The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

  • 335 Powell Street
  • San Francisco,
  • California
  • 94102
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 1071 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thank you Thank you for the wonderful stay at the Westin St. Francis in San Francisco. It was perfect. June 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay! Stayed one night at this fabulous hotel with my daughter. The location is perfect right in the middle of all the action of Union Square. The staff was very helpful especially Michelle who checked us in at the front desk and also provided several restaurant recommendations. The bar was hopping and fun and the bartenders did a great job! June 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed I made my reservation through Starwood and asked to be in the Tower specifically. When we arrived we were told there was no king available in the Tower so we were put in the traditional room. There was a small window that looked across at another building. The room was small and stuffy. In addition the staff was not very accomodating from the front desk to the bellman to the valet. June 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing Weekend with Amazing Views We had a great view of Union Square from our room. Friendly staff and comfortable room. June 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everything about it is great. You couldn't ask for anything better. June 15, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Rooms Matter Tired hotel with a stellar past. We were here for a conference and the hotel was definitely sub par. Our room was very dark, with two windows to a center courtyard that was small. Unless the sun was directly overhead, the room didn't receive much light. The size of the room was nice though. And because it didn't touch any outside walls, it was free of the typical road noise. Because I wanted a hotel that would allow my wife and I to just stay in and enjoy the room and the view and the comfort, we were quite disappointed. Everything in this hotel felt vintage or just old. For the price that was charged, we had much higher expectations. Even the shades in the room were broken. The faucet in the bathroom was not working properly either. We had a great time in the city and the hotel location is pretty amazing. We just wish that the quality of the hotel was better. We've stayed at other Westin properties and they were much more comfortable. June 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Old Hotel in Great Location Room was old and small. Had zero view, unless you consider a ten foot look at a brick wall a view. Thought with all my travel and stays they'd have done better. Very pricey for what you get... June 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by It is clean and comfortable. Excellent staff and architecture June 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The hotel is in a great location We had a very tiny room with an extremely tiny bath that made it hard for two of us to get ready at the same time. I don't know anyone in our group that had a tiny room like ours. Our room was a big disappointment. Otherwise, we enjoyed our stay. June 26, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Our worst experience yet with this Hotel It was a wedding anniversary so we decided to slurge and use 16k of our points to stay at the Westin St Francis in Union Square. When we first checked in we were given a room that smelled of mold so we asked for a new room. Then when we got to the new room, the key didn't work. This whole fiasco took just under an hour to get into our room. We had the prime rib at the Oak Room and was disappointed at how much fat was on the meat. We expected better from the hotel of what we thought was higher calibur. When we went to check out the person at the desk was begining to ask us about our experience but then said "oh, your here on points". That was unprofessional and surprising. We've always liked staying here so we'll probably stay one more time. If the next visit is anything like our last visit, we'll never go back! April 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel was prefectly located.. Great location. Great service. Clean rooms. June 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed guest I stayed at the hotel for 6 nights. Construction noise was terribly loud at 2 am (font related to hotel). When I complained, staff said, "there's nothing we can do." I was in rooms 1220/1221 (suite). Cleaning service was mediocre. They left unfolded robe on the chair, did not put away ironing board, floor unclean. Food and room service average. I am a long time Starwood member and was exited about staying at the historic St Francis, but was extremely disappointed with my experience. Would not recommend this hotel. June 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Smell Upon arriving we were excited to have the room ready early and upgraded. The window was open when we arrived in the room. Upon returning in the evening I closed the window and turned the AC on. Right away we had a smell coming from the AC. (Since the windows were open upon arriving this let me to think someone might of been aware of the oder. ) I thought is would disappear but it continued. It smelled like garbage. It was not refreshing.I would have this looked at already. June 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Better Than Expected Other than not getting the later check out we should get as a SPG/SVO Gold Preferred client, the Westin S. Francis was a pleasant surprise. I loved the historical nature of the hotel, and the location was perfect for shopping, food, and entertainment. We booked 3 rooms. The carpets appeared worn, cloth on 1 of the room's chairs was worn out, TV's were exceptionally small, and the bathrooms were small too except for the ADA bathroom. Westin rooms tend to be light challenged, although the rooms were good sized. Our mini bar had a Pringle can that was already partially opened. Weird, since it is a sensor bar. Parking fees are outrageous, but I was expecting them, so I wasn't surprised. Waters from the store in the hotel were $4.99 and $5.99. I felt a little gouged. Overall, I enjoyed the stay and would stay again especially because of the location. June 23, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Stay in the newer part of the Hotel I have stayed at the Westin St Francis a few times, this was the only stay that I was disappointed. It was the first time I stayed in the older part of the hotel. It looked like no one has stayed in this particular room in a while. There was an empty water bottle on the floor. When I told my experience at check out, he said, yes because it was the old part of the hotel. I didn’t think that was a good excuse, all your rooms should be at top quality, this is not what I expected for a Westin Hotel. June 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Stately quality Walking into the lobby of this hotel and I immediately felt the classic qualities of the hotel. The lobby is beautiful and there are plenty of staff members each willing and able to help or direct you to the any help that you may need. The hotel has recent renovated many if not all of their rooms. The renovation solves the problem of having outlets near the bed, though the reduction in dresser space makes unpacking. Negatives: The in-room wi-fi is not reliable. The hotel's casual dining option is lacking, but there are sufficient alternatives nearby. There is no pool. April 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Noisy neighbors. Mediocre room location Had to speak w front desk & security THREE times regarding a very noisy group in teh adjacent room. They had music & loud conversation extending beyond 11PM. Very frustrating. Gold status and specific room location request at check in resulted in a "Union Square facing room" being in the back reaches of the hotel and immediately next to elevator bank. June 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by No hot water in room 801 Paying hundreds of dollars for a hotel room and having to take cold showers in the morning is not my idea of satisfactory. Bourbon restaurant is pretty good. Lobby feel is a bit like crowded Disneyland. June 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A fine hotel The hotel's location is wonderful. We wish we had more time to explore the area. June 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by mouse56 The toilet seat cover was very wobbly (I did not report it) . Terrible view of the building next door. Mattress was not comfortable June 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location This SPG property is located in the heart of San Francisco embedded in the Union Square shopping area and 2 blocks from the Market Street Cable Cars. June 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by So-so The St. Francis is located at the heart of SF which is a good reason to chose to stay there. The hotel itself is somewhat run down, hall ways are dirty, my room was spacious but dark and the A/C was not working that well. I think the bathroom was renovated fairnly recently but the rest of the room needed a makeover. All in all the hotel seems a bit outdated and somewhat sub-par for a Westin hotel. June 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wear a parka inside the elevator The hotel is a great place to stay except the elevators system is bit complicated. The temperature inside the elevator cars is colder than a winter's day in Alaska. June 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has excellent location Once you enter the lobby, everibody wants to help you enjoy the visit. All the different departments do more than expected for you compared to other hotels. Missed Victor's restaurant. June 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent location and service I have stayed here a couple times and really enjoy it's location and proximity to dining, shopping, the trolley cars. San Francisco is an easy city to get around. Our room was comfortable, the staff friendly and accommodating, and service excellent. Will return on next trip to SF June 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rooms in the tower were exceptional! Our stay at the Westin St. Francis was wonderful. The hotel staff goes above and beyond to make your stay a pleasant one! I would recommend this hotel! June 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful stay Had a relaxing stay. Rooms and facilities clean and comfortable. Staff always helpful and courteous. Will be back! June 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel- POOR RESERVATIONS DESK I booked this room over the phone and they booked me in the WRONG room type. When I called back, they told me it was a prepaid rate and that no changes were allowed! REALLY- even when it was NOT my fault. I then spent the next 45 minutes trying to explain to 3 different ppl that I did nothing wrong (except for not just booking online on my own) and now I have to deal with this nonsense. The person on the phone pretty much accused me of lying and said that we would have to review the phone conversation tapes.. PLEASE DO, IN FACT, PLEASE REVIEW THE CONVERSATIONS AND THEN HAVE THAT WOMEN CALL ME AND PERSONALLY APOLOGIZE FOR HER RUDE CUSTOMER SERVICE. I can be reached on my number on file. I did not appreciate that tone and accusatory statement- your people messed this up- NOT me. Other than that, the hotel was great and the staff there were great as well and very helpful. May 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Too old and smelly The room is too old and smelly June 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bourbon Steak Manager I've stayed at this property probably a dozen times over the past 10 years and when i was here over Xmas, I had dinner at the Bourbon Steak for the first time. It was honestly one of the worst meals I've ever had. My steak was over-cooked and nearly flavorless. The lobster was tiny and boiled to death. I've been staying at the SPG properties for many years and simply had much higher expectations. I brought this to the attention of the server and the manager (Karen). They promptly offered a newly prepared steak (nicely done) and since I wasn't in the mood to try the lobster again, she simply removed it from my bill. Over all, they did ALL of the right things to make it right. I decided to give it another try this evening and they nailed it! Service/food was EXCELLENT! I stopped Karen on my way out to thank her for making things right when I was here over Xmas and let her know I decided to give them another try. April 15, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 37 next>>