The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

  • 909 North Michigan Avenue
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60611
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 623 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by MR I really enjoyed my stay at the Westin. July 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Solid location Housekeeping failed to replenish shampoo, condsitioner etc... July 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room Rate Very nice staff people. Bell hops, concierage excellent. July 14, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor management staff We had booked and filled 20 rooms for wedding guests. The bride reserved a suite for Thurs & Friday so she could have ample space to put on wedding dress and have the space to have pictures taken before the wedding on Friday. When the bride arrived she was told the only room available was a standard room. The manager (Darrel) should have been aware that 20 of his rooms were reserved for a wedding and plans should have been made to accomodate the bride. Reservations were made well in advance of the wedding. The bride was given a standard room at check-in on Thurs and would be transferred to a suite on Friday, the day of the wedding. When Friday arrived the bride was told she could not have the suite because another guest was granted a late check-out ! The wedding was at 4:00 and the move to a suite because of the late check out was at 4:00! The manager was rude when the situation was explained and was unapologetic about a late check out being granted to the brides room. Eventually a suite was located and the bride was placed in the situation which required deleting pre wedding choices. This all could have been avoided if the administration of the hotel would have been doing its job of examining the guest list and determining the needs of guests. This type of service is well below the quality expected from a hotel of this stature and cost. July 22, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel is in a great location Located within walking distance of fun, popular Chicago attractions. As always, the signature Westin Heavenly bed made it easy to sleep in every morning. The lobby can be a little crowded at peak check-in/check-out times, but offers a lot such as; lots of seating, restaurant, gift shop, Starbucks and Hertz rental car desk. July 11, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not what we'd hoped for... We went to this hotel, primarily for it's locale...we were taking our daughter for a special birthday weekend, to the American Girl store (which is just 2 blocks down the street from the hotel) and then to Shedd Aquarium. Unfortunately, we didn't get to the Aquarium...:( In a nutshell, the room next to us was "rented" to a younger couple that used it for party central. In and out, people in and out, laughing, hollering, smoking in the room and in the hall (my wife is highly allergic to smoke and this is supposed to be a non-smoking hotel). The smoke crept in, under the ajoining door and was quite strong smelling in our room. The worst of it was the "relations" that the couple were in engaged in. For over an hour, 1am-2:15am or so, we were regaled with the happy couple's "fun". We thought we were granted a reprieve after that...but no...THEN they were hungry and THEN they decided they wanted to make some calls on their respective cell phones...loudly. Calls to the front desk to complain went unanswered (did we catch someone on a break?). At 4am, with no hope of sleep and a strong thunderstorm overhead, we gave up....packed up and checked out. Only then were able to voice our frustration to someone at the hotel. He expressed sympathy and asked us if we wanted to speak to a manager. We said yes and then after a few minutes, with a manager a no-show, we opted to leave. They compted us our parking, which was helpful, but ya, we won't be back. April 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Accomodations The hotel has nice amentities and in a great location. My stay was comfortable and service excellent July 13, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Colleen We were in town for our nieces wedding which was held at another venue. Our adult children and their spouses along with our extended family and all of the out of town guests for the wedding were staying at the hotel. We had 2 problems with our room. The refrigerator was not cleaned out prior to our check in. When we went to put left overs in the refrigerator late Saturday night we found a yogurt and a container of blueberries had been left by the prior guest. The second problem were the pillows. We had a king bed that had awful pillows, they weren't just soft there was no support in them at all, worst pillows I have ever slept on. These problems don't even begin to compare with the fact that the elevator began dropping floors when our adult son (29) tried to take his puppy down for a walk on Saturday morning. He began ringing the alarm over and over again. When the doors finally opened, a couple of floors down, he began to get out and the elevator began to drop again and he was almost cut in half. We asked to speak to a manager on duty and were told she didn't know anything about this, and it was no big deal because she'd been stuck on elevators before and nothing would happen because there are safety stops. Then the manager also told us that the elevator company told her never to get off of a broken elevator because you could be cut in half . At this point she stated she would offer to buy our son a drink but that it was a little to early for that!!!!! My husband and I could not believe the managers attitude, we expected much better when staying at a Westin. July 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location - rooms need some work I've had the pleasure of staying at this hotel several times over the last year. Used my suite night upgrades and was upgraded to a corner suite with a terrific view of Michigan Avenue. I guess the hotel is hoping you are looking at the view the entire time vs. the serious work the room needs. The bathroom ceilings have peeling paint and are in need of serious repair. The windows let in the cold air and all of the street noise. Consider replacing them during your next renovation. No refrigerator in the room yet the room description indicated there would be one. Had I been paying the full price this room normally goes for, I would not be happy. December 19, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Location - Average Westin As a recently turned platinum member I was very disappointed with this hotel. I feel the hotel relys on its great location to ensure customers keep coming back. I checked in at 4:30pm and it took me about 35 minutes to actually get checked in. There was a huge line of people and 3 front desk staff. The front desk staff seemed unconcerned about any status I had and "upgraded" me to a city view room. This hotel does not offer a lounge. Other than the location I didn't feel there was anything special about this hotel and there certainly wasn't the feeling of luxury. If you get a low rate and want to stay here for the location only, then you will enjoy it but don't expect more except a very long check-in line. December 19, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by platinum rejected I checked-in two days ago and was told that I was getting a great room with a lake view. Great view, but I stay at SPG for Business, not pleasure. When I questioned the front desk about Preferred floors, I was told that all the rooms are the same??? After staying 50 + night a year at SPG, I know better. They have 9 floors for preferred quest and was not offered a move. Then I spoke to the Manager and he told me the rooms are the same, not true, I have a business associate staying on a “Preferred” floor and our rooms are not alike. So I was lied to and that is not acceptable! I also had to call to get downed pillows, which is on my profile. Be very careful booking here if you are a seasoned traveler and a SPG Platinum Member. Many more great properties in Chicago to choose from!!! July 31, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location Great location that is close to shopping on Michigan Avenue. This is second time in 2013 I have stayed in this Westin and last time I had a great experience and this time it was good to average. The hotel was very busy and the women at the check in told me something like 500 of the 700 rooms were sold that night. Great for the hotel, not so great for me. The room was small, located right by the elevator on a low floor and the carpet was stained in the room. Normally, I am able to stay in a high floor away from noise. I know the complaints are minor but it makes me think of looking at other hotels next time I am in the area for business or pleasure. December 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good standard Westin hotel in downtown Chicago I am fan of Starwood hotels and like the Westin best of the atmosphere, decor, price and service. The Westin on Michigan Ave was good but not great. Check took longer than expected even in the SPG member line. A fedex package delivered to my room took close an hour form the time i called. the elevators were old and slow (but refurbished inside). and worst of all, and a pet peace of mine, the room doors slammed shut extremely loudly. My neighbors woke me up when they returned to the room. and the room walls are thin or not insulated, you could hear people talking in the next room. June 27, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed We had to change rooms because of the quality of the room and the noise you can hear from the neighboring room. Like they are in your room. The second room quality was the same (terrible), at least the neighbor was somewhat quiet. However even when they spoke a normal soft voice, we could hear the entire conversation. The rooms have soo much deferred maintenance (the carpet was torn, furniture stained, fixtures were loose and seemed to be falling apart in the bathroom). This was our third stay in about 6 months at this hotel). We keep giving the property the benefit of the doubt because of it's location, but each time it's a worse experience from the staff to the quality of the room. June 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by We love the location We love the location of the hotel and come here annually for a girls getaway. For the past three years we have had a issue with our rooms. This year, we had a problem with the bsthroom plumbing. We called In the morning to report the problem. When we returned to our room at 3pm, it had not been repaired. We placed another call and someone did come and told us they had fixed the problem, however, after they left it once again was not working properly. Since we had two adjoining rooms, we were able to use one bathroom, but it was an inconvenience, At this point, it was the last night of our stay and we were tired and not wanting to stay up and wait for maintenance so when they called, we told them not to come,. June 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Housekeeping a shame We had a dirty towel on the floor beneath our bathroom counter. That's a little gross, but didn't think much of it since the rest of the room was clean - that is until our friends were assigned a room that had not even been cleaned prior to their arrival! When they changed rooms, they were again given a dirty room with dirty towels on the floor. The front desk reply? "Oh sorry about that." Worst Westin I have ever seen. Halls are dingy and plain. Where is the stylish Westin I love? Lobby bathroom was pretty dirty - yuck! I expected more from a Westin. Lobby sundries was literally always closed, even in the mid-morning rush. In terms of location, location is great, but there are much nicer hotels for your money on Mag Mile with better housekeeping and a nicer lounge. We won't stay here again. April 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Location and Service We took the kids to Chicago for 4th of July weekend, arriving around noon on Friday and staying through Sunday. Our room wasn't ready at noon (which is understandable), so they were happy to put our luggage on a cart, where it stayed secured until we were able to get into our room later in the day. I liked the fact that they left it on the cart, so there was less chance that something would get misplaced in some back storage room. The room and everything in it was up to standard. The location at the north end of the Mag Mile was great. My only complaint was that when we first arrived, the check-in was extremely slow. They were clearly understaffed at the front desk. The same was the case when we returned later in the day to get our room key. They had one person working the desk and about 10 people in line to check in. Other than that, the location, the room, the rate, and service were all very good. July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Epicenter This Westin is so perfectly placed in this amazing city. 3 blocks from the beach, 4 blocks from the fabulous Rush Street district where our eating experiences at the outdoor cafes exceeded that of my experiences in Paris. From Keith at the front door to staff at the front desk to the very polite house keeping staff, I thank you for the very enjoyable stay. July 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs Some Improvement I am a big fan of Westin and would definitely recommend them to friends and colleagues. Starwood's online registration site is very easy to use and offers guests an opportunity to send a note to hotel management (on specific requests). Although the hotel can't guarantee that they will honor each and every request, most of the properties do make an attempt. I usually ask for a quiet room without a common, adjoining room door (that connects one hotel room with the one next door). I also usually ask for a no-pet floor. While I like cats and dogs, I am allergic to most animals and am also allergic to flea bites. I was greeted by a very nice person at reception and was told that I was upgraded. When I got to my room, it was very close to the elevator and had a common door with the room next door. During the evening, I was disturbed by guests getting on and off the elevator, and by the hotel guest in the room next door. I also heard loud conversations by the hotel's housekeepers right outside my door. To make things worse, I left with three flea bites. When I called the valet to retrieve my car, there was no answer. When I called a second time, the person accidentally hung up on me. When I called the hotel operator and guest services, there was no answer. When I tried again, it went to a voicemail. The positive aspect of this property is its location. It is close to restaurants, offices and shops along the Magnificent Mile. They also have a nice gym. July 11, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Room was a Cave We stayed for a birthday weekend using points but, with an upgaded room. The room was lage but lacking furniture (it looked like they got robbed!). The walls were empty and the room was pooly lit. It felt like an absolute cave. Was it clean? Yes. Would I call it nice? No not really. Would I stay again? Prob not. It was really disappointing because its a great location. The good news is that we couldn't stand to be in the room so we were out all day evey day. September 18, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Surprsingly Bad I was shocked by how bad this hotel was for being a "high end" property brand. My room was run down with stains or fading on the glass tops. The ice machine on the fourth floor was in a dirty storage room next to trash cans, linen bags and room service trays. The bathroom also had plastic cups wrapped in plastic like you would get in a low end property. (I took pictures if Westin wants to see this lovely hotel.) Typically, I wouldn't write such a review, but I feel I got taken here. I attended a conference here, so I didn't shop, but certainly didn't expect a hotel this bad. Chicago is expensive, but at this price and Westin being a quality brand property, I didn't expect this. I think Westin should refund me part of my stay and if they care, work on fixing some of these things for future guests. On the plus side, the location was great. August 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Time for a refresh I've stayed at this hotel several times over the years. The location on North Michigan Avenue is outstanding for shopping. Over time the rooms have become dated and unkempt. This most recent stay was a 5-night stay. My shower had evidence of black mold. The room was very dirty and evidence of items left by past guests was present on the floor and behind the curtains. Room cleaning occurred very late in the day (between 3 and 4pm each day) For the price, I will not be staying here again. My SPG gold status resulted in no positive experience and I was placed on a standard floor despite multiple floors available for SPG guests. March 24, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by more service made reservation for connecting rooms. called back to confirm day before arrival and reservation stated that was correct having connecting rooms. arrived around 11am. room were not ready and confirmed again having connecting rooms. then when we arrived back to hotel and checked in, the rooms were not connected. When you have small children you need connecting rooms. This is completely unexceptionable. November 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Food & Beverage Prices too high at THE GRILL and food wasn't that great. July 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of my favorite Chicago Hotels! I have stayed here many times and am never disappointed. Last weekend, we celebrated my sister's bachlorette party in Chicago. I live in the burbs and there was no doubt where this crew from Baltimore needed to stay. It was the perfect location: Next to a ridiculous amount of great shopping and steps away from amazing restaurants down Rush. We each had great views of the lake or up/down Michigan Ave. There were many things that the staff delivered to our rooms from friends and they truly made us fee special and welcome. There was no problem too small. As a platinum guest I can say this is one of my go to favorites...stay here when your in town..you won't be sorry. July 12, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Tired Hotel in desperate need of renovation The rooms and hallways were depressing, and not up to my standards. The only nice thing was the view of the beach/lake from the room -- but you can get that at other hotels. The lobby and restaurant were nice, but the rest did not meet my expectations of the Westin brand. Disappointing to me as an SPG Platinum, as my new position will have me in Chicago's Gold Coast at least once a month now, and I was really hoping to have a great experience here. July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Can't wait to return! I typically, stay at a starwood property. This one was perfectiy dituated adjacent to the John Hancock center and the neighboring Water Tower Place mall. We came for my Son's 10th birthday. The kids spent time at both the Lego store and the Amerigan Girl shop. Upon return to the hotel from dinner at the Cheesecake Factory (Next door), Kira the Westin Hotel concierge, set up a surprise dessert table of personalized chocolate birthday card and a tray of fresh baked cookies and milk. It was so thoghtful and so elegant too. Great location. Beautiful accomodations. Great cutomer service and Kid friendly. Cant wait to return! January 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel was great We stayed here 4 nights and had a wonderful stay everyone was were friendly. July 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Faded Glory As someone who used to dearly love and look forward to this hotel...this was beyond gutting. This was my little piece of solace in Chicago, and now...well, lets just say I won't be back. Why, might you ask? Well, the room was clean. The housekeeper for my room was meticulous. That being said, the constantly running toilet, the grotesquely hard beds, and the noise problem were terrible - all of which I've never experienced in a lot of visits before to this property. Didn't appreciate that checkin agent referred to my room as an upgrade, when in fact it was what I had paid for. And 30+ rings to attempt to get a hold of 'Service Express'...multiple times? I would've liked to have spent more money at the property, but i can't spend it on room service if no one answers, and having my keys reset twice? Houston, we have a problem - which is why we checked out a day earlier and decamped to a different hotel. Just terrible. Avoid like the plague. July 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by It is like coming home. We have a son who lives in Chicago so we visit the city several times per year. It is always wonderful to return to the Westin Michigan Avenue. Many of the staff members recognize us and everyone is always willing to go the extra mile to make us comfortable. Of special note was the treatment we received back in 2010 when an East Coast blizzard stranded us in Chicao for three days longer than we planned to stay. We were made to feel welcome, not as if we had inconvenienced the hotel by extending our stay. March 5, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 22 next>>