with? I called the front desk now having given up on service one and maintenance reappeared offering me an electric fan…. A wonderful first day in Rome having invested over three hours at this point in attempting to have my air conditioning repaired in what is reputed to be a five star establishment. Another call to the front desk was greeted by a very helpful young man (Giovanni) who came up to the room in an attempt to offer me a substitute room. Unfortunately, it was three floors up and as far away as possible from my children’s room, so we opted understandably not to move. Thereafter, this same gentleman called me back to inform me that they had a cancellation and could move both of our rooms. He was both helpful and understanding, but unfortunately, I explained that my children were now asleep and that a move would not be possible at this time. He asked what I would do unable to sleep in such a hot room to which I replied that I would share my children’s room where the air conditioning worked. This seemed to satisfy and satiate the situation at hand in the hotel’s mind. On returning from dinner, I was unable to fall asleep in the heat of my room, so I moved out on to the balcony for the night where I managed to fall asleep for a few hours until awaking to the realization that I had been completely attacked by mosquitoes. I then took the liberty of moving to my children’s room, where I slept on a bench for the night in the cool of the air conditioning. An occasion that was repeated for the balance of our stay…. How much more romantic can Rome be than paying for two rooms to separate ones children and then sleeping on a hard bench in their room?!? Despite being out of the room for four consecutive days and morning requests, our air conditioning remained unrepaired without even the benefit of any form of updated status or communication. On a positive note, Georgio staffing the front door always went beyond the call of duty with a bright smile and a twinkle in his eye with an effort to be as helpful as humanly possible. This was in sharp contrast to the lackluster uncaring and cold concierge staff. Tip: if you decide to have the concierge book a restaurant reservation for you, be certain to check back with them prior to departing for the restaurant as they do not bother to inform you if they were unable to secure said reservation! In fairness, it seems that the concierge desk in utterly understaffed in relation to the demands and continuous lineups placed before them…. Getting down to the details now: the hotel is superbly located and the rooms are “old world” spacious, elegant and beautiful. However, “WORN” would be the best adjective to describe them. From broken chandeliers missing crystals to dented, damaged doors and panels to broken finials to worn carpeting to tarnished fixtures throughout: the property is in desperate need of repair. It is interesting to note that on each occasion that someone provides an unpleasant review, management is quick to post a response that they are sorry and that they have reviewed the situation with the full team: why don’t they rectify the problem with the guest while the guest is still on property?!? They simply don’t truly care – they have your few thousand Euros and that’s what counts in their eyes. I can assure one and all that neither this traveler nor his friends will make the mistake of residing in the Westin Excelsior Rome again. Fortunately, our next European stop lands us real five star accommodations in a caring and nurturing environment. August 19, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Horrible Concierge Restaurant Recommendation The concierge made a recommendation for Malafemmina in Rome and we chalked it up to our "pick pocketing" in Rome. They charged us 4x the menu prices in the final bill. I travel globally, am a partner at Accenture where I entertain for a living and I've never seen anything quite like this. I would feel better knowing that my beloved Starwood will NEVER recommend this restaurant again. July 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roma - we love your Westin Excelsior Great location & fab room! We stayed 3 nights in May 2011 - used Starwood points which was the best use of points ever & our only regret is that we did not stay longer! The breakfast although $$$ - good selection both American & Italian items. Looking forward to another stay. December 18, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Expected Much More As a Platinum Preferred SPG member, I have come to expect more of the offerings. I purposesly selected the Westin brand so that I could take advantage of the executive lounge...unfortunately, the hotel does not have one, and offered nothing for compensation. The hotel does not have irons for fear they are a "fire hazard" but will press your clothes for a fee...but not on Sunday...so if you arrive on Sunday with a meeting scheduled for Monday...you are out of luck. The bell staff are rude and condescending. While the hotel is beautiful, the rooms comfortable and the bar staff accomodating, watch out for your bill when you check out. Mine had internet and a charitable donation charged for every day of my stay which I had to request removal of upon check out. I am very disapointed in this hotel considering the prices they charged for the rooms and what was offered in return... December 9, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 TREATED LIKE SECOND CLASS CITIZEN I was so disappointed in the treatment from the hotel staff especially the attitude of the front desk. When we checked in we were told that since I was part of a tauck tour (which is a very high end tour company) they did not have to and would not offer me any of the amenities that a platinum starwood member should receive. The front desk was out and out rude. The room was nothing special. We had to call twice to get a cot (which had been requested when we booked) I asked to borrow a scissors at the front desk and you would have thought I was asking to use the Hope Diamond. This was easily the most unimpressive Westin I have stayed in. June 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Italian Hotel Experience I travelled to Rome last spring to attend a wedding and received the most incredible welcome. Efficient staff upgraded me to a two room suite over-looking a quiet street. The location could not be better. It's a very easy walk to Via Corso or even Campo di Fiore. I was there in late May and it was very hot...no matter! There is a spa and pool that provides a perfect recovery after a day out in Rome. There is also a great little bar near the reception which is perfect for a quick meeting with colleagues. This may be my favorite Starwood property in Italy. December 16, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel continues to excede our expectations This is the second time we have had the pleasure of staying at the Westin Excelsior in Rome. Our recent four day visit took place the week of September, 9, 2012. Once again, we viewed our stay at this grand hotel as nothing less than a pure pleasure. From the minute we exited our car the treatment we received from hotel staff was warm, friendly and helpful. Since I am Platinum level, we were upgraded to a beautiful suite which was elegant, roomy and very comfortable. Every request we made of staff was handled quickly and graciously. We would not consider staying anywhere else in Rome, and can without reservation endorse this marvelous Starwood property. September 16, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Pleasant, Old School Property But Issues Rooms were fine, if a bit dated. Staff was excellent, except for below Prepaid at a perceived "lowest" rate and a week later they lowered the rate 100 euros per night and wouldn't honor it. Most any other type of business would take care of their customer better. Emailed them twice about parking for my rental car. No response either time. Arrived and it didn't occur to me at the time to address the matter. At checkout they gouge for for 70 euros per day for parking Combine everything and I won't risk staying at this property again. Not sure why I should bother going to Starwood 100% of the time either, as customer service won't do anything about it , either May 29, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Never Again The location of the Hotel was great. But, we did have an issue with the room. I have a severe allergy to down, and told them. Somehow, feather pillows ended up in the room and I had an allergic reaction. What really sets me off is the manager called me and my family liars! Why would I lie about that? On service, I would give them a big F! March 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location in amazing city "the eternal city" I love Rome and this place is the best neighborhood along the historic Via Vittorio Veneto avenue [think La Dolce Vita (1960) and the La grande bellezza (2013)] with iconic Martini sign nearby and the American embassy across the street. We stayed here for 3 nights and loved the service and location. We were upgraded to a nice suite and felt the hotel overall is easy walking distance to some great restaurants, bars etc. Yes the rooms might need some renovation but it is a great place to stay and we would stay here in a heartbeat! December 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bravo, Westin Excelsior! From arrival to departure, spouse and I were impressed by attentive staff, beautiful room and amenities plus service that exceeded expectations. Location... perfetto! Paulo (concierge) could not have been more helpful. When we return to Rome, we return to Westin Excelsior. Grazie and Bravo! May 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Lacks customer service for the price The staff was not accommodating to our needs and the hotel was over priced. Upon check-in I realized i mistakenly didn't register my wife for the King room I reserved. To remain at the same price, we were required to change to a double room. We used the hotel restaurant for breakfast only to find it WAY over-priced. For 33 euros the food selection and quality should be better and the staff should be tending to my every need. I many times had to interrupt staff members from arguing with each other to bring coffee to the table. When engaging with staff, they were friendly enough, but they certainly didn't go out of their way to say "hello" or welcome me when I passed by them. June 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful property Now my *wood property of choice in Rome. Great location. with some beautiful heritage rooms. Very good elite SPG recognition. Some minor service issues, mostly relating to language/communication. Vevy nice neighbourhood for walking, eating, shopping. I will definately return. February 7, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Huge rooms I have stayed here for 4 nights with my partner for a first time visit to Rome. This a gorgeous hotel with excellent location and gigantic rooms (we stayed at a Grand Luxe room and had a separate bedroom!). My only dissapointment was the fact that their king size beds are actually two queen beds joined as a king. Because of that, it is very uncomfortable to sleep in the middle, as there is a 'hole' in between the two mattresses. I have been told ny the receprion staff that the majority of rooms are like that. I believe this is not right for such a great hotel to save money on real king size mattresses... February 29, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Convenient location, beautiful hotel, average service We were pleased with the hotel itself and it was conveniently located but overall we were not impressed with the responsiveness, or lack thereof, with some of the concierge staff and we felt victimized by the outrageous fees the hotel charges to park your car (quoted €70/night). I didn't have much choice since we arrived 10pm at night and was told it's not safe to park on the street. I've been a Starwood member for many years, have traveled to many countries and have never encountered such a ridiculous charge or felt taken advantage of like I did while staying at the Westin Excelsior in Rome. There's a serious problem when your parking fees start representing a large % of your room charge. June 15, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Why did I insist on this hotel? My husband and I went to Rome for our honeymoon 32 years ago and we stayed at a hotel near the Excelsior. I remember walking by the hotel many times and we said that the next time we go to Rome, we'll stay there. We've been back to Italy a couple of times since 1982, but this was our first time back to Rome. I told my travel agent that the only hotel I would consider was the Excelsior, especially after seeing that it was still a 5 star hotel. OMG...what a mistake!!! The hotel is dirty, run down, shabby ( and not chic) and is in desperate need of a total overhaul. How this hotel can still bill itself as a 5 star hotel is beyond my comprehension. The carpets are dirty, the sofas are worn and torn, the woodwork needs varnish,the marble needs polishing, glass tabletops that needed cleaning, glass doors full of finger prints,etc. There is a doorman and even though he was nice, he just stood around and never greeted incoming guests, never swept the entrance, never opened doors. The concierge was friendly, but with very broken English. The check in was efficient and we were given an upgrade on both ends of our trip, but, I will never stay there again. Some friends of ours were in Rome in the spring and they stayed at the hotel across the street, a true 5 star hotel and they loved it. Our room cost more than theirs and was way below expectations. I have been to many Starwood hotels and having this hotel belong to the Starwood chain is a disgrace. July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by La Frande Dame of Via Veneto La Grande Dame of Via Veneto is a "little tired"and in need of some cosmetic "surgery"....However, the service and attention to detail are a great as ever. Special recognition goes to Maria at reception, who truly went beyond the "call of duty" to find a great room for us. In spite of her being a little under the weather, her attitude, disposition and care were exceptional. Similarly, at early (6AM) check out, the front desk person on duty made suer that we could have a very quick and prompt coffee, prior to starting our long trip back home. In all, a great stay........ April 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Q: What more can a hotel offer? A: Not much! My wife & I stayed at the Excelsior for a week, in two different rooms because we decided to extend our stay at the last moment. So we had two flavors of Excelsior excellence. Our rooms were magnificent, spacious and quiet, with deft touches of elegance. The staff - from front desk to back office - were unfailingly courteous, helpful and solicitous of our well-being. Location is very convenient to several of our favorite sections of Rome. This is our fourth or fifth visit, and we continue to view the Excelsior as central to our own "Roman Holidays." June 4, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Platinum members beware! I recently stayed at this hotel as a corporate guest. Upon checking in, I was advised that as a Platinum member I could access the wireless Internet at no charge. The charge is normally 15 euros per day. However, while checking out I noticed I was charged a total of 75 euros for 5 days of internet access. When I asked about the charge the guy behind the desk stated that I did not qualify due to the fact that I was a corporate guest. Although I explained to him that I was told upon check in that the access was free, he refused to remove the charges. August 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel surpassed our expectations! We had ten glorious days at the Westin Excelsior in October. The location was outstanding. our room was superb and the food and service in the Doney restaurant was exceptional. We felt the staff was most attentive to our requests. We noted some reviews commenting on lack of ATMs and no ice machines. The bar was most accommodating for requests of ice. There are ATMs on most blocks. We look forward to returning to this hotel on our next trip to beautiful Roma! November 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Strolling in Via Veneto We only stayed one night, but it was a fabulous 24hr. Upgraded to a gorgeous suite, everybody very kind from the very begininning until the end. Location of hotel is excellent to walk to Villa Borghese gardens, Spanish Steps, Pantheon ...all the sites. Had lunch at Doney, great food and service. Had a swim in the pool, where there is a also a whirpool, but uses th same water of pool so a bit on the cooler side, relatively speaking. The pool area could have been a bit 'dryer', but just as I am a very picky person. Excellent stay overall! September 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic location in Rome *The location of the hotel is fantastic. Many of the main attractions are within walking distance. Lots of shops and restaurants are steps from the hotel. *Excellent selection of breakfast items to choose from. *Take lunch, or dinner, in the Doney restuarant and you will not be disappointed. The service, food, and quality is outstanding. The rooms are very spacious but could use a little updating. We were upgraded to a lovely suite overlooking Via Veneto. *Two staff members deserving merit are Elena, the reservations manager, and Stephano on reception. They are extremely helpful, and very professional. *The concierge service needs to be addressed. The gentlemen working the desk seemed overly impressed with themselves. Several of them were borderline unfriendly. May 4, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very disappointing stay Was upgraded to a suite on the first floor - very noisy, ac not working - and the electrician suggested keeping the window open to keep the room cool. Water wasn't replenished and we had to call every day for them to bring it to the room. Concierge was not very helpful and not very polite either - did not even bother to look up the address online - and just said "I don't know - its on the street - just walk until you see it ". Overall very disappointing stay as platinum guest - will not be back and will not recommend February 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel is amazing! Hotel was in great location about .3 mile from metro. Inside was so beautiful , i felt under dressed ( wore shorts & t-shirt.) the pool and wirlpool were so nice , it made relaxing easy. It made are stay so much better to come back from walking around the Coliseum, Vatican, and the stairs at St.Peters church and get in wirlpool & pool. They also gave us a bath robe & slippers for going to pool area. It was just so nice ...If you go to Excelsior please get the coffee it was the best I had ever had.. November 30, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roman Holiday This is our first time to Europe. The hotel staff were wonderful upon our first arrival. Everyone were very friendly and courteous, and made us felt very welcome. When the room was ready, Giorgio personally walked us to our room, and gave us brief history of the hotel. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable, the staff have done an excellent job through out our stay in Rome. We are very please with all the personnel at the hotel, and would definitely come back to visit if we are in Rome May 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Such a great experience We were in Rome for a day and half as a prolonged stopover and we were absolutely delighted with everything the hotel had to offer. The staff was super nice, the room was regal and gorgeous and the service was fantastic. When we checked out in the morning they were more than accommodating when it came to storing our luggage. All in all it was an experience we would love to have again. Great job to everyone on the westin excelsior staff! You really made our trip that much more enjoyable. December 25, 2013
  • 2015-03-29T18:19:52.164-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_269, tr_269
  • loc_en_US, sid_70, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>