The Westin Galleria Houston

  • 5060 West Alabama
  • Houston,
  • Texas
  • 77056
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years of age with valid photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 268 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Granddaughter B-Day Celebration My granddaughter wanted to celebrate her birthday and this hotel was her first choice. First the rate was excellent, just like everything else. We requested to have our rooms cleaned only on certain days and we got SPG credit. Our room service meals were great, starting from breakfast and ending with dinner. I loved the angelhair pasta without shrimp (tried both ways). My husband tried the salmon pan-seared, loved it. Then the last night he tried the trout almondine, loved it more. He can't wait to got back just for those dishes. July 12, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Would not recommend Upon arrival there was a desk for SPG Gold/Platinum but nobody behind the counter to check you in, so we waited on the regular line. Upon Check-In, the young lady behind the counter didn't acknowldge my SPG status nor did she have any idea that I had status once I asked her about it. Work up early for a flight in the morning and the shower handle broke when I tried to turn it on. Tried to call down to the front desk and my room phone was broken too! Was forced to take a freezing cold shower. Overall not a pleasant experience. April 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff was the main reason for my 3 star There were a lot of people working, however they were not attentative at all. The staff could use some training. I'm not sure if it was a nye thing or if it's always like this, but my one night there was bad enough and unacceptable. I made two calls to the service desk. First call it rang 20 times and went unanswered. 2 hours later I made a call asking if a first aid kit was available. I was told it was and it would be sent up to my room. I asked again to confirm, or offered to take myself to CVS. Long story shrot, I never got the first aid kit. At 10am someone walked into my room and abruptly left. I went into the hall to see if it was room service, and saw a guy with a clip board going in and out of every room. Come on, seriously? No knock. Just rudeness. January 3, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Noisy New Year's Eve! I realize I stayed during New Years Eve. However, the people who surrounded our room were screaming, cursing, fighting, verbal confrontations from midnight to 4:00 am. We called the front desk twice. They sent people to ask them to be quiet. However, as soon as they left the other guests continued their behavior. I stay at hotels approximately 12 times a year. I have never experienced anything like this. When i told the lady downstairs in the morning all she said was, "thats a shame". Rom was not cheap and that is all she said! January 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by This Hotel can improve In my last visit to the Westin Houston Galleria, I found that people in the front desk were not very helpful and friendly. At the moment of my check out I asked the lady if she can give my the points instead of the continental breakfast that I was offered on my arrival for been a Platinum Member and she gave me attitude about it and I told her that the other Westins often do the changes for me, an I explain that I did not get to have the breakfast and she replayed back to me saying with a lot of attitude that only this time she will do it and each Westin property is different. I personally did not appreciate the tone of her voice and I believe from my experience with the Westin Hotels and SPG that you are better than that, especially since your business is costumer service. June 17, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not worth the money Looks old and outdated. Room service expensive and quality of laundry sub standard. Overall Starwood needs to improve the standard and service quality. Furthermore no real recognition when it comes to room allocation. December 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Only one problem I requested early service of my room to Housekeeping one morning, as I knew I'd be finishing up the day's activity early. It took 8 1/2 HOURS for this to happen. Three requests to the maid on the floor were useless, so I finally went to the Front Desk. Even then it took a little over an hour more. Westin runs fine hotels, so such sloppy service was surprising, to say the least. I am quite certain that most of the other vacant rooms on my floor that she cleaned first were for folks who had already checked out. February 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Green program? When I checked in, I was asked if I wanted to participate in the Green Program. I said yes. I wasn't surprised that I got no maid service the first night. Turns out, I had to put some card on my door. I did that the second night. While I didn't expect my linens changed, it would have been nice to have the trash taken out and coffee replenished. And don't even ask me about the "upgraded" room. Sixth floor (of 24) and no free internet the third day/night. I wasn't charged, though, so I'm not really complaining. January 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by December 2013 Nice hotel - check-in operations were unusually slow. Only complaint about room was some mold on bathroom grout and caulk. December 20, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unfortunate My flight was delayed by 3.5 hours so it was close to 1 am by the time I drove up to the Westin. No one at the valet to pick-up the car, so I followed the signs for self-park. Bad idea. The underground parking at the Galleria is absolutely disgusting (I know this is not the hotel's fault) and there was limited signage in the parking lot directing people to the hotel--which meant an additional 20 mintues of walking around the parking lot with my bags. Didn't get either a room upgrade or a room on the spg floor when I checked-in and had to ask for a room change at around 2:00 am. The new room was better, but of course there were no bath towels in the room. Made do with face towels. For what it's worth, the rooms were clean, but I've come to expect more than that with Starwood properties. May 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by No platinum lounge I am surprised that this hotel has no platinum lounge. Most other hotels in this category do and it was dissapointing to find it was lacking. Also, the in-room refrigeratordo not keep items sufficiently cold. Aparently they were designed that way but I am not sure what the purpose is of having a fridge that only goes down to 40 degrees so that it allows milk to spoil and doesn't keep other drinks cold enough. Are you tryig to save a few dollars on electricity by providing sub-standard appliances? February 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Front desk needs service improvement Front desk staff needs to be more resourceful and service minded staff. When I asked for a room change because my neighboring guest was loud, I was met with resistance from a rude staff reluctant to help. Eventually, the second staff member changed the room, but again with reluctance. I forgot and left my razor in the first room. Housekeeping staff and front desk members were abrasive and helpless in recovery. I had a similar incident at another hotel and they happily delivered the item to me. May 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Service The stay started off horrible as one of the supervisors, Miguel, deleted my reservation and the hotel was booked. However the ladies at the front desk were able to get me a room and even gave me a ffod and beverage credit for the inconvenience. This was great service!! The business center had great computers but i sscanned and emailed two documents and never received them . So essentially the machine took my money. Also, the food was not as high a quality as would be expected for the price. October 30, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by disappointments I have stayed at several hotels and have never been unsatified until this trip. The room had no ice bucket, wifi was not free, our room only had decaf in it and I had to go downstairs and spend $3.00 for a half of a cup of coffee. Starbucks charged 2.45 for double the size cup. The Grill manager was rude and unprofessional towards the hostess because they were unprepared for the level of guests that were there. If there is ever another convention in Houston I will not stay here again. March 2, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Clean Your Own Room? I had high expectations for this hotel. I stayed two nights for a business meeting. I absolutely could not believe that after a long day of meetings, when I returned to my room, I found that I'd had no maid service whatsoever. The bed was not made, no fresh towels--nothing. I have never stayed in a hotel where I didn't get cleaning service every day of my stay. Not sure what was going on, but it would be very hard to recommend this hotel to anyone. October 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent hotel with the exception of one area. For such a great hotel with such high standards and quality, I was greatly disappointed by the pool area. I realize that this location's major draw is shopping and cultural events/activities. However, I surprised me GREATLY that the pool only had 7 chairs for the 15 people I counted at the time I was there. A room service menu was placed in a box near a "house phone," and food was delivered in a plastic bag. There is a phenomenal area just below the pool where an outside bar with food service could be offered. It would be nice to see more chairs/tables available, preferably ones of a slightly better quality than plastic??? Umbrella's would provide a nice escape from the scorching sun, as well. It's HOT in Houston, and the pool provides a great, refreshing escape for those who are less inclined to shop. May 22, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor organization led to poor experience I reserved and checked in to a parlor suite. Unfortunately when I got to the room the key entry system did not work. Every time I left the room for the next 24 hours I had to have someone at the front desk let me in my room. Sometimes I had to wait 15+ minutes. The problem could have been resolved soon after I checked in, but it wasn't. To make matters worse, the parlor suite I checked in to earlier in the day was given away to other adjoining room after I arrived. You can imagine how strange it was for me to enter what I thought was my suite to find strangers asleep and the adjoining bedroom doors open. This was a huge screw up and nothing was done about it my entire stay. I didn't make a big fuss. I attributed it to very poor organization and didn't have the energy to deal with yet another problem. December 3, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Friday Night Stay We were extreamly disappointed by our stay. The Air Conditioning system was very loud in the room and would not get the room to the set temperature. We were kept awake by groups of loud guests using the stair well near our room, going down the hall very loud after mid night. Mutiple calls to the front desk and the Express Service number were un answered. It took mutiple additional calls each one with the promise that that issue would be addressed be for it was resolved after 2 am. June 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by UGH 12/ Excellent Service from Valet to hotel services. December 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location! Disappointed in lack of accommodation. I was very disappointed to not get a King bed, especially as a SPG Platinum. I don't recall 100%, but don't believe I was even recognized as a SPG member. Also - I was not asked if I wanted to opt in on the "Green" program for points instead of housekeeping... I saw it on a sign after I had checked in and it reminded me, but it was too late. Other than that - this is a nice hotel in a great location. I would check other options first, but would consider staying here in the future. April 18, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Fell short of expectations I stayed in this hotel for a conference. I was provided with Kosher food, but the food was disgusting. Also, the hotel was not able to provide me with breakfast. It was also very embarrassing for me when we had the hotel serve us dinner and the rest of the group got salad and dessert but I did not. In general I was very disappointed with the restaurants kosher food arrangements. Also, I had issues with the elevator 3 times, one of which caused me to be late for a meeting. January 11, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel shows signs of age. I have stayed in the Westin hotels all over the country and have never been disappointed until this visit. Based upon the room I was provided, I would say that this hotel needs a complete overhaul. The carpeting in my room was stained and well worn. The ice machine on the 10th floor was broken or shut off, no ice. The phone in our room didn't work. No fridge or microwave in this room. What's up with that? I will not be staying at the Westin Galleria Houston my next visit. May 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Customer service needs much improvement Upon arrival, the parking attendees did not tell us there were no elevators in the parking garage. When we arrived at the front desk, no one offered to help us with our bags, which we struggled with in the parking garage with the stairs. My bathroom was dirty. You had to wait for elevators for at least 5 minutes each time. When checking out the desk clerk argued with me about my rate. I asked for a manager, no manager ever came. October 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by My personal review of the hotel I was very satisfied with the personnel and cleanness of the hotel, no complain there at all, but this particular hotel (The Westin Galaria Houston) is in desperate need of remodel, it really needs upgrade to be worth of money I had to pay. The carpet, the furniture, bathrooms, pictures, wall decoration, etc., everything appears to be minimum 20 years old. November 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is well located This hotel is well located for conferences. I was able to walk to the places I needed to go. The problem was the coffee pot in the room did not work well, I had to turn it on 3 times just to get 1 cup of coffee. Also, I forgot conditioner but thought it would be ok since toiletries are put in the room but that was not so. 2 people staying in room and 1 set of toiletries on 1st day, none on 2nd, had to ask for 3rd. This hotel was too expensive for this type of service. February 25, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Galleria needs a wake up call I stayed four nights. I was disappointed the hotel was 20 min from the convention center, but could work around by getting up earlier. I asked for two wake up calls. The first night I never got a call. I left word at the desk when I checked in at 11:40 pm. I wanted a 6:00 wake up. My last night I needed a 4:15 wake up with a 15 min back up. The first call came while I was in the shower at 4:25. Second call came 5 min later. Not the Westin service I am use to. August 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice room, but meeting rooms were iffy I was completely happy with my room, which was comfortable, clean and spacious. I was staying at the hotel for a conference, however, and the meeting rooms on the 24th floor left a bit to be desired. The climate control was weird--some rooms were too hot, others were to cold, and the air was very musty. I'm allergic to mold and dust and couldn't attend as many sessions of the conference as I would have liked because I started sneezing. Please check on the HVAC! March 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great, Until... I was here for my Corporate Christmas party. The traffic getting into the hotel was crazy; but I understood this because of the various events that were going on. Check-in was very fast and convenient. I was assigned to Room 1944 on one of the Starwood Preferred Floors. This room is located right next to the elevator bank. At first this seemed like it would be a convenient location; but as the night went on, I changed my mind. Because of the constant traffic in the hotel, I heard the sounds of the elevators through my wall all night long and well into the morning. There was a constant drumming noise that sounded like someone was pounding on the walls when the closest elevator to my room would reach the lower floors. The headboard of the bed was against this wall, so needless to say this made for a very uncomfortable night. I inquired with one of the staff members walking the halls if there were any additional rooms available because I wanted to look into switching, but was told that the hotel was pretty much booked for the night, so I stuck it out. Given that this was my first reservation since joining the Starwood Preferred Club, I would have expected something a little more relaxing than listening to the elevator shafts all night long. I would think being the Westin that there would have been better attention paid to the acoustics of rooms that could potentially have issues with the various sounds of the hotel mechanicals, but I digress. Maybe I am expecting too much for my money. December 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A NIce Place to Rest My wife and I were attending a convention which was taking place in the Galleria as well. It was extremely nice to return to our quiet and comfortable rooms between events. It was even nicer to be able to walk to the events we were interested in and, when we were hungry, just walk into the mall and enjoy excellent food. In short, we parked our car Friday afternoon and didn't return to it until we left on Sunday. Everything was right there and so were we. August 15, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Subpar hotel Customer service needs improvement. Many people standing around....no one helping guests. The hotel has an awesome gym, but that was all I was impressed with. Location to the Galleria was great and easily accesible. I was expecting high end qualities since the hotel was located near the Galleria, but was disappointed. Overall, it was a decent hotel, but customer service always dictates if I will return to a place and I will not stay at this Westin again. September 6, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10 next>>