The Westin Chicago River North

  • 320 North Dearborn Street
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60654
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 448 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location Hotel met all our needs. Check in was fast and we were even given an upgrade to a room with a view of the city. Staff was very friendly and we were given great advice on what sights to see and accurate directions. Location of hotel made it easy to walk to restaurants, shops and Riverwalk. June 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A cut above the rest I stay at many Starwood properties and this one always stands out. The location is great, the people are accommodating, the rooms are always perfect. . .Only if my parking in downtown Chicago were cheaper! All in all a great experience...as always. December 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location in a Great City We didnt spend much time in the hotel as we did lots of sightseeing but when we were there it was great. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff was very accomodating. Great location in a great city ! May 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by mics12 'excellent service and very impressed with all level of service, Enjoyed my stay, thanks June 16, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by A fine stay Hotel staff is extremely pleasant, and the hotel is aesthetically pleasant enough, though very dark. rooms are in ok condition, though some maintenance issues- my safe didnt work, door stopper busted. Outlets are hard to come by and the pillows are pretty bad, but all in all not a bad stay. Also, the room service menu leaves something to be desired. not enough old standards, and the "interesting" food is kind of unappetizing. June 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very comfortable I loved the large guestroom. Comfortable beds and spacious bathroom! I will definitely stay at this hotel again! March 18, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor service Poor service; poor response December 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by pros and cons great location, conceirge was excellent. i called them before arrival. staff called me from home. gave me suggestions. then gave me their cell phone. pretty incredible. rooms were fantastic. And received an upgraded room with a smile. however, their breakfast buffet is embarrassing for the price. think on Saturday it was $18. asked waiter about pancakes/french toast. just told it is not part of buffet, if you want that addtl cost. Sunday buffet goes up to $22 and it really isn't much better. wireless internet connection was poor. amazing to me when I mentioned this during checkout i just got a head nod. no offer to refund the $9.95 per day fee. grown to expect more out of an SPG hotel. December 8, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Continental Breakfast in Club Level The breakfast you serve in the Club Level is great. Had everything we liked. And, the assistance from the staff was spot on. June 15, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Awful Stay at Westin Hotel Dear sir, I would like to tell you about my recent stay at the Westin hotel in Chicago on river north. I can just simply describe it as awful!!! After being an SPG member for a year and accumulated over 60 K in points I decided to take a trip to Chicago for a summer vacation. I booked my hotel though the SPG site...it was categorized as a category 5...I wanted to let you know that it's not. My check in was fine even got an early check in but because I had missed my plane my partner checked in on my behalf( I had added his name to the reservation) Upping check supposedly he was upgraded as I was a gold member but if this was an upgrade I am not sure what I would have gotten at category 5 hotel with 12,000 SPG points a night. When I arrived at the hotel, and saw the room I was not impressed. I had asked for a king size bed and I got a double, upon taking a shower I discovered the drain was blocked, a stench of mildew eroded from the room. I went down to the lobby and spoke to the manager, later I found out it was the assistant manager. I explained to him the issue and after much debate he decided to move me room and upgrade me to a club room. The club room was the same size room, the same two beds, except he had given us some food from the club rooms--I didn’t need to be bought with some food--I wanted a room that met my need ( a shower stall without a bathtub). Instead here is what I got: * a running toilet all night * 2 AM drunk people knocking on my door * bathtub clogged with hair room #1 * a fridge you can't even use * a charge for something I didn’t use * double charge for wine I already paid with my credit card *I had to remind them twice during my stay that I had made a green choice--to get my points but also housekeeping showed up twice as well. *the free food we got at the club room -- I got grinds in my coffee - the toaster kept setting the smoke alarm every morning --the only thing about this thing was the servers made it bearable- At the end of the day, I used 48,000 points to book this god awful room and trust me when I say I feel taken advantage of --if that's the service you get when you book with points --I will not be wanting to stay at any westin at all. July 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great upgrade I came in late to Chicago because of a delayed flight and had a busy next two days at a major conference that I was presenting at. Initially offered a double accessible room, I was a bit disappointed, but I believe then the front desk agent recognized my gold status and bumped me up to a club floor room with a king bed. Club floor rooms have Imacs and free wireless which was very beneficial for the extra work I had to do on my presentation the night before. This is the 3rd time I have stayed at this facility and I have always felt very comfortable and well treated there. December 2, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun Location The hotel is nicely positioned on the north side fo the Chicago river with a private street entrance that makes you feel like you are pulling into something of a resort (urban setting with out the urban feel). The staff are friendly and remember you. The gym has a friendly attendant and enough equipment for a good workout. There is no pool (negative for kids), but a great place for a couples weekend. June 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Summer Visit to Chicago Good experience. Bit disappointed that I did not get a river side room as requested when I made the reservations. June 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Up in the air Spent Labor Day weekend at this hotel on the river. Check-in was fast & Starwood recognition was immediate with an upgrade to the hotel's Club Level. My only complaint was the room (1814) had a very weak blower when the a.c was on. The room was VERY warm to us. The staff did bring up a fan, which we kept in the room for our entire stay. Also, please fix the creepy plumbing access hatch under the sink in the bathroom. It stays open all the time. Other than that, I MAY stay at this hotel again since the staff is top notch - but the hotel is showing it's age. September 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect hotel for our Chicago birthday weekend! My daughter (just turned 8) and I headed to Chicago for a girls' weekend .... that of course included American Girl, Marshall Fields'/Macy's windows, "Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer" musical, and all the good food Chicago offers. Turns out, we hit the jackpot with the Westin River North! Lovely, helpful staff took care of us from the moment we arrived until we departed. Sushi in the Lobby with a Passion Fruit Creme Brulee surprise really started our weekend out wonderfully. Our room was comfortable ... and quite possibly my daughter's favorite part of the weekend. She didn't want to shop anymore ... she wanted to go back to the hotel and order Room Service and watch a movie! We will definitely be back! Thank you ALL for your wonderful hospitality! December 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Check out Needed more people at check out. 1 person at desk. Long line. No free wifi? June 9, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't be early It's not so often that during your business travels you arrive to your hotel before 3pm, but if you do do not expect a room at this place. I actually arrived at 1130am and was told to come back in an hour, upon my return another 90 people came In early as well and I was told I can not check in until 3pm. The staff was rude and in no way facilitating for a business travelers needs. If you are needing a gift shop for a drink while you wait 4 hours you will need to go to the hotel across the street. They don't have one here. September 3, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good Not Great Travelling for business as much as I do I have stayed at dozens of hotels. For the cost and self boasting at the Westin I expected better. The room was so-so. It was just barely acceptably clean and I could never get staff to fix the lamp over the desk despite several calls. The level of amenities was less than many other chain hotels catering to business travelers and the bed was less comfortable than theirs. The lobby is very dark and not at all inviting. On the positive the concierge desk is staffed by some of the best people I have met. All requests were handled with perfection. I had a very early flight and the staff member who places coffee in the lobby was one of the happiest people I have met at 4:00AM on a Friday morning. Overall there are better choices. May 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great My guests and I all appreciated your hotel. Well managed and well kept. Chicago itself a fun place. Thanks, Herbert June 6, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by The unfriendly staff kept us waiting. Before arriving we called the hotel, and were put on hold for over 10 minutes. The same thing happened when we checked in. There was just one person working at the front desk. We were told to go to the wrong room. When I went back to the desk for clarification, I was told in no uncertain terms to go to the back of the line, and then the staff member patronizingly told me that I must have misheard. Everyone in my family "misheard" the same thing. The room was great, but the service left a bad taste. October 3, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by ASCO 2014 Good facilities for stay, meetings and on-site working June 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel made my weekend great! After a miserable flight into Chicago, our arrival at the Westin could not have been smoother. The desk clerk John was polite and professional, and he had been a great help starting when I called to explain that we were going to be delayed by hours. We were given an upgrade at check-in to an Executive Suite which was a pleasant surprise. The room was terrific, the staff friendly, and this all came together to enhance our weekend stay in Chicago. I would most certainly stay here again. July 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Met our every request From the early check in with Sarah to the late check out over Memorial Day weekend, the hotel met our every request. The Club room was filled with goodies both at breakfast and Happy Hour. The drinks at the bar were generous and mixed to perfection. The bar staff changed the TV to the sport we desired and there was no pressure to drink more than we desired. The room was comfortable and the WiFi worked. What more could we have asked for? May 27, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Starwood Hotel Experience Type of reservation for room was not communicated to the front desk, or they're just incompetent. Very busy hotel so you couldn't get to the operator in less than 10 rings. Called the concierge and was put on voicemail. Room service menu was outdated. Was placed in a handicap accessible room without being asked first. Front desk insisted on my drivers license to access the club lounge but they let my son-in-law in the room without any ID! April 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great views We have stayed here a few times now and over all I have always been happy with the hotel. The hotel is starting to show it's age same of the bathrooms need some work, but other than that a great place to stay with some great views of the river. I also want to give credit to James the front office manger he really went out of his way to make sure everything went smoothly thank you! July 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel This hotel is excellent. Not good, but great. A great hotel is measured by the service it provides, not on a slow weekday but a busy weekend. I stayed here on the Saturday during the 2013 Taste of Chicago. From check in to check out the service was outstanding. Stay here and you will not be disappointed. This hotel made a big impression. July 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay! The Staff were extremely friendly and so helpful! There were certain needs that I had during my stay that they accommodated without hesitation. From the doorman, to the concierge, to the front desk, to housekeeping and the restaurant staff, everyone was so over the top friendly. I will definitely recommend this hotel! July 3, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Second stay with unfortunate mishaps My first stay was so good I came back. Unfortunatly, this time none of the local TV channels were working for 3 straight nights and housekeeping didn't clean my room on one day. I do like the full time person at the door, the fact that all the employees are really nice and helpful as well as the location. May 31, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Missed opportunities I have respect for the Westin brand and have higher expectations for the hotel line than most others. I was disappointed to experience SEVERAL problems in my two-night stay. The cable signal on my TV continually came and went which required a maintenance visit; both outlets at the desk were very loose and I had to bend my plug prongs to ensure the cords did not fall out; and the fan I requested had obvious mechanical problems, resulting in a sustained noise level too loud to justify turning it on. In isolation, none of these issues are a large matter. But when all of them are experienced together, I couldn't help but re-evaluate my opinion of the Westin brand. I stayed here for business, as the hotel was hosting a conference i was attending. It is unlikely I will stay at this location again. May 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Family Weekend I travel a lot for business. My family doesn't travel much and when we did get away for the weekend the entire staff made my wife and daughters feel like they were the only guest at the hotel. Service was outstanding in every area of the hotel from the valet to the sushi bar. Thank you! June 20, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 16 next>>