The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth

  • 50 Hillside Drive,
  • PO Box 2515
  • Mammoth Lakes,
  • Kalifornien
  • 93546
  • USA
  • Landkarte

Zimmer & Preise

Schließen

Kinder pro Zimmer

Diese Angaben ermöglichen es uns, die besten Zimmer für Sie zu ermitteln und Ihre Ankunft entsprechend vorzubereiten.

Informationen zu Zustellbetten und/oder Aufschlägen für weitere Personen finden Sie in den Zimmerbedingungen und Details.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 157 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location This resort is in an excellent location when the gondola is operating; it is very close to the Village. In general, the staff were very accomodating and helpful. One disappointment was the resort's policy in not upgrading platinum members despite availability. Another slight disappointment was the lack of a lounge. Those two factors were the major differences I experienced at this resort compared to others. Overall, I would state the resort met my expectations. December 7, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sierra Getaway If yu are planning to visit Mammoth lakes in the Sierra for skiing or summer fun, I recommend the Westin Monache Resort for your stay. It is a modern facility with excellent proximity to the gondola and town center. You can expect typical Westin attention to detail to make your stay a memorable one. June 30, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Never again We have been visiting Mammoth Lakes regularly for the last 10 years and have stayed at a number of hotels in the town. I decided to try the Westin even though the prices are higher than other accommodation. Unfortunately upon arrival, I was told that my room was not ready and because I didn’t have a U.S. cell phone (we are UK residents), the hotel refused call me to tell me that the room was ready! My room finally became available over 2.5 hours after the official time! The room that we booked (single bedroom suite) was comfortable but twice in 5 days I returned to room to find that it had not been cleaned and made up. The wifi /internet connectivity in the room was virtually nonexistent, as was the satellite TV reception which repeatedly froze. The prices for food and beverage are extortionate and the menu was limited. Worst of all though was the attitude of the front desk staff who were arrogant and obnoxious and who obviously cared little for their guests. An example of this was when after deciding to extend my stay in Mammoth Lakes, I enquired about room rates only to be quoted $600 per night! When I questioned why this was higher than my original booking room rate and if this included lift passes, I was told that because my stay was only 2 days, they couldn’t offer a package?? I pointed out that I would be at the hotel for a total of 7 days but the Receptionist clearly did not care about securing repeat business for her employer. I therefore enquired with another hotel in the area and was quoted $487 for two nights, including lift passes – a bargain compared to the Westin. Early the next morning I checked out of the Westin and drove to the other establishment fully expecting, because of the time of day, that I would not be able to check in. How wrong I was – the front desk staff were hospitable and courteous, the exact opposite of the Westin. The room that I have reserved was not available so they upgraded me to a superior room and was allowed to check in at 7am - I was at the gondola at 8:30am! If you want good quality, value for money and don’t want to be treated like second class citizens – avoid the Westin at Mammoth Lakes at all costs. April 9, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not up to "Westin" standards We are owners with Starwood- at several different properties, however have usually stayed at a condo when coming to Mammoth, but decided we wanted "hotel convenience/luxury"- so called to book during our Spring Break and was told that there was only a studio available- which was fine we thought. I asked if we could upgrade when we arrived and was told the facility had lot of check ins during that time, but I could ask when I got there. So THEY KNEW a lot of people were arriving, however when we got there-after a 6 hour drive, @ 4:30 there was ONE bell man, 2 carts, a broken elevator and were told that 11 people had luggage to deliver before us. We took a few bags ourselves to the room to change and go eat downstairs. At 5:00 we were told we couldn't be seated in the VERY EMPTY restaurant, because within an hour reservations were coming in. TOTALLY empty mind you- no big deal, ate in the bar. By 6:30 restaurant was still empty- not a big deal, just annoying to be denied, but we had the same menu. Our 5 year old daughter wanted to go into the kids club- our luggage was STILL not in our room, and at this point sitting in the hallway- I had to go s/w the mgr. and have it taken up- it was 2 1/2 hours-wow. So the kids club had a hobbling bell man watching over the room- going in and out from somewhere else, but primarily un-attended- he said the girls that usually run it weren't there and he was helping out- but limping, and didn't know where things were in the room. DID NOT SEE A CONCIERGE AT THE DESK THE WHOLE TIME- and went down several times to ask for assistance and recommendations. Twice we came back from skiing- around 4:30 and our room was not cleaned- had to call downstairs when all we really wanted was to shower and go eat. Delores, the mgr. sent up complimentary breakfast tickets- for 2 people, althought we were 3 (they did take care of that), but then when I s/w her about the issues- she said she would "see what she could do, and get back to me", and never did. All in all the hotel experience was less than a $500.00 a night hotel should be, and we would have been just fine @ a condo. It was dissapointing. The staff was all pretty nice, but not worth the money for US, and disappointing as an owner. April 10, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Check in-out stuff This hotel location is convenient, it good & clean. problem is with stuff in front desk.. I arrived as gold member of SPG. with two night reservation plus one additional night as option. reservation was for a suite. we have been assigned in to a very tiny studio My request for having a suite, remain with very unpleasant attitude " you have to be up grade for suite and it cost more)!!! At the end we decided not to argue & use our last day of stay, in another facility we found very convenient. Saturday June 28 I called front desk to let them know, we will leave on Sunday. Sunday at 7.00 I am doing check out, from desk representative: Barb..."you need to cancel your reservation 24 H ahead" answer: I called yesterday, Barb: there is no note that you called, she has to do her job right. sorry I did my side, 7:20 still she is looking by going from one computer to the next. No, there is no note, sorry. Do you know, why we leave? because of your attitude!!! is 30 min I am waiting for check-out. Barb... sorry I do my job, I am sorry too, Shall I leave or you are going to finish the check out. 7:40 I got my bill !!!!!! June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Outdoor Fun with Your Dogs This hotel is one of the most :Dog Friendly" in the Starwood chain. Dogs are welcome and the dog owners all appreciate the hotels attitude. A feeling of happiness, joy and over all well being is felt in the hotel as people who love dogs and the love they povide are nice people to be around and the Westin Mammoth accomplishes this The whole Village of Mammoth continues this dog friendly attitude as well. Thanks for providing us with a great hotel that we have been coming to sevral times a year for the past six years with our Golden Retriever. June 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Note on driving directions I just wanted to give you a note regarding your online driving directions - You state to proceed west on CA-203. Please add that when CA-203 turns right in town - GO STRAIGHT. (Otherwise you will never find Canyon Drive and not find the hotel.) June 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enjoyed our stay Liked the kitchenette that allowed us to eat in our rooms. The pool was heated even with snow on ground. The barbeque grill was not working 100% (knobs were broken and some burners not working). The room size was adequate for two of us but would be crowded for a family of four. Asked for gold member late check out but was given two hours since they don't adhere to gold member benefits. December 10, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Overpriced ghost town Firstly, your website needs to be tweaked. When I book a room, I want the total BEFORE I give you my cc number. My $162 per night room came to $433 upon checkout after all your ridiculous add-ons. $25 resort fee - still not sure what the heck that was supposed to cover. And you tax the resort fee too? I called to make my reservation so that I knew what I was going to be charged. Now, I realize summer is not "in season," but if you're going to gouge me, I expect there to be employees there to serve me. It was like a ghost town. I chose to go green, bypassing housekeeping. I assumed that meant sheets/towels. I didn't expect that meant no more coffee, water, soap, shampoo. Not a single person in the restaurant at dinnertime, yet it took 10 minutes to get a cup of ice cream to go. At checkout, it took too long for a bell person to come with the cart, so I made three trips myself to take my things to the curb where I waited at least 20 minutes for the valet to bring my car. The only money I saved on this trip was tipping money. You can't tip someone that never shows up. Just a fancy looking hotel with fancy prices, but service is seriously lacking. Oh, and why in the world is the lighting so bad in your meeting room that your maintenance man had to go find us another lamp? IT'S A MEETING ROOM - people tend to have paper in a meeting room. We need to be able to read it. And no cleanup of the meeting room between day 1 and day 2. Came in the morning of day 2 to see our empty glasses left from the day before. Just overall bad service ... actually, not bad, just no service. June 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mammoth weekend get away There was a little bit of a mix up on our reservation, but staff member Jennifer and the manager Melissa (?) handled it greatly. Everything else about our stay was excellent. June 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel but had some issues... We have stayed at the Westin Monache many times and love the hotel and area. However, this visit was not as smooth as our previous ones. The attitude of the desk person who "welcomed" us was very poor. She did upgrade us to a larger room but it did not have much of a view. This person was also the one we had to contact regarding our many room issues and we finally refrained from contacting her due to the very curt attitude. The issues included: 1. Our room was not clean or properly equipped. Several kitchen items were missing along with the notices to hang on the door or place on the bed for sheet changing. 2. Both cutting boards were covered with dried meat juice. We took photos before and after we cleaned one ourselves. 3. I asked the zip code for the hotel and was told by the above mentioned employee that she did not have that memorized and she did not attempt to find it. I had to make use of the business center and google the zip code. 4. We declined maid service for a couple days but then asked for it and found that the maids did not change our sheets or clean the bathroom floor. (We did not have the "clean sheet" notice so we could not place it on our bed.) 5. When we discovered the situation in number 4 above, we called downstairs to ask if we had done something wrong as to the clean sheet problem and we were told (by the same person as before) that this was not her department. She did say she could send someone up right away but it was rather late and we were ready for bed. That is more than enough to clearly show that there were some problems. We did have a great time in Mammoth and had wonderful service from many hotel employees including Michelle, Cherise, Jeremy, and Kelly. We have never written a negative review before and only do so in hopes that one of our favorite locations will make some corrections and raise the level back up to very high. June 25, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hummm not that good Bath shower handle broken, sink stopper also broken and not usable,, paid cash and resort still charging my credit card 4-days latter causing noe to have to call to get this matter resolved. I'n not a Happy Camper with the Westin....... August 8, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Needs Management Adjustment Checked in to the hotel, being Starwood Platinum and asked at the front desk about a room upgrade, it also appeared that they had about a ten per cent occupancy rate. I was told that I had already been upgraded. I walked in the shoebox, umm room and was wondering if this was an upgrade what would I have gotten If I were not Platinum. I tried to use the wired internet for an important project, just to find there was no port. I picked up the cordless phone, and of course it didn't work either. After making the call on the other phone I waited for over thirty minutes, with no one showing up. On the second call I did get someone to come and fix the port. But, in the call I asked about the upgrade and I was told that they did not upgrade Starwood members, but I probably receive a view. Looking out of my small window I had a good view of the building and if I leaned over I could see the pool that was obviously not usable. Most hotels recognize the value of frequent stayers this one does not. If your a Starwood preferred guest stay away from this hotel because they do not care about your business. June 9, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Too many dogs Firstly--the staff was nice however they were understaffed. the rooms were not ready when we arrived. also they never informed us that some of the rooms will be occupied by pets-namely dogs. they never gave us the option to stay in a pet-free room until we asked. that is when they moved us to another room but again we had to wait for the room to be cleaned. We WAITED 1HOUR AND 45 MINUTES! while we waited, the staff never even offered us to go somewhere else where it was warmer for us to wait--until we asked again. they could have at least offered us to go to the restaurant while we waited. Secondly--this is a hotel, not a kennel?!!! there was urine and dog feces visible on the property outside. it smelled like wet-dog. we personally have a dog but will never inconvenience other guests by bringing our dog to a 5 star hotel. that is why we leave our dog in a kennel! hotels are meant for people, not dogs. it appeared that it was a dog hotel rather than a people hotel. lastly--the staff seemed to cater to the pets more than to disabled patrons. we had a hard time getting around due to the amount of steps to the hotel. we are not recommending this hotel to anyone. the only nice thing about this property is the decor. December 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellence The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth is the only hotel for me when visit Mammoth. From the moment I walk in the door the only way to describe my experience is excellence. The service is beyond comparison. The hotel itself has a very warm and comfortable feel to it including the rooms. I always entertain at the hotel restaurant and bar. They have an excellent menu and quality staff and bartenders that always enhance my dining experience. There is so much more that I could say but again, I will sum it up in one word. EXCELLENCE June 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel has great view BUT Coffee pot didn't work, couldn't get the fireplace to work after staff came into the room to light the pilot. Didn't get my MAKE A GREEN CHOICE voucher June 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Hotel My family and I stayed at the Westin Monache Resort for 2 nights. We absolutely loved this hotel. We stayed in a one-bedroom suite. It was perfect for our family. We especially loved the privacy of having our own room. We will definitely stay here again. June 19, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by mountain manners I stayed with the westin for one night. Upon arrival, we were offered champagne as SPG members. One glass was plastic and large, the other was glass and small. Quaint but not a deal-breaker, apart from the issue of plastic champagne flutes in general. Once in the room, the first towel taken from the shelf was found to be smudged with makeup and lipstick and have several dark hairs in its folds. A call to housekeeping yielded a gentleman who called it "pretty gross", but declined to comment further. When I asked if he could switch all the towels, instead of just replacing disgusting nappy #1, he shrugged and said "I guess so". The next morning I called to request a breakfast menu. The service operator insisted that I had one in my room. Only after I agreed that there might be one somewhere in the room, did she agree to have another sent up. She sent up a photocopied stack of papers, stapled together to serve as a menu, along with the breakfast pre-order door hangers. I called to ask if I could order from the door hanger. She said no, those had to be used the night previous. Since there were no door hangers in my room until just minutes earlier, I inquired if I could perhaps be allowed to order from them, since they had several items not included on my stapled sheaf of papers menu. She reluctantly consented with an audible sigh. Breakfast was nice. I called to ask for a late checkout, which was granted. Lovely, and much appreciated. When my wife returned from the pool 1.5 hours before the new checkout time, her room card didn't work. Down at reception she was told that "the Westin doesn't do late checkouts". After several minutes of conversation regarding the matter, my wife called me, and then reception declined to speak with me, telling her "it's ok, we just found the notation, but we don't usually do that". I am a travel editor for a silly magazine that no one reads, and a former bartender: point being: A. I don't write reviews for the pleasure of reading my own drivel, and B. I know the thankless drudgery of service jobs. Notwithstanding; the Westin Monache managed to be understatedly bumbling if not haplessly rude on more than several occasions in a 24 hour period. March 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room comfort problem The first night the room was overly warm and we discovered we had no air. We reported it the next day and were informed the next evening evening, just as we are leaving for a wedding and reception, that we would have to change rooms. We did not have time to change rooms so they told us to just keep the window open which we had already done and didn't help. We suffered with a hot room our entire visit. The refrigerator made a lot of noise and is probably the reason it was turned off when we arrived. I put on a white robe that was laid out on the bed and discovered lipstick marks on the sleeve of so it obviously was not cleaned since the last occupant.. There was no shampoo,or conditioner and one bar of soap for the sink and shower. This is a minor complaint but annoying. April 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bad beds First there was blood stains on one of the small pillows, and the rest of the pillows had a bad odor. When I called down about this they only replaced the big pillows, not the one with blood. Also the mattress had a big dip in it so I could not sleep next to my girlfriend as I would roll to the edge. We moved to the other room and the comforter there had a blood stain on it. Also the sheets had been starched so much the were hard September 6, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Ms S The hotel offered points if you forgo the replacement of linens everyday. We opted for this selection however the maids never come to our room to vacuum or clean the bathrooms for the entire 5 day stay and we did not receive the points. We had to empty our own trash everyday. We were not offered an upgrade or continental breakfast. The small refrigerator in the room did not work. We had to ask for ice everyday for our cooler. August 19, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Be aware, this hotel is slipping We were disappointed. 45 minute check in. Room ready at 3pm. After waiting to get a room with view of pool and Mammoth Mtn, which took 45 minutes on computer, we were given Room 209. Carpet in that hallway was filthy. Too many doggy guests. Went back to change room, another 20 minutes to do that. Hallway by room 435 -- nasty carpet stains. Fit and finish of hotel has really gone downhill since we started visiting. September 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room temperature An otherwise pleasant stay was once again accompanied by a repeat of a room temperature issue. This Westin location has a very serious case of poor A/C. You either get central heating at an uncomfortable 75 degrees day or night which means a hot, unpleasant sleep...or you have to turn on the cold A/C to your desired temperature which in turn runs a wind tunnel ventilation system at a loud noise level. The engineering department sent a technician to our room who verified that this is just the way it operates. This is my 3rd stay in the past 2 years here with the same results each time. The Westin can do better than this. December 26, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed There was a one hour delay checking in which was a problem because we were on a tight schedule. Then, we got a room facing the parking lot and arrival area. Not quite the "scenic" view stated on our reservation. Motorcycles were allowed to park just outside our room so we got plenty of motor noise throughout the night and early morning. August 6, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Service was really bad The service was terrible. I highlighted list of issues we had in short period of time to manager (late check-in, bags delivered to room two hours late, heat in room was broken, etc). The manager's response was only to be defensive. December 28, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Underwhelming From the moment we tried to check in, this experience wasn't great. We requested an early check in. I know this is not guaranteed, but not only did we not get an early check in, but we were told that the room would be at least an hour late, and that we would be called when it was ready. We were never called and had to contact the hotel 1.5 hours after the scheduled check in time. As a concession, we were given 2 free breakfast passes, even though there were 4 of us. We decided to decline housekeeping services following the first day after returning to our room shortly before 5pm and finding that they had just started cleaning. Who starts cleaning a room at almost 5pm? Finally, we ordered room service for dinner one night and found that not only were they not accomodating to certian dietary restrictions, but that they could not deviate AT ALL from the room service menu in the room, even though we were informed that it was all coming from the kitchen in the restaurant below. This is not what was expected from a high end resort hotel. It did not at all live up to the Westin Standards. July 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by wonderful time here Having our chocolate lab with us made our vacation even more special. The hotel provides a dog bed and bowls upon arrival. The staff, and I mean everyone, was accommodating and kind. We had a private shuttle to a restaurant with prompt pick up when we were finished. I called to have the room freshened and someone from housekeeping was there to see what was needed, immediately after I phoned, Probably the best surprise was the restaurant downstairs. We had high quality sushi at a very reasonable price. The service was, once again, attentive without being overbearing. Wonderful. If you bring children, the Village next door has activities sitting out for them on the plaza. Many restaurants have outdoor seating February 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great hotel rude front desk staff Great hotel rude front desk staff June 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location, nice rooms, staff overwhelmed in busy season Great location, right across the street from the Gondola that takes you to the Canyon Lodge. The rooms are large, with fully furnished kitchenettes, very convenient, especially since the hotel restaurant is sub-par. Now, don't expect much for your Platinum status... They don't have a Club Lounge, so you can choose as a platinum ammenity to have complimentary breakfast at their hotel. The comp breakfast is tiny: coffee, toast, few slices of fruit. They'll upcharge for anything beyond that. The check-in process was a nightmare: We came in @ 2:30 and were told Check-in was not until 3 (no surprises there) but they wouldn't unload our car! They said the limited storage space is reserved for guests flying in to Mammoth. If you drive in, you keep things in your car until the room is ready. They wouldn't park our car either since we didn't have a room number yet! So, we had no option than turning around and running some errands (with a full car). Came back at 4:00, and the room was still not ready, and heard a phrase for the bronze: check-in "starts" at 3 PM, but it is not guaranteed! Oh, and on the day of check-out we were cheerfully reminded that if we stayed a minuted after 12, we would be charge full rate for it! (since they care so much about having the rooms ready for their guests checking-in!) In summary: nice rooms, great location, but get ready to be treated like a nuisance. December 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by AMAZING! LOVE IT! We are in Mammoth once a month. We love staying at the Westin. Happy hour at the WhiteBark is great and definitely a treat! The beds are comfortable and the kitchenettes are very nice to have. Convenient. The gym, pool and other amenties are very clean and provide a comfortable experience. December 8, 2011
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>