The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

  • 1 East Pershing Road
  • Kansas City,
  • Missouri
  • 64108
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 640 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad service We stayed at the Westin Crown Center in K.C. last weekend. We purchased a special package that included champaigne and strawberries upon checkin. They asked us when we would like them delivered. After they were 45 minutes late we called and scheduled a new time. Breakfast in bed was to be included. It was also 45 minutes late the next morning. Later that day, about 5:00 PM, we came back to our room to rest before preparing for dinner. Our room had not been made up. It was after 6:00 before anyone came to make up the room, so we settled for towels so we could get ready for dinner. This was the third strike for us. March 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Must Stay in Kansas City My wife and I celebrated our 40th year anniversary last weekend at the Westin Crown Center KC. We also celebrated our Honeymoon there 40 years ago. The hotel is perfectly placed to provide a wonderful stay in KC then and now. Recent upgrades have rekindled the first class expereince. The views from our Park Corner suite were breathtaking. The staff were ever so pleasant. The location close to downtown, Sprint Center, Bartle Hall, and Union station make your stay so enjoyable by having so many options. And finally having access the the Hall Crown Center shops, theaters, ice rink, lights and fountains, restaurants.....it is truly a home away from home with benefits... March 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good for the most part...... The thing that irked me the most is having to pay $10/day extra if you want Wi-fi in your room. Otherwise, you have to hang out in the lobby. And you only get two packets of coffee free per your stay, you have to buy it after that. The facility is very nice and the rooms are very nice. Very busy hotel. August 27, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by The staff at this hotel sucks! I will never stay here again. I was threatened to be kicked out 15 minutes after arriving . I asked if there was a noise complaint and they said no. I think I was kind of singled out because I was wearing a tie dye. I wonr be back. August 27, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Service is Horrible I stay at Westin's frequently (this is my third this week). This is my first negative review. The hotel is under construction so it is going through a lot. Having said that, we ordered room service (for pre-made items) in the late evening and it never showed up. I called and was told that it was on its way up after 45 minutes. After 1:15 minutes, I cancelled the order. In the morning, our breakfast was supposed to arrive at 9:00. I called at 9:30 and they said it was 'on its way up'. Given the experience of the night before, I called down a few minutes later and asked for them to radio the server. Apparently the server was NOT on the way. We found out it would be another 15 - 30 minutes. 15 minutes later it was brought up and it was cold. The 'free' internet (my check in amenity) would never let us connect. Even when I tried to pay for it, it kept reconnecting and never showed connected. I feel like the service level is materially different than what I have experienced at other Westins and this there is a lack of even professionalism. Very disappointing. February 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Problems with the room I had a number of problems. First, the room was noisy. I could hear the conversation of the guests in the next room, through one of those two-way doors. This made it difficult for me to sleep. Second, my shower in room 1023 was horrible. The mechanism to bring the water up to the shower head only half worked. Half of the water continued to pour straight down out of the faucet. Third, the gym cost $5. Are you kidding me? This was more insulting than anything else. And also a first, I've never been to a hotel that charged to use the gym. Ridiculous. April 10, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Could be much better if they provided service My review is not even close to satisfactory. No one answers the phones at the front desk. I am a gold member and have not been able to obtain free internet. This has not lived up to my expectations for a Westin Hotel. March 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfortable stay at Kansas City The Westin is a great choice, esp if you are going to take advantage of nearby attractions like Legoland, Crown Center, downtown Power/light district, or have a conference in town. I was assigned a handicapped room I think probably b/c it was the last room available for a busy week. It was a very comfortable room. Staff responsive to my needs (like when I needed power outlet fixed). I would say my only issue was that it wasn't the cleanest bathroom. Stains seen on bathroom floor - looked like coffee. Nice to have free robe to use, plus water. Nice to have refrigerator in room. March 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by sewer gas smell in hallways We were staying on the 13th floor and every time 'we got to the hallway it smelt like sewer gas problems . Sewer ventilation problems .Also smelt the same on the 18th floor . August 19, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not what I expected. This hotel was not up to my expectations. Beds were not comfortable. Overpriced for the quality of the hotel. I wasn't recognized as a SPG member. Disappointed. May 16, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wi-fi I just think it's ridiculous to charge for wifi these days. I could have stayed at another hotel but CHOSE this one. Won't happen again only for this reason. February 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Internet coverage terrible - no shuttle service Overall this is a very nice hotel if you have no expectations for using wireless internet in your room. Rooms were clean and as an SPG preferred member on the 16th floor, I receiver two complimentary bottles of water each day..that was a nice surprise. However, this hotel has alot of nerve charging for the poor wireless coverage of its internet. Even though I received it as part of my hotel group package, I felt the internet coverage was abysmal. ALSO...The happy hour was nice but started and ended too early when it is from 4-6PM Tues-Fri. Why not have it from 5-7PM Mon - Thurs instead to better meet the needs of your usual business traveller? August 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Does not understand its customers. Can't belive this hotel did not accomodate Big 12 fans by having furniture and televisions in the lobby for the tournament. March 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel did not live up to expectations Our room was not very clean when we checked in. The room was also slow to warm up due to the cold. I had to fix the make-up mirror in the bathroom because it was about to fall off the wall. The shower is big, but the water pressure and/or shower head don't provide enough water for an enjoyable shower. We ordered dinner from the The Brasserie restaurant. A simple salad and chicken fingers. Once I got up the room and looked at our food, we realized that our salad didn't have any avocado on it. According to the menu, it was supposed to. I go down to the restaurant to get some avocado and the staff brings me out a whole avocado. Like I have a way to peel and pit an Avocado in this hotel. So, I went back up to our room on the 18th floor just to find out that our salad didn't have the bacon that was supposed to go with it too. I wasn't about to make yet another trip down to the lobby, so we just ate the food as it was. When we went to check out our bill was wrong. We used a promotional rate when we checked in and it was supposedly updated by the front desk, but that didn't happen, so we had to go through it all again. The staff was polite, but this was the worst stay we'd ever had at this hotel. December 1, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Staff This has to be the friendliest hotel staff in the country. Thank you for your courtesy. May 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great, clean hotel I was in town for the night and needed a place to stay. The staff was very friendly, valet parking was great. (located in downtown ( KC.) No parking. Very clean, bed was very comfortable and I loved the 12:00 check out! April 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Solid Hotel Generally solid hotel with pleasant and helpful staff, nice rooms (especially the larger corner rooms with good views of the city) and all of the typical Westin amenities. Nothing spectacular, but nothing really deficient either. Did not try the restaurant, so can not comment there. Location is convenient between the Downtown Light and Power District to the north and the trendy Westport restaurant/bar area and the Country Club Plaza shopping district to the south. Connected to Crown Center mall and by skywalk to Union Station, so very convenient to those places without having to go outside. March 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not what you'd expect from Westin The hotel from the outside appeared fine. The lobby is undergoing major renovations which leads to large portions of it being closed off and loud noises if you chose to dine in the Brasserie Restaurant. The food at the Brasserie is only okay. The hash browns at breakfast were undercooked, while the omelet was burned. The room itself was fine. I had booked a king bed but the room was two doubles. That happens, so I was okay with it. The room wasn't clean though. There was trash on the floor between the beds, near the television, and even in the bathroom. It was a disappointing stay compared to what you expect from a Westin property. December 20, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Westin Crown Center--the Club Lounge needs help I stay at the Westin Crown Center frequently--I've had probably 30 stays already this year. It's generally a good hotel, but of late it has fallen down hugely in one area. The Club Lounge--at least during breakfast--is just terrible. For a long time, the lounge had been staffed by a delightful young lady named Erica. She was both friendly and extremely competent. The lounge is no luxury destination, it's just a nice practical place to be able to go. And Erica made it extra pleasant. The new person--who never cracks a smiler or bothers to get to know anyone--is a huge letdown. Not only is she unfriendly, she's not on top of things. On this last visit, I came into the lounge to find her sending text messages on her iPhone when the room was buzzing with people. They were out of coffee, and there were no bowls for oatmeal or cereal. i brought it to her attention and she said she would "need to go downstairs" to get some. They never materialized and I just ate something else instead. The refrigerator had no orange juice. While buzzing around (because she hadn't kept up with things) she spilled food on the floor that the guests had to maneuver around. This was my worst experience--but on many other occasions since this young woman started service has been sub-par--and she is always unfriendly. I don't understand why she has not been replaced. On the other hand, the parking staff and doormen at the hotel are fabulous. Always friendly and they go out of their way to get to know you. The other negative point: this hotel has the worst Internet service of any hotel I stay at. I get if for free because I'm Platinum--but the fact that they charge $9.95 a day for it is an outrage. And their staff is useless trying to improve it. I've called plenty of times to no avail. They obviously have a bad system that needs replacement. Someone needs to shake the bushes on this. August 26, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location but overall not as nice as online. The location of the hotel was fantastic for visiting Legoland. The rooms were nice, I really thought it would be more luxurious. I was highly disappointed that almost all the amneties listed online were by request only. The bathroom was very spacious, but the sink had a large crack which was unsightly. When opening the curtains to enjoy the 16th floor view, the windows were dirty and streaky. I also was surprised at the amount of traffic and siren noise that could be heard. The bed was very comfy but the linens were obviously well worn. Overall I felt that the price paid was for the hotels location, not for how nice the room was. May 9, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not what I had hoped for. My party and I arrived shortly after 4:30pm on Friday, April 29, 2013, As there was also a bus load checking in just ahead of us, one of the desk staff opened another register and pulled us to him to register. He found no trouble finding our reservations, however, one of the reservations had been changed by me, weeks ahead of this date from a king room to a double queen handicap room. His service was excellent. He did manage to put us on the 16th floor, in the Preferred Guest Rooms and had my son in the room (1602) next to us (1601) as requested. The room we got was a double handicap room, however, the double was not queen size beds. With out daughter sleeping in one bed, I tried to sleep with my wife. My wife is recovering from a severe stroke and her right side is not yet returned to normal and is for the most part very sensitive and unusable. With the two of us in a double bed, there was no way not to touch her just laying flat on my back. There simply was no room. So both nights, I ended up sleeping on the floor. Which was not as comfortable as the bed. However, in that the air conditioner was not properly working, and with the "balcony" door open the 1 1/2 inch it would open, it was much cooler. The thermostat read 76 degrees and I attempted to adjust it to a lower temperature even setting it as low as 60, 50, and 40 degrees, but it made no difference. Still it was too warm in our room. My son reported to me that it was the same in their room. My daughter went to take a shower on Friday night and afterward asked me if I had noticed the sand in the tub. I told her that maybe it was just grout from the walls. She said that it look like more than that. Then on Saturday night, I could hear the water running in our son's room 1602, and while I was in there, evidently his wife pulled the plug in their tub making gurgling noises in our tub, and their drain water started coming up the drain into our tub. There was enough water that came through to completely cover the bottom of our tub. As this did not happen until Saturday night late, and I had to be up and out early, I did not have a chance to report this to the front desk until I checked out Sunday morning. The checkout clerk, apologized and comped both our parking, and our Saturday morning breakfast for our group, which was considerable. While I think this was just a fluke, I would recommend the hotel to anyone without reservation. April 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Frequent traveler I have been staying at this Westin for the last 4 months on a regular basis. The staff is awesome!! The rooms, while updated, need to be spruced up a bit. The furniture in the suites is dated and uncomfortable. The rooms are pretty good, although you can see signs of age. April 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Value for the Wedding Group Overall, our stay was very good. The Crown Center location was outstanding. Our room had a great view of the Crown Center Christmas tree, ice terrace, and Legoland. The lobby was being renovated, so it was not much to look at. My only complaint would be housekeeping because of several small things: the coffee maker had the previous occupants coffee grounds in it, I found a couple pieces of food on the floor from a previous occupant, they unplugged the TV (which maintenane quickly diagnosed and fixed) during a cleaning, and they accidently turned on my alarm for midnight during one of the cleanings (makes for a rude awakening). December 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bad View The hotel was exceptional with one huge exception. Staying for a romantic evening on Crowne Center, in the heart of Kansas City, I assumed that a corner room with a view would provide just that...an exceptional view. Unfortunately, the seventh floor corner view that we received, offered a rooftop of gravel on one side and what appeared to be a maintenance courtyard on the other. We opened the drapes when we arrived, and then immediately shut them...never to be opened again for the rest of our stay. The staff was exceptional meeting our needs though. The atrium and public areas were beautiful and offered a well-balanced decor. January 13, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by 3 night stay The staff was great. Tall Tom is a great Door Man. The bar was good , would be great if they had the NFL channel so we could watch Thursday night football.breakfast Buffett is super. Valet parking was Awesome.The only challenge is the cold room. Day 1 , 10:30 room would not warm up above 66 degrees. Also had a burning smell. I called , no one came , went down 11 floors to the front desk who said they would notify them or move me to another room, which was not the best option. Finally it was fixed , everyday 3 days it was a fight to warm the room , the hallways were warmer. Would stay again because your people are super. December 14, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by hotelier i have been in the hotel business for 38 years this is the dirtiest hotel i have ever been in. Asked for housekeeping to come 8 times thru the Management and it still did not happen upon check - out the Management was very polite but not effective in following up. hallway carpet was stained, and dirty. Writing in Banquet ballroom restroom, the elevators were filthy,Rooms dusty and no detail cleaning has been done. I heard from about 20 others that stated the same issues. it's shows that Management does not walk the property and it is a shame as this hotel was tops in it's day. I would never recomend this Starwood property to anyone. Mangement should be a shame. October 1, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Room was ready, even with reservations. Very disappointed with our experience here. Check in was at 3, we got there at 4 and our room wasn't ready yet. They had no estimate of when it would be ready, no offer of discount or free upgrade. After 45 min wait others that came in after us were getting rooms. At least five others in our group had this same experience. Also the air conditioner in the room did not work so it was hot and stuffy even with the patio door open. When we ask at check out they did offer to take off the parking fee. This was not what I expected from a hotel of this quality and price! We will not be staying there again. February 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded our expectations at every level We spent a weekend at the Westin Crown Center Hotel, and were totally wowed at every turn. Our room was beautiful, the decor obviously recently updated, and our view of the WW1 Memorial stunning. Every detail, from the coffee to the toiletries provided, were top quality. We had not taken exercise clothes and were so impressed to realize that one could rent workout apparel and shoes at a very reasonable rate. The exercise equipment in the exercise room were top of the line and neatly maintained. Again, the views from this area were gorgeous. Although we live in suburban Kansas City, we will return to the Westin for more visits- it was truly a relaxing getaway in which we felt totally pampered! February 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel With Poor Bedding This is a beautiful hotel with fine facilities but terrible bedding. We had to remake the bed two times and had to contend with comforters that were designed for looks not comfort. To make matters worse, the pillows were filled with "clumps" of matted material. And when we asked for a blanket, we received a well-worn comforter that had been washed so many times the internal material was gathered along the seams. April 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding service and beautiful facility I live in Kansas and I felt like I was staying in Beverly Hills. I only stayed there for a ballroom competition because I had to dance real early in the morning. I felt like I escaped like I was on an exotic vacation in the tropics. I only wished I had brought my swim suit as the upper level pool was so beautiful and looked like it was in FL. The landscaping and all the views were breathtaking. They even had tennis courts. The service was outstanding and they brought everything to my room that I needed for an emergency like needle and thread. The food was excellent. The only thing is it was a bit pricey for room service but they had a lot of unique healthy organic options. August 12, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 23 next>>