The Westin Portland Harborview

  • 157 High Street
  • Portland,
  • Maine
  • 04101
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to check-in and reserve a room.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 126 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a nice neighborhood I had high expectations for a newly renovated Westin with a rooftop bar in Portland. Unfortunately, the hotel fell short - the room was comfortable but the bathroom smelled like bleach, the valet parking situation was awful, the rooftop bar was indoor only and the neighborhood was a pretty sketchy.... August 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room fine, but............ Room comfortable Did allow early check-in but no late check out. Over all experience was not up to Westin standards. Portland has a lot of opportunities for improvement. Service was either hit or miss. Valet parking in particular. In-room amenities and details need to be addressed. August 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2014 Beach 2 Beacon Have stayed all over Portland for the last 17 years while attending this event. Glad there is finally a good Starwood property available. Excellent location and if not required to make the drive to Cape Elizabeth, a car would not be necessary. August 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sam109 A wonderful surprise! totally exceeded my expectations. Especially loved the shuttle service. Can.t wait to return to Portland to stay here again! August 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel and staff were great, with one exception... Had a great business stay (group meeting) - facilities and locale were nice and very convenient. Within walking distance of the Old Port/Commercial Street area, which allowed us to sample wonderful seafood and unique beverages. Overall the hotel staff were friendly, courteous, and very helpful (Concierge & drivers in particular). At check-in, was sent to an already occupied room by a junior reception desk clerk; had to go back down with luggage to correct it with him, and a more senior clerk was a bit short responding to a couple of questions(she must have had a bad day?). he fixed the situation and all was fine. At checkout, went to ask for the shuttle to take two of us to the airport - requested time was accepted (same less than friendly clerk :\ ) Waited the hour in the lobby area, expecting to be notified when shuttle was ready; no notice was given and we almost missed it (she was at the front desk the whole time). There were apparently 2-3 others who did miss it to take them to the train station. The shuttle driver more than made up for it by getting us there with time to spare. July 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great weekend stay I had a quick stay at the Westin Portland on 8/1-3. Overall I was impressed with the hotel – I understand there was a $50M renovation to the pre-existing historic hotel, and it shows. The location was right in the middle of the Arts district, but is a 15-20 min walk from the Old Port and East End, so keep that in mind if you plan to frequent those areas. I didn’t mind since I like to walk and explore anyway. There is a shuttle that will take you anywhere on the Peninsula, but of course it is in high demand during the summer. The staff was very friendly and seemed to enjoy working at the hotel, although they appeared a bit understaffed / overwhelmed at check-in. There was no one to cover the Platinum check-in line, and unlike most experiences I’ve had as a Platinum member, they were unable to accommodate a check-in until after 3pm. Although this is the standard check-in time, in my experience this time has been circumvented for Platinums frequently. I was given a hand-written note from the General Manager with a drink ticket in the C2 restaurant, which was a nice gesture. The view from my hotel room (1116) was outstanding. Unfortunately the building’s original windows are relatively small. The closet was tiny as well. On the plus side, typical for a Westin, the shower, beds, and bathroom amenities were top notch. There is a delicious and generous breakfast amenity offered to Platinums in the C2 restaurant – definitely recommend opting for this over the points. I am glad now there is a Starwood hotel in Portland, and I am looking forward to returning again soon – possibly for Beer Week in November! PS - Special thanks goes to the young guy at the Front Desk for allowing me to charge my iPhone 5 on his charger. The hotel was out of chargers to loan, but he went above and beyond the call of duty. August 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Remarkable Eastland makeover Westin has done an incredible remodel of the classic Eastland Hotel. Every aspect done with the highest quality materials and meticulous workmanship. Design and decorations most tasteful. Staff most attentive. A real gem in a great Portland location. Complementary valet service takes you anywhere & picks you up later. Do not miss the 15th floor lounge. July 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great stay The rooftop bar was wonderful. Large bedrooms and very comfortable beds. Great staff July 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel is great, the website is misleading We had a great stay. The room is perfect, the bar on the roof is top notch, and the staff was mostly exceptional. Our only issue is the website. We bought a "deal," only to get to the hotel to see that we didn't get all we thought. The agent who checked us in told us that "the website is sometimes misleading," yet wouldn't correct our issue. July 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Westin Portland The room was a typical Westin room. It was just a few minute drive or 15 min walk to the Old Port. The only complaint about the hotel is the valet parking system. It consistently took twice as long as the operator would quote to get the car from valet. July 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by good value concierge service was outstanding. Hotel restaurant waiter Jonathan was a pleasure. July 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by needs to improve I reserved two rooms connecting to each other because I have two small kids Two months ago. when I checked in the front desk , the assistant told me the connecting room was not available. Unfortunately, I was separated with my kids in two different rooms. I will never come back to stay in this hotel. May 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Warm Welcome Robert, Bruce, Josef and Ryan showed empathy and made our 11th year anniversary extra special. It was a pleasure to meet them and look forward in returning to celebrate more anniversary to come. July 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Rough around the edges Mixed up arrival information as well as lack of follow up on room request. Downgraded from a Premium Award level. No manager seemed to be on site. Valet parking was terrible - blaming other departments for long waits even when calling down for the car. July 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Another excellent retrofit by Westin The roof top bar (see the WSJ today) is outstanding with a superb view of downtown Portland. The sfaff and atmosphere are quite welcoming. However, the breakfast needs some work. Staff is need of a refresher course re timely service especially when dealing with business persons. July 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Best Bar in Portland Great views, swanky atmosphere July 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by good choice for Portland I chose to stay here following the very good experiences I had in the Dulles and Alexandria Westins. My one request would be that there be a couple more bath hooks or towel bars in the room. There is rarely enough spots to hang my towel & I find myself having to drape it over the door or on the shower rod. It makes it more difficult to chose the "green option" July 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful stat, but.... In terms of customer responsiveness and comfort the hotel was great. However, our first introduction to the hotel was lacking. We drove up to the hotel, and parked in front of a sign that stated "Guest Registration Parking". We went into the hotel to register. A young man came running in after us, saying you can't leave the car there, give me your keys. He did not identify himself as a valet. We suggest the sign on the street read, "Please wait for the valet before leaving car to register". The valet stated later that he has had many people make the same comment. Why do you continue to risk guests starting off with a negative impression. May 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Eastland Do-Over! We recently stayed at the new Westin in downtown Portland, Maine. We have been frequent visitors to Portland and were anxious to see the new hotel as we had stayed at the older one several times in the past. It was non peak so the hotel was not that full. The staff were very attentive and extremely helpful. The room was nice although smaller than we expected. We were disappointed that Wi-Fi was a $10 per day charge. We are SPG members and that fee should have been waived in my opinion. The hotel was a little over priced compared to similar hotels in the area during non peak times. Overall very clean and a great improvement to the city! April 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff was Incredible! We had a wonderful experience at this Westin. When the staff member checking us in found out we were celebrating our 25th Anniversary she gave us a room with a view of the water on an upper floor. The room was fantastic! The staff was incredibly friendly as well. July 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good location I stayed at the Portland Westin for a conference. The two best parts: location and rooms. If you're stopping in for a weekend trip, it's located near tons of good restaurants within walking distance, so very convenient. Otto's (pizza) has an amazing mashed potato, bacon and scallion pizza that is so good! The rooms were also very peaceful. There's a rain shower head in the bath too, which is nice. The only downside was more on a conference level. We had two dinners that were served buffet-style. The food was decent. All the veggies (salad, roasted veggies, tomatoes for sandwiches, etc.) were outstanding. Clam chowder was delicious! The refilling of the dishes on the buffet line was slow, especially during the breakfast on the last day. The hot food stations were empty when I arrived 30 minutes before the scheduled ending time of breakfast. I waited around for 5-10 minutes, then finally went to sit down. They filled them after I left, but by the time I got back, they were almost empty again and there were still people behind me, so I'm pretty sure some people were stuck with muffins/bagels because there was no hot food available. Eggs are relatively inexpensive! Throw some extra out there to make sure everyone has enough to eat. If the food is supposed to be available until a certain time, it should not be empty the last half hour. Our main ballroom where most activities were held was kept relatively clutter-free after meals, so that was good. There was always water and glasses available. My only complaint regarding the ballroom was that I felt like our linens needed to be changed more frequently. I'd often have to search for the "cleanest" table to sit down. Overall, a positive experience. The staff I interacted with were extremely polite. I would recommend it as a place to stay while in Portland. July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent customer service and good location The Westin Portland was extremely helpful and friendly during each interaction. The front desk staff was helpful with restaurant suggestions and with any questions we had about things to do and how to get around Portland. The front door and valet staff were also very friendly. They always greeted us with a smile. They let us know to expect it to be busy the next day because of three wedding parties leaving. They suggested we send a text for our car 45 minutes in advance. These types of suggestions save a person time and waiting while on vacation. This is a really nice hotel - well kept and modern. It is conveniently located in Portland as well. We had a few drinks at the bar and they were really good. The bartender was very friendly. Overall, I would recommend this hotel. June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin-Portland ME First time at the Westin in Portland and will definitely be back. Staff was excellent, from the door persons to the staff at the counter, all very accommodating, helpful and gracious and friendly. July 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great renovation Newly renovated, very nice room features. July 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel with very friendly staff We had a most enjoyable stay at the Westin Portland Harborview in early July. It is located in a part of Portland that is a bit of a walk from the Harbor. However, the hotel provides a shuttle bus. The neighborhood is a little questionable outside the hotel. Fine during the day, but probably would not venture out at night alone. Many homeless waundering the streets and asking for money. July 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel, A Room With a View I greatly enjoyed my stay. The room was comfortable and had a wonderful view. In room dining was good and the hotel has great amenities. Perfect downtown location! July 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel / Not downtown This is a nice hotel but not located near the touristy area of Portland. July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience - will return The facility, contained within a historic 15 story brick Portland landmark structure, is new, thoughtfully designed, and well placed for exploring Portland. Most impressive, however, were the young staff. To a person they were thoughtful, well-trained, and seemed empowered and honestly interested in offering us a great experience, whatever it took: the front desk, the parking valets, the room staff, the staff of both the C2 restaurant (excellent breakfast) and the 15th floor bar with a panaramic view of Portland and Casco Bay. As occupancy inevitably increases at this fine hotel, please do not let that service standard slip. We look forward to our next stay. April 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Hotel in the area of Portland, ME By far the best hotel to stay at when in Portland ME. Excellent check in staff, who helped with every detail of our stay. Nice newly renovated hotel. Excellent restaurant on the ground floor. Timely valet staff. The only thing I can complain about is that there is no swimming pool, and the shower pressure is too low. July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel is beautiful and convenient to everything I booked through Priceline for a girls weekend. I was searching for suites that would accomodate 5 adults. The room description said double room with bedroom with 2 double beds and sleep sofa. When we checked in, the man at the desk said there was only 2 double beds, no sleep sofa so I asked why Priceline let me book this room for 5 adults. He searched his system and found a corner room for us (larger than a regular room) and had a very comfortable roll away bed delivered within minutes. The Westin did everything possible to make our stay wonderful, so I would definitely stay here again but would not book through Priceline. March 31, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>