The Westin Charlotte

  • 601 South College Street
  • Charlotte,
  • North Carolina
  • 28202
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 791 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Value for the dollar spent is not there Problems everywhere... - Room: Upon arrival, I found what appeared to be public hairs in the sink. After turning the room upside down, housekeeping had knocked off bluetooth. headset off the table and found it under the bed. I found a filthy wash cloth under the bed. Some electrical plugs didn't work. Room A/C did not cool the room consistently (go to bed with a cool room as intended but room was hot by morning despite the t-stat showing the same settings) - Meals: 3 meals at Ember Restaurant... Food was subpar... Breakfast in particular on 2 occasions and lunch once. The service was terrible on the last meal. Several requests took 10+ minutes (juice request, hot water for tea, etc) Had to pay cash because despite asking manager for service, she/no one ever came back to us to collect our payments. - Conference space: Often 1x service on my phone with 3G on occasion. Had to pay to use wifi in conference area despite lack of cell coverage. April 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decently Dependable Checked in on a Sunday for a conference at the adjacent convention center. The valet is and has always been fast and efficient, although self-parking is a simple alternative. Check in was quick, although I hate being told I have been upgraded when I am given exactly the room I reserved. The hotel has limited suites, so I have found upgrades here very sparse. My room, a corner king was pleasant is the standard Westin way, although the extra windows are a definite positive. Breakfast in the restaurant was quick and the food was fine. The hotel's gym is more than adequate, and the Starbucks stand in the lobby is a definite amenity. The front desk was extremely defiant when I requested a late checkout (even after I pointed out my Platinum status), but I managed to win the argument. No errors with billing, and my car was brought out quickly each time. As mentioned, the hotel is adjacent to the convention center and offers convenient access to CLT and to Uptown. April 1, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by 11PM..Really I had this room (2030) booked for the week, departing Friday. At 11pm on Thursday night, security pounded on my door saying I didn't belong there and I had to leave immediately. I called the front desk and talked to the manager who asked if I had any dealing with the front desk that day, which I didn't. I was here on business and recovering from major surgery...being startled out of sound sleep in the middle of the night was so wrong. I'm not sure why or who cancelled my reservation but the front desk personnel needs better training. A simple phone call would have sufficed and no, I will not stay here again unless it is the only hotel available. Extremely bad experience. August 20, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Big convention hotel with poor guest service I am a Starwood member. Requested early check in since I was speaking at a conference. Concierge, Nicole, advised there was not a room ready. Sent me to the locker room to change. What is the point of membership if you cannot be accommodated? I asked for a room away from the elevator. She put me straight across from the exit stairway. The door started banging every few minutes at 5:30am. I assume it was staff. I asked Nicole at another point if I could have a walking map. She was checking in a LONG line of guests. She told me I had to wait in line like the rest ofmthemguests. I guess she doesn't know the meaning of concierge. Very unpleasant stay for me. Will not be back. June 17, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel needs new management This is the first time that I have stayed at a Westin hotel and probably my last. My first day, i requested a room change, the comforter had stains as well as the carpet. My new room there were stains on the comforter as well as the carpet but not as noticeable as my first room. For three days the carpet in the hallway was not vacuumed. In addition, I noticed that a towel I placed on the floor had been refolded and placed back on the shelf. My fourth day there, my room was not cleaned until 8 pm that night due to some issue with the computer. This place is a nightmare!! The only positive thing about my stay was that the front desk staff was very friendly and professional. April 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovely, welcoming, hotel The lobby is large and beautifully appointed, but best of all you are greeted by staff immediately upon arrival. The bar area provides a comfortable space to meet friends for conversation and snacks. We had a dinner for 20 in the restaurant and were all happy with excellent food and service. Our room on the 20th floor provided a nice view of Charlotte, very comfortable beds, and sufficient amenities for our needs. Finally, the elevators were amazing - quickly swished us up or down without lots of stops in-between. August 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best hotel experience ever! Comfortable and friendly. Felt like home. September 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Freakin sweet Booked one of the corner suites and it was amazing. I guess I've always stayed in cheap hotels, but I was just shocked at how nice and new everything seemed. Also, just the drive up to the hotel was impressive! Would definitely stay here again. November 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel needs complementary services The hotel met my expectation except the following that will determine if I have to use their services next time. They are: - Complementary bus service to airport and back - complementary breakfast - complementary Internet service in the rooms. November 19, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Miserable Stay I really wanted to be able to say I enjoyed this stay....but just can't. Will give credit where it is due....the room was clean, and the beds are always comfortable. But in room 504, there was a noise problem that occurred basically all night long, keeping me awake. The plumbing pipes popped, clanked, and banged continuously, and it was so loud that the only way to drown it out was to play the TV loud...but who can sleep like that? First night was not as bad, but second and third nights were awful. I kept thinking it would subside, but it didn't. On the third night I was desperate for sleep, and called the front desk twice. On the second call, they sent an "engineer" to our room, and after discussion he said it was related to the heating/cooling system water return, and there was nothing he could do about it. At this point, at about 2 AM, it was pointless to ask to try to change rooms. I brought this to the attention of the front desk person when I checked out. She was "sorry for our experience". The topper came later that day when my group went to the restaurant in the middle of the afternoon, just to get some coffee. I have never had such awful service. It was not busy at all, most tables were empty. It took five minutes to be seated...the hostess just walked away. Then after we were seated, it took 10 minutes for anyone to come to the table. We ordered coffee and tea (Starbucks was closed, or we would have gone there), and asked for water. The water never came, so one of us went over to the bar and got the water for us. The attitude of the server was very negative. I guess she was aggravated this was not going to be a big check...although I have to say, paying $15.16 for two cups of coffee and two cups of hot tea is pretty exhorbitant to me. We were so unsatisfied with the service, we did not leave a tip. I am very happy to tip generously when service is GOOD, but do not feel compelled to leave a tip when the service is terrible. The waitress had the audacity to come back to the table and say in a very snotty tone " I really want to thank you". That was the last straw. So uncalled for. This was my first visit to Charlottte, and it won't be my last, but I won't be staying at this hotel again. February 22, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Enough The hotel is nice enough if you have plenty of money in your budget to spend. Otherwise, you may want to go elsewhere. As I was here because of a conference, the room rates were reasonable. When I needed anything from the staff, they were always polite and saw to my needs immediately. The problems I did have were during the dining events. The wait staff were always hovering and I find that very annoying. They were always wanting to take my plate, cup, and flatware too soon. I had to wave them away many, many times. Also, the food served wasn't up to par for this type of hotel. If you are staying here - eat elsewhere. August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Stay! Hotel in perfect location to Convention Center, restaurants and downtown attractions, as well as, transportation. Rooms clean and very well appointed. One of the few hotels where all of the elevators operated with minimum wait. A rarity for large groups. September 5, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Check Out Drama I have stayed at this hotel a few times and usually don't have too much trouble. However the last time I stayed I was charged for valet parking for three days. When I explained that I did not use valet, the front desk manager, was suspicious and asked me if I could prove I didn't use valet. Not the way I expect to be treated as a Platinum member or any guest for that matter. It was a bit embarrassing to have to search for a receipt for off site parking February 2, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by High expectations, low performance I checked in and when I did, no mention of the green program (not having maid service) was made. However, when got to my room 701, I read the door hanger and promptly put it out at around 3:30 pm. I did not have washrags and thought this was part of your downsizing/green program so had to use handtowels until in talking with my fellow attendees that they had washrags. I did follow up with a housekeeper in my hallway and finally got washrags the on Friday afternoon. I had one little $5 green redemption card flipped under my door on Friday and that was it. My bathroom never did get warm despite having the room thermostat turned to 75. The building was horribly cold the entire meeting. January 28, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by New Years Eve party This review is about the NYE party the hosted in their Charlotte - Uptown location. The hotel itself is clean and beautiful, and the front desk woman who checked us in was great, but the good ends there. Do not waste your money on the NYE party. The bartenders were rude and when I tried yo order a cordial, which was advertised, they had NO idea what I was talking about. They advertised they would have a champaign fountain and they did not. The process to receive your wristband was a disaster. Some woman told us and others to follow a couple to a different area and the couple was going up to their room, so we had to stand in line all over again! The hor'derves weren't anything exciting, but we expected this and had dinner at McCormick and Schmicks prior to the party. It was so bad, we only stayed for an hour and walked to where Charlotte's first night was being held. It was a free event that was WAY better than paying the $280 for The Westin's party. Honestly I'd be embarrassed to be a nice hotel and throw that train wreck. As a hotel, it is great, good location and clean. The bartenders are rude and clueless to the drinks they are serving. We also had a rude cashier that we bought tickets from who charged us for an extra champaign that we didn't want and told us there wasn't anything she could do about it, she said we wanted three, when there were on,y two of us and we both had mentioned TWO. Very disappointing. January 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel I thought the hotel was very nice. My only issue with the experience was the quality of the restaurant food. The hot food on the breakfast buffet was lukewarm and the portion sizes for a few of the appetizers did not live up to their price point. September 2, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by no attention to detail Nice hotel from a distance. Requested rooms near each other a month in advance and were put on different floors. After refusing to accept, rooms were changed. Room was missing bath and shower products. Free water bottle on dresser had been opened, partially drunk. No waste basket linings. Pillows were hard, no extra's and no extra blanket. No plastic bag in closet for dirty clothes. Restaurant waiters were terrible. Got attitude when I had to go get silverware and napkins for table AFTER food was served. Complained to front desk and was told "sorry, I can give you some SPG points." LOL. As if I'd ever come back. August 4, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel has fees for everything I stayed here for a conference and found that they charged a fee for everything including $50/night for damages as well as including your parking and entire stay at the beginning of your stay rather than at the end. Upon checking out a day earlier than on my original reservation (but that I stated upon checking in), I was informed that there would be a fee of one night's stay plus tax as penalty. Not to mention that I did not get the room I had reserved, and that housekeeping ignored the "Do not disturb" sign hanging on the door (which also was removed and not replaced). July 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel over Labor Day weekend We stayed at the Westin Charlotte over Labor Day weekend. This was our first visit to the Charlotte area. It was a very pleasant experience and overall exceeded our expectations. The staff was courteous and helpful. They pointed out sights to see while vacationing and how to get around. I was concerned when I read some poor reviews prior to booking but decided to give it a try anyway! I am surprised at some of the other low ratings! What complainers. To some people if the hotel doesn't give them something free they complain. The hotel was clean, elegant, and had a great bar area and the rooms were well appointed. The room did not have a wow factor but for the price I did not expect it to blow me away. Clean, neat, with a little sophistication. I also enjoyed the fact that we were not right next to EPICENTRE. Too much noise at night during the weekend. The Westin is a few blocks away so you can still walk to EPICENTRE in less than 10 mins and you are away from the crowds when you want to relax. Yes, some things are overpriced; in room dining, parking, internet but I would expect this from any 3-4 star hotels in a major downtown area. I am pleased and glad we decided to rate for ourselves rather than base it off reviews alone! Thank you Westin! September 2, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Luggage Lost I checked into this hotel around 11AM on Tuesday and was told that my room was not yet ready, but that they would take my bag and deliver it to my room. No problem; I hadn't expected the room to be ready early. An hour or two later, I received a voicemail that my room was ready. Great, except I was in meetings and couldn't return until that night. A colleague joined the meeting later, having checked into the hotel as well, and was laughing that he had originally been given a room that had my bag in it, which he described as appearing to have been "hastily tossed into the room", and was trying to tease me about being in a rush. I assumed it was poor service from a bellhop or something. When I arrived at the hotel that night, they attempted to assign me to a room other than the one my colleague had mentioned my bag being in. I explained the situation, and the desk assistant looked stricken and went to the room behind the front desk. She never returned. I waited 10 minutes with no serivce or information. Line forming behind me. The manager comes out and explains my bag is not in that room, and suggests I look in the new room assigned. Shouldn't they KNOW if the bag is in that room? I look -- no bag. Back downstairs, I tell the manager this, and she goes to investigate. Another 10 minutes later, a man comes out and begins asking me about my bag, no introduction. I ask who he is, and he says he's with security. He then takes me to the luggage room to see if I can find my bag. At this point I'm irate. It's late at night, I have the bag check ticket, I have an important meeting in the morning. This debacle is now going on 45 minutes. My bag is not in luggage. As we are walking out of the room, the security man seems to have some sudden memory of being given a bag that hospitality "found" in what he originally describes as a "non-guest area" but then decides is one of the rooms. He describes it -- it's clearly mine. He tells me that he had to go through it to look for a name, then starts describing my shoes, my clothes, and what he calls "some kind of Bible or something" (my daily devotional). He goes to get the bag, and it's a mess. The zipper is tricky, and it's off track. My clothes are balled up, including my underwear which is now tucked into my shoes. While the manager stayed with us and was very nice, she repeatedly told me she "wants to know what happened, too". Shouldn't she KNOW what happened? Why am I on an investigation of poor service with the manager? The room was comped and I supposedly given some points or something (I don't know, haven't checked). This experience was very upsetting, and I have no intention of returning to that hotel. I feel violated by someone going through my personal belongings, then choosing to announce to me that he "had" to go through them and describing them to me in detail while we are standing in the hotel lobby. He never apologized for the problem; just said he was glad it was sorted out. This, to me, is not "sorted out". If a bag cannot be left for delivery to a room, they should never offer to take it. I would've been better off and saved myself an hour of terrible service while worrying that they had actually lost my belongings, then I'm supposed to be comforted that they lost them, found them, had no idea whose they were (WHERE WAS THE CLAIM TAG THEY AFFIXED TO IT?) and looked through everything I brought. I'm getting upset just thinking about it. The next morning, a concierge came to my room to help me with the presentation materials for my important meeting. He asked how my stay was going, I mentioned the lost bag, then he said "oh, I heard about that'. Great, so I'm also a source of chitchat by the front desk. Thanks a lot. I'm not impressed. P.S. They lost another colleague's bag, too. Lucky for her, she was able to find it in the luggage room. April 11, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by staff inconsistent 3 people in my group asked if we could check out late due ot a meeting lasting until 2. One was told yes until 4, one was told yes until 3. I was told yes until 1 (my meeting lasted until 2) then I would be charged $75 to stay until 4. Why was I treated differently? Doors slam too hard in the hallways waking me each time someone enteres their room near mine. June 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel was good overall Overall the stay was good. We had some problems with housekeeping. On most of the days there were no washcloths left in the room. Also some of the days there was no breakfast order menu left in the room and we had call room service two times to have one brought up. One morning the breakfast order card was not picked up. I stopped at the front desk to let them know so that my wife would receive breakfast while I went to meetings, but she never did get anything brought to the room. On one occasion the housekeeper left the toilet brush and container in the room. October 16, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor or No Response The Westin Charlotte is indeed new. As such everything does appear clean and attractive. However, 1) beds so soft, no back support, 2) room too hot / thermostat didn't work / desk did not respond to complaint. 3) no mention by hotel of my SPG membership neither at check-in or check-out...suppose they don't care about that, 4) Double charged on stay...no mention of this while there. Called the accounting dept and left message. Never returned my call, 5) hotel food acceptable but pricing unreasonable, 6) charged $18 to park my car in hotel parking...you would think that guests should receive complementary parking. July 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A welcoming Westin I stay at a lot of hotels. I've traveled for business and conventions over twenty weekends this year. You think all hotels are the same but they are not. These folks really have their act together. Staff are well trained, attentive, and competent at their jobs. Food arrived quickly and correctly both in the bar and to room service. You think you should take these things for granted but after being at several properties elsewhere recently that didn't reach that standard, this Westin was a haven of competence. I would definitely stay there again if in the Charlotte area. August 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great place for a conferenece Meeting spaces were adequate. amenities met expectations. Coffee was terrible. August 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Several minor problems at a nice hotel The Westin is, well, a Westin. But I experienced a few annoyances during my stay. The clock in my room was one hour ahead, and despite having a college degree, I could not figure out how to change the time. Shouldn't this be noticed by the team cleaning the room? The TV was Equally difficult to operate - hard to even turn on and impossible to change the channel. Finally, the comforter on the bed is designed for an Arctic climate so it would be great to lighten it up. But as I said, it's a Westin so otherwise good service and comfort prevailed. September 23, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Had to move 3 times with a 90 year old woman While I have stayed many a time at the Westin in Charlotte, this instance was one of my worst experiences. I reserved a room using my points for my parents and grandmother to stay during a visit to the city. We arrived around 9:30pm and the staff was very welcoming. However, our first room only had one bed when two was requested and the second one was extremely dirty and clearly hadn't been cleaned since the last residents departed. Normally I wouldn't put up a fuss but all this was happening around 11:00pm at night with 2 parents over the age of 60 and a grandmother who is almost 90, having to lug their bags to three rooms at this hour. I'm extremely disappointed in how things played out and hope that action will be taken to remedy this situation. August 3, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed, will never stay there again. We've been SPG members for almost 8 years; we stay loyal to the SPG family and every year when we travel to NC we have stayed at the Westin Charlotte. This year was our LAST. We were treated badly from the moment we checked in to the moment we checked out 11 days later! To be totally honest, the reason we did not leave and move to another property was because my wife and kids were all unpacked. The plumbing in the bathroom was bad, it was reported 3 times and nothing was done. Upon check-in I was profiled by the front desk staff and it was suggested that I was committing credit card fraud because I handed my wife's SPG AMEX instead of mine since she used hers to make reservation; even though it's a JOINT account, the reservation and the SPG membership are under MY name and we share the same last name. It just went downhill from there. On New Year's Day at 2:30 am we were woken up (kids included) by someone slamming on our door...it was a group of people who were drunk, being loud, using foul language and even undressing in the middle of the hall. They were not even guests but people looking for their friends who were the guests. To make matters worse my wife and I called 3 times to request security to come up and escort them out and it took them nearly 2 hours to do so, the whole time the loud and disorderly group went from their friend's room to the hallway, to the ice machine room yelling, bumping against walls and doors, etc. To say that we are totally disappointed with the management and the service at that location is an understatement. We will NEVER stay there again, it's a true shame as that was one of our favorite locations in the past. January 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Filthy, slow, cold The bathroom was filthy. I brought it to the attention of the desk clerk – nothing happened. I called the operator to relay a message to housekeeping – nothing happened. I used a towel to sit on the toilet. You can figure it out from there. The restaurant breakfast was ice cold when delivered to the table. We got a coupon at gave it a second try. Mildly warm, but the eggs had congealed into a yellow mass. As slow as the service was, they likely sat in the kitchen for twenty minutes. NEVER NEVER again will I stay at this location. August 16, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel not prepared for large number guest Unfortunately the Westin was not prepared for the large number of people coming in with my group. My room was not ready for check-in and I was told I would receive a call. I never received a call and checked in at 11:00pm that night, having to roll all my own luggage to my room (I had a lot). The next day at 8:30pm my room still was not cleaned. I was at the hotel for five nights and sheets were not changed during my entire stay. I think if the check-in was not handled so poorly the stay would have been okay. Door lock did not work, door lock required excessive force on handle to open. Took a few days to get issue fixed. July 20, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 28 next>>