Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa a Waikiki Beach

  • 2365 Kalakaua Avenue
  • Honolulu,
  • Hawaii
  • 96815
  • Stati Uniti
  • Mappa

Camere e tariffe

Chiudi

Bimbi\camera

Queste informazioni ci consentiranno di individuare le camere più appropriate per il vostro soggiorno, nonché di organizzare al meglio il vostro arrivo.

Fare riferimento ai termini e dettagli della camera per informazioni sui costi per letti a scomparsa e/o ospiti aggiuntivi.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 696 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dissappointed ... last visit was several years ago for my wife's 40th birthday - stayed in tower and was great - one of her favourite hotels. However after recent stay - no longer the case and will not stay again given other options. The room and bathroom in old building were tiny (door opens about 6 inches from the bed) sold as city view - looked into an adjoining wall brick wall and was ridiculously noisy- checked 3 times to make sure windows were closed? requires double glazing. To make matters worse room 450 is opposite cleaners storeroom and they made no attempt to be quiet at 3am !! The hallway lights are on full beam and combined with the noise almost impossible to sleep? really disappointing as we had also recommend to friends we were travelling with. March 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not an SPG hotel I am writing this review as a current SPG platinum guest, and solely based upon my experiences of this this stay. The hotel itself is great and the hotel in general has been very well at the upkeep. As a platinum member I am disgusted at the level of recognition offered. The fast that the $25+ resort fee covered much of what I should be entitled to, and that a few of the amenities have not been offered to me, seems to be a rip off. I am essentially paying for self parking, which I do not have. They have not even placed the "two bottles of water" in my hotel room that I am supposed to receive at all. The hotel and the rooms are clean, and my room appears to be clean. There was a used condom on the floor next to my bed when I checked in, this to me was so disgusting. This is something that should not be easily overlooked. Highly unacceptable. The second night I placed the card on my bed to have my sheets replaced, seeing as there were stains and tears on the sheets fitting my bed. The replaced all my sheets except the fitted one. Also highly unacceptable. Tonight, after having a cocktail party, I requested turndown service. I returned to my room at 9:15pm and nothing was done. Also highly unacceptable. My room overlooks the pool area and has a band until 10:30pm. My first night I called and asked to be moved to a quieter room and I was told there was nothing available. I do not believe this for a second. I took a second Ambien and I eventually fell asleep. Granted I wanted to go to bed at 9pm because of jet lag. Tonight I planned on a dinner at the hotels restaurant. When I enquired about reservations in the morning I was told it would be no problem, I could come at any time. When we showed up, we were told there was an hour wait for five people. Two people left so we could get a decent table. The manager of the restaurant got three of us in fast, but this put a big cramp in my evening. our sever was good, but clearly used to the push them through fast service of a big hotel. This is definitely not specialty dining. The pool is over crowded and the only way to get a place to relax after 10am when all the chars are taken is to spend $50 for beach chairs. If you are coming to this hotel for an SPG experience seem another hotel. If you are coming here and want something on the beach and nice rooms then this is a good place. May 16, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel was a let down Noisy room even on inside courtyard. Very small room and bathroom. Shower dirty. Never called me like they said they would when the room was ready. Told me I got upgraded as a platinum member to an oceanfront room and I did not. Outside waitress had to be called over several times to assist. Valet and bartender on terrace were excellent. August 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lovely but silly add ons Great hotels don't nickel and dime you. I was as a platinum lifetimes offended by the 25.00 resort charge for things I am supposed to get free anyway. insult that more and you pay 50.00 to sit on the beach with an overcrowded pool area. Just outrageous, but the rooms ar lovely in the tower and the staff did try to go the extra mile. March 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Stay!!! I'm a Lifetime SPG Platinum who stays in Starwood properties throughout the world. From the moment I checked in with Irene at the front desk and spoke with Aki the concierge, I knew they would do everything possible to insure a perfect stay and they did. The new Tower rooms have been completely renovated and are very luxurious and a good size for Honolulu. The ocean and diamond head views are incredible. The Veranda restaurant and pool food and service were very good and Peter our breakfast server and Hayes at the pool were excellent. I've stayed in this hotel on four or five occasions since it has become a Westin and overall this was the best stay yet. March 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly My wife and I celebrated our 50th anniversary with our family in June 2014. Our stay was very enjoyable. The staff was very friendly, and the restaurant food was very good. If there is one downside, it's the birds around the outside eating areas. Other than the birds everything was very good. July 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by this hotel is central, comfortable with all guests treated equally. I recently stayed for 7 days.The beds were truly amazing, wide range of options within hotel and also within area.Lots of choice both in hotel and in vicinity for food, beverages etc.Spa was best I have ever used. August 1, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed - Third time is not a "charm" I grew up on Oahu and every time I return "Home", I have high expectations of this hotel. This is my third stay at the hotel and is the worst one so far. First, when I checked in I wasn't told that it was a handicapped accessible room. Second the bathroom showed a large patch of rust. Third, the shower design resulted in water flowing throughout the bathroom. Every morning I had to order an extra 5 bath mats to soak up the water. I contacted SPG and send pictures of the rust. The hotel offered to move me, but how do you move a family of four (including girls - 7 & 10) without disrupting our schedule. I would have thought I would have been treated better since I've stayed there two previous times. FYI, I don't usually complain or write these reviews, but I was so disappointed that I had to do it. July 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel! Beautiful grounds and fabulous customer service. The men who greeted me when I drove up to the hotel, the check-in staff, and the concierge were all so friendly and filled with aloha! Anytime I called customer service or housekeeping, the service was quick and very helpful! July 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel My Families experance was all good until, I tried to call for a late check out. I was told that my room was not available for late check out. I explained that we were running late & would not be back in time. She told me there would be a charge, I question how much, her answer was how late? She was rude & not helpful at all. Did not treat me as a SPG member. Iv always had staff bend over backwards to help. She had none. We ended up checking out on time, but was very concerned and rushed. However this is a beautiful hotel & would stay again, just hoping that representives will have a better day when I return. July 17, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by NOT an SPG hotel This was a beautiful hotel, but it did not meet expectations for being a Starwood/Westin property. At all. I almost asked at the desk a few times if our reservation had been messed up, because our room and bath were tiny, absolutely NO view (could never have the blinds open for privacy reasons), and noisy. The SPG status meant nothing. No reason for the SPG line at the desk, as no one was there. The "resort fee" obviously bought you nothing, as you still needed to pay to get umbrella cover and chairs, as the pool was always crowded and did not accommodate many guests. Waitstaff from the bar were abrupt, but made clear what you should tip?? Oh my goodness. It is in a good location and a lovely lobby, but that doesn't really make up for all that was lacking. We often stay in Westin hotels, and were disappointed with this visit. June 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Moana Surfrider reflects the aloha spirit! Pleasant atmosphere. Staff are attentive and friendly. You are truly a welcomed guest. This historical hotel is well maintained with great amenities. July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel This hotel is in a great location and our room had a wonderful view. July 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our Favorite Waikiki Hotel without question! The Moana Surfrider has the unique charm and architectural intrigue you might expect from the iconic First Lady of Waikiki, but the staff really make this property shine. Maitre D's and Bellman that have worked there for 30+ years truly love their jobs and care about their guests. The restaurant is outstanding, the beach amenities are perfect and the value for the Resort Fee is more than fair. The only two negatives are that the bathroom is a bit small in the heritage building- but that is to be expected. The greatest drawback quite frankly are the other guests who seem to have an incredible sense of entitlement. The complaining I heard about having to wait for a table at breakfast during peak times, or the lack of chairs at the pool during Christmas vacation was outrageous and embarrassing. The staff at this property are sincere, helpful and deserve a medal for dealing with their impatient and rude customers! January 1, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Moana Surfrider We stayed in this hotel as part of a 40th anniversary trip to Hawaii. We enjoyed the common areas, location, and historical aspects of this hotel. However, our room and bath in the older section of this hotel were EXTREMELY SMALL and CONFINING. The check-in staff told us that "the hotel was very busy and this was all that was available." What was the point of making a reservation months in advance or being a resort owner if we had to take whatever was left over? We did enjoy the view of the courtyard and banyan tree. The pool area is very small with limited seating--there was never anyplace to sit. The concierge was not very helpful or enthusiastic. She seemed bored and disinterested in our questions and answered very minimally. We ended up figuring things out for ourselves. The common area entertainment was good, especially the piano player/singer on Saturday night in the lobby...excellent! We were somewhat disappointed in this hotel and would probably choose a different one in the future. July 28, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Misleading website and poor service This hotel has some great features. The problem is that there are very different wings, and the website does not disclose that the wings are *vastly* different. The best wing is newly renovated and has that old-school charm, while the Diamond Wing feels like a two star motel that was appended to the hotel. The rooms are badly in need of repair, and yet the hotel charges high rates because they offer ocean front views. When I checked in, the front desk refused to give me an ocean front room in any wing other than the dilapidated Diamond wing. I complained and (finally) reached a manager, but she was unconcerned and simply offered 5000 Starpoints. The hotel was overbooked, and there was a long line of unhappy customers. Although the front desk clerks said they would follow up by trying to find a room at a sister hotel, they failed to do so. I ended up checking out and booking a room at a nicer hotel. In short, I would not go back. June 18, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel, excellent location This is a very beautiful hotel in an excellent location in Waikiki. Our room was nice and had a side view of the ocean. I would have preferred a better view. Being an SPG Gold member, I would have hoped to be upgraded to a room with a better view. I used my Starpoints to stay here. I didn't like that I was charged a high daily resort fee when I was using A LOT of points to stay there! I also did not like that they charge for beach chairs and umbrellas when I was being charged a daily resort fee. There weren't very many chairs around the pool and you had to get up super early to get a chair. They have an outdoor restaurant that takes up much of the space near the pool. It would be nice to make more space for chairs around the pool. Besides those few annoying things, everything else was wonderful. July 23, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Noisy, Cramped Room My husband and I spend last weekend at The Moana Surfrider to celebrate our wedding anniversary. When we arrived, we we were disappointed right away by the size of the room and bed. My husband had paid in advance, and it was confirmed that we would have a king size bed. The room was so tiny, with only one double sized bed. When my husband went to the front desk to share his concern, he was told there was nothing available with a king size bed, even though the reservation had confirmed it already. The bathroom was so tiny, my 6' ft tall husband could not even sit on the toilet correctly because his knees hit the doorway. Regardless of the size of the room, the outside noise level was obnoxious. Even attempting to get any sleep before 2 AM is a joke. The noise of street performers, traffic and people outside was outrageous. Not to mention through out the night we could hear every word of outside late night arguments, and drunken hollering. Both my husband and I agree that we have never had such a disappointing, sleepless stay in our lives! May 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another Great Stay Right from the start at arrival with a greeting at the front door, I knew this was going to be another good stay at the Moana. It feels so good to be back and see the same familiar faces of staff, many of whom will also remember you in spite of dealing with thousands of other guests throughout the year. I noticed right away that the beautiful flower arrangements in lobby are back and the whole property is looking as good as ever. Very gracious and helpful front desk to accommodate a couple of requests I had made. Thanks Gloria and Mo and staff at the beach services, relaxing under an umbrella at the beach is made so very easy by these people and the wonderful beach bar staff that will run a cool refreshment out to you. Caught a few sunsets at the Beach Bar with family and friends, ahh, so nice. Had some wonderful food as well, coconut waffles in the morning are great and I can personally recommend the pomegranate glazed lamb chops, they were delicious. Overall, I love the Moana for its history, staff, and location in the heart of Waikiki. Relax on the inside and action on the outside. Thanks for a great stay. February 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best beach side hotel! I made advanced reservation over 3 months ahead I'm glad I did. Hotel was fully booked because of four weddings on my 5 days stay there. Besides being SPG Gold and check-in early, I also paid small upgrade fees to get double beds with partial oceanview on 7th floor. It's really worth it, just do all you can to get oceanview room, it's really gorgeous and worth it. Only down side is there's no parking lot and you must park across street with its sister hotel chain. Besides that everything is perfect and for sure will stay here again next time I come back. April 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous Ocean Front View At the time of my booking I mentioned it was my husbands birthday. When we checked into our room, I opened the bar fridge and to my surprise found a plate full of delicious fancy chocolate with a chocolate enscribed "Happy Birthday" on the plate. WOW! I had forgotten that I had mentioned it but they remembered! I would highly recomend this hotel to anyone who wants to experience Waikiki at it's finest. The staff shone with Aloha Spirit and were so helpful. The view from our room was breathtaking, the bed and pillows were delicously comfortable. November 16, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Horrid Experience, but hopefully a rare one Our stay at the Surfrider was grossly disappointing (and I hope rare) and my worst ever at a Starwood property. 1) The concierge and activities desk repeatedly gave us incorrect/outdated information and the companies they "endorse" for activities were disappointing, over priced to market and certainly not checked-up on (e.g. pearl harbor and haunama bay). 2) It's logical but BEWARE, due to the age of the building any "city view" window pours in noise from the busy street below. Facilities hasn't even bothered with installing insulation on windows. 3) We booked a city view king and received a queen - we had a party of two rooms and it was unmistakable that while two king's were booked - they weren't equal 4) Floor plan was poorly layed out: TV couldn't be viewed from bed and bathroom door couldn't be opened without awkward manuevering. Finally as SPG Gold I found loyalty treatment horrid. We were effectively given no property benefits outside what's already granted under the mandatory $25 resort fee. I asked for, then even offered to pay for upgrades and was told no rooms were available. This clearly not so as I verified the ability to book three other rooms options by looking online. Lastly, their rented beach chairs were a joke. No matter when you show up, full rental price is required and sunset wasn't until 6:50 but we had to give up our chairs at 5:30 because the beach office closed then. Sorry Starwood, but I'll be recommending anything but the Surfrider for a Waikiki stay. September 18, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by manager and room All the noise from the street, including cars just passing. advised the hotel the problem and i ask to talk to manager and she called him and i waited there for moor than 10mts. after 10mt or more wait she said that he is busey with other guest so ask me to leave my cell number so he will call back. never recived call from manager name-STEVEN ZORITHAKR. next morning i told the same lady that he never called. this place is not worth it for all the noise. maybe when all construction is done. hotel staff did not seem to care at all. January 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Splendidly Evocative of Old Hawaii I cannot imagine a more superb location or delightful atmosphere than those provided by the Moana Surfrider. Sitting in a rocking chair on the front verandah watching the world go by, enjoying hula under the magnificent Banyan tree at sunset, dining on the gorgeous terrace overlooking the Pacific...these are some of my finest Hawaiian souvenirs. The recently renovated rooms are upbeat but still respectful of the hotel's great heritage. Being greatly interested in Hawaiiana, I loved the small museum dedicated to the hotel's history and my only regret is that the historic tour is not offered on a more frequent basis as I was unable to join one. March 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location, nice hotel Was disappointed that despite booking 6 months in advance our request for a balcony was not accommodated. Also we stayed here on our honeymoon, no rose petals on the bed or wine etc to congratulate us and thank us for choosing to have our honeymoon there. I thought that gesture was standard in most luxury hotels? I guess not. The room was small and very basic but the bed comfort and shower was wonderful. No bottle opener or anything in the room besides 2 glasses. A couple of times our room was not cleaned that well but it was peak period so we overlooked this. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would go back there. The location cannot be beaten. January 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel that needs help The staff is really 1st rate and the location is second to none. If we return to Waikiki, this is where i want to stay, but they will need to spend a few more dollars on the maintainence of the rooms. We stayed in the Towers and the bathtub re-finish was peeling off and looking like a tub in a cheap hotel. Also the wall tiles were stained and not appealing for a 5 star hotel. Grout was missing from the floor tiles and what was there was discolored with ground in dirt. Please attend to these things so we will chose to return. November 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by person pricey didn't have breakfast plan July 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by We always stay at this hotel. Once again, we had a great experience. The hotel is historic and beautiful. The banyan court has great drinks and friendly staff. The formal restaurant is excellent. Very good live music. July 24, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nice on outside, dumpy on inside I had seen the lobby and beach view of the Moana Surfrider on other visits to Honalulu, and thought it was lovely. When we got our room (after waiting in line 20 minutes) it was horrible!! The decor was old and beat up, the bathroom was miniscule and very old fashioned, and the balcony did not have any chairs to sit on. We asked (and paid for) and ocean view, but the courtyard below had an event taking place with lights and noise--so you could not look out on the ocean. We cut our stay there short. November 20, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing Very disappointing. Bed arrangements booked through travel agency apparently not "confirmed" by the hotel. My friend and I were given a room with one bed instead of the two doubles we had requested months earlier. One of us slept on what the hotel called a "day bed" which was really a window sill with a cushion. Tower city-view rooms are in dire need of updating and cleaning. They are well-worn and certainly not "luxury" rooms. Front desk staff is slow and inconsistent. Another friend was told she could have late check-out confirmed; others were told that none was available. Wait time at the front desk can exceed 20 mins. Lobby is noisy and cramped. August 13, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 24 next>>