The Westin Chicago River North

  • 320 North Dearborn Street
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60654
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 473 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Short But Sweet We came to Chicago for the opera at the Lyric. We chose the Westin for location and the Westin reputation. We received an upgrade at check-in and Victoria of the concierge staff was extremely helpful finding us the ideal dinner experience for the evening. It was a short but very enjoyable stay, we will be back! February 11, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by strange billing i left a voice mail and an email requesting clarifation of the bill -- i can not tell what i actually paid --- both voice mail and email prliminary from your company said i would get answers within 24 hours but all i got was this survey -- i need to know what i got billed .... please July 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great accommodations We really like the location of this hotel. The staff is the friendliest I've experienced in quite a while. Room was large and extremely comfortable. Hotel is on the river and close to many great restaurants. The only down side was the valet service upon departure. To be fair though, there were numerous others trying to leave at the same time. There is a number on the valet ticket to call in advance of picking up your vehicle. I called and got to the valet station about ten minutes later. My ticket had not been pulled and I had to wait 1/2 hour for my car to arrive. Very disappointing way to end such a nice stay. July 3, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Staff was Great Hotel Stay was not. Hotel Cleanlisness was not good. The staff had to move me to 3 rooms. I did not complain but the 3rd still had hair on the convers. I had a rough time sleeping because of noisy heater and lack of overall feeling comfort. January 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT STAY We spent 4 nights here and found the hotel to be very quiet. Outside noise from sirens on Saturday night were a problem but that is expected in the City. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. Could not have asked for a better stay. This hotel is very convienent to all transportation. May 18, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location Hotel met all our needs. Check in was fast and we were even given an upgrade to a room with a view of the city. Staff was very friendly and we were given great advice on what sights to see and accurate directions. Location of hotel made it easy to walk to restaurants, shops and Riverwalk. June 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A cut above the rest I stay at many Starwood properties and this one always stands out. The location is great, the people are accommodating, the rooms are always perfect. . .Only if my parking in downtown Chicago were cheaper! All in all a great experience...as always. December 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location in a Great City We didnt spend much time in the hotel as we did lots of sightseeing but when we were there it was great. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff was very accomodating. Great location in a great city ! May 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very comfortable I loved the large guestroom. Comfortable beds and spacious bathroom! I will definitely stay at this hotel again! March 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Internet surprise WHat a lovely hotel, service etc etc were all first class. However when I signed onto the wireless I didn't see any notice that there was a charge for accessing it.....its almost an after thought for you too as you had to add it to my bill after I checked out hmmmm - Vern Drechsler room 320 May 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by pros and cons great location, conceirge was excellent. i called them before arrival. staff called me from home. gave me suggestions. then gave me their cell phone. pretty incredible. rooms were fantastic. And received an upgraded room with a smile. however, their breakfast buffet is embarrassing for the price. think on Saturday it was $18. asked waiter about pancakes/french toast. just told it is not part of buffet, if you want that addtl cost. Sunday buffet goes up to $22 and it really isn't much better. wireless internet connection was poor. amazing to me when I mentioned this during checkout i just got a head nod. no offer to refund the $9.95 per day fee. grown to expect more out of an SPG hotel. December 8, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor service Poor service; poor response December 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mostly nice The hotel's outward appearance is beautiful. The lobby and conference rooms were quite nice, pristine. The bedroom was comfortable. However, the room itself had a few shortcomings, such as a broken hair dryer, broken door stop, loose electrical outlets, and poor lighting. July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel continues to shine The Westin Chicago River North has been my "home in Chicago" for 5+ years. The management and staff treat returning guests like royalty. From the welcoming at the front door, to the clean, up to date rooms, and their signature beds, I remain a high return guest. The common areas are open, inviting, and well staffed to meet any need. You won't be disappointed with the high quality experience at their rates. July 4, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Awful Stay at Westin Hotel Dear sir, I would like to tell you about my recent stay at the Westin hotel in Chicago on river north. I can just simply describe it as awful!!! After being an SPG member for a year and accumulated over 60 K in points I decided to take a trip to Chicago for a summer vacation. I booked my hotel though the SPG site...it was categorized as a category 5...I wanted to let you know that it's not. My check in was fine even got an early check in but because I had missed my plane my partner checked in on my behalf( I had added his name to the reservation) Upping check supposedly he was upgraded as I was a gold member but if this was an upgrade I am not sure what I would have gotten at category 5 hotel with 12,000 SPG points a night. When I arrived at the hotel, and saw the room I was not impressed. I had asked for a king size bed and I got a double, upon taking a shower I discovered the drain was blocked, a stench of mildew eroded from the room. I went down to the lobby and spoke to the manager, later I found out it was the assistant manager. I explained to him the issue and after much debate he decided to move me room and upgrade me to a club room. The club room was the same size room, the same two beds, except he had given us some food from the club rooms--I didn’t need to be bought with some food--I wanted a room that met my need ( a shower stall without a bathtub). Instead here is what I got: * a running toilet all night * 2 AM drunk people knocking on my door * bathtub clogged with hair room #1 * a fridge you can't even use * a charge for something I didn’t use * double charge for wine I already paid with my credit card *I had to remind them twice during my stay that I had made a green choice--to get my points but also housekeeping showed up twice as well. *the free food we got at the club room -- I got grinds in my coffee - the toaster kept setting the smoke alarm every morning --the only thing about this thing was the servers made it bearable- At the end of the day, I used 48,000 points to book this god awful room and trust me when I say I feel taken advantage of --if that's the service you get when you book with points --I will not be wanting to stay at any westin at all. July 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great upgrade I came in late to Chicago because of a delayed flight and had a busy next two days at a major conference that I was presenting at. Initially offered a double accessible room, I was a bit disappointed, but I believe then the front desk agent recognized my gold status and bumped me up to a club floor room with a king bed. Club floor rooms have Imacs and free wireless which was very beneficial for the extra work I had to do on my presentation the night before. This is the 3rd time I have stayed at this facility and I have always felt very comfortable and well treated there. December 2, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location Very nice hotel, location is great. Club lounge food selection needs to be better especially for breakfast. Want to say that Kwasi in the Club lounge did a great job and is very personable. July 6, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not my favourite Westin stay We paid extra to stay in a deluxe rm on an upper club floor room with access to the lounge to ensure a more comfortable stay. When we were checking in we were hesitant to take a room close to the elevator but were assured that it wouldn't be an issue. We should have stuck with our first thoughts because it was very noisy throughout the night in the hallways and it continued to disrupt our sleep. Also, the room next to us had two wake up calls sometime between 4:30am and 5:30am which I could hear very clearly and then afterwards a gentleman speaking loudly into the phone. Also, when I asked for additional towels to be sent to our room on our second day, since we opted for the green option and not have our sheets changed, they didn't take the used ones which we left over the tub and the fresh ones were put over the bathroom sink. We agreed to the option because it's okay to not change the sheets for a short stay but we do expect towel service. We have stayed at many Westin Hotels throughout Canada and the US and I have to say that this did not measure up. Lastly, the drive back to the airport was with a hotel vehicle and we were lucky to make it there without incidence due to his erratic driving and the vehicle smelled both of vomit and smoke. On a positive note the concierge desk was always available and helpful and gave great dining advice. July 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Chicago The staff was very friendly and professional. July 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Up in the air Spent Labor Day weekend at this hotel on the river. Check-in was fast & Starwood recognition was immediate with an upgrade to the hotel's Club Level. My only complaint was the room (1814) had a very weak blower when the a.c was on. The room was VERY warm to us. The staff did bring up a fan, which we kept in the room for our entire stay. Also, please fix the creepy plumbing access hatch under the sink in the bathroom. It stays open all the time. Other than that, I MAY stay at this hotel again since the staff is top notch - but the hotel is showing it's age. September 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Highly recommend! My husband and I stayed at the Westin River North because we love the area. We cannot say enough good things about our stay. The hotel location is fabulous and the property is beautiful, clean and "trendy." The woman who checked us in was very personable and even found us a corner room (which tend to be more quiet) when we shared that our flight had been 5 hours delayed and we were exhausted. We will absolutely be staying at this hotel again the next time we are in Chicago and will be recommending it to our friends and family! June 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfortable and convenient Roomy and comfortable, and within steps of a variety of restaurants at all price levels. July 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect hotel for our Chicago birthday weekend! My daughter (just turned 8) and I headed to Chicago for a girls' weekend .... that of course included American Girl, Marshall Fields'/Macy's windows, "Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer" musical, and all the good food Chicago offers. Turns out, we hit the jackpot with the Westin River North! Lovely, helpful staff took care of us from the moment we arrived until we departed. Sushi in the Lobby with a Passion Fruit Creme Brulee surprise really started our weekend out wonderfully. Our room was comfortable ... and quite possibly my daughter's favorite part of the weekend. She didn't want to shop anymore ... she wanted to go back to the hotel and order Room Service and watch a movie! We will definitely be back! Thank you ALL for your wonderful hospitality! December 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful stay We had a wonderful stay in Chicago. The staff was helpful and courteous - so much that we will be staying at this hotel the next time we come though. They are working on a bridge across from the hotel which is a bit loud during the day, but cant really be helped. July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect as always I stay here often and it was perfect as always. From the doorman, to check in to the bar staff...always a great stay. Of course I love the Westin beds! July 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't be early It's not so often that during your business travels you arrive to your hotel before 3pm, but if you do do not expect a room at this place. I actually arrived at 1130am and was told to come back in an hour, upon my return another 90 people came In early as well and I was told I can not check in until 3pm. The staff was rude and in no way facilitating for a business travelers needs. If you are needing a gift shop for a drink while you wait 4 hours you will need to go to the hotel across the street. They don't have one here. September 3, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good Not Great Travelling for business as much as I do I have stayed at dozens of hotels. For the cost and self boasting at the Westin I expected better. The room was so-so. It was just barely acceptably clean and I could never get staff to fix the lamp over the desk despite several calls. The level of amenities was less than many other chain hotels catering to business travelers and the bed was less comfortable than theirs. The lobby is very dark and not at all inviting. On the positive the concierge desk is staffed by some of the best people I have met. All requests were handled with perfection. I had a very early flight and the staff member who places coffee in the lobby was one of the happiest people I have met at 4:00AM on a Friday morning. Overall there are better choices. May 21, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Professor comfortable convenient location July 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by The unfriendly staff kept us waiting. Before arriving we called the hotel, and were put on hold for over 10 minutes. The same thing happened when we checked in. There was just one person working at the front desk. We were told to go to the wrong room. When I went back to the desk for clarification, I was told in no uncertain terms to go to the back of the line, and then the staff member patronizingly told me that I must have misheard. Everyone in my family "misheard" the same thing. The room was great, but the service left a bad taste. October 3, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average Stay Staff was pleasant but stay was average. I'm a hard critic when it comes to hotels, staying in my fair share, and expect staff to go out of their way to make the guests feel extra welcome (especially platinum guests). This hotel did not and therefore the average rating along with an average rating for amenities. With so many Starwood hotels in Chicago i'll try another on my next stay! June 25, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 17 next>>