The Westin Charlotte

  • 601 South College Street
  • Charlotte,
  • North Carolina
  • 28202
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 719 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Rooms beginning to show age I have had better room experiences at this property before. The property is beginning to look worn and the room I stayed in should be pulled out of commission until the stains (red) on the carpet are addressed and the condition of the bath tub is addressed. June 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Helpful Staff Excellent Customer Service Staff June 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Place to Stay I always love staying at this Westin, which is why I continue to come back every year when the convention is in town. The staff is wonderful and the rooms are always so clean and well cared for. The only criticism I have is that room service took longer to deliver on both occasions, but I'll chalk that up to packed hotel during a busy convention. June 24, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs improvement Lobby bar cramped and lousy service; CBS not received on room TV, despite other channels coming in; disturbed its a pet-friendly hotel, considering it's a convention center, d'town hotel in a corporate town; exposed wiring from ceiling fixture. June 25, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Apathy by management. As I read the reviews of previous guests it seems that some of my concerns have been mentioned before and still not addressed by hotel management, as we experienced similar problems of past guests. We checked in early in the evening after a long drive and were quite tired. The person at the front desk was very polite, but despite noting that there were 5 in my party ( 2 adults and 3 young children), did not inform us that if we were planning to use the sleeper sofa in our room that we would need to call house keeping to have the bed made up for our use.As we had a parlor room with 1 bed ( a king) she must have thought that all 5 of us would be sleeping in this one bed! She did not inquireabout our sleeping arrangements or offer assistance. It was not until our children had changed into there pajamas that we discovered the bed was not made and then after calling the front desk discovered the need to have housekeeping make up the bed. They did so promptly, though did not bring pillows for the bed, and it was uncomfortable having a stranger in our room while our children were in there pjs ready for bed. We found the beds to be poorly made, with mattress pads that did not fit the beds and linens that were to small for the bed. As such the sheets and mattress pad turned into a nice lump in your back. Not the most restful sleep despite the "heavenly bed" logo. The bathroom was extremely cold and apparently doesnt have a direct heating source.,almost unbearable (it was in the mid 30's that evening), and same for the pool area and spa. Lastly when we attempted to bring our concerns to management, we could not speak to anyone directly. We had to leave a voicemail with the front end manager, and despite our requests for a return call still have not spoken to anyone. Instead we received the same generic , tepid reponse, via E-mail,, AFTER A WEEK AND A HALF,that I see on the reviews that I've read on line. Obviously they truly care about there guests opinions!! Not what I would have expected from a hotel chain with the Westins reputation. I will never stay there again, though I would still continue to stay at other Westins. Very disappointing!!!!! February 4, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not What It Once Was My wife and I spent our wedding night at this hotel. I have made many recommendations in the past; however, I recently thought to surprise my wife with a night out from the house. The promised suite upgrade did not happen, which was a critical factor in deciding to book the hotel. I called the night before to ensure the Platinum Upgrade would be there and upon check in was told no. The room service menu was no where to be found and eventually a printed piece of paper was brought to the room. When the room service arrived it was not complete, not as described and cost nearly $100 for breakfast items. I stay at Starwood Properties more than 100 nights a year now and as Westin's go this hotel is not up to standard. June 23, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by We were very unsatisfied I am sorry to say that we were very unhappy with our stay at your hotel. First, the man at check in could not find our reservation and was not helpful nor offered any apologies. He found our reservation eventually. Next, our room was not clean. There were some stains on the sheets, a ripped pillowcase, crumbs on the carpet, and the tub did not look clean. We tried to have a drink and a bit to eat in the bar after the play, but after 30 minutes of being ignored by the waitress we left. When we came back to our room and some sort of "air freshener" had been sprayed in our room and it smelled terrible. We called to complain and although Jennifer was very polite it took the manager an hour to call us back and again his response was not polite or helpful. He offered to move us, but at this point it was midnight and we chose not to move. Costumer service and cleanliness is vital to a hotels reputation. I stayed here years ago and was very satisfied. Sorry to say, this hotel has gone downhill and this will be the last visit to this hotel. March 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I loved this hotel The hotel was very comfortable and quiet. The staff was extremely friendly and well mannered. Breakfast...delicious! I wish that I could have stayed longer. June 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by tired of internet charges & problems Tired of $12.95 per day for internet that does not work at peak periods and charges every time you log on - tired of having to ask the check out clerk adjust the charges - I asked the check out clerk to smile if she had heard my complaint before - both of them started to laugh. Westin professionals - get the message - even your employees are cracking up at the charges and the poor service - are you not embarrassed? Come on - Westin is a great brand with great properties for a reasonable price - join the rest of the world or expand the band width - September 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent stay The service at this hotel was wonderful from my check in experience to my check out. All who worked at the hotel had a real smile on their faces and were extremely helpful. June 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good staff, Nice facilities but worn rooms Very large, modern convention hotel right on the edge of uptown. Staff is friendly and welcoming. Rooms are modern, but there are problems (phone is next to bed and cannot be placed on the desk, so if you're working and need to use the phone, you have to sit on the bed. The Drapery was hanging half off and paint was peeling in the bathroom over the sink. Very nice, spacious fitness center and a good indoor swim pool. There is no executive floor and if you are a SPG Platinum, the benefits are not complete. Also, there's a Kinko's in the hotel. August 10, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very Disappointed Stayed at property during CIAA event. Disappointed to find that hotel made arrangements at expense of hotel guest by requiring guest to wear wrist bands the entire weekend (unacceptable). I was stopped on the way to my room with 2 guest and required to show a room key (which is understandable given the magnitude of people in the lobby), however the staff member then demanded that the guest accompanying me go get wrist bands, to which I refused, he then proceed to call the police over, which was not only unnecessary but insulting, and an overstep of authority to which he did not have. Shorty afterward I brought my concern to management who offered an apology and excuses but no further action to correct the behavior. What is equally disappointing is the lack of follow through and responsiveness from the property as a result of occurrence. I have since filed a complaint with Customer Service, who indicated that management sent an “amenity” to my room after the incident (which I did not receive). Given my relationship with the Starwood brand and properties, I would have at least expected a face to face conversation. As a Platinum member I have very high expectations when it comes to Customer service as well as common courtesy when it comes to being a guest at one of Starwoods properties. This was by far my worst experience at a Westin hotel and not only would I not recommend the property, but I will also advise my corporate travel department on my experience and disappointment. March 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Reasonable, Standard Westin Experience Checked in on a Wednesday later afternoon. Valet was quick and efficient. Checkin was reasonably easy, and my status was acknowledged -- no upgrade offered, but this hotel doesn't have a lot of suites, so no big deal. The rooms are comfortable, albeit a little on the smaller side, and some of the furnishings are definitely starting to show their age. I prefer the corner rooms as they have extra windows. Internet worked well, and i had a quick breakfast in Embers in the morning, which was fine. No problem checking out or getting my car. Had a really nice dinner at Halcyon in the Mint, btw. June 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed We were in Charlotte for a wedding and were not able to get the group rate for the wedding because I called 4 days too late. This was totally my fault and I do not blame the hotel for not honoring the group rate. However, the person I spoke with was borderline rude and definitely uncaring. So we arrived at the hotel expecting the experience to be worth the extra 100.00 per night we were paying over the group rate. In other words, it's o.k. with me to pay a standard rate for a great hotel. The towel rack in the bathroom was falling out of the wall, as was the toilet paper holder. The room appeared clean enough, but we kept finding hairs everywhere- so gross. But the worst part of it was when I called after returning home to inquire about my bill and spoke to the rudest person (female) I believe I have ever encountered in the customer service field. This would have been Sunday evening, 6/22/14, just before 7 pm. I would highly recommend you following up on this person because she is a poor representation for your hotel. I had a simple question she could have answered nicely yet she chose to be sarcastic and condescending. I can't imagine ever staying at this hotel again, especially since the folks staying at the other wedding hotel all reported a great experience. So, less than stellar room, 2 rude customer service representatives, and a parking garage that needs a better labeling system. Most confusing parking deck I have ever been in and I've been in a lot! Sigh... June 23, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Opportunity for Westin Charlotte to much improve on Quality and Customer Service I am writing this email in an utmost frustration and disappointment in terms of both quality and customer service of Westin Charlotte. I am frequent business traveler and both my company and I have chosen Westin to be the preferred hotel. This is due to its quality and customer service, which I am very accustomed too in almost every state/city I have visited EXCEPT Westin Charlotte. This is the second time I have to deal with unclean room rather there was a smoking smell coming from room 1720. I had front desk manager Jonathan examined the room first hand. During my last visit May 15th – I had to change the rooms twice. First room had leaking toilet and in the second room beds were not made. And in addition to this I always have internet connection problem in this hotel. And each time I have to call help desk to fix the issue. I would appreciate your prompt attention to these issues. May 23, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Noisey and uncomfortable We found the room acoustics at this hotel to be the worst we have ever encountered. We could clearly hear every word of anyone in the hallway and what was happening in the room next door. The bed linens were so poorly put on that merely rolling over dislodged them creating lumps etc preventing a comfortable nights sleep. There was no TV listing in the room and when I got one the channels did not match the listing. I will say that the check in process was above average as the first room we got smelled like vomit and we were given a second room quickly and without hassle. January 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience Professional and friendly staff; clean and comfortable rooms; high quality dining options; relaxing atmosphere. June 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Presidential suite a disappointment During a recent meeting my professional society was hosting I was lodged in a Presidential Suite. While the space was very large, it was somewhat dated and the master closet and bathroom were not connected to the bedroom. Service was spotty and inconsistent. For example, when I called down at 9:00 one night to order some glasses for an after dinner meeting I was chastised that this request should have gone through catering and it was a "big deal" to have 10 glasses brought up at this time of night. Finally, only one day of my six day visit was the bedroom and entertaining spaces ALL cleaned to satisfaction. Pretty mediocre experience... August 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Freezing Massage The size and comfort of the room was great, the staff were very helpful and friendly, and the hotel decoration was lovely. I'd love for the beds to still be made and the room still tidied up, even if we choose to "go green" and not have new linens placed on the bed. The food needs a lot of improvement in taste and quality (breakfast omelet, chicken sandwich and sweet potato tots were pretty bad, though the blueberry pancakes were good). When I went to get a massage, the facility was so cold that I shivered for the entire 90-minutes. The masseuse was excellent, really very skilled, but struggled to even keep her hands warm because of the temperature. September 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Continued Westin Quality The Westin continues to be my top hotels to stay in around the country. The staff are pleasant, rooms are great and the food it divine. June 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice front desk staff The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. I was disappointed that there was no shower cap in the room, especially since the over-sized shower head sprays from above, instead of at an angle. Otherwise, I found the bed to be very comfortable. I liked having a refrigerator in the room. The Ember lounge staff were less helpful. No one told us we needed to go to the bar to order drinks, causing a delay in getting served. Otherwise it was a lovely stay. Thanks June 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by whats that noise? two issues- first i was on the side facing the convention center- there was an audible hum 24/7 from outside - i presume it was the cooling system of the convention center. Not terrible but irritating- much more noise than i would expect from a major hotel. Second- and this is not a new concern- I don't understand why i can get free internet in a mid price hotel, but pay for it in high end locations- Its even free in airports. Internet has turned into an expected staple- charging for it is like charging a separate fee for towels- on the positive side- I love the 5 buck per night rebate if you will fro not having new towels daily. Also had a small incident with a cleaning person- was going to ask her about getting more coffee but she was unavailable to comment - stating she didn't know anything as she rushed by- not a major point but again not expected at a hotel of your caliber. June 14, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great rooms but constant issues The staff has finally started to get better recognizing that I've stayed there almost every week for the last 6 months, so staying positive that is good. The rooms are fantastic and comfortable and the wifi is really good and easy to use. Biggest problem lately has been the TV. The TV goes out at least one night per week. I could start to believe the excuse of storms in the area but it never applies to all channels and even all HD channels. It most often is on a channel that has a major event on such as a sporting event or primetime show. For a hotel of this caliber I feel it is completely unaccepable - and it literally happens every week I'm staying there. June 20, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by awful customer service reservation was not ready; waited several hours; no starwood preferred floor as reserved; no one to retrieve my luggage; key didn't work; boarding pass machine didnt work. gave me complimentary water which they then charged me for.... November 18, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Solid and Dependable Westin Consistently solid Westin. Platinum status always recognized, but don't expect suite upgrades as the hotel has very few. Rooms are comfortable, albeit on the small side. Food in Embers (hotel restaurant) is usually pretty good, and the workout facilities are better than average. Hotel is situated adjacent to the Convention Center and is extremely convenient for meetings in Uptown, and is a short drive to/from CLT or South Park. March 22, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Service hit or miss for platinum members Nice hotel centrally located. It's unfortunate that service for platinum members is not more focused on meeting and predicting needs. I have yet to be upgraded to a suite on arrival even when they are available - it's makes it worse for the front desk person to lie and say they are sold out in suites - when I told her that I just looked online and they were available - she said I was mistaken or the website was - really? Day 2 - suite is still available! Then she puts me in a double - even though my reservation was for a king - when they then give me a king - they downgrade the room - really?? No need to complain because even though the grand deluxe was available with a king - I suspect she would have told me the online booking system was wrong. 4th week staying at this hotel in the last 5 or 6 weeks and still can't get my request for additional pillows correct - even though it's clearly in my reservation. It's unfortunate that they can't fix the service - since everything else has been great. Service at the lobby bar was great and the gym is really nice for a city center hotel. However, I will probably look to other brands for my next stay since I left aloft after bad service - but at least aloft does t pretend to be a full-service hotel. I expected better of Westin. Now out of spg options in downtown Charlotte June 17, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not up to the mark As Westin hotels go, this particular one leaves much to be desired. Rooms are basic, and not cleaned well. The room I had this week had a big red wine stain on the carpet - no one seemed to care! The staff do the "bare minimum", no attention to detail, no going out of their way either. Housekeeping forgets to leave toiletries, water etc. Not to mention the room service is more expensive than any other Westin (even more than Manhattan!), and the food is not even par. Not sure what gives Westin Charlotte the license to charge $43 for a plate of bad pasta. Even though I'm an SPG loyalist, I avoid this hotel whenever I can. February 24, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Value for the dollar spent is not there Problems everywhere... - Room: Upon arrival, I found what appeared to be public hairs in the sink. After turning the room upside down, housekeeping had knocked off bluetooth. headset off the table and found it under the bed. I found a filthy wash cloth under the bed. Some electrical plugs didn't work. Room A/C did not cool the room consistently (go to bed with a cool room as intended but room was hot by morning despite the t-stat showing the same settings) - Meals: 3 meals at Ember Restaurant... Food was subpar... Breakfast in particular on 2 occasions and lunch once. The service was terrible on the last meal. Several requests took 10+ minutes (juice request, hot water for tea, etc) Had to pay cash because despite asking manager for service, she/no one ever came back to us to collect our payments. - Conference space: Often 1x service on my phone with 3G on occasion. Had to pay to use wifi in conference area despite lack of cell coverage. April 21, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Cold Rooms It was 26 degrees in Charlotte, and my 1st room had no heat. It took forever for maintenance to come check the heat, so I moved to a second room. The second room smelled like smoke and was supposed to get a non- smoking room. After a switch to a third room I was frustrated to find that there was no heat in there either. at 1030pm Maintenance/Engineering came up and assured me that I wasnt just making it up, and that the heater was in fact blowing out cold air. Adjustments were made and then the heat began to work. For what its worth, the manager took care of the valet parking and two meals but needless to say I will not stay here the next time Im in Charlotte.. The complimentary meals and valet were not worth sitting in the cold and putting up with the guest services employee on the phone that seemed less than thrilled that I made several calls/complaints.. Oh yeah forgot to mention that the extra door lock was busted on the door. No thanks January 28, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by 11PM..Really I had this room (2030) booked for the week, departing Friday. At 11pm on Thursday night, security pounded on my door saying I didn't belong there and I had to leave immediately. I called the front desk and talked to the manager who asked if I had any dealing with the front desk that day, which I didn't. I was here on business and recovering from major surgery...being startled out of sound sleep in the middle of the night was so wrong. I'm not sure why or who cancelled my reservation but the front desk personnel needs better training. A simple phone call would have sufficed and no, I will not stay here again unless it is the only hotel available. Extremely bad experience. August 20, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 25 next>>