The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

  • 909 North Michigan Avenue
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60611
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 499 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful customer service and terrific location Excellent customer service! The front desk staff on Christmas day was extremely accommodating. When we needed a tool to assemble a christmas gift, they got one in under five minutes, the coffee breakfast shop wasn't open as we were originally told, and the gentleman made sure we were taken care of for breakfast and offered coffees immediately. We were very impressed all around. Highly recommend this Westin! December 25, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by westin shmestin after a long day of traveling we were told this was the only room available.. the room in the back of the elevator that overlooked all the air conditioning ducts on a rooftop landing. and when I said something about it to the front desk, all I heard was "I'm sorry".. nothing else.. no effort to do anything to make an loyal starwood member any happier.., very disappointed.. it was the worst view of my entire life.. no one should stay in that room 413.. ever.. December 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great night sleep When I travel to Chicago for biz or to take the wife and kids shopping, we stay at the Westin on Mich. Ave. No where else unless they are booked! Great value, beds, pillows (my wife and I bought the pillows they sell online since we sleep so well at this hotel). We recommend this hotel to any one, any time. December 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Weston experience Hotel was clean and staff pleasant and professional. Great location that is central to resturants and shopping. Initial request for feather pillows went unfulfilled. Parking at hotel very expensive $54, with a 28% tax rate added. December 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location but a little worn This hotel is in one of the best locations and our price was excellent. The downside was the noise from poor sound proofing from the next room/hallway noise and a little worn from use. The staff was very very good but would say a little understaffed at least at check in. I would stay at this hotel when the price was right but didn't seem as much like Westin as what I am familiar with. February 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Place to Stay Great business from the time I reserved the room. I had a special conference rate that was worked through quickly on the phone. Very clean and comfortable rooms. The only noise I ever heard was when a family with many small children came stampeding down the hall, but that is far from the hotel's fault. My only complaint was that the concierge never seemed to be available or in the lobby. I called the evening before to arrange a cab and was told they had left already at 5:15 PM, leaving me on my own to hope I could get one the next morning. I hope this will be fixed in the future. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience! Great experience! I just want to say thank you to the staff, specifically the front desk on Christmas morning. They were so helpful and in great spirits even while working on Christmas morning! Thank you! December 26, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't expect to check in at check in time... We stayed here on December 28-29th. Check in time was at 3 pm, however no rooms were available. As of April 1, 2013, SPG changed their checkout time to 3 pm. There isn't enough time for housekeeping to turn over the rooms. There were several, 50 or more, angry guests in the lobby also constantly asking and checking in with the front desk about their rooms. Two and a half hours later after I repeatedly inquired about our room was when we were finally assigned a room, however not the room we booked. We had 4 people on our reservation, they gave us a king size bed, next to the elevator, in a room the size of a closet (room 1515) and offered us a rollaway in addition to the king bed. Because we booked our room through American Airlines vacations, they could not guarantee our required room. That is what the front desk manager said and that I would need to contact AA about it. To say the least, the hotel staff I dealt with was less than helpful. I have written letters to the general manager, front desk manager, American Airlines Vacations as well as the CEO. During the busiest travel season there should be limitations on who can check out as late as 3pm, leaving many people with no available rooms at check in. To say that our hotel portion of the trip was disastrous would be a good explanation. December 31, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad Bed / Bad Service / Bad Valet Parking / Great Location Biggest problem was the parking fee: $59/day Some valet driver attempted international calls to Helmsdale, United Kingdom (left phone behind, my fault, their fault) Smaller problems are numerous. There was hair on the shower curtain. Miracle bed was lumpy; immovable waves in bed looked like a frozen waving water bed. Television channels so bad that we watched Netlix on laptop, using cell phone WiFi hotspot. Unreasonable rate for internet access. No free Wifi, really, today 2013 no free WiFi. The consierge phone number never answered. The front desk was always busy with a long wait, so no way to ask questions. The room looked nice, great view, and the location was great, that's it. Oh, two free bottles of water for Preferred Guests. Don't Park! Use Taxis. April 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by poor Service on 1/27/14 I am a weekly guest at the hotel. During the week of 1/27 when I arrived my sheets were dirty. I contacted service express and went to dinner. When I returned 2 hours later the sheets had not been change. Also during this stay I requested fresh towels and water. I had to place a 2nd call to service express for my request to be completed. February 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by As Always, one of the best hotels in Chicago I booked a room thru Southwest Airlines a couple of years ago, and was very surprised at the cost of the hotel. And was even ore surprised once I arrived. I didn't expect a fantastic room and view!! I make this hotel the only place I stay when I visit Chicago!. February 17, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by diss this when i checked in it was down hill from there. they placed 2 adults and 2children ina king bed that i was told at the time of making the reservation they had doubles.worst time and sleep of my life to come down for the parade activitesand be ignore by the staff very rude i felt like iwas a nobody there and they just wanted to filled rooms.never come back! November 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by THE BEST HOTEL IN CHICAGO -and the world! I travel over 50 nights a year and this is the best hotel I have ever stayed in. As a result , I only stay in Westins every time I travel, which also has the best preferred frequent guest program around. I stay HERE over 25 nights a year. The staff is incredible, seeks to know each guest personally and goes not just one extra mile- but many. The facility is beautiful and the location incredible. Upgrades are WONDERFUL. Only problem- after staying here, you're spoiled for anywhere else! March 8, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very disappointed Having stayed at several nights at different Westin hotels this year, I've come to expect what a Westin stay was like. This stay was quite disappointing. The room was filthy, the shower didn't drain properly, the workout room was completely inadequate in terms of the amount of equipment compared to the demand. I had a problem with my room key being demagnetized more than once in my two night stay. One of those times was when I completed a workout and had to co down to the front desk during a busy check-out time. I was completely sweaty and gross and had to wait in a long line of business people and there was only one person working the desk (at 7:00 on a Wenesday morning!). The clerk was quite rude demanding to see my ID when clearly I had nothing but workout clothes and a dead room key. When I have future business in downtown Chicago, I absolutely will not be staying at the Westin. November 8, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Wish you would have told me As an SPG member the only gripe I have is that we had no idea that we needed to let the hotel know that we were staying until 3pm because we have never had to say whether or not we planned to stay at any other Sheraton. Long story short we were locked out of our room and had about a 30 minute ordeal just to get into the room. So you have been warned. Everything else was great. November 12, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unpleasant experience. Hotel is very noisy. In the middle of the night a neighbor was being very noisy, when we tried to call the front desk the phone in the room was not functioning. Had to use cell phone to call hotel, over an hour later someone finally came to quiet the neighbors. December 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay Super accomodations in Chicago. February 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best hotel in Chicago! I visited this hotel during the summer. It has THE best location in chicago! We were just minutes away from shopping, bars, and restaraunts. When we didn't feel like going out for food, the in room dining provided a delicious alternative. The staff was warm and welcoming and were very quick to help with anything we needed. This is the only Chicago hotel I will stay in from now on. Thanks to all the staff there for a great expirience! March 14, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by The customer service at this hotel was awful We had made arrangements To check in early we even called to reconfirm the check in and when we got there they had no rooms for us my husband is on crutches and we had a wedding to get ready for in less than 30 mins and the employee told us to use the restrooms and come back at 3 to see if a room would open. After 20 mins and a request to speak to the manager we finally got a room that was available but blocked to reserve by anyone but the manager. So the hotel had a room all along and had us wait for nothing not to mention the manager never came out to greet us or apologize for any inconvenience. We will never stay at this hotel again and we will tell others of our bad experience.We selected this hotel due to a wedding that was taking place there so the room should have been blocked out for the wedding. We will share this negative feed back with the bride and groom. August 12, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing experiences I stayed at the Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago on two consecutive week-ends, the first with my husband (found a cigarette carton in a non smoking room?) and the second with my sisters and their children. In both instances, check-in was needlessly long (waited in line for over 25 minutes and there were only two parties ahead of me). I checked on our room requests on the first week-end in the hope that we would receive the type of accommodation requested on the second week-end. This didn't occur and the front desk staff member was confused and flustered on both check-ins. It took one hour and 25 minutes to finally resolve our getting enough beds to accommodate our party. I was told that we would get a roll away to provide sufficient beds since we wound up with king beds and not the two queen beds requested. When I requested the roll away, I was told it would cost me $40 extra. I finally slept on the floor using the couch cushions. I know this was a busy week-end on Michigan Avenue, but what a disappointment. We are gold members of the Starwood franchise and are questioning our investment. So much for earning and cashing in Starwood points! November 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Stayed here so many times... And this time it was so-so. I am SPG Gold and got placed in an accessible room (which I do not need nor want instead of SPG floor. I got switched after I called. But no one wants to change rooms. After a long day at work, I arrived after 6 to find my room had never been cleaned. Unacceptable. So I am not feeling as good as I once did about this SPG property. October 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Location Great location. Small room. Poorly maintained bathroom. Decent amenities. November 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great first visit to Chicago Got into the city around 8 AM on a Sunday and was pleasantly surprised to be able to check right in! Shannon at the front desk was wonderful. Made the process go quickly and answered our questions efficiently. Hotel is in a great location, easy walk to lake, Rush Street and shopping. Only thing lacking was paperwork at our door for express checkout and lack of newspaper delivered to our room or even the elevator area on each floor--we had to go to the lobby each day for the paper. Who wants to get dressed that early!! We did have some noise problem with guests with little children, but a knock on the wall did the trick! One morning an over-the-top grandmother made a bit too much of a fuss over her grandchildren right outside our door. What was she thinking!!! Concierge was very helpful with all activities we researched and planned. A great vacation. Will spread the word about The Westin. August 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice stay in Chicago We had a pleasant stay at the Westin on Michigan Avenue. I was disappointed that I was not given the lake view room I requested at check in and not given an upgraded room because of my Gold status. However, when I called to the front desk after seeing the room, Anna was VERY HELPFUL and found a lovely lake view room for us and she kindly comped the up charge because of the misunderstanding. Please give her one of the gold stars (which I have misplaced). She is an outstanding staff member. February 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Rude Staff Members When I book The Westin North Michigan Ave in Chicago, I thought I was going to experience the high quality of Starwood hotels again. This was not the case. Some of the staff members were rude and did not offer to help solve my request (although it was a very tiny request and I could live without it) but the way it was dealt was very disappointing. Shortly after checking in and going up to my hotel room on a Friday night, I called "Service Express" on the phone to ask for some cotton or cloth slippers. After a long wait for someone to actually pick up my call, I was told that they were out of slippers. Okay, that's fine, I understand. I then asked if I could get slippers the next day and was assured that "Yes, we will get slippers tomorrow". Score. I'm not sure if my standards for The Westin are too high but I honestly thought the lady who answered my call would make a note and ask housekeeping to drop them off the next day when the room was being cleaned. So I left the hotel the next day in the morning and came back after our room had been cleaned. Still no signs of slippers. Later on, on my way out, I stopped by the front desk to ask someone in person hoping they will let me know if I can get slippers or not. The man at the front desk said "No problem! We'll send them right up to your room!". He was enthusiastic and sounded like he knew what he was saying. But no, when I came back that night, still NO SLIPPERS. I called Service Express again and AGAIN after a long wait (seriously, are they understaffed at Service Express?), the woman told me flatly, "No miss we're out of slippers". When I told her what I was told the day before, she said "well they got it wrong, we don't get deliveries on Saturday". Seriously? After one other SErvice express operator AND one front desk staff, NOW they tell me that? Slippers are not some vital object that I need to survive but the hotel staff should know their policies and routines better so they do not misinform their guests and give them false hope. Also on the other hand, I found hair on my pillow case before I even touched the bed and also on the wall of the shower... The concierge staff was also rude when I asked them what was the best way from the hotel to O'hare when it was snowing outside. Overall, I would definitely not recommend this Westin hotel. It is definitely subpar. February 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by WEstin Michigan AVenue Room had dirty socks under the bed that we found when we dropped an earring and were looking for it. The telephone did not work and needed to be repaired November 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good staff and location. Poor windows. Location is good. However, windows in room actually had ice on inside panes and sills. Desperately need to replace windows as air and ice make room quite cold near window even with curtains closed. Heard similar comments from others in the elevator so not an isolated problem with my room. Housekeeping placed rolled towels on window sill against windows to try to lessen the impact. February 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great service and excellent location I've been staying at the Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago for the past 5+years. The bar at the Grill on the Alley is a great place to unwind and food is also very good. Great restaurants and shopping is seconds away from the hotel. I have always been pleased with the great hotel service and excellent location and these two are what makes me keep coming back to this hotel. July 12, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing Westin is our preferred hotel when we travel and typically we are exceedingly satisfied, but this particular Westin is an unfortunate exception. Despite negative experiences in the past, we have never written a bad review, but could not hold back this time. Our situation is too long to explain, and in the end the hotel management very begrudgingly agreed to some restitution, but when the check in clerk realized their mistake, not only did she imply it was our error and their was nothing they could do - but when she brought out the manager on duty - Anna Sears - she not only greeted us with a cold, hard "you are bothering me" stare, but she never once apologized, continued to deny and argue with us, and made us feel like anything but a valued customer. And this was all happening while the registration line was about 10 people long (which is also typical for this hotel). I was ready to give up except that the family waiting in line to check out right behind me had just shared their equally frustrating experiences, and said they would never come back - but I knew the hotel would never hear their story - because like most customers, rather than complain - they just don't return - so I was more determined than ever. And the value of being a Starwood Preferred Guest in this hotel is a joke - in fact I think they treated us worse because of it - after all of our problems, the room they gave us looked directly into the neighboring high rise and we had to keep curtains closed the whole time. I want to reiterate - this hotel is NOT TYPICAL - we normally LOVE Westin. December 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service - Great Location! Great location, nice rooms, awesome Heavenly beds and great service all-around. Maid service found my diamond ring under my bed and placed it on my night stand after cleaning my room, very trustworthy - thank you! My room did show some signs of wear, the paint was peeling off the ceiling in my shower. Other than that I would highly recommend staying at this hotel. April 13, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 18 next>>