The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

  • 1000 Penn Avenue
  • Pittsburgh,
  • Pennsylvania
  • 15222
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 293 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Westin - I am shocked! I feel the need to preface this review by letting readers know that this was not my first stay at a Westin, but my first at the Pittsburgh Westin. In my experience, their standards of quality are top notch. Hence, my surprise by what I found in my room... The rooms left quite a bit to be desired. My room smelled...old. I spent a while trying to place the smell, and my best guess was that it used to be a smoking room where either the carpet, linens or furniture wasn't replaced. It wasn't an overwhelming smell of smoke, but it was definitely funky. Once I got home I realized that all of my clothing smelled like the room did. The second thing that really put me off was that ALL of the linens and towels were no longer crisp white. They are now a shade of beige, indicating that they have been permanently dirtied and need to be replaced. They smelled of bleach so they were clearly clean, but at their life limit. One of the towels was actually stained...not something I ever expect to see at a Westin. The third thing was that when I went to take a shower in the morning (5:30am), the water was luke warm at best. I got out of the shower, waited a while and tried again. I had plenty of hot water the second go around. Thank goodness I woke up early and had the time to wait. This is the first time I have ever experienced that in a hotel, and certainly didn't expect it to be from a Westin. Although the room was subpar, the staff is FANTASTIC! If the hotel replaces linens and towels, does a thorough cleaning of the rooms (replace what needs to be replaced to rid the smell!) and adds some hot water tanks, it would have been a 5/5 rating. February 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel is not what it used to be. I stay at this hotel two to three times a year. They have changed the suites to eliminate a couch and now have a table. This is less conducive for conferences with colleagues. The work desk in the sleeping area did not have electrical outlets which left me scrambling to charge my phone and computer since turning off the lights in the living area shut off electric to the more convenient outlet. My room was not serviced which left me with no coffee the second day of my stay. Staff did send me a $5.00 coupon to be used at the in house facilities but it had not been my original plan to eat at the hotel. When I mentioned all of this at the desk I was told I would have valet parking credited to my account. The revised folio did not reflect that change. Disappointed in my stay this time. January 13, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Cleanliness an issue. My daughter and I stayed two nights...my biggest complaint is the cleanliness of the bathroom or lack thereof....hairs were found on the back of the toilet seat! I did find the beds comfortable, but the linens seemed somewhat dated and shabby. Moreover, in this day and age, no frig in the room...an inconvenience. Also, I'll admit I did not do my due diligence before arrival, however, the front desk should not only have mentioned its in-house restaurants , but those eateries adjacent to the hotel, in the concourse. While the buffet breakfast at the Penn City Grille was nothing to write home about, the chicken Caesar salad at the Original Fish Market was excellent. March 6, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location Hotel is in a great location - within walking distance of the two outdoor stadiums and a ton of good restaurants. Nice bar in the restaurant which connects with the hotel. Check-in was a little slow (only two employees at the desk at 2:00). They were pleasant, though. I cannot understand why any hotel would not have complimentary coffee and tea in the lobby in the morning. Consider that "lesser" hotels offer free breakfasts. That alone is keeping a few chains in business. Although the Westin was a nice hotel, there comes a point when it is no longer worth it. A couple little things like that make a world of difference. October 31, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Westin Hotel Review I stayed at your hotel during the APHON conference. Overall, it was a very good experience. The bed was comfortable. The staff was very nice and accommodating. The gym was amazing! I called the front desk a few hours after arrival to let them know that the room was not clean. There was an unusual odor and I found hair in the bathroom and around the tub. They assured me it would be taken care of....but it never was. The hair remained around the tub the entire time I was there. So, I never felt that the hotel room was cleaned properly. If I was spending less money, I wouldn't have expected more but the hotel is very costly and cleanliness should not have been a concern. October 10, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Adequate Hotel, Disappointing Service The hotel itself is perfectly adequate. The rooms are what you've likely come to expect from a Category 3-5 Westin, with comfortable beds and great showers. The restaurant is also very good and well above standard hotel food. The Fish Market has a constantly changing menu with great fresh fish options and decent sushi. Where this hotel falls flat is in its service. The first few stays are fine, but it is certainly frustrating to be checking in with the same representative for the 10th time - who you recognize and who's name you know - and are asked whether this is your first time at the hotel. They definitely need to up their game when it comes to their frequent fliers. November 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff - Marvin and Tony We visited from Upper Michigan and stayed at the Westin for five days in early March. Marvin the doorman helped us multiple times with suggestions on attractions to visit, directions, great restaurant recommendations, transport to airport and helped us rent a car for a day of sightseeing. Every morning started with Marvin asking about our plan for the day, and helping us to arrange things. He's a treasure to this hotel! Tony the shuttle driver was just as friendly and helpful - both these gentlemen went far above and beyond what we expected and helped us have a great stay. We were beyond impressed! March 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fitness The Pittsburgh Property has a fantastic workout facility...... January 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 Terrific and Accommodating Staff I was very impressed with the staff at this Westin, especially at the front desk. I had made a reservation using cash-and-points, but a back-end snafu on the part of SPG (not the hotel) left me without a confirmed reservation the day of check-in. Even though there was lots of activity (it was the Sunday of a Steeler home game), the front-desk staff spent 20 minutes with me in person and on the phone with SPG to resolve the situation. And the resolution was very much to my satisfaction -- the same number of points I was charged for "cash-and-points" except without the cash, and an upgrade to a King suite. The staff was pleasant, patient, and accommodating in resolving my issue. Highly recommended. September 20, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Westin Pittsburgh Convention Centre Stayed for the huge volleyball tournament - Pluses - great location; discounted buffet breakfast; did their best to try to encourage good guest behavior (i.e.minimize kids running through halls) Minuses - declined the 'eco' service (not having the room cleaned), but our room still wasn't cleaned the first day - not sure what the perks are supposed to be with that, but we didn't get a clean room or perks; asked about getting the shuttle to Southside Works - which we've done before - and were told they could only drop us a mile or two from there and they don't go all the way because it's too hard to catch a cab back. Well we took a cab in and had no issues getting 2 cabs for our group back to the hotel May 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The employees were very good to us The check in was quick and painless, we had made a request and it was handled with no issues. This made our injoyable and the service we received was great. We had breakfast at the hotel and that service was also great, our server was pleasent and prompt. The food that was available was plenty and fresh. We visit your hotel at least once a year and has always been the best. We have tried other when your place was unavailable and the service and accomendations have not been the same . That's why we try to come to hotel whenever we are in town from Canada. October 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bed comfort the best quality The room had a very comfortable bed, which is important to us. However, the clean bath towels had stains on them--if they could not be bleached out, the towels should have been retired. There is no reasonably close coffee shop on a weekend, and the restaurant does not have full options and is extremely expensive. We asked several times if there was anything else nearby and were told no. In fact, we finally found a Starbucks inside another hotel 2 blocks away--I suppose the staff are not willing to let us know where the shop is, if it's located at a competing hotel? October 19, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel is old looking and has no hot water Very worn carpet, moldy grout in bathroom, and no hot water. Very disappointing. January 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by great rooms and attached to convention center made it easy to attend my conference Room was great however I was surprised that there was no coffee shop, Starbucks etc to get an evening cup of coffee or snack without having to go into the upscale fish restaurant. Also, in the morning, the breakfast/lunch place on the premises didn't open early enough as one day I needed to eat early so I could go to conference center to present and next day I had a 730 AM Amtrak to catch for a 9 hour ride and couldn't even get breakfast in the hotel before I went...They weren't open!! Theo ne meal I did eat in the breakfast place took 1/2 hour to get my omelet! July 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location I had to stay overnight unexpectedly. I enjoyed my stay very much for it was relaxing, the bed was brilliantly comfortable and there was free wi-fi. I was very disappointed that the swimming pool wasn't open and perhaps this should have been the deal breaker to go look for another hotel. The room service meal was over priced but the staff accommodated my allergy very well, so that was really excellent. I have never stayed in another hotel in Pittsburgh, so I can't compare prices. However in relation to prices in other cities, it seemed a little over priced. The decor was corporate bland and at this price I would have expected a little bit of a wow factor...but I had a lovely city view and the coffee in the room was great. December 25, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Did not meet expectations I was surprisingly underwhelmed by our stay. Our room had peeling wallpaper, the room smelled funny, bedding made haphazardly, and needing some remodeling attention. The beds were comfortable. The lobby was decorated for Christmas. The gift shop sold us a $5.00 can of crushed Pringles. We watched a child, not running, slip on the very slippery tile at the pool, and we paid $62.00 for slightly warm eggs at Penn Station Grille. The location was convenient for the festival we attended at the convention center, but would choose another location to sleep next time. December 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 Beware bathroom noise Overall the hotel was satisfactory however the noise that was emitted when the bathroom toilet was similar to a freight train. We called to complain and immediately an employee was sent to check it out. The noise was till loud and we were not offered a room change. We also experienced loud noises at 5 am which woke us up when the adjoining room flushed their toilet. I was unable to flush during the night in order not to awake my room companion. The best employee was HB the shuttle operator and Tony the shuttle operator. Housekeeping did an amazing job too. July 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by The rooms smell like bad body odor I purposely stayed at the Westin because of the success I have had at their other sites. This hotel is older with popcorn ceilings in the rooms that are chipping. The biggest offense is the smell. Mthe first room 1909 had a horrible body odor smell. We switched rooms only to have a milder but equally offensive smell. I went down tot he front desk again to be told that we should turn the air conditioner on to circulate the air. It didn't work well. My family lives in the area and I doubt we will be staying here again. It's a shame I really like the Westin! November 9, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great overall however... I would recommend this hotel to anyone. However, suite doors allow to much corridor noise (read loud/roudy guests) into the room. I realize this is due to mechanical ventilation requirements but there are other methods to comply. January 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Service at the Westin Level This was my second stay at the Pittsburgh Westin and it was an absolute pleasure thanks to the manager, Dina Gaudio. We had some issues with our room reservation and type of room during our first stay that was so disappointing that I did not want to stay there again. Dina went out of her way to check on our reservation and to ensure we were very comfortable during our stay. Dina's customer orientation, attentiveness to assuring the Westin brand, professional and warmth made our stay exceptional. thank you! November 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing Only Starwood property I know of that requires a nonrefundable cancellation fee. Besides being annoying, just not practical for frequent business travelers who sometimes have to cancel. Well-run property ought to be able to plan for some cancellations. My room request for a king-sized bed was not able to be met which was disappointing as a Gold member who made his reservation three weeks earlier. Restaurant seemed overwhelmed at breakfast. Long time to get food. Trouble getting my coffee refilled. Seafood restaurant was mobbed for dinner. March 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Hotel and Staff This was a great experience from the time we drove up to the hotel. The staff greets you with a friendly smile at all times. They cannot do enough for you. The bellman was great. We never had to wait for anything. The room was very comfortable and extremely clean. The gift shop was great and had nice items. The young man that worked there was very helpful and friendly. Check in was easy and a pleasure. Highly recommend. We didn't rate the food, because we did not have time to eat there. The staff was very accommodating. Great location. November 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Stay Great location, excellent staff. We really enjoyed our stay and we will return the next time we are in Pittsburgh!! Oh, by the way, awesome workout facility!! December 30, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Below the Line A few issues we encountered: 1. Asked for a room with two queen beds and was told there were none. After I had been given my keys, the party next to me was given a room with 2 queen beds. 2. Room smelled poorly. 3. I asked for a roll away bed. Was told when checking in one was on the way. An hour later I asked where the bed was, was told they are checking on it. An hour and a half later, at 10:00 pm, I called again. when I finally received the bed, the staff member apologized and said he had never been contacted until my last inquiry. 4. Never received a confirmation email. I had to call and was finally sent one. When I did receive it omitted the room rate. When I received my bill, I was charged $100.00 more than what I anticipated. My fault for not insiting on having the rate to begin with, lesson learned. November 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by staff issue when I made my reservation I included a guest however I did not specify the guest name which was my wife. My wife had her room key and went to the fitness center. when she returned to the room her key didn't work. She went to the front desk and the girl there was "following procedure" and because my wife couldn't provide the correct information or get a hold of me, the clerk wouldn't reactivate the key. finally Anita from security met my wife who was extremely upset by this time to verify my wife's ID which was in the room. If the desk clerk would have suggested this immediately the whole scene would have been avoided. Anita was very kind and even got my wife some fresh fruit because she saw how visibly upset my wife was. Anita's kindness was appreciated. March 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed in accomodations I ordinarily enjoy staying at Westin properties; however, my stay last week at the Westin Convention Center in Pittsburgh was disappointing. My room did not have a working alarm clock or telephone. The toilet made a high-pitched squeal for over 15 minutes after flushing. Although staff were able to replace the clock and the phone, their attempt to fix the toilet only made it worse. The toilet continued to squeal at an almost unbearable level all night. Rooms should be better monitored and maintained by staff for guest comfort. August 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome associates I want to say I recently stayed at your hotel this past weekend. Was there to see a Steeler's game. Upon my arrival I met Ricky the bellman, Awesome associate. During our stay we met more associates. You could not avoid them, they always said hi and had a smile. Check in was easy. met your security Officer. really professional. I think his name was John. And Linda, House keeping manager. terrific person. Best part of the whole stay was everyone always asked if everything was ok. And of course the Steelers winning! October 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great facilities and location We stayed during a convention. There was a bit of a miscommunication with our group booking, but the staff cleared it up quickly for us. They continued to be very courteous and pleasant when we checked in and throughout the stay - thank you :) Food was great, excellent breakfast buffet, Fish Market restaurant (relaxed, higher-end dining) in the hotel was excellent - food and portions were worth the prices. Very pleased that we had the use of a complimentary hotel shuttle bus when we all wanted to go for dinner outside of the hotel (goes within a mile of the hotel) - it got us all to the best spots to eat, etc, and since the hotel's location was so great, this was perfect. Theatres, shopping, parks are all close by - everything within walking distance. Convention facilities were great too. Will be happy to recommend and stay again. November 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decent place to sleep I've been a near-weekly guest at this hotel for over a year. It has undergone a soft makeover in the past year, replacing carpets, etc. Best part of the hotel is the Heavenly Bed, plus they have lots of HD channels on the TV. Worst part has to be in internet, which crawls even when selecting the paid option. Regarding upgrades, they're tough to come by. It appears they try to sprinkle them around , but even as a frequent guest, I've only gotten a suite 3-4 times (twice on one night stays) out of 50+ stays. January 6, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Lost it's Luster Upon arrival at the check in time of 3:00 PM, was told the room was not ready yet--waited two long (2) hours and was given a single complimentary drink to make up for it. Then I had paid extra to upgraded to the Junior Suite --the room was NOT at all like the pictures, no cozy living room instead a dingy room with a dirty table and 4 worn out chairs. The bathroom was NOT oversized it was small with a little tub and broken fixtures. So disappointed I would NEVER stay there again and want my money back! March 25, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>