The Westin Poinsett, Greenville

  • 120 South Main Street
  • Greenville,
  • South Carolina
  • 29601
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 327 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by I would recommend Great location and ambience in an old style southern flare. You can walk to multiple restaurants and shops....right in the center of Greenville. No car needed. The Negatives: In this day and age of upper end hotels with quality fitness centers, The WP is WAY behind....only a few treadmills and dumbbells and THAT'S IT. Don't expect to get a great work out there on a rainy day (the outdoor's Falls and running trails are great!) Also...the newspaper service is very poor: all newspapers were out by 9am. (Again, most higher end hotels like the Westin will place them at your room door, but not at the WP.) Some picky points, but issues that usually are just EXPECTED at most hotels.... Overall, very happy. September 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not impressive at all!! The staff was not friendly. No greeting upon arrival, Also, check-in process took a lot longer than usual or expected! The room was very stuffy, seemed moldy and damp, not very clean for this type of hotel! Sheets were not changed until we took the old sheets off the bed and tossed them to the floor, as a hint! every morning we were awakened by a knock on the door at 8 or 8:30 am, very early! Yes we didn't have a do-not-disturb sign on the door, but the newspaper was still in front of the door and the cleaning person should have recognized that!!!! We were tipping the cleaning crew, but after being awakened every morning, we stopped the tips! We even heard the knocks on other rooms near by every morning! August 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel and Staff This hotel was a great choice for an overnight stay in Greenville, SC. The rooms are nice, and the beds and pillows are very comfortable (even for someone with back problems). The atmosphere is totally relaxing.. The Poinsett staff is outstanding. All are extremely friendly, thoughtful and courteous. They were proactive in offering their services. Our bell cap even reminded me to make sure I had my phone charger as I was checking out. I will definitely stay here again. The buffet breakfast is delicious. Great location for visiting Greenville and all the downtown activities! June 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Customer Service Excellent customer service. Every staff member we came in to contact with was very helpful and courteous. The staff made the difference. We did not expect the Champagne and Strawberry's, after our night out on the town. Very nice touch. We had a wonderful time and a very romantic evening. Highly recommended.!! September 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Stay was OK We stayed at the Westin Poinsett in Greenville, SC for a college parents' weekend. We have friends who always stay there so we thought we would try it. The staff was friendly and accommodating and the location is central but the facilities are older, which while charming, were not as we expected. If you choose to stay there I would specify an overlook. We had two windows in our room which unfortunately looked out over an air unit and the wall of the building just 10 or so feet away. With so many choices in the area we will most likely make another choice in the future. October 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anniversarystay My wife and I stayed at the Westin Poinsett for our 25th anniversary. The hotel has modern updates but they retained much of the original architecture and beautiful tile flooring. Our junior suite was spacious and comfortable. The front desk delivered chocolate strawberries to the room at no charge. We love that they kept the original windows in guest rooms actually open, with a great view of downtown Greenville. The dining room has original decorative metal ceiling with georgous chandeliers and floor tile. Breakfast was excellent. We will definitely stay here again. December 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rest after an exciting & emotional day! Incredible experience as usual. Every question was greeted with a smile. The hotel staff was very knowledgable about local activities and food. I'm allergic to garlic, they called around to some of the local places and found out where I could eat. That took a lot of pressure off of me. I always get the Bed & Breakfast package which includes a buffet breakfast for two. No worries, no fuss. They bend over backwards to help you. I travel with a service animal when I visit. They greet us with a smile and always ask Shadow (by name) how is he doing! They met my needs and my expectations. Location, location, location! It is located in the heart of downtown Greenville. You are a block or two from everything downtown. Love it!!! October 8, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Probably my tenth stay here and it's lost it's luster My wife and I have always enjoyed this beautiful hotel but lately we have noticed a decline. When arriving recently, we waited 15 minutes for a valet and we eventually had to track them down. No apology. We got to our room and found no shampoo nor conditioner. One of the bed pillows had a brown stain on it that looked dirty. There were two large weddings apparently and everything was understaffed, especially the front desk. This is a great hotel, but with the newer competition in downtown Greenville, it needs some attention. I doubt we will stay here next time. January 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thank You I travel often for business and always have a good experience when I stay in a Westin. This trip was no exception. I want to particularly thank you for the attention paid to my request to have no feathers or down in the room. When I arrived (eavly) I was told my room was not ready since they were making sure all feathers and down were removed from the room. What a treat not to have to remind a hotel of that request and also not to wake the next morning to find down encased in sheets. I had a lovely stay at your hotel and I will definitely be back. Thank you. February 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Experience We stay often and have enjoyed our many visits in the past. The staff is friendly and always accommodating. We ate at the hotel restaurant and Bethany ? (waitress) was very attentive. There was an issue with our in room safe and the maintenance guy quickly resolved the problem. I am sorry that I do not remember the gentlemen's name but I spoke with him long enough to know he was originally from Charleston SC. Harry?? We also used the fitness room and found it to be very beneficial. Staff provided us with appropriate ear phones for the workout machines. August 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by So Superb! Staying at a Westin was on my bucket list! I recently have been diagnosed with lung cancer. I went to Greenville, SC to see a concert at the Peace Center. The staff at the Westin was kind, concerned and wanted to help make my stay perfect at any cost. The room was so clean and the beds SO comfortable. I could not hear anything in my room. The only bad thing it rained cats & dogs all weekend. I have added to my bucket list....go back to visit Greenville, stay at the Westin for 2 nights and I hope it does not rain! Thank you for everything! April 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This stay worse than others We really like the Westin Poinsett but this room was probably the worst I have been given after several stays. We have been assigned smaller rooms so that was not a surprise, but this was small and there was a stain on the carpet in the middle of the room and the lock was tricky to engage making my wife concerned that it was not working properly. I could've requested a change but being rushed for time and for a one night stay, it didn't seem worth it. Fact is, the door lock should work and the carpet should have been replaced already. January 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Stay For Greenville First, Starwood did an excellent job of renovating and maintaining this Greenville historic landmark,the old Poinsett hotel. This was our second stay here as we visit Greenville quarterly and the level of service from staff was consistent. The hotel is conveniently located near many of the downtown attractions/bars/park/restaurants, either by car or on foot. The workout facilities are great as well. If you're accustomed to 4-star or better accommodations, The Poinsett doesn't disappoint, you can't go wrong with this property. November 28, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very Disappointing I've stayed at this hotel several times because the location is fabulous and my prior experience, however, the lack of cleanliness in my room this time was extremely disappointing. There was a thick blanket of dust covering every surface in the bedroom. The carpet looked like it had not been vacuumed or cleaned in a long time. And the comforter had a disgusting brown stain on it. There is clearly an issue with housekeeping that made my stay very uncomfortable. Although I'm a SPG member, I will never stay at this hotel again. October 22, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bed switch I booked this room for 2 special guests visiting me, and reserved a room with 2 double beds. We walked in the room to find a sitting area + 1 King bed. When I asked the front desk about it, they said, "we're full. there's a sofa bed in that room, so that counts as 2 doubles." I just couldn't believe it! If 2 doubles weren't available, I should have been told when making the reservation. I love the Westin, but this was a huge embarrassment for me and far below the standards I've come to expect from the hotel and its staff. July 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel and Service Through no fault of their own, our room was not ready when we arrived to check in around 6:30 PM (they were fully booked and a baseball team had been staying at the hotel had left all their belongings in the rooms -- which they could not remove). The staff couldn't have been nicer and more helpful -- making us feel extremely welcome and taken care of until the team returned from their game and cleared out. The hotel itself is stylish and charming, and well maintained and staffed. We look forward to staying there again. February 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Some Missteps We have stayed here before with no issues but this stay there were 2 days that our room was not made up and we had numerous problems with our room key not working. The staff was quick to respond with clean towels to get us through the night. August 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best location to stay in Greenville. This hotel is in a perfect location if you are wanting to explore Greenville and the surrounding area. Right downtown with several places to eat, bars, parks, and points of interest within walking distance. The Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Valet Parking is reasonably priced. We stayed in the Junior Suite which I would recommend, it has a great view of the town square. I would stay here every trip into Greenville. The only downside is no pool so might not be the best choice for a long stay with kids. September 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs some work Hotel is a little confusing to navigate if you need to use the garage. Room was nothing more than average, but it was very damp: carpet, curtains, bed linens, and our clothes too. The hotel had a dehumidifier which they provided. The tank filled and shut off in just a few hours--that's alot of moisture. We had no turn-down service. And housekeeping failed to provide new towels after cleaning the room. The pillows were not comfortable. We had to ask for some others that were not much better. The hotel is nice overall, and very centrally located if you want to be downtown. The staff was helpful when asked, but not particularly proactive. The concierge was not working, and the staff was ill-prepared to provide even the basics of local points of interest or good places to eat. September 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Top Shelf Hotel My wife and I stayed at the Westin in Greenville. The hotel is lovely and the service was excellent. The front desk staff were accommodating and very friendly. The Valet attendants courteous, and also friendly and helpful. We were in town for a concert and the Hotel was most gracious in assisting us with shuttle transport to the concert, since I am on disability. We enjoyed dining in the restaurant, and the food was delicious. We definitely plan on staying at the Westin Poinsett on our next visit to Greenville. December 7, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Memorial Weekend Stay Hotel is in great location. Room starting to show age, slow sink drain, thread bare carpet entering bathroom. Room appointed well but no refrigerator. Didn't know hotel allowed pets. Awoken at 6:30 Sunday am by yipping dogs next door. Again at 8 am. Room makeover between Sat. and Sun. poorly done. Bed made, but not as we found on the first day. No washcloths in bathroom. Ice bucket sitting out on desk, with no liner. Will try another hotel in downtown Greenville before staying here again. May 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Repeat custmoer - rethinking longtime customer of this hotel, so when we experienced problems on our last stay, we dismissed it as an aberration. Our stay last weekend was similarly lackluster, however. As such, we are rethinking our patronage and will not recommend to our friends. We booked the Indulge package, which specifically includes sparkling wine and strawberries. These never materilialized. Then, we were startled awake at 10:30 pm by roomservice, who had apparently mixed us up with someone else. When we didn't answer the door immediately THEY LET THEMSELVES IN. Luckily we had the door catch in place, but it was still unsettling. 'Spoonbread' also has a rude and unattentive waffle cook. He actually argued with me about my order! Overall, attention to detail is now completely missing from this hotel. August 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the folks staying with the Banking School for 10 days Hi, love the service (Mike, Dorothy & Linda were standouts), and obviously will be back next year for banking school. Two things, the rubberized mattress pad is terribly uncomfortable (though I slept well after taking it off), and it's too easy to hear every door closing on the entire hallway - makes for a rough night's sleep. Otherwise, everything was as wonderful as ever - thanks! July 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Friendliest hotel We stayed t the Westin Poinsett from February 9th - 12th 2013. The staff were the friendliest and obliging we have ever come across and I'll definitely stay there again when in Greenville. The only criticism is that one of the curtains in our room (921) did not close properly and the set up of the bedding with a duvet between two sheets was not nice it's like sleeping on a pillow with no pillow slip. Also dirty dishes were outside rooms when we went to breakfast and were still there when we went to bed. February 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Janice the concierge rocks!!! Janice made our trip wonderful. We had fun visiting with her as this was our 2nd year to see her. She is truly an asset to your hotel. Thank you also for the late checkout. That made a huge difference. Our room had not been used in sometime and was very dusty, very. Too there were lady bugs on the inside of the window. Any other kind of bug and we would have been at the front desk immediately. But we just shooed them out. We snagged a cleaning person to dust one area quickly for us so it worked out. February 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Only regret is that I couldn't stay longer. The Westin Poinsett has always been a joy to stay at. The staff is always attentive and friendly. They have always done an exceptional job recognizing platinum guests. I was upgraded to an "Executive Suite" which for me was a perfect area to get work done but also relax. It is also perfectly located in the middle of a number of restuarants, shops and bars. I ate at "Nose Dive" which is connected to the hotel and the food was excellent. Can't wait to come back to Greenville and the Westin Poinsett. July 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad checkin experience My wife scheduled a surprise birthday getaway and during check-in all the staff was interested in was what time we were leaving so they could get the maid's schedule early for the room. This is my second review, and the first was a bad experience because the room was not ready at check-in. It seems this Hotel has a service problem. You would think at the rate of almost $300 a night you would not experience these issues. Do not stay here if it is for a special occasion because they do not care. March 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Almost Perfect Stay My stay at the Westin was almost perfect. The room was very comfortable, and the food service staff were wonderful. My only complaint was on the day I was to check out. My understanding was that check out was at noon. At 9:00am the maid was trying to open my door, and I had the "do not disturb" sign on the door. 30 minutes later 2 guys from Maintenance were knocking at my door. It seems like there should be some communication between the checkout desk and the service staff. Otherwise, great stay. November 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff, and willingness to accommodate! July 8, 2014 We recently stayed at the Westin Poinsett celebrating our "60th" Wedding Anniversary, on July 2, a gift from our two daughters and their spouses. We where treated great! Our expectations were far less than what we received! A fabulous landmark in Greenville, and we had the pleasure of the experience. Thank you Westin Poinsett for making our celebration a fabulous one to remember! Best Wishes, Cecil and Ellen Nalley July 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel employees are very kind I really enjoyed my stay. Great location and good planning August 25, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 12 next>>