The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali

  • 2365 Kaanapali Parkway,
  • Lahaina
  • Maui,
  • Hawaii
  • 96761
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 938 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Much, much improved property I stayed at this hotel in December of 2013 in the midst of their refurbishment. That stay was a nightmare and I didn't know if I'd ever return. However, a friend suggested I try it again since it had been redone. The hotel is beautiful - from the grounds to the pools to the rooms, it really is delightful and relaxing. During my first stay two years ago (a week before Christmas) I was upgraded to a suite. This time there was no upgrade available, but the room I was assigned had a spectacular view of the ocean. The rooms are small, but are very clean and still feel pretty new. The carpet is clean, the furniture was in good shape (which you'd expect 18 months after renovation.) I would absolutely stay here again because the rooms and hotel property are so nice and the location is perfect. However, there is a lot of improvement need with the level of service provided by the staff. The entire valet/bellman team is great. I thought they really made up for what the rest of the staff lacked. They went above and beyond. At checkin I had the same experience I had previously, a long wait, staff that didn't really seem to care and didn't pay attention to detail. I was told I would get a whole list of benefits as a platinum member, but he actually forgot to give me the certificate for breakfast so the next morning when I tried to get breakfast it was a hassle to go back to the front desk and be questioned by the agent about why I didn't get it, was I sure I didn't lose it, was I sure I didn't have it. Then I went back to breakfast and waited in line for a table (there can be a long wait at prime time!) The breakfast buffet was very nice and had a huge variety of options. If you're on a free breakfast don't expect anyone to come by and offer you coffee (or anything else.) I finally learned that if I tipped someone up front (I was told that most people who have free breakfast don't tip, so they pay attention to the al a carte and paid buffet guests) then I'd get coffee and juice easily. Overall, good food though. I spent most of my time away from the property, but I did enjoy the on-site Starbucks. It's not a full Starbucks, but it's a great option for grabbing a coffee or iced tea before heading to the pool. There's also a shopping center next to the hotel and there is a coffee shop there too, but it's actually more expensive. The pools are very nice. You're given pool towel cards at checkin and informed that if they're not returned at check-out you'll be charged. So make sure you get your cards backs when you turn your towels in! The dinner choices at the hotel are limited and the service at Relish is horrific. I had such a bad experience one night that I spoke with the F&B manager and she ended up comping my meal after about 5 things went wrong. I really appreciated her doing that and listening to my complaints. It was such a shame that the service at the restaurant was so bad because it really brings down the overall hotel experience. If you're there when the luau is taking place, it's a great activity - it's not cheap, but I thought it was worth it 100%. The food was great, which you can't always say at a buffet for 200+ people. The entertainment was amazing and I'd go again. There are three Starwood hotels to choose from in Maui and I think that Westin is a very good option. Like I said, I would absolutely return for the property itself but hope that they do something about customer service. February 26, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Faith @ Relish/ Tokie @ concierge desk made our trip this far... There is always room for improvement, however, this is an instance where the staff has made our experience all the better. Tokie at the concierge desk was attentive and friendly and, most importantly, listened to our needs and met them with outstanding service. And Faith, who has been working with Starwood for forty years, has served us several days at Relish and has been a highlight to each morning. Her smile and warmth are the epitome of Hawaiian hospitality and she should be recognized as a such. Thank you for making the start of our trip so warm and inviting. February 25, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not Satisfied The Room Service confirmed to bring Champagne glasses for Valentines Day night, but never showed up. Bell desk confirmed to pickup a package, did not show up the whole day. Next day had to call again. February 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Winter get away Fun family hotel. Good pools. Great snorkling off beach February 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 25 Years of Enjoying the Westin We just completed a stay celebrating our 25th anniversary. We spent part of our honeymoon at the Westin. From check in to check out we were treated as Ohana. Comfortable room, delicious food, beautiful grounds and helpful, courteous staff. That is why we return to celebrate our anniversary every year we are able. A special thanks to Nika and Grace who welcomed us by name and gave us an awesome room. Cristen and Craig in the Spa for their Aloha. We look forward to our return. February 7, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Maui trip On this trip we stayed at the Sheraton, westin villas, four seasons lana'i, and now westin. I would rate four seasons the best Westin villas numer 2 Sheraton 3 but thought it exceeded our expectations, fourth would be westin Maui were so far the service and staff don't meet expectations. February 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The hotel was awesome! We had nothing but praise for the hotel staff, exceptional cleaning staff in our wing ( can't say enough...hope she gets something for our praise)...always very polite and very anxious to please...Made our days enjoyable to come back to a very clean room..we had a great room and astounding view...Can't say enough.. .Great! food..surroundings...and just the whole experience was exceptional!... My husband and I would come back in a moment.. January 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by mrt On checking in Dawn did a outstanding job of making us welcome. The host of Relish Malinda is a wonderful person greets you every morning with a great smile. The servers are great Tammy and Faith. January 24, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Shoddy Internet Service As an elite SVN and Gold SPG member I was relegated to basic internet when I paid via star points for the upgrade. This should not happen. I'm very disappointed in Starwood' service January 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin is a great place for vacation. My husband and I loved Westin! The staff were friendly, courteous and nice. The room we picked was facing the ocean, the view was breathtaking. The bed was very comfortable, great hotel. We just came back from our 2nd trip and we plan to visit again. January 24, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great employee First impression was excellent as we arrived at the front desk, we were helped by a woman named Dawn, she was a breathe of fresh air, very helpful & knowledgable, and during our stay was our go to person for any help.we plan on a return trip and hopefully Dawn will there to greet us again. Only complaint was pool side loungers ,were very uncomfortable, need cushions badly January 21, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by An Opportunity Missed I have mixed views. This is a beautiful property in an idlyllic location. Most of the staff is friendly and outgoing. Because of this alone, I will go back. However the food is really average and as a result only had dinner there one night. The hotel is next to Whaler's Village and its two beachfront restaurants are full when the Westin's restaurant is empty. That should tell you something. Likewise the spa is average. The massage was competent, but the spa treatment started and ended there -- no spa atomosphere in the waiting area and you had to go to the lobby to get soaps and lotions if you wanted a shower after the massage - why? Finally, I had requested a suite using the suite night awards and was told before I arrived they did not have any. However, upon arrival my wife told the desk clerk we were there for our 30th anniversary and we were a little sad not to have been upgraded. The very helpful front desk associate magically found one. We were very appreciative -- it was very generous and sweet. The question -- why wan't this suite given to me before I arrived as it should have been under the suite awards program. As a Life Time Platinum is was a little disappointing. January 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Maui Outing This is an excellent property with an outstanding location on the ocean with several very nice swimming pools. The lobby public areas are well done with waterfalls, a pond with flamingos & a black swan and parrots. The staff was very accommodating and a pleasure to interface with. We will return! January 8, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Missed the mark on Christmas Dinner 1) We were shocked when we learned that the reservation we had made for dinner was not only an average buffet but one where we had to walk thru a hallway by the bathrooms to get the food. Underwhelming is not a strong enough word. We decided to walk down the beach last minute and try to find an alternative. 2) They provide a guest room for people to shower in before leaving for the airport (flights leave late at night so the need is there). Good idea except they didn't clean it between uses so it was disgusting - towels piled up and containers all over the bathroom. Worse than a gym shower. When we stay late in other hotels we use the spa bathroom because it is meant to handle volumes of people showering. A dirty room isn't the answer. The rest of the hotel and our room were terrific, will definitely go again. Chad January 5, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Did not meet expectations When booking we looked for two things- 1) a fun pool for our son to swim and play and 2) a nice ocean view outdoor setting to relax. The pool was great, our son loved it and the staff around the pool and waterslide were the best staff on the property. The property itself is nicely maintained and is in a great location. Everything else was poor in quality, unfortunately. Our "ocean view" room overlooked mostly the Whaler's Village parking lot. Starting at 4 AM the delivery trucks with loud compressors would start backing in to the parking lot waking us up every morning. We tried to eat breakfast on our Lanai, and then the second wave of delivery trucks with refrigerators would arrive and were loud enough that it was hard to have a conversation. Although the resort was non-smoking, many guests seem to smoke on their lanais, and often we would have to close the door. We brought these issues to the front desk staff and asked to change rooms, but were only offered to upgrade to a suite and pay the difference. I really have a hard time with a resort calling the room we had ocean view. The other main issue I had was with the staff. The nicest and most helpful staff we encountered were the kids working at the top of the waterslide. I should have known at check-in when I asked about beach towels and the response was something along the lines of "I am getting to that." As noted when we brought up issues with the room, instead of trying to help we were told that we could pay more to fix the problem. At checkout, the staff did not even ask how our stay was, which is the first time I remember this happening at a hotel. If I were not in a situation in which we prepaid for the room, I think this would have been the first time I would have looked to check out early. January 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by too crowded This hotel was so crowded we had to put towels on lounge chairs as early at 7am to get two loungers together by the pool. Although check in was for 4pm, it was almost 5 before we got into our rooom after having to stand in line at the front desk several times. The room ended up being ready earlier, but the message never reached the front desk. We did really appreciate the courtesy room to shower in late in the day after we checked out. January 2, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by SPG - NO RECOGNITION Been a member since 1999 year to date of stay is 5. Tried giving Starwood a chance by staying in Maui for 10 nights for Christmas. Anyway we checked in and wasn't recognized as a gold member, was told to meet the concierge the next day to get our 2 bags since we booked 2 rooms. Met the concierge the next day and was waiting for the lady to get off the phone so I can ask for the bags and the lady said while she was on the phone asked me what is my room nos. I was shocked that she just swing the 2 bags in front of me so I left and I went back to ask her name. I also called this morning at 5:50 am for a late check out which is 2PM so we can have a nap before our long flight back to NY since we have my old parents with us on this trip. Cathy from the front desk said she can only do 1pm. What is just an extra hour? She didn't even care about that. We always travel but I stayed out of Starwood properties because there is no recognition anyway. If I can just make Atlantis be in network with the other properties then my ownership will be perfect. We just love our home resort but it doesn't mean we cannot get the same service when we use Starwood. We will be flying out of Maui tonight 12/28/2014 @ 6pm and we will be back in NY the next day 12/29/2014 @ 2 pm EST. When we get home we are going to pack again for Skiing the next Day 12/30/2014 and staying at another Starwood property. There are so many great ski resorts and I stayed within the Starwood property this time... but this will be the last. We paid so much for this Maui stay and spent thousands of dollars in Maui... Maui is beautiful and will definitely go back but will not stay again at this property. I Will never make another mistake again... since we are paying anyway, as if they are giving it for free... So now you see my reason why up to now we are only a gold member coz we get better service out of Starwood properties. December 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dawn is absolutely amazing Dawn is the best in the business. She never ceases to amaze us. She is the reason why we keep coming back to stay at the Westin Maui. We live this hotel and the way we are treated. Thank you Dawn for another wonderful trip. Jay Ashberg December 25, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Terrible honeymoon experience My wife and I stayed at the Westin Maui for our honeymoon, which we arrived full of optimism based on our experience in Oahu with another SPG hotel. Upon arrival, the receptionist was very courteous and told us that no room upgrades (included as part of our honeymoon package) were available due to the holiday season, which was understandable given that it was late December. When we arrived in our room, which was a room overlooking a concrete rooftop view in the Ocean Tower, I noticed that we had no shampoo and conditioner, so once again, we overlooked that and just called the front desk about it. The staff brought up the toiletries within 15 minutes, so that earns a star. The bed had a divot my wife's side, which was very uncomfortable, but she and I just cuddled on my side of the bed. This is when our experience went downhill. The second night when we returned from our day activity around 8 PM, the parking lot was completely full, but not in the sense that all the spots were taken. No, a handful of spots were "not parkable" because some of the guests decided to take up two spots. We took a picture of one of the cars, but the valet attendants said they couldn't do anything about it. They did generously offer to valet our car for no charge, so that gets another star. We came back to our room to take a shower, only to find we had no conditioner, only two towels, and no floor towel for the shower. The lack of the floor towel wasn't a big deal until we got out of the shower to find the floor drenched in water, which I gave the hotel the benefit of the doubt and blamed it on myself for potentially making such a mess. I had to use my body towel to soak up the mess after I used it. However, I soon discovered why the floor was drenched shortly the next morning. I woke up the third morning of our stay to use the restroom, only to be drenched in what I sincerely hope was not water from the above room's toilet. My wife recorded the dripping on her phone to document the situation just in case management tried to deny the incident. One of the staff did come up to fix the leak promptly. I called the front desk and asked to speak with one of the customer hotel managers, which the receptionist obliged. I reiterated my unsatisfactory evaluation of our stay thus far, giving the hotel a chance to rectify the issues and improve the rest of our stay. The manager said she would need to get back to me, so I gave her my personal mobile, as my wife and I needed to head out for another one of our honeymoon excursions. I am currently writing this review at 10 PM HST, and no calls have been made on my mobile nor any messages were left on our room phone. I went down to the front desk to ask them for a feedback card, only to be told that I will need to file my feedback online - so here I am documenting my experience at the Westin Maui on my honeymoon. We will not be returning to the Westin Maui the next time we do visit again. December 23, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very Poor Customer Service ( Receptionist) My Son had injury in main hall, and when we ask for Band-aid to Receptionist, She told me to go to Retail Store located in Hotel and buy the Band Aid. That shows how poor the staff are trained in the hotel for this kind of incidents. December 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The hotel rooms needs an update My concern would be the hotel room, it needs to be updated and improved, for the price i paid was not worth the money, we stayed in the premier suite, the bed room door was jammed, it couldin't even close properly, you would have to slam it to even shut. The balconies sitting area wasint so "elegant" or "furnished" and it did not look like a world class suite like it was described in the room category, i wish it looked just as good as it did in the video & picture, paint was peeling, their was alot of rust. The in room dinning prices are over priced, they gave such a small portion. I work for Starwood and it made me apreaciate my property even more. My family and i had a great time though. The thing i wont forget is the heavenly bed, location, entrance views, premier suite views, the beaches, the pool, the great restaurants, and every staff i encountered gave a spirit of aloha and made me feel right at home. December 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Standard Westin Standard Westin fare. Only complaint is the use of beach towel cards. Most nicer hotels have abandoned this and it is extremely annoying to be handed towel cards. November 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Experience Everything about the hotel was great. i.e., staff, facilities, food etc. The Greeter(initials CJ) in the Relish Burger Bistro restaurant was very nice and very friendly. The staff members who discussed & arranged the various tours were very helpful. November 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A very comfortable stay I was only here for one night and I had received an email two days before arriving that my suite upgrade request could not be accommodated. That tends to happen at large resort hotels with high demand so I was not too disappointed. However, my check-in experience was a tad too long. Thanks to Chelsea, one of the outstanding concierges, who kept me sane while waiting. But it was worth the wait as I had a ocean front room in the Towers building. Another nice platinum benefit was the complimentary breakfast. The restaurants and bars at this resort are quite good. I also had time to enjoy the Westin Fitness area and the Spa which is outstanding. Check-out also took a bit too long. I don't like taking advantage of the Express checkout as I like to have either a printed copy of the bill or an email copy. Aside from the waiting to check-in and check-out, the rest of my short stay time here was wonderful. November 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by "resort" Amenities and front desk staff Upon check in the gentleman who checked me in was fantastic very helpful and informative! He told me upon inquiry that if I desired a late check out that I just need to call the morning of check out and inform them, since I was interested in taking a tour that departed very early the morning of check out and wasn't 100% on the arrival time. When I called the morning of check out the lady who answered the phone was incredibly callous and condescending like as if I should have known better even though I informed her I was advised otherwise. The day of check in I also had a Spa appointment my flight was delayed and when I had called to inform the spa they were incredibly helpful and understanding. I even skipped checkout upon arrival to ensure I wouldn't be late for my reservation dragging my luggage through the grounds up to the spa as I couldn't locate a bellhop. The staff who greeted me for the most part was amazing; however when I explained my situation again the lady at the front desk said well we can put your luggage in that closet behind you but were not responsible for it at all. Then she asked if I had anything valuable in my luggage it made me a bit uncomfortable I feel like that could have been handled a little bit better. The spa was completely perfect as was every staffer and esthetician! When I was finished and checked into my room getting settled in I noticed some none of the resort perks were in the room i.e. the Westin bag. When I called the front desk to inquire I was informed I needed to retrieve it from the concierge desk. I then waited in line for 45 minutes at the concierge desk to get the bag, personally if you’re going to charge a resort fee for things like this they should already be in the room at check in especially if there is only one concierge member at the desk that's just an inconvenience and poor customer service. Also shuttle service to and from the hotel would be fantastic! Otherwise the entire experience was keeping with the typical standards one would expect from the Westin brand, keep up the great work! November 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Staycation This was my very first Westin Maui Resort & Spa experience, and it was wonderful! It started off with Pierceson (sp?) at the Front Desk. Very personable, helpful and knowledgable. He placed us in the older tower with a phenomenal view. We had breakfast at Burger Bistro the next morning for the breakfast buffet. There was many different choices to choose from that my stomach couldn't fit them all! Our waitress, Faith, was very helpful and full of Aloha spirit! After breakfast we headed to the pool for a swim. We were there for about 4 hours and it was unfortunate because my family and friends were there with us and not one pool server came to greet us. However, I did make my way to the Colonade (?) to enjoy a Starbucks. Joseph helped us there and was very nice, quick with responding to our needs and took our order. Although the pool server didn't help us, could have enhanced our poolside experience, but it didn't ruin our entire stay. I say "thumbs up" to the Westin Maui Resort & Spa! November 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful beach and facilities Excellent breakfast omelet chef, fresh fruit and beautiful pools. November 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by First " impression of Maui " It was a wonderful time we celebrated our 8th wedding anniversary at Westin Maui R&Spa. Much mahalos to Ms Lonisia for setting us a comfi room overviewing its resort and almost full ocean view on 7th floor..Housekeeping lady was nice and very accomodating to keep our room clean. Buffet was a bum, local food..and parking..not a problem at all. And the resort itself,,thrilling and next to ocean breeze..WOW! Staff were great ! November 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Resort My fiancee and I spent three wonderful nights at this resort. Tee staff, especially, the beach staff where very accommodating. Marshall and his team at the beach/pool do a great job making sure you have the amenities for a first class beach vacation. I highly recommend getting a beach side view room as the view and sound of the ocean are amazing October 28, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by My Vacation Great view. Most relaxing surroundings. WONDERFUL PLACE TO UNWIND.. October 27, 2014
  • 2015-10-12T06:16:05.408-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_938, tr_938
  • loc_en_US, sid_1028, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 32 next>>